reviews for: listing #37558 - Beverly Shores, Indiana House rental

House in Beverly Shores
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Beverly Shores
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $250 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,500 /wk
    $2,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Nice just this once.

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

First saw this rental on line 2 yrs ago, when it stated 4 bedrooms. We hosted off and on 15 people, including 5 children under 6. House was at one time very lovely but needs major upkeep. Loved older appliances, all worked great. Loved the private beach, short walk, scenic beaches, great Lake Michigan and weather was perfect. We were somewhat dissappointed at condition of house, garage, could have used more prep &cleaning for paying guests.It was obvious hadnt been used for quite sometime. Kitchen utensils, bedding and towels were more then adequate and A/C was first rate, for that huge house. Appreciated the great toys for the kids, books, games and cable tv. We have never rented anything but a condo in Fla before so this was new experience for us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Back to Nature in an Indianan Dunes Cottage

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

I loved it. It was quiet and romantic. I love the National Lake Shore with all its history and nature. The home was perfect, exactly what you'd expect in the Dunes. Clean and cozy. Lots of nature.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Back to Nature in an Indianan Dunes Cottage

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

The home was awesome. The dunes are full of real wildlife, yes, raccoons, deer, everything. This is not the Hilton in Chicago. It is the Indiana National Dunes Lake Shore, which does not lend itself to pesticides (although you may need bug spray in the evening) or raccoon cages so don't expect a "clean as a hospital" weekend. The beach changes every year because Lake Michigan is expanding and contracting, i know because i go there to this house every summer. This area is a National Treasure. The beach is fun and a week or two there is a great escape. Come into the home before the sun goes down because there are no street lights and it is easy to get lost in the wonderful nature.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Interesting Neighborhood -disgustingly dirty house

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

The house was interesting and had a cool layout. The neighborhood is really cool and we had the beach practically to ourselves every time we went. This house is about a 15 minute walk to the beach. However, the house itself is disgusting. The toilets looked like they had overflowed many times and never cleaned up. I would NOT dare take a bath in the bathtub. The kitchen was gross, we found old cooked fish in the oven (that we didn't notice until after we preheated it). There were spider webs all over the windows and patio doors. The deck area could have been nice, but it has not been maintained. The beach equipment that the owner claims is available in the garage is junk and you have to dig through other junk to even find it. We killed at least 3 roaches inside the house. I highly recommend the neighborhood....but I do NOT NOT NOT recommend this house. We requested and recieved our cleaning deposit back, but I still feel we overpaid. It is obvious that this place is not cared for.

Owners response: The problem arose from the cleaners who did no realize that there is a new party. I offered to send the cleaners but the renters declined the offer. For this reason, I shall refund the cleaning fee. I sincerely apologize for this.

The area is heavily wooded and has abundant plant, animal and, yes, insect population.

Hatem

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Gorgeous, but needs thorough cleaning and upkeep

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

This is a beautiful, well laid out house that's not being kept up. We spent half the first day cleaning dried ketchup off the tables, tossing the pots of cooked sausage and pasta while we cleaned the fridge and then picking the hair out of the bathtubs. Everything needed to be wiped down as it felt sticky. The kitchen windows could really use a cleaning. The dishwasher and clothes dryer are antiquated & the iron we needed to use was falling apart. The enormous rear decks haven't been cleaned in a long time and if they had, they were still un-usable for our family because of the raccoons that descended day and night (some of them with obvious mange), pulling at the patio doors to get in to the house. They were so insistent that they were chewing the insulation around the doors even as we shouted and slapped the glass and we kept the windows shut tight because the raccoons were working at the screens. Trash was also a problem, as the cans for garbage are stored under the house in the garage and when it's time to put it out for pick-up, there are no raccoon proof containers to put it in, as at other properties in the neighborhood. The raccoons were all over it within minutes of it being put out, dragging week old food into the undergrowth around the house. Minor items: two burned out bulbs in on fixture, three in another, and a third haging fixture that flickered. It's really a shame that such a solid place in a beautiful, natural setting seems to be being let go.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

wonderful, highly recommended

Review submitted: June 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

This was an excellent house. Well stocked with linens, pots, pans, chairs, tables, furniture - everything you need to entertain a group of friends. We bought food from the grocery a few miles away, and we walked to the beach several times. There are also a lot of "toys" in the garage, such as a speed boat (extra from standard rental fee), windsurfer (we didn't try), and a small 2 person catamaran sailboat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review