reviews for: listing #37368 - Fenwick Island, Delaware House rental

Beautiful Spacious Home with Pond View
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  The Refuge
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $750 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

Everything we were looking for!

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful beach house on our vacation in early June. We were looking for a place that we could rest that would feel like a home away from home, and that was exactly what it was! The home is beautifully decorated and furnished to allow for a restful and comfortable stay. We enjoyed the back deck where we grilled, the pool and workout facility in the neighborhood, nearby seafood restaurants, and the beach that was only a couple miles down the road. The people in the neighborhood are so friendly it felt like we could just settle there and no go home! It was at times hard for us to leave the house to go see the beach! Would highly recommend this house for anyone that is just desiring to get away to a beautiful place and rest.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

The owners were incredibly professional and efficient in setting everythiing up. There instructions etc. were detailed and very helpful.

The place was great for my large family of 8. Plenty of room, very clean. In addition to the living space, the back patio area was great for outdoor cooking and sitting out, and the front porch was great for early morning coffee and relaxing on the rocking chairs. The community is very nice and well kept up. Evenings were very quiet and relaxing.

Pool facilities were really good.

Certain would recommend it. It is an easy drive to beach, and the grocery is very convenient.

Would certainly rent again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Home Away From Home

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

For the 4th year we have enjoyed a relaxing stay at this home. It has a spacious open floor plan. It meets the needs of our family of 4 adults and 3 kids, the kids have their own jack and jill bath between their rooms, we enjoyed a large master suite, and the grandparents had a large bedroom retreat upstairs with their own bath. The house is decorated beautiful with modern tasteful beach theme decor. It has always been clean and inviting when we arrive. The owner has always been available for questions from how something works in the house to what's a good place to go out to eat.

The home is also close to both Ocean City and Rehobeth with plenty of things to do at both places, boardwalks, beaches, resturants, museums, and state parks. It is also nice to just stay at home and go to the neighborhood pool that is clean and safe for young children.

We always enjoy our stay!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are so grateful for your kinds words and just knowing that you like our place enough to come back year after year. We love the floor plan too. It allows us to enjoy our family and friends without feeling closed off. We too love the pool and exercise room. The tennis and basketball courts are a big hit with our kids and grandkids. I particularly like the way the community is landscaped and shaded just where you need it the most; namely, the courts.
Again,thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

One of Fenwicks Finest!

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We stayed in this house over Memorial Day weekend 2012 and it was an amazing weekend. When I first walked in, my first thought was, the pictures didn't do this place justice. It was large and open but warm and cozy. It was immaculate and provided a lot of space for two families to share. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were spacious. The neighbors were welcoming and friendly. We spent more time than we planned to at the pool because it was so close to the house, so with small children it made it convenient to go back and forth. We spent time at both beaches because of the location being almost in between Ocean City and Bethany, which we liked a lot. We ate dinner most nights on the deck. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you need to prepare any meal. I would HIGHLY recommend this home, the owners have taken the time and effort to make it an extremely comfortable place to stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much. So glad you found our place warm and cozy. I know it's hard for us to leave when we come down for visits. Our kids and grandkids love the pool too. They also love riding their bikes, skating, scootering, and the like. We take food and drinks down or have delivery from one of the local pizza shops (Ken's). I particularly like cooking on the gas stove. What a difference that makes compared to electric. It really is convenient to the grocery stores, beach, restaurants, and shopping. Great thanks to the wonderful couple who cleans for us. They do an awesome job. It's great knowing I can count on them to do a thorough job. We do have great neighbors as well. Always helpful and willing to go out of their way for us.
We are so delighted that you enjoyed it so much!
The Owners

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer Heaven

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

I rented this home with my husband and my 2 children and their 2 grandma's. We had a wonderful time. The home was modern and exceptionally decorated and very spacious. What made the trip for my kids was the pool. The community pool and playground was beautiful. We would play in the pool all day and then go to Fenwick island for some dinner and some fun. Fenwick island was a 10 minute ride away. The beach was even grandma friendly with a concession stand and restrooms a hop skip away. The community at night was so peaceful. It was a wonderfully comfortable fun way to start the summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Oh gosh, isn't it wonderful sharing the time with your grandkidsw and grandmas.
Lots of space for game playing and you can also get away into your own private space when you want to. We love the peacefulness there too. Yes, we too have gone to the Delaware beach just down Rt 1 (Coastal Highway) a couple of miles. If you choose, you can shower there, get lunch at the concession stand, and park your car. There is a fee for the day which I can't quote at this time because it's been a couple of years since we have been there. It used to be around $8. We usually park at 142nd St (usually able to get a spot on beachside). It's free. I also want to mention that we always include a trip to Rehoboth which has lots of restaurants, quaint shops, and an amusement part on the boardwalk for the kids at very good prices.
Why is summer so short??

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Beautiful Home Away From Home

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

A beautiful, home away from home…

My family has been vacationing at this beach home every August for 5 years and we absolutely love it! It is a beautiful, spacious home that is very welcoming. We have 3 children and there is so much room that everyone can spread out if they wish and find their only special place to retreat and relax. My daughters love the sun room (which has a great view of the pond by the way) for playing board games, reading and playing on their I Touch. My son is usually outside riding his scooter, bike or roller skating. Unlike at home, the streets are flat and there are some sidewalks as well. Because it is a very quiet neighborhood with little traffic I feel very comfortable with him playing outside. He also enjoys playing frisbee, ball, or crocket in the large yard. My husband and I often relax on the deck or lovely patio area to enjoy a beverage and just sit, talk and do nothing. We are always amazed at how quiet and serene it is. If you like to cook while vacationing, the kitchen is fantastic. It has everything you need to whip up great meals and even bake. We have celebrated many birthdays there and baked cakes, cookies and other yummy treats.
You can tell the owners take pride in their home and want you to experience a truly awesome vacation. Renting from them has always been an easy process and they have been accommodating and reachable by phone if the need arises. There was one year when we had left an important item back at home and the owners were very generous to allow us to use their own personal belongings. I think that says it all. We are looking forward to vacationing for possibly 2 weeks next year at the Refuge, our home away from home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your wonderful words. We are delighted that you feel so comfortable in our home. I love to cook there too and my husband and I love to walk around the neighborhood admiring the flower gardens in our neighbors' yards. Now with the addition of sidewalks on Rt 54 we can walk to the grocery stores, Food Lion, Harris Teeter, and some of the local spots. One of our favorites is the Cactus Cafe, a short walk to the right on Rt 54 and on the left side of 54 (great mexican food)and Slainte (the Irish restaurant and bar owned by Declan,a wonderful host)in the shopping center by Harris Teeter's. We certainly appreciate your staying with us over the past years and if there is anything we can ever do to help please give us a call.
Thank you again, The Owners

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location-Perfect for families

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

This property in Fenwick Island was perfect. It was just minutes to all the great beaches. The community had a great fitness center and pool and was simply beautiful. The house was very open and spacious with up to date appliances and a great kitchen for those inclined to enjoy meals in. The open floor plan provided opportunities to socialize with everyone. The property also had many relaxation and comfort features including a porch with rocking chairs and deck with a patio set and programmable air conditioning for both floors. I would highly recommend the property for families of any size.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review