reviews for: listing #37492 - South Padre Island, Texas House rental

Bahama Breeze-- 5 Bd/3 Ba Home w/ Heated Pool & Spa!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $800 /nt
    $1,995 - $4,800 /wk

sort by:

Great beach house close to everything!

Review submitted: August 10, 2008   Date of arrival: May 11, 2008

This beach house was perfect! The rooms are huge and can accomodate a lot of people. The house is close to everything (shopping, dining and the beach). We recommend this beach house to anyone thinking about visiting South Padre Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 21 / 23

 

best in SP

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

This place is the best SP has to offer. Beach across the street. Best restaurant/bar, one block down. Good Mai Tai's. Pool and hot tub are pure joy. Plenty of room and TV's for everyone. Balcony overlooks the street. If you want a supreme place to stay, get this place for your vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much. We would love to have you back anytime!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Christmas Vacation on South Padre Island

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

I debated on whether or not to make a comment on Guest Zorander’s review on their July visit or to just leave it be. I decided that it may influence others from staying in this house. I have only one sentence to say in answer to his review. “I find it hard to believe that they stayed in the same house that we did”.
My husband & I, along with our 3 sons, their wives & our two teenage grandchildren have just returned from spending our Christmas on South Padre Island. We all agree that we had the most amazing time ever & that the house was more than we imagined it would be. I booked this home in June & conversed back & forth via email with the owners a few times about their home & things to do on the island. I found them prompt in their replies & very helpful.
I wasn’t comfortable with paying on-line with my credit card payment of the security deposit & the remaining balance so the owners came up with a most agreeable plan of a bank draft in U.S dollars which I chose to send as an Express Post mail out to be there in 2 days. I appreciated that very much.
The house was super clean upon arrival…there were 10 of us in the home & we never felt crowded. The beds were very comfortable… ample extra pillows & blankets. We did have a heating problem one cool evening so the extra blankets came in handy but caretaker Tom was there the next morning and after talking with owner Tom, it was taken care of.
The pool & hot tub were an added bonus after a day at the beach or the many excursions that we did.
The pictures of the dining area on-line show chairs around the table but the home now has a long, wonderfully crafted bench on each side that accommodated all of us very comfortably, not only for our meals, but also our many conversations & reminiscing of the past.
The washer & dryer were a wonderful bonus. With 10 people in the home showering after a day at the beach &/or excursions, we were able to keep up with clean towels & we never ever ran out of hot water which was great. We cooked our breakfasts and suppers (dinners to non-Canadians) so we were able to keep up with the dish towels, etc. also.
Our family will absolutely, without question, recommend South Padre Island & this home as a great place to spend a holiday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much! We would love to have ya'll back any time and we are so glad you enjoyed the house and the island.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Bahama breeze

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

Property was as advertised. Lower floor bedroom was better than expected. Has alarm on door for kid proofing. Really enjoyed the stay. People were responsive and easy to deal with. Property was clean and well maintained. Well stocked kitchen with good grill on patio.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Darrell! We would love to have you all back anytime!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our family reunion at Bahama Breeze

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

The location of this house was very convenient to the beach and restaurants. We enjoyed the screened in porch and lovely pool. Overall we enjoyed the house and would recommend it.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Weekend at the Beach House

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Great weekend with friends and our kids (7/28 – 7/31) at the beach at a top notch beach house in a great location. When we arrived the house was well maintained, clean, and ready for our weekend. We found that the owners of the house made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our vacation. Enough room for everyone in our party to have their own bed/room. The kids enjoyed having their own room with their own bunk beds. Enjoyed the half enclosed upstairs patio with locking doors which made a great play area for our small children. Enjoyed having a fenced in yard with deck while swimming and sunbathing by the pool during the day and the evening spa soaks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Cliff. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed Bahama Breeze Beach House. We would love to have you back anytime!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

over promised and under delivered

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

Took the family there for the week...plenty of room, fair location, but the place is misrepresented.
1. Condition: location is described as luxury. At best when new, it was low builder grade. Currently, the place is worn out. Floors worn to substrate, abused paint/surfaces, rusty, corroded appliances, furniture is cheap and generally trashed. The whole place is poorly maintained (couldn't let the kids on the deck due to exposed nails in the siding). In short, it looked like the spring breakers had just left.
2. Smell: the owners claim no pets allowed, but the place smells of wet dog.
3. Pool: no shade or umbrella. We had an ez-up tent and used it...otherwise, you are in the sun with no cover.
4. beds: the bunks are industrial grade and extremely noisy. The kids were up and down all night due to the noise of turning in their sleep. The king beds were high in the middle and low on the sides...time to replace was years ago.
4. Price/Value: We chose to go in the peak season so paid the premium. However, even using winter/off season pricing as the benchmark, I would not stay there again.

Owners response: We were surprised that Melba and her son, Matt provided such an opinionated review even after speaking with Matt while at the house; he stated that everything was wonderful. I called Matt about the posted review and he was adamant as a Semiconductor Employee that the house did not meet his expectations “similar to the semiconductor world class”.

1. We kindly disagree with Matt’s opinion of the overall house condition. Floors are commercially waxed every three months and any paint blemishes are repaired annually unless immediate attention is required. Leather furniture is not cheap in our opinion – we are confused as to what would be more expensive than leather. The only appliance with any surface rust is the outside grille. Stainless steel grills will create some kind of surface rust within 7 days of being exposed to the salty air since the house is so close to the beach. The grille is replaced two times annually. Additionally, had the guest informed us that there was an exposed nail on the deck, we would have dispatched our repairman to the house to take care of it.

2. We kindly disagree for the “smell” that Matt observed while visiting with his many guests. With wood and tile floors throughout and leather / wood furniture … we have never experienced the same problem of a “smell” in the house and have never had a guest mention the “smell” that Matt experienced.

3. We kindly apologize for the sun shining on the guest while enjoying the outdoor pool.

4. The “industrial grade” bunk beds were purchased at Ashley’s furniture – not Grainger. The noise that Matt may have heard on the bunk bed is the “pee-resistant” cover over on the mattress to prevent young children from soiling the bunk bed mattresses underneath. The king size beds are less than a year old, and we have only had positive comments from our guests about them.

5. We apologize that our former guest is now having buyer’s remorse after returning home from a “premium” week with the associated costs.

If there was some other underlying reason that the guest was not happy and lashing out, we are unaware. As always, we invite any of our guests to call us anytime, 24 hours a day, if they are unhappy about anything at all.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Highly recommend Bahama Breeze!

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

I just spent five wonderful nights at Bahama Breeze with 10 of my closest friends! Everyone had a great time and we are pleased to say that the house is even better than it looks! The weather was spectacular during our stay, so we were able to take full advantage of the proximity to the beach, which is a mere block and a half away. We also cut costs by preparing the majority of our meals at the house (the kitchen is pretty well-equipped). And the lighted pool and hot tub were a dream come true. Tom and Denise were great to work with and very accomodating. I really can't wait to do it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! We would love to have ya'll back anytime.-Tom & Denise

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Fall weekend at Bahama Breeze

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

What a great weekend in a beatiful house only 1/2 block from the magnificent Blue Water of South Padre Beach. 6 of us had an adult weekend without the kids and grandkids. Bahama Breeze was the perfect spot to Kick Back after shopping and spending time on the beach, we enjoyed our happy hour in the magnificent Hot Tub and Pool lauging and enjoying the surroundings. Your suggestion of Big Daddy's and Scampi's restaurants were great. Thank you Tom & Denise, we hope to return to this wonderful spot.
Terry & Gail

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Week At Bahama Breeze

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We loved the Bahama Breeze! The pictures don't do this house justice. We took our kids and well able to spread out all over the house. From the upper living area, you can see the ocean a block away. Everything you need for the beach, is provided (including wagon to take it there). Our days were spent at the beach, and nights were spent in the private pool and spa. The kids found plenty of pool toys, while my wife and I camped at the picnic table along side. If you wish to cook, the kitchen is fully furnished and ready to go. We spent a week in this wonderful house, either in the beach, the pool, or lounging around the living room or enjoying a late night on the enclosed balcony. You'll be plenty close to the neighborhood brew pub, in fact, we walked. We hadn't been there 24 hours before we decided, we'll be back as soon as possible. We're done with the packed condos and overcrowded hotels. Bahama Breeze will become our second home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Week At Bahama Breeze

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

We loved the Bahama Breeze! The pictures don't do this house justice. We took our kids and well able to spread out all over the house. From the upper living area, you can see the ocean a block away. Everything you need for the beach, is provided (including wagon to take it there). Our days were spent at the beach, and nights were spent in the private pool and spa. The kids found plenty of pool toys, while my wife and I camped at the picnic table along side. If you wish to cook, the kitchen is fully furnished and ready to go. We spent a week in this wonderful house, either in the beach, the pool, or lounging around the living room or enjoying a late night on the enclosed balcony. You'll be plenty close to the neighborhood brew pub, in fact, we walked. We hadn't been there 24 hours before we decided, we'll be back as soon as possible. We're done with the packed condos and overcrowded hotels. Bahama Breeze will become our second home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We would love to have ya'll back anytime.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A Week At Bahama Breeze

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

We loved the Bahama Breeze! The pictures don't do this house justice. We took our kids and well able to spread out all over the house. From the upper living area, you can see the ocean a block away. Everything you need for the beach, is provided (including wagon to take it there). Our days were spent at the beach, and nights were spent in the private pool and spa. The kids found plenty of pool toys, while my wife and I camped at the picnic table along side. If you wish to cook, the kitchen is fully furnished and ready to go. We spent a week in this wonderful house, either in the beach, the pool, or lounging around the living room or enjoying a late night on the enclosed balcony. You'll be plenty close to the neighborhood brew pub, in fact, we walked. We hadn't been there 24 hours before we decided, we'll be back as soon as possible. We're done with the packed condos and overcrowded hotels. Bahama Breeze will become our second home!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed Bahama BreezeBeach House!

Review submitted: June 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 23, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Bahama Breeze. We had plenty of room and everyone enjoyed the convenience of having our own pool. On days when it was too windy at the beach, this really came in handy. Plus the convenience of "after hours" swims and hot tub use provided a full day.

The owners were more than responsive to any of our needs when we contacted them. Everything was handled in a polite and professional manner.

We cooked at the house primarily and having an outdoor gas grill made it just like home.

If you need a 10+ sleeper home, this is a great choice!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 23, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Bahama Breeze. We had plenty of room and everyone enjoyed the convenience of having our own pool. On days when it was too windy at the beach, this really came in handy. Plus the convenience of "after hours" swims and hot tub use provided a full day.

The owners were more than responsive to any of our needs when we contacted them. Everything was handled in a polite and professional manner.

We cooked at the house primarily and having an outdoor gas grill made it just like home.

If you need a 10+ sleeper home, this is a great choice!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Bahama House was a Breeze!

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 23, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Bahama Breeze. We had plenty of room and everyone enjoyed the convenience of having our own pool. On days when it was too windy at the beach, this really came in handy. Plus the convenience of "after hours" swims and hot tub use provided a full day.

The owners were more than responsive to any of our needs when we contacted them. Everything was handled in a polite and professional manner.

We cooked at the house primarily and having an outdoor gas grill made it just like home.

If you need a 10+ sleeper home, this is a great choice!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: May 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

What a wonderful house!!! It accomodated our three families (including 5 kids) too a tee. We didn't want for anything, as the house is very well stocked with anything you could possibly need. Thank you Denise & Tom for a wonderful renting experience. We'll be booking again soon!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 26, 2010

We stayed at Bahama Breeze with our large extended family. It was absolutely perfect. The house gave us plenty of room to relax after a day on the beach or in the water. We really enjoyed the pool and the spa, especialy with small children. It felt like home away from home. The owners had displayed lots of things to do on the island, so we never ran out of things to do. My only regret is that we didn't have more time to spend at Bahama Breeze, maybe our next trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 16, 2009   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

We had a wonderful time with our family on S.Padre Island! The house was just right, the pool and hot tub were a big hit with the grandchildren and the beach is awesome. Thanks for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 21, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

This is and AWESOME place to stay!! We have been to Padre many times and this HOME is where you want to be. There is EVERYTHING you need to live for the old people like us and the kids including pool toys and even beach chairs. You will not ever find better people than the owners Tom and Denise. Our deposit was refunded while we were on the way back to Waco!! If you have any questions please feel free to email us. We will definitley do this again!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

We recently stayed at the Bahama Breeze house and
the place was great. We had five couples plus kids
at the house so we definitely took up the entire
house. The house is very convenient to the beach,
the covered outdoor patio was great to hang out in
and the pool was really nice. The house was clean
and even had a pack n' play, a high chair and gates
for our baby. The owners were very easy to deal
with and extremely helpful. I would definitely
recommend this property to others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 14, 2009   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

We had a great time. The beach house is well laid out with lots of toys for the kids to use both on the beach and in the pool. We had 4 families with 14 folks and it was a perfect fit. The beach house A/C worked great which was very welcome in the sweltering heat. Denise was a pleasure to work with, quick to answer my questions in the weeks leading up to the stay and very flexible with our stay. I would definitely recommend this beach house for those wanting to visit SPI. Thanks Denise!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 25, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

Our family of 14 just returned from this property, we
had a wonderful time. The house is lovely and had
everything we needed for a fun vacation. The owners
are great to work with too. Everything about this
vacation home is positive, we'll definetly stay here
again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 19, 2009   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

WOW!!! What a nice place to stay. The house was gorgeous and very spacious. The owners were great and were easy to call. Had a leak in our sink and they had someone over immediately to fix it. I will defintely stay again there the next time we go.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 16, 2009

I scheduled a family reunion using this house (Bahama Breeze) as our main headquarters. The Unruhs helped me to find other condos around this area so that we could house all 22 of us within walking distance of the "headquarters" and the beach.

We had such a great time - the pool and hot tub were used extensively.

We had four generations represented so we ranged from 2 to 79 and the property worked for all of us.

I really want to thank Denise Unruh for all her ehlp in locating all the properties that we needed - she made it so much easier for me to complete the planning for the trip.

Thanks again,

Sharon Robinson

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 2, 2009   Date of arrival: June 2, 2009

The Beach House Was awesome! Very elegant and professionally decorated. spotlessly clean. t.v in all the rooms, My favorite was the pool and hot tub! Price was very reasonable. Quality up there with the most expensive/elegant hotels. Can't wait to return for another relaxing weekend. The teens loved the beach and it was so close, just a really short 1/4 block away. (the sand so soft on the beach.)( The water was clean and clear, not trashy or junky like some places we've been.) I didn't worry about the girls going there on their own. The neighborhood was clean and seemed very safe for the teens to wander around and "do their own thing".
So much to do on the island We could have stayed busy for more than a week if we had that long to stay. I look forward to staying at your property again. I wouldn't go to any other rental properties on S. Padre. Others just didn't seem to have the quality/cleanliness that your property has. Anyone who wants a nice place to stay would be crazy too pass this Vacation Rental up for something else. We will be back and look forward to it. Next time we hope to take advantage of the many activities on the Island: jet ski, boating, I could go on and on. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 29, 2009   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

This place was great! You guys were awesome. You worked with me when i needed it when i was iraq. And i really appreciate everything. From all of us here at Fort Hood. Thank YOU!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 14, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Bahama Breeze was a wonderful house. Very comfortable with all the amenities people could want. It is also extremely convenient to everything on the island and a half a block away from the beach. We had an incredible time down there.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 7, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

This home was more than we could have ever asked for. Wonderful location and very specious. The pool, hot tub and screened in porch were amazing. Can't wait to rent again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review