reviews for: listing #37531 - Celestun Beach, Yucatan House rental

Beachfront Villa Mariposa with Kayaks, Bikes & WiFi Internet
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $650 - $650 /nt
    $650 - $650 /wk
    $2,400 - $2,400 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful, relaxing place. We will be back!

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

Celestun is a relaxed little town that welcomes tourists. The "flamingo" tours are practically mandatory and we took a tour to view the thousands of birds in the "ria" close to town. There are many restaurants along the beach with delicious fish and seafood.

The house is clean and a few kilometers outside of town. The newly remodeled bathroom was beautiful! The location is quiet, with beautiful sunsets and amazing star gazing. We enjoyed listening to the gentle waves, the birds in the morning, taking the sea kayaks out, and riding the bicycles thru town. Most of all we enjoyed doing nothing. The covered patio facing the beach is a dream come true. The sea breeze every day kept the house cool every day even when the temperatures reached 95 degrees. If I were a writer this would be a perfect location!

The property manager is now a local business man with very good English and Spanish. The owner is improving the property on a regular basis. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

The Best Holiday ever!

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 12, 2012

My husband and I rented this house for 3 weeks in December, It was the best working holiday we have had in years. So good we decided to build our own house in Celestun. We will return to Villa Mariposa as soon as we can and until our own house is ready.
Villa Mariposa is well appointed with everything you need for cooking, it is well cared for, super clean and a comfortable home whose pictures do not do it justice. It would easily accommodate 4 people (or more in hammocks!). The caretaker was friendly and very helpful. The town,a 30 minute walk from the house, has everything needed for everyday shopping and the beach restaurants are clean, there isn't much menu variety but the fish and shrimp and calamari are fresh so what else do you need? Everywhere the service is friendly. The people of Celestun really seem to welcome the tourists rather than barely putting up with them. The beach is drop dead gorgeous.
Celestun is a quiet town so if you're looking for beach games in the day time and wild nights on the town this is not the place for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Vacation!

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent a fantastic week in this comfortable little villa with a beautiful ocean view. We flew into Cancun and drove our little rental across the pennisula with no trouble at all. The house itself is clean, spacious, and very well decorated. The nearby town of Celestun is beautiful, and we were welcome at every restaurant and store we entered, even though neither of us speak any Spanish. We spent most of our week relaxing in the comfortable hammock in the house, walking up and down the beach, and took a few day trips to Merida and to some nearby Mayan ruins. The caretaker was very helpful and accessible when we needed them. I highly reccommend this little known spot of heaven to anyone who wants a quiet vacation away from the hustle and bustle of hotels and popular "tourist" destinations. Celestun had plenty to do without having to fight any crowds! It is a beautiful place and I would highly reccomend it to anyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Two wonderful weeks!!

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

I flew into Cancun (Merida is a good option as well) and rented a car for the drive across the peninsula visiting the Mayan ruins and cenotes along the way. $10/Day unlimited mileage, great deal! The Villa Mariposa and Celestun met my every expectation! The house was clean and modern as advertised 100 feet from the Gulf. Just 2 kilometers from down town I particularly enjoyed the walk along the beach into town. I encountered a large manta ray swimming just a few feet off shore. Walked along side of it for several hundred meters until it decided that was enough. The Celestun beach was white and clean, the water clear and warm, perfect swimming temperature. There were lots of conch shells, many still populated and became my breakfast on several mornings. I found one very large one now a prize on my fireplace mantle in Colorado.
The property manager was friendly with several suggestions on where to go and what to do. There are several good restaurants downtown, but I found La Casa Peon to be a delightful place to eat. It's just one block north of the pier on 12 (the main street). It's a nice change from the restaurants more centrally located.
Celestun and Villa Mariposa were definitely worth the time and a good vacation value; definitely back again next February.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

What a Wonderful 2 weeks!!

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

I flew into Cancun (Merida is a good option as well) and rented a car for the drive across the peninsula visiting the Mayan ruins and cenotes along the way. $10/Day unlimited mileage, great deal! The Villa Mariposa and Celestun met my every expectation! The house was clean, well kept and modern as advertised and just 100 feet from the water's edge. It is 2 kilometers from downtown, I particularly enjoyed the walk along the beach into town. Along the way I encountered a large manta ray swimming just a few feet off shore. Walked along side of it for several hundred meters until it decided that was enough. The Celestun beach was white and clean, the water clear and warm, perfect swimming temperature. There were lots of conch shells, many still populated and became my breakfast on several mornings. I found one very large one now a prize on my fireplace mantle in Colorado.

The property manager was friendly and knowledgeable with several suggestions on where to go and what to do. There are many good restaurants downtown, but I found La Casa Peon to be a delightful place to eat. It's just one block north of the pier on 12 (the main street). It's a nice change from the restaurants more centrally located.

Celestun and Villa Mariposa were definitely worth the time and a good vacation value; definitely back again next February.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Villa Mairposa

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

My two boys and I had a wonderful vacation over Christmas at Villa Mariposa in Celestun. The beautiful home was warm and welcoming, and the decor often made us smile with each discovery of some whimsicle bit of art. The hammocks in the house were a favorite with my two teenaged sons - they slept in them every night! I thoroughly enjoyed cooking in the well stocked and very organized kitchen. We all looked forward to exercising our Spanish skills during our nightly excursion into quaint Celestun to purchase the fresh fish for that night's dinner. Mariposa is in the perfect location. The ocean is only a few steps away out the back door and we spent many hours walking along the white sand beach collecting shells or playing in the water. This beautiful home is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the more touristy areas to allow for some much need relaxation, but also close enough for us to enjoy shopping in Merida, sightseeing at Uxmal, and on our last day, a snorlking trip to Cancun. We had such a wonderful time... my boys and I hope to return again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Extremely disappointing rental - no discussion with owner or representative - beware

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

The photos showed a beautiful place with some character. Unfortunately upon arrival, very cold reception and extremely foul smell in the villa. It had probably not being aired for some days or weeks. The beds and the pillows also had the smell. Tried to tell the representative in Celestun that the place was unacceptable - but he would not say anything and just referred back to the owner who refused everything. She actually never answered emails to discuss nor phone calls. Expect nothing if you have a problem...
In addition, the windows and doors have bars and two latches to open the windows broke in my hand because they were so rusty. The bars on the door are so rusty, that they fall on the ground when you move them - not a safe place with kids. Green mould along the walls and rusty legs of furniture.
We stayed one night, the smell remained as awful the second day. We left one day after hoping to get a partial reimbursement. the worst is that nobody spoke to us.
Finally, the agent in Celestun has limited people skills - not friendly not welcoming. The owner did not reply to calls or emails but asked that we sign a six page contract when we arrived at the villa.

Extremely disappointing rental - look around there is sufficient rentals in Celestun not to go through this frustration.

Owners response: I have never had a bad review before. I have an entire notebook full of good reviews from wonderful renters. When my manager (who, by the way is very caring for all the renters) called me several times to make sure he could get ahold of me right away (caring) told me about this renter complaining, he said the renter was complaining about the smell in the house. He tried to explain to the renter that the entire beach smells like the seaweed and creatures that the storm washed up. He reassured me that the smell was only the beach and not the house. I received a very rude email from this renter threatening to destroy my reputation if I didn't refund his money. I told my manager about this email and he explained that this man had neglected to mention that he had found free lodging with his sister up the beach in a newly built house. The renter is an attorney. Of course he knows how to bully.
I do not respond to threatening emails.
By the way, the photos are recent! I also verified the state of the house with a friend down there.
Thanks everyone!

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Review submitted: February 24, 2008   Date of arrival: February 24, 2008

We just returned from our holiday in Celestun and
we can't stop talking about what a wonderful time
we had. The location is perfect for both an active
and relaxing vacation because there are so many
great things to do within a two hour drive (Uxmal,
Merida, Cenotes,) as well as great things to do right
in Celestun. Villa Mariposa was perfect for us, we
barely used the AC because the ceiling fans and
open windows combined with the almost constant
fresh breeze kept the whole house wonderfully
cool. Having the beach right there is honestly
nothing short of perfect. We used the kayaks
almost everyday and cooked at home a ton, but
also went to the great local restaurants at the
central beach. Falling asleep to the sound of the
gulf of Mexico and waking up to the sound of little
birds made for fantastic sleep and I guess I just
can't say enough about it. Go!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 3, 2008   Date of arrival: February 3, 2008

We spent a wonderfully relaxing week at the end of January at this rental. It is a comfortable house on a beautiful beach in a private location. The hosts were always available for assistance if needed. We recommend this place for those who want a semi- remote place to just relax.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review