reviews for: listing #37588 - Los Angeles, California Apartment rental

Spacious, Sweet 2BR in Green Los Feliz
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $163 - $163 /nt
    $1,045 - $1,045 /wk
    $3,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Deanna is the best!!!

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 10, 2014

My stay in the two bedroom suite was awesome it had everything a home would need and some. It's in a great location with a pool and spa. This Lisbon had private parking and a gray view of the city. I stayed with my wife and kid and 3 large dogs plenty of room mind you. We really liked this place!!! Deanna the owner it's awesome in spirits and always very helpful!!! Will defiantly refer my family and friends coming to town!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

This apartment is perfectly situated to access the entire city but also has a lot to offer nearby within walking distance, a rare treat in Los Angeles. Griffith Park is seconds away and great restaurants and bars in Vermont Avenue and Hollywood Boulevard are just as close. The flat itself is clean, has all amenities, and very comfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Los Feliz or Bust

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

We had a fun weekend just a block away from family home. It was very convenient to walk to her home on the way to restaurants and shops on Hillhurst and Vermont streets. The kitchen and linens were well stocked with quality wares. The rental was lovely and clean. The hot tub was well appreciated and the grounds well cared for. The layout of the lowest level would have been awkward for 2 couples but work okay for parents/children as one needs to walk through bedroom two and the master bedroom to access the bathroom. We chose to park the minivan on the street however other renters parked a jeep and van in the driveway by the pool. It felt a little tight to us. As we were on the bottom level we noticed the sound barrier between our ceiling and the floor of the unit above ours did not block the sounds generated by our neighbors during normal activities. Otherwise the neighborhood was quiet and peaceful.Deanna and her husband were very responsive to our questions and needs.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Swiss visitors to LA

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

We had a very good stay in a nice, well-appointed, extremely clean and comfortable apartment. We were visting relatives and the location was very convenient for us. You can walk to Vermont Ave and many cafés, bookstores and restaurants. The description is accurate - it is a "railroad apartment" so the middle bedroom is a "walk through" and the bathroom is off the master bedroom so it is not appropriate if you need complete privacy for each bedroom. Everything worked fine and we enjoyed our stay very much. The only real drawback is the parking situation. There are not really 4 usable parking spaces for the 4 units and the driveway is narrow enough that it is very tricky to back out out of it. In my view, users should be prepared to park on the street. The neighborhood is perfectly safe and quiet. If you come back late in the evening however you may have to park a little further up the block to find a space. All in all I would definitely come back to the apartement in the future and recommend it to others - it is a much better deal than a hotel and more pleasant!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We used to have 4 spots, but since added a above ground pool and now the studio unit does not get a parking space. The parking is very tight, but it does work for the 3 cars that we allocate for. Thank you for your visit and we would love to have your family back anytime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Small familly of one child

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

This place is well located in a calm area close to much sightseeing in Hollywood. Parking is easy and highways are fast to reach. The appartment is cosy, colorful and clean. Beds are comfortable and quality of linens is perfect. Kitchen is fonctional, but the dining area is a big problem. We were only 3 and we could hardly fit together around the table. By the way, the table is dangerously unstable because of a broken leg... The commun patio with the jacuzzi and pool is very nice and our daughter enjoyed it a lot.
We didn't receive any check-in procedures and it was impossible to get in touch with the owner before our arrival, it was very stressful not knowing how we would get in the appartment without keys, code, and anyone to let us in... A detailed e-mail with the check-in procedures would have been very appreciated.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your review. I am glad that overall, you enjoyed the unit. I did not know about the table and will replace it immediately. If you had mentioned this during your stay, I would have replaced it within two hours. This is my first online booking with the VRBO reservation system. I figure out how to be more efficient with my new guests who use this new VRBO direct booking system. Guests that book directly with me, receive entry instructions after their fees are paid. In the future, we welcome your lovely family back to our Villa and hope we can give you the 5 star experience your deserve.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Traveller with two boys

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

I stayed just two nights in this cute little apartment just a few blocks off Hollywood Boulevard, but my two young children and I will be back. Deanna upgraded us to a larger unit, which was nicely decorated and had everything you could need or want while travelling. Everything was spotless, the patio area was lovely and it was nice and quiet. There was even a book with instructions for getting to and from the airport, restaurant recommendations, and information about the local attractions. We were totally comfortable and felt very safe staying there. The only thing missing was a lan line for international travellers who don't want to incur roaming charges on their cell phones. The wireless worked great though, so most arrangements could be made online.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We had a great time!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

My hubby and I loved our time, here. The property is beautifully kept, and is close to all the sights Hollywood has to offer. Our weekend was just the romantic get away we needed.

Thanks so much!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Apartment was pretty much as Expected

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

Overall, this was a decent little apartment for our weekend vacation. For such a great location at an affordable price, you really can't beat this. There were a few minor issues that kept it from being perfect, but still overall well above average. The unavoidable issues are that the second bedroom is open to the living room, and that is noted in the description, but it should also be noted that you need to walk through the second, open bedroom to get to the master bedroom from the living room or kitchen. Also, the only bathroom for this unit is in the master bedroom, so in all practicality, both bedrooms might as well be open. If someone staying in the open room needs to use the restroom in the middle of the night, they need to be able to access the master bedroom to be able to do that. Likewise, if someone staying in the master bedroom wants a snack in the middle of the night, they have to go through the open bedroom to reach the rest of the house. If you are traveling in a group, privacy is not really possible because of the lay-out. You should know this and understand it before renting here, but these issues may not be a problem for most guests. Still way more privacy than a hotel! Now, the good news: ample parking for all units (so long as no one is driving a boat through the narrow driveway), short walking distance to Hollywood Blvd, with restaurants, bars, nightclubs, shopping, etc. You don't even need a car here, really. Hot tub is elevated above the garage and the patio there has a decent view since the property is already on a hill. Grill, covered awning, tables and chairs offer plenty of outdoor relaxation. Out front, there is a chair swing, some nice trees, and a little pond with fish and a turtle, also a little bench to sit next to the pond. The picture may show a hammock, but when I visited, that seems to have been replaced with the chair swing, which is probably more practical. There are two doors to the apartment, and I used the master bedroom door to escape outside in the early morning without disturbing family staying in the open bedroom. The flat screen tv in the living room was put to good use watching SNL, although the master bedroom still has an old tube tv in it. While I can't in good conscience claim the apartment was "perfect", I would certainly stay here again, particularly if it were just my wife & daughter traveling with me, and not another couple as well. I think about 80% (4/5) is a fair rating for this unit

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hello Ron,

Thank you for your honest review. After you departed, we replaced the futon bed to a comfortable, new double mattress. We also changed the stove/oven and range hood to a brand new set. Additionally, we changed the fixture in the bathroom sink. Yes, the bathroom is not ideal which is located off the master, but the unit overall is lovely. I am trying to upgrade all the little things in the unit that are not perfect. We also just got 1000 Egyptian, Cotten sheets.. Again, appreciate your honest feedback and we welcome you back to try our new mattress and soft sheets...
Bests,
Deanna

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Los Feliz is perfect!

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

My husband and I rented this two bedroom apartment for two months. It was charming and clean. The location was perfect.......close to Griffith Park and Observatory where there are many hiking trails, Hollywood and lots of restaurants. The deck was great for relaxation and sitting in the sun. We grilled a number of times. The apartment also had a washer and dryer. Deanna, the owner, is so sweet. If we need anything, she had it for us the very next day! We hope to see her again in the future. Thanks, Deanna. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Los Feliz is perfect!

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

My husband and I rented this two bedroom apartment for two months. It was charming and clean. The location was perfect........close to Griffith Park and Observatory, where there are many hiking trails, Hollywood and lots of restaurants. The deck was great for relaxation and sitting in the sun and we grilled a number of times. The apartment also has a washer and dryer. Deanna, the owner, was so sweet. If we needed anything, she had it for us the next day! We hope to see her again in the future. Thanks, Deanna. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

FABULOUS FIND IN LOS FELIZ

Review submitted: October 30, 2011   Date of arrival: October 24, 2011

The owners are caring and willing to go out of their way for their guests. We had the basement unit, which is really terrific. This charming clean unit has everything and more that you could need. The beds are very comfortable, with heaters/air conditioning in the main rooms. We did use them in the mornings and evenings. Washer and dryer in the unit and a great fully stocked kitchen. The location to major roads is perfect. Lots of great restaurants, grocery stores and anything you need is very close by...walk or drive. Great parking in the back of this beautiful home. The outdoor amenities are clean and as lovely as could be. I did get a chance to look at the studio unit, which is really lovely...perfect for 2 people. My husband and I were in our basement unit, but there is plenty of room to bring the kids. We will be returning to this lovely rental every time we visit our son. PERFECT place to stay. Thank you to the owners for being such generous hosts!!!!
The pictures on the website are very accurate. Check out an Armenian restaurant called Carousel. Great food, very reasonable and very close by.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Clean and Comfortable

Review submitted: January 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

This is a great rental for families. It was very clean. It is located on one of the few quiet streets in Los Angeles. Tucked up against Griffith Park it was a great central location for sight seeing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A wonerful place to stay

Review submitted: October 16, 2010   Date of arrival: September 22, 2010

Our stay was for one week, and we wish we could have stayed longer.The apartment was uncluttered, allowing us to settle in and be at home, but had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. The location was perfect for us, visiting sons living in Studio City, traveling to the beaches, going to downtown Los Angeles ,and even seeing the Griffith Planetarium which was just above us. The location was great for walks and safe.
Deanna was always responsive and timely to respond to our questions and needs. We look forward to staying here again the next time we come out.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay with twins!

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2009

We stayed last June with our 9 month old twins and I am just now getting to write a review! Ha life with twins! We loved our stay and Deanna did everything to make our stay comfortable and easy. The neighborhood is wonderful to go for morning walks in.So close to Griffith Park, Hollywood, great Thai food, quiet neighborhood...we loved it! Plan to visit again this summer when we can.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

perfect vacation getaway

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

We stayed in this lovely apartment for a week in January, 2010. The apartment is comfortable and offers all amenities. We ate breakfast while basking in the sun on the patio enjoying the morning birdsong. The owner is especially helpful. We mentioned that we needed a blender; she purchased one and dropped it off that morning. The location is excellent: the Los Feliz section of Los Angeles is very pretty, close to the Metro as well as major freeways. And as if all of this isn't enough, the unit is wonderfully priced!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Sweet 2BR in Green Los Feliz

Review submitted: April 29, 2009   Date of arrival: March 20, 2009

My friend and I rented this apartment for three days in March while visiting her son who teaches at USC. We truly could not have been more pleased. We were so comfortable and the neighborhood is so lovely that I did not want to leave. The kitchen was well equiped and we were able to make two lovely meals. We would most definitely return to this sweet 2br in beautiful Los Feliz - Deanna was helpful with directions and very quick to respond to all our questions - again, thanks so much for sharing this gem with us - Louise and Connie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place for older people and children

Review submitted: April 16, 2009   Date of arrival: March 30, 2009

The flat was on the ground level, and its door was faced to garage; making it so easy to access for elderly.
Smaller bed, being open, was perfect for kids.
Heaters were old types and bid noisy when operated. Parking was a bid problem; the driveway was very narrow, and when there were two cars parked in the back, it was extremely difficult to turn our car around. The owner was so nice, and made us feel comfortable staying there.
Location was very nice; convenient to go anywhere in LA area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Everything about this apartment was fantastic

Review submitted: March 23, 2009   Date of arrival: March 5, 2009

I stayed in Los Angeles for a week and could not have stayed anywhere more perfect. The location was great and the neighboorhood was clean and quite. It felt like everything was so close. Everyday driving up the street you see The Griffith Park Observatory right in front of you. The apartment was clean, bright and has everything you would find staying at a friends house. That is what I felt like actually, that a friend went out of town and let me stay there. Is all you need to bring with you is your clothes and toiletries. The main bedroom was way bigger then it looks in the picture and there is a plenty of room for your clothes including a dresser and a nice size closet. No need to live out of a suitcase. Instead of going out to dinner you can buy groceries and cook right there and eat at the kitchen table or on the outside deck, which was really nice and even has a grill. The property is very secure and has a locked controlled gate and we even had our own parking space in the gated area. I loved staying here and when I am in LA again will definately book again if available. This beats staying at a hotel for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Very nice place to spend a week in LA

Review submitted: March 6, 2009   Date of arrival: February 15, 2009

Very easy to get to in LA. The price and value was very good for staying in Los Angeles. Driving down the driveway was a little close quarters for getting your car parked. After a few times you get use to it and not a big deal. The washer and dryer worked out great with the week stay.
Everything that you would need for your stay was in the rental and I would stay there again if available.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place to Stay in L.A.

Review submitted: March 1, 2009   Date of arrival: February 12, 2009

We had a wonderful & relaxing stay at this apartment. Everything were well prepared before we arrive. The place was very clean, it has comfortable bedding, spacious living room, fully equipped kitchen, clean toilet, free wifi and almost everything you need is in there. We arrived late but we didn't have any hassle at all. Even the neighborhood was safe and quiet. It's only a 10 mins drive to Universal Studios and Hollywood and so close to nearby famous retail shops and restaurants. Very convenient! Even the owner was very easy to talk to. Didn't have any problems at all. For a very reasonable price, this is a perfect place to stay. I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend staying here to everyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 68

 

The Best Deal in Los Angeles

Review submitted: February 11, 2009   Date of arrival: December 14, 2008

We loved this charming apartment. The unit was the perfect size for my wife and me. The unit was clean and very comfortable. The neighborhood was safe and quite. There was even a free parking spot (large vehicles would have a hard time getting in and out). This was one of the best deals on homeaway and our expectations were met with flying colors. We couldn't rent a dirty motel for the price of this wonderful apartment. The unit had plenty of nice towels, quality bedding, a full kitchen, and we even had our own washer and dryer. The owner was very easy to work with and we would recommend this gem to anyone who wants a cozy, comfortable, CLEAN BARGAIN...
Additionally, the area was close to all the sites in LA...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 126

 

Great value and location

Review submitted: January 26, 2009   Date of arrival: January 16, 2009

Located on a quiet street, but near the main commercial avenues, this place was perfect for two adults. It was clean and modestly but comfortably furnished with a full kitchen on the ground floor, which made it quite convenient. We appreciated the internet access and dish TV. With family living nearby, it was spacious enough to entertain them, and we cooked all of our meals there. The main bedroom is somewhat crowded with large furniture and the bathroom is small, but the closets as big and there is off-street parking and a gate. Parking in the designated spaces is tight, though, not easy to maneuver a larger car. We'll definitely go back the next time we visit LA.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 22 / 133

 

Not suited for a relaxing vacation

Review submitted: January 23, 2009   Date of arrival: January 5, 2009

When we arrived at the apartment after weeks of travel, we were sadly disappointed by its general impression. However, none of the elements in the apartments description are wrong, there are just some things *not mentioned*.
The apartment is the lower unit of a triplex. It's door opens right to the parking lot and the garages of all other units. Also, since it's the lower unit, there is a kind of dismal light throughout the day (We had very sunny days in early january). Opening all the window blinds would be an option, but then however, every neighbor will have a nice view into the whole apartment. Since the driveway to the parking lot goes right by, this includes other renters as well.
At night, things got worse. We went to sleep in the master bedroom which includes a comfortable and large bed. However, staying there was out of the question, as two large heater/ACs for the other apartments were right outside the window. activating about every 30min! (TWe were suggested to turn on the AC permanently for white noise.). So we moved to the second, open bedroom which includes a smaller bed. The apartment is described as "perfect for two adults two children". Let me say: Do not let your children sleep in this bed. The back ache will haunt them throughout their youth! Also, as mentioned before, the drive goes right by the two bedrooms.
The apartment itself is not very nicely furnished. Yes, everything is there, but it all looks like the stuff you would find at ROSS, Marshall's or similar. For a party of four, there's definitely to little flatware and glasses, you should bring your own. Also bring your own toiletry, there are no Cleanex, etc. So be prepared, even if you arrive late at night or on a holiday. We asked the landlord for toilet paper and received a single roll for the coming 4 days!
To get to the patio, we had to walk some stairs. However, we were greeted with a nice view into another apartment's bedroom and a whole can of cigarette buts on the bbq. Tasty! Except for cables running through the bedroom and cabinet doors hanging lose, the apartment itself looked clean.

The end: We tried to contact the landlord multiple times on the second days. After we could not get a hold of her, we left a message on the voicemail and moved to another apartment. We paid 25% more but got everything we wished (e.g.: a dish washer, our *own* washer and dryer,...).
Since we decided to move out on such a short notice, we were not refunded the remaining days.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: The unit does have it's own washer and dryer. I am so sorry my guests seemed to be miserable before they even walked in the door. I do not refund fees to avoid bad reviews. If anyone has issues, I need to be given a chance to make things right which is clearly stated in my agreement. These guests did not follow the steps for any sort of refund.

Helpful votes: 134 / 164

 

Exactly what it claims to be!

Review submitted: October 1, 2008   Date of arrival: September 21, 2008

We took our kids on a week vacation and this is 10 mins from the Hollywood walk of fame and about 10 - 15 mins from universal studios and about 30 - 40 mins from Knotts Berry Farm.

The unit is exactly what is says (that’s rare) clean, bedding and towels are nice. TV was great kids loved all the cool channels and we liked that the channels were OK for children to watch.

Older building but everything is older - you are not going to find a 3 yr old building. Unit has a gate on the driveway so the property has good safety. Parking in the area is at a premium and if you have a big SUV or longer car like the old Cadillac's or town car parking will be a problem! We had a minivan and it was tight and took some skill in maneuvering in and out but we did it.

The street this is on is pretty quiet. Streets around this are residential with plenty of stores 5 mins drive. If you are used to quiet suburbs - west Hollywood can seem rough. If you are used to the big cities then this is fine.
During the week we were at home at nights and had no concerns with our safety and heard no more sirens then we would in our phoenix area home. HUGE Griffith Park is about 5 mins away. Look it up online very nice place to take kids, hike, picnic, explore the observatory.

Nice to have a free laundry too! Kitchen came with all the basics and appliances are older but all working fine.

Bedrooms were acceptable - main is private with door and the other one is walled off from the living room but no door. living room is bright and plenty of room and kitchen area is small so you wont be getting 4 people sitting at the table at the same time but on vacation like we were... sitting down at the kitchen table for dinner was the least of our concerns.

You should not expect the Ritz but you will be pleased that it is clean and you will have all the things you need and it is located only a few mins from the Freeway 101 and the price is right. You could pay a whole lot more and your could probably pay less for a dump on a busy street too.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 31 / 152

 

Perfect Budget in the Best Neighborhood

Review submitted: August 6, 2008   Date of arrival: June 30, 2008

The apartment was just perfect for my needs at a great price. The neighborhood is very safe and close to Vermont Street. I was eating at Fred62 one day while they were filming a scene at the same time. I might even get in the film! The guys in the apartment above mine were in town working on a movie.

The unit was tastefully decorated, spacious and clean. The owner was also wonderful to work with. She was very prompt returning my money with no hassle or deductions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 39 / 170

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review