reviews for: listing #3741 - US Virgin Islands, Caribbean Condo rental

Caribbean Breeze - Beachfront - Pool - A/C - St. Croix
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Gentle Winds Resort
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $370 /nt
    $1,400 - $2,600 /wk

sort by:

Gentle Winds = Gentle Vacation

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

The property was as advertised, clean and well maintained. The beds were very comfortable and the view from the screened porch was outstanding. The kitchen was well equipped. Don't go to the grocery store until you check out the kitchen and liquor supply. You will be surprised at what you don't have to buy especially spices. Lots of different rums so add a liquor that isn't already there.
Easy walk to the great beach and pool. Loved the snack shack. Great rum drinks. Overall Gentle Winds is a great complex that is clean and well maintained. Great for families everyone was very friendly. We can't wait to go back.

Owners response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Caribbean Breeze! We are always looking for ways to make the condo more comfortable and more enjoyable, so I am sure the next time you stay at Caribbean Breeze you will like it even more!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our 40th Anniversary

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Gentle Winds.
The only 2 problems we found were:
1) The 2 small cooler bags were broken and need to be replaced
2) It would be nice if there was some way to let tenants know where the beach chairs, etc are. We never used the second bedroom & only discovered them at the end of our trip!
I had brought all cleaning supplies & had the dishwashing liquid container burst & leaked through the zip-lock all into my husbands suitcase! That would have also been nice to know that everything was already there. Spare toilet paper in the bathroom cupboards would also be appreciated.

The pool & beach were amazing. The pool kiosk was only open twice - I guess because it was out of season. We would have liked to play "ping-pong" but there were no whole balls available.

All-in-all I have given this property a 5***** rating.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Paradise in St.Croix

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

We absolutely love this condo! We have stayed there several times. The owner is wonderful and does everything to make your stay perfect. The attention to detail is above and beyond. I would and have recommend this to friends and acquaintances. We love the location also, its close enough to Christansted and many restaurants. We will definitely return in the future.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just returned from Caribbean Breeze

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

The condo was exactly what we had hoped for. Clean, comfortable, well appointed and beachfront. The Gentle Winds complex is beautiful and extraordinarily well maintained. Probably the nicest pool on the island.The beach is beautiful and uncrowded. Good snorkeling just outside the swim area of the beach, which itself is very nice, I didn't step on a rock once. Mike at the pool side bar and grill does a very nice job. Some unit owners were in residence during our stay and they were all friendly, welcoming and justifiably proud of Gentle Winds. Our family (myself, wife, two 16 year olds and a ten year old) all agree that we can put this on the list of places to return. The Vreeland's are responsive to questions and very easy to work with. I wouldn't hesitate to rent from them again. The north shore of St. Croix may be too quiet for the "partying" crowd but for relaxing, playing in the ocean and enjoying the Caribbean lifestyle it's perfect. I would advise renting a car if you want to explore the island. Again, we couldn't have been happier with our trip. Well...maybe if we didn't have to leave.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Caribbean Breeze! It is a little piece of paradise that we are very lucky to be able to share with others. We hope you choose to stay at Caribbean Breeze again some time!

Kent and Dawn

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Tropical Dream Destination

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

We just returned from our stay in Caribbean Breeze at Gentle Winds. We have been using VRBO's for over 15 years. We have always done well with our choices and this St Croix gem was one of the best. Kent and Dawn go above and beyond with providing information regarding the condo, St. Croix and other material to enhance the travel experience. Their unit is as described in other reviews but one cannot do justice to the stunning views the condo provides. The Gentle Winds complex is beautiful with great snorkeling just feet into the water. We visited a few other beaches and we and our two adventurous sons (18 & 22yrs) decided the beach, just steps from Caribbean Breeze, was the best. It seemed like a shoot site for a commercial! Wonderful cuisine for all tastes can be found, historical sites,rain forest, a casino and quaint town shopping are all on this authentic island. We enjoyed no crowds during off season and the weather was great. We highly recommend Carribean Breeze as a dream destination.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Super home- among the best for VBRO

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

This is a lovely unit in a quiet location. The beach really is a few step away. The pool is very nice - non chlorine. Ideal for a family that wants to get away from resort hubub. Restaurants and supermarkets are just a few minutes away.

No useful cell phone reception is not a big deal. Skype over wireless IP was easy and used 800 dial around on the landline. TV signal was fine. If you use cell phone on island use ATT or Spint DO NOT use Verizon (or expect big bill). An ATT GoPhone is easy for $2/day - but one from the local Radio Shack.

Marina next door is a must for a ride out to Salt River (and a dive). Nearby Cane Bay is exquisite.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Gentle Winds - Caribbean Breeze - St. Croix

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We arrived just yesterday at Caribbean Breeze and it is exactly as advertised and expected. Kent and Dawn have been just great to work with and available to talk to anytime we needed to ask questions. The location is great with central access to most north shore areas easily. Grounds here well maintained and pool/beach is very nice. Be sure to stop by the beach shack and grab a snack. Unit is nicely decorated, was clean and tidy. Highly recommend Dawn and Kent's place here as it is obvious they take good care of their unit. Oh and located in Building I which is right on the ocean :) St. Croix so far has been nothing short of fantastic.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy that you are enjoying Caribbean Breeze (Unit I-4). We try very hard to make your stay an enjoyable one! Have a wonderful time on St Croix!

Kent and Dawn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved Gentle Winds and Caribbean Breeze

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

We visited in May 2012. Off season but perfect for a relaxing getaway. Loved the north shore and its down to earth locals. Played bingo with everyone at off the wall and enjoyed sunset and shots at cane bay. Enjoyed the proxomity to the Pirate Tavern we enjoyed the Cruzan Confusions before
going out for dinners. This condo met our needs perfectly nice beach and beautiful pool within 100 yards. You can snorkle right there. The owners were great about preparing us for our trip. We will definitely return

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome location, awesome condo!

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2007

Stayed for a week at Caribbean Breeze on St. Croix. The condo was beautiful, comfortable and very clean. The furnishings were very nice and the unit was very well maintained.

The complex itself, Gentle Winds was fabulous! The pool, the beach the views, and Karen at the Beach Shack were all wonderful.

We truly enjoyed our stay at Caribbean Breeze and St. Croix and will definitely be back again and again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review