reviews for: listing #37473 - Lake Cumberland, Kentucky Cabin rental

Lakefront Cabin: PRIVATE Water Access, Boat Parking & Wi-Fi
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $275 /nt
    $1,650 - $1,825 /wk

sort by:

A Breath of Fresh Air, Simply Amazing...

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 9, 2014

Thank you so very much for allowing us to stay in your home!! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit! My mother-in-law did not want to leave! All 3 of our children had a blast swimming for hours off the dock every day!! You have a very beautiful home, thank you sharing it with us! Although the pictures you posted were amazing, we were blown away when seeing it in person. The house and views absolutely exceeded our expectations!

Thank you again, for allowing us to visit your home and hope to return in the future!

Owners response: I am delighted to hear your feedback. It's a pleasure to know that I had a part in building fond Lake Cumberland memories for you and your family. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lake Cumberland Cabin

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

The "cabin" is more like a home out of a magazine! It has all the amenities, and we were never wanting for anything. The private dock was perfect for fishing and swimming, and the view from the porch down to the lake was spectacular. The owner is highly organized and makes your stay very comfortable. If you have the opportunity, do not turn down the chance to spend time in this lovely "cabin!"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: My favorite part of sharing our home is having guests like your family build memories of your visit to Lake Cumberland. Debbie, thanks for taking such great care of my home. Your family is welcome back anytime!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

A retreat from the city...

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

This is our 3rd time visiting this cabin. We have made it a family tradition to visit at least once a year. We love the house, the pool table, the magnificent view of Lake Cumberland from the deck and the private dock. The house is equipped with all the amenities that you can find on your home away from home. Selwyn is a great host that takes care of every need their customers have. We cannot wait to come back next year again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ingrid, returning families like yours are my favorite part of sharing our home. You all are truly like family to me. Thanks for taking care of my home. Selwyn

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

BEAUTIFUL HOME - GREAT LOCATION

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

We had six adults in our party. This home is just beautiful! It is clean, well furnished, and you can tell it is maintained with care. It is even more spacious inside than we thought from looking at the pictures. There are several decks off the back and there is a great view of the lake from the upper deck. The master bedroom is on the lower level with its own bath. There is a private sitting room off of it and then you can walk out to a lower deck. Very comfortable. The path to the private dock was wide and maintained very well. It was easy to walk. The dock was very large and we could all spread out towel to sit with plenty of room to spare. We fished and swam right from the dock, and rented jet skis from the nearby marina. We went to Cumberland Falls which is only about 30 minutes away. The owner sent us detailed directions complete with pictures, and a long list of locations of restaurants, grocerys etc that could be found in Somerset. This helped a great deal because this was our first trip to Cumberland. We had a great week staying in this home and would highly recommend it to anyone that wants to stay at Cumberland Lake.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Leanne, for the great review. As you know, this is my vacation home and I do my best to keep it well maintained. We're glad you all had a good time on the lake. Hope you have great memories to keep with you for many years. Selwyn and Jo.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Happy Memories

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Dear Selwyn;

The time we spent at your lovely cabin was wonderful. It felt like a " home away from home"and was very comfortable, clean and convenient to local stores and attractions.

Thanks so much for renting it to us and making the process so seamless. It was a pleasure to rent from you and we appreciated all the helpful suggestions as to what we could find in Somerset and Burnside.

We really enjoyed sitting out on the deck each evening and gazing at the water view. All your great photos showed what to expect and once we got there, we were not disappointed. In fact, we were very happy and surprised to find out how large yet cozy the home is inside.

I loved the open floor design and cooking in the well appointed kitchen, while my husband grilled on the side porch and my son and his friend played pool in front of us on the same floor. That part is fantastic! No more tucking the kids out of the way in the basement or up in a loft. We all enjoyed the fun we had around that pool table, laughing with the kids at all the missed and miracle shots they made.

The Lookout Marina was so helpful when we had the broken gear on the outboard. They were so polite and quick to locate parts. We were back on the lake in no time.

While the boat was getting fixed, we enjoyed roaming Casey counties Amish and Mennonite community. We ate lunch at The Wagon Trail cafe on South Fork Rd. with their home made buns and the best Peach milkshake I've ever had and sgopped at Lavernes produce and Sunny Valley grocery store on Tuesday and visited my friends farm the next day. This area is stunningly beautiful with some very narrow roads!

This part of KY is indeed very beautiful and the people are so nice. We'll be back to make more memories for sure. I'd recommend renting here to everyone.

Thanks again!

Christy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review...as I'm writing this response, I'm smiling. Smiling because it makes me happy to see my guests build memories as they spend quality family time at Lake Cumberland. Selwyn

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

nora.s.dillon@aexp.com

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 9, 2013

We rented your house for our family of 7, and could not have been more pleased with your home. The location on the lake was wonderful, easy walking access to the dock, Alan your renter at your boat garage was very helpful in making us feel welcome...and took my son out for a ride on his boat. The open layout of your home was great and loved the pool table. My favorite part of your home was the deck's as we watched the boats zip by on the the lake, and listening to the birds sing.

Thanks again, we will see you next year.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for taking such great care of our home...we'd love to have your family back. We've had guests as far away as England. Your family being from California is the next furthest. Let me know early of your next plans to vacation at Lake Cumberland because my cabin books early and fast. Best regards, Selwyn

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

This cabin was perfect for our family!

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

This cabin exceeded our expectations! When we walked into the home we were so impressed with its beauty. Super clean and roomy. The owner was very helpful before and during our stay by providing information about the area. The private access to the dock was the best. My kids were able to go and swim anytime (with life jackets!) they wanted without us having to leave the house. My parents loved the deck, and spent many hours watching the kids swim and have fun. It was also great for those who like to night fish. This home has everything you need to prepare large meals and has every comfort of home. The pictures on the site are nice, but does not really show how beautiful and roomy the home is. We are already thinking about going in the fall and again next summer. This is the house you want to rent!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sheila,

Thank you for your nice review of my vacation home. You confirmed what so many returning guests love about my home - access to the lake. Your family took great care of my home; you're welcome back anytime!

Selwyn

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Our Weekend getaway

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We had a great weekend away with our teenaged kids. We rented a speed boat and went tubing. The location was so convenient and the cabin was beautiful. There were so many places to go hiking in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review of the area. Hopefully, you'll have fond memories of your weekend at Lake Cumberland. Selwyn & Jo.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Greatest Experience

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

This was our first time renting a vacation home and it was a great experience. Home was just as advertised and more. We had a relaxing vacation and the owners are great to deal with. They provide plenty of information before you arrive, so you know what to expect and plan on doing. Will definately rent again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Always glad to help - we'd love to have your family back soon. Selwyn

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

wonderful location and fabulous house

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

We were so thrilled when we drove up and walked through the door! The photos don't even do it justice. We had a wonderful time, it is so peaceful and comfortable. Views are lovely and there is everything anyone could need - loved the pool table as well, gave us many happy games. Cumberland Falls was brilliant, and we also visited Lexington on the way back to see the World Horse Park. Superb day out.

We are an English family and really think Kentucky is brilliant, surprised more don't visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad your family had safe travels back to England. Having guests from England stay at my cabin was exciting. I remember that initial phone call (your eloquent English accent) inquiring on reservation availability... Anyway, sounds like your memories of Kentucky will be with you for a long time - your family is welcome back anytime. Cheers! Selwyn

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Wonderful fall getaway!

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with another couple and 2 of our children at this Lake Cumberland vacation home. Loved the floor plan, very open yet allowed for playing pool and watching TV without one interfering with the other. Leaves were changing and walnuts dropped from the trees.. nice view of the lake and hiked the 89 steps to the private dock...good cardio workout. Everything was clean, including new oven and wifi access. Hope to return soon... nice area to walk with lots of trees.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Nancy - Congratulations to you and your husband! I'm so glad my home left you a fond memory of your 25th anniversary celebration. BTW, news just announced by the Corps of Engineers....expecting the lake water level will be back up to normal level by the end of 2013! That means just a few steps off the shoreline and you'll be at water level. Your next get-a-way weekend is just a phone call away - would love to have your family back.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

WOW - What A Find!!!

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

This cabin is awesome! The owners are wonderful and answered all our questions prior to our arrival. The cabin is right on the lake and the access to the water was excellent. We could not find another cabin on VRBO that had such a perfect setting. Everything described on the website is accurate. Our kids are insisting that we come back to this cabin every year. Laurie

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Laurie, your family can return as often as you want. I have several families that are repeat guests that return every year. Thanks for taking such good care of my home. Selwyn

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Picture perfect!

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

This cabin is fabulous! You feel like you are at home it is so welcoming and comfortable. The view is beautiful and having access to a dock is great. The climb is a little rough if you are out of shape. I will definately be returning in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love having guests like your family at my cabin. I have some great news just announced by the Corps of Engineers....expecting the lake water level will be back up to normal level by the end of 2013! That means just a few steps off the shoreline and you'll be at water level - I can't wait.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Our last week before school starts

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

Hi Selwyn,

We had great time at your cabin and the weather was fantastic! We let each of the kids bring a friend and you will see them all on the tube photo. They loved the smooth surface of the protected waters leading to the main lake and having the dock to tie up at night. We also enjoyed wakeboarding, floating around in various parts of the lake and jumping off some ledges we found about 1/4 mile or so downstream. Even when it showered we were out in the water!

The open floor plan on the main floor served our party of six very well and we enjoyed playing pool, cards and a few movies in the evening hours. Ann and I went to visit Cumberland Falls one afternoon, which was a nice diversion. All in all a great final week of summer vacation in advance of school starting the following week.

Thanks again!

Keith and Ann

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you all had a great time - that's my key objective. And I hope you have some fond memories that will last a long time : )

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Outstanding Experience!!!

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

This was one of the most outstanding experiences my family has ever had (and we've rented many homes on VRBO). This home has everything to make your stay a memory you'll cherish for a long, long time. My teenage children had a wonderful time swimming, skiing and tubing. The home was exceptionally comfortable and we all had plenty of room when we came back from the lake. The owners have thought of everything for this cabin. We'll be back

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were delighted to have your family as guests. Thank you so much for taking great care of our home!

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Exceptional Lake Cumberland Find

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

I almost hesitate to share our stay with others because we might want to just keep it our little secret! This home was very well decorated and equipped with everything you need for your stay. The view from the deck was beautiful and the lake access is something you won't find at most cabins. The owner went above and and beyond in dealing with a very unusual issue that came up during our stay, one that was not related at all to his cabin, and took care of it promptly for us, so rest assured that you will be well taken care of.

The only negative I would mention is that the basement bedroom was very cold, while the upstairs bedrooms were on the warmer side. There are fans provided upstairs but if you are traveling with someone who has an issue with sleeping in a warm bedroom or a very cold bedroom, and it has been a hot day, be advised.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We won't tell anyone about this secret cabin : )
I always am happy to help my guests with any issue...look forward to having your family back at our secret cabin. Selwyn.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Above expectations...

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

My family and I had an amazing time this weekend at your cabin.. Thank you so much for opening your beautiful place up for us to enjoy. The place was above our expectations. When we opened the door we were in aw. The view is breathtaking. We have stayed in quiet a few cabins and this was by far our favorite. We caught lots if fish and really enjoyed the private dock. We will definately be back. Again thank you for allowing us to enjoy your beautiful home...

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Waylon, it was a pleasure having your family as guests at our home. Glad to hear you caught plenty of fish...We look forward to having you back soon.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Four night end-of-summer getaway

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

Our family of four really enjoyed our stay at this property. The cabin is extremely well-maintained, clean, comfortable, and homey. We wanted a place that had water-access, and appreciated being able to dock the boat we rented from the marina overnight. The lake is remarkably clean and warm, and had very little boat traffic while we were there. Having never been to Lake Cumberland before, we did not realize that the homes are situated very high on rock ledges above the water. The steps up and down provide a challenging workout, but the solitude and extraordinary peacefulness of being out in the woods overlooking the water is well worth it. We enjoyed cooking out and preparing several meals at the cottage (the kitchen is great!), and we were also able to find very good restaurants for dinner just 10-15 minutes away. Selwyn provides outstanding customer service and is very helpful. The maps and info he shared ahead of our stay were terrific (for example, it's a dry county so bring your own beer, wine, alcohol!) I recommend this place to anyone who is seeking a relaxing, remote getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Cumberland Weekend

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

This cabin is very well taken care of and welcoming, which was great considering it STORMED all weekend and we spent most of our time INSIDE. Regardless, the views from the deck were great and the quick trips to the dock between storms were fun. We look forward to planning another weekend trip when the weather is better!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Best lake cumberland home we've ever rented

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

This cabin is exactly as described by owners. We had a wonderful time because this house has great access the lake from back yard. Our family will return here. The owners are great to deal with and have thought of everything for the cabin. The view of the lake from the deck is incredible. We'll be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"What A Find...Thanks For Many Memories"

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2009

Hi Selwyn,

Thank you so much for opening your beautiful home to our family. Because our youngest daughter lives in Illinois and has given us the blessing of our first grandchild, Luke, we needed to find a meeting place which was half way between there and North Carolina. We had a wonderful visit in your lovely home, which was so much more than we expected. Our son-in-law describes it perfectly..."What a find!!!". Thanks for many memories!

Helpful votes: 31 / 31

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

We had an amazing time on our get-away vacation. We stayed at the house during the heat of July. The shaded deck and the lake just down the hill provided relief from the heat and a beautiful view. The house was cool, clean and comfortable. We were expecting a cabin-like house in the woods, but were delighted to be staying at a fancy house in the woods. The house was far enough away from a busy town, but close enough to stores for those items we forgot. Selwyn was there for every need we had and is a great person to work with. I highly recommend this house for some great days of relaxation.

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2009

Mr. & Mrs. Dias,
We cannot thank you enough for the opportunity to stay at your house. While we viewed pictures of the house on your web site, we did not appreciate how beautiful it is until we entered. The place was immaculately clean and had every amenity that one could imagine. Our 2 kids had a ball playing pool and my wife and I enjoyed the whirlpool tub in the evening. We rented a pontoon boat at Burnside Marina and had a very enjoyable time on the water. One of our sons will be leaving for school in Scotland for 13 months and the other is leaving for college at the end of this week so it was a great time to have one last time together as a family. Again, thank you so very much the use of your house. Thanks for a wonderful time!!
The Speer Family (Frankfort, Kentucky)

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2009

Selwyn,
We had a wonderful time on vacation at your cabin. We especially enjoyed the pooltable (had a mini tournament with my buddy Keith) and relaxing on your deck overlookingthe South Fork of the lake. I have enclosed a photo of Anna and I on your deck. We would love to return to your cabin next year if we return to Lake Cumberland.
Tom & Anna (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania);
Keith & Paige (Lebanon, Tennessee)

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

Thanks so much for sharing your lake home with us. We had a wonderful time! I received our deposit check yesterday. Thanks for processing it so quickly. Your home is beautiful and much more than a cabin. Everything was beautiful and well-cared for...it was so nice to get together to make new and happy memories in your spacious home. We will definitely recommend it to our friends looking for a vacation lake house and will consider coming back in the future. I've attached some photos I thought you might want to include on your website. One other thing you might want to include is a photo or mention of the laundry area - a nice feature that isn't mentioned. Again, thanks for sharing your home with us.
Warm regards,
Sheila & Andy (Worthington, Ohio)

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

We came to Lake Cumberland on our honeymoon. We were looking for something secluded with water access for our boat. This was actually very hard to find for a reasonable price. The local ramp and water access were very convenient for boating and fishing. The leaves had just started to change and we spent many nights just sitting on the deck in the tree tops, spectating the local wildlife.

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2009

Thank you so much for opening your beautiful home to our family. Because our youngest daughter lives in Illinois and has given us the blessing of our first grandchild, Luke, we needed to find a meeting place which was half way between there and North Carolina. We had a wonderful visit in your lovely home, which was so much more than we expected. Our son-in-law describes it perfectly..."What a find!!!" Thanks for many memories!

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review