reviews for: listing #37591 - Encinitas, California House rental

Great Beach House, 180 Degree Oceanfront Views! Golf & Surf!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Leucadia beach
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $420 - $925 /nt
    $2,350 - $5,550 /wk
    $9,400 - $22,000 /mth

sort by:

Lovely Beach Getaway

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

We spent the past long weekend here at this vacation home. It is beautiful! The home is clean and well kept. It has all the appliances and conveniences you could want. The view is out of this world. So lovely and serene. Thank you for a fabulous stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING VIEWS

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: January 8, 2014

When we arrived and started to unload we immediately dropped all of our luggage when we saw the view from our deck!! The view is absolutely incredible and breathtaking! The pictures do not even do it justice!
The location was easy to find and is only a few houses down from the walk way to get to the beach. The house was very comfortable and big enough to fit 3 couples plus more.
We had plans to visit Balboa Park, Scripps, Downtown San Diego and attend a whale watching excursion. We ended up just staying at the house and lounging around enjoying the view of the ocean.
It WAS on my aunts bucket list to go whale watching but as soon as we arrived we could see spouts from our deck! We watched for about 20 minutes and saw whales and dolphins! We didn't even need to pay to go whale watching! I am so happy to tell you that she can now cross this off her bucket list!
My favorite was getting up at 6am and sitting on the deck watching the surfers and sipping a cup of joe, watching the fog roll away.
There are plenty of things to do near the house; amazing restaurants and bars, shopping, beaches, Del Mar, Scripps, etc.

Wish we could have stayed longer!
We absolutely enjoyed our stay and cannot wait till we come back.
Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Sarah for reviewing my property! Come back when you are able. I appreciate your business and your review!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Encinitas Beach House

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

House was everything as advertised and then some! Beautiful views of the ocean from the deck and living room. Easy access to the beach were we spent most of our time. Convenient location as you have several restaurants to choose from. Very relaxing weekend and the kids had a great time.
We'll definitely come back next summer! Thank you Chris!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cardwell family vacation

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

The home was fantastic for our family vacation, three bedrooms and three baths was perfect for three adult families. The hide a bed in the the third bedroom was perfect for the 6year old and the portacrib for the baby. The view and access to the beach was fantastic! The patio is a great place to unwind in the morning and watching the sun set. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you would need to cook a meal. Water toys galore to play in the water, my 6 year old grandson became an expert boogey boarder with the help of his dad. We will be back, the family is already asking when we an come back. I highly recommend this home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent for travelling with teens

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

We've stayed in dozens of houses from coast to coast and this short three day jaunt was memorable! In a great way. Kitchen was perfect, well appointed. Went to store and bought spices--- didn't need to. Master suite was more than adequate. Too bad our rental truck was too tall to fit into garage otherwise that would have been a real treat as few VRs have garage parking.
Short walk down to the beach for swimming and fishing. Sea Perch! Caught a ton of them.
Thew view was great; surfers from sunrise to sunset.

The only downside was that we didn't have longer to stay.

Be mindful that the owners have a suite upstairs. But, with that being said, if we hadn't seen each other in the driveway we never would have known they were there.

Absolute recommendation.
vacation-rental-info.com

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Terry, Thank you so much for the wonderful review posted for 866 Neptune. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay, although it was too short. Allow me to clarify your comment concerning my office above the garages; I have an office above the garages which I am present constantly during the summer period because of the demands of guests visiting our vacation rentals. My main residence is in Laguna Beach, (which I have available for vacation rentals),
We would love to have you back for a longer stay next time you are able to come to San Diego!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Five star view

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 21, 2010

It was a Christmas to remember! We watched the sun chase off the fog, listened to the surf on the shore, enjoyed long walks on the beach, took yoga classes in Encinitas and restored our souls. We loved escaping the cold of New York and Colorado. Thank you sharing this wonderful spot.

Owners response: Thank you Roblyn, it is always a pleasure having great guests like you. Come back soon! Chris*

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 30, 2010

What a wonderful vacation home! Stunning views over the ocean, from both inside the house and from the lovely patio area outside. Fun to watch all the surfers and dolphins. A huge plus is the path down to the beach just a few houses away. A group of us Minnesotans flew out to help our Aunt Carol celebrate her 80th b-day. The well-equipped kitchen made hosting a dinner party a breeze.We hope to be back some day!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great, all one story!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 7, 2009

We came here to celebrate my mother's 60th birthday, Esther. She had an unforgettable week and birthday. From the moment you walk in and see the beautiful ocean, you fall in love with this place. We had never felt as comfortable or relaxed as we have here. This is not a beach house, this is a beach home!
Watching surfers, boats and dolphins never gets old. The fresh ocean air is so intoxicating and the local food is great.
We would like to thank Chris for all the personal touches such as the beautiful flowers; we could smell them all week. This beach home had all the comforts one needs.
We loved it here so much we promise ourself that we must come back. It is great that it is one story for disabled people. Wide hallways, shower bars, high toilets makes this place handicap accessible. Thank you for a wonderful time & God Bless all who stay here.
Sincerely, Esther & David

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Thanksgiving!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 22, 2009

"Chris, Thanks for having a perfect home for a family Thanksgiving reunion away from the frozen north. Your kind hospitality, answering our questions about the house, shopping centers and restaurants, an a gift of bread were all highly appreciated."
"We marveled at the high rollers and numerous surfers. Dolphins also played for about 2 hours near the shore. This is also a fine focal point for birders and naturalists, as well as for the renowned San Diego attractions...."
Families of Virginia, Massachussetts and Calif.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oceanfront 866 Neptune, views!!!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 15, 2009

Our family had a wonderful stay. Sunsets, dolphins swimming near the surfers in the evening, long walks on the beach and many wonderful meals together. The house is so well equipped, clean and comfortable with an amazing view. We could see out into the Pacific Ocean for miles. Great communication with the owner. We hope to go back soon!


RL, Issaquah, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 13, 2007   Date of arrival: March 13, 2007

After 3 days at Disneyland, we welcomed the homey feeling of this wonderful house. I'm here with my mom Sue, Brother Matt and Husband Rick. We also have Matt's daughter. Delphi (3) and our 2 girls, Kara (7) and Kaylee (5). We were very busy these days going to the Zoo, Wildlife Park & Seaworld. We did make one day to relax here. We went to the beach and had a great time. The weather was somewhat cool, so we didn't brave the boogie boards, but we found lots of pretty rocks and shells. We enjoyed the surfers every night & morning. We also saw three dolphins and also a whale! It was very exciting.
So now our journey has come to an end and it's time to go back to the hustle and bustle of regular life. If we ever make our way down here again, we will look Chris up and stay here.
Thanks, Lisa Reeves, Eureka, Ca.
Matt & Delphi- Felton, Ca.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 8, 2007   Date of arrival: March 8, 2007

We came here to celebrate my mother's 60th birthday, Esther. She had an unforgettable week and birthday. From the moment you walk in and see the beautiful ocean, you fall in love with this place. We had never felt as comfortable or relaxed as we have here. This is not a beach house, this is a beach home!
Watching surfers, boats and dolphins never gets old. The fresh ocean air is so intoxicating and the local food is great.
We would like to thank Chris for all the personal touches such as the beautiful flowers; we could smell them all week. This beach home had all the comforts one needs.
We loved it here so much we promise ourself that we must come back. It is great that it is one story for disabled people. Wide hallways, shower bars, high toilets makes this place handicap accessible. Thank you for a wonderful time & God Bless all who stay here.
Sincerely, Esther Rubio & David Ramos

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 25, 2006   Date of arrival: November 25, 2006

This glorious San Diego week saw three generations & extended family members of the Freeman-Sorrett-Zablocki clan gather to enjoy sunshine, surf & Thanksgiving dinner! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this great home. Our youngest members surfed every day- in November! The others were able to watch from the beach or from the terrace while reading & catching up with each other. We came from Martinez, Clayton, Chula Vista, University of San Diego, Long Beach & St. Louis, Missouri. Thank you for sharing this wonderful home with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2006   Date of arrival: April 27, 2006

It was one of the most beautiful places I have ever been and I think the rest of my family would agree. We got to swim, watch dolphins; Best of all we got to see a whale!
The surfers were great and the house was amazing. We all really enjoyed our time here. We grilled on the charcoal grill, sat on the deck and really enjoyed the amazing stars. The sunset was one of the best parts, which is out right now. We got to have a little family reunion, meeting our new cousin. It was one of the best times of our life. Thank you so much, it was amazing!
The Washburns, Novaks & Polagrutos

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 1, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

Chris, thank you for sharing. We enjoyed our visit immensely. It was so nice to have a home environment to welcome my grandson home to. (Home from Iraq)
We will keep in touch. Thank you again for the lovely flowers and the delicious bread.
Fondly, Landis, Shelley, Mike, Eric & Angelina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2006   Date of arrival: March 17, 2006

The surf was beautiful-the view fantastic- we enjoyed the visitors, (dolphins &surfers daily! A few great sunsets.
We loved breakfast at the Potato Shack and dinner at El Callejon. We enjoyed time at Moonlight Beach, but the best was Coronado. The kids loved their room and the peace and quiet of the deck- We loved afternoons on the deck w/margaritas and grilled on the charcoal daily!
Thanks for sharing your beach house! The Brocks of Phoenix and Morgan Hill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 11, 2005   Date of arrival: December 11, 2005

There is a magic to this home that allows you to feel as if it truly is YOUR OWN BEACH HOUSE! I have to slap myself to wake up from this beautiful dream.
Coming from the explosive bustle of Las Vegas, the smell and sound of the ocean and the morning welcome from the dolphins, surfers and the sea birds was exactly what the doctor ordered.
We took walks on the beach, explored neighboring towns, went to movies and dined in great restaurants that we had discovered on previous trips.
The house was stocked magnificently. We only brought a table cloth from home which is a tradition when we travel anywhere. The bedrooms and bathrooms are comfortable and clean. (I particularly enjoyed the BIG BED in the master suite as I am tall)
We leave feeling very grateful and very HIGHER POWERED! Love and Joy to you Chris! Come see us in Vegas! The Radice's-Mary, Toby, Laura, Alice and Francesca the pup!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 2, 2005   Date of arrival: October 2, 2005

A fun house-
loved "Tallulah" she guarded the door. Dolphins, surfers, neighbors= a great mix!
Best, Lindsley, John

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 17, 2005   Date of arrival: September 17, 2005

Come out to the deck
And smell the sea air

Court the dolphins as they
Swim off somewhere

Notice the pelicans
High over head

Listen to the Surf
When curled up in bed

This is the bluff
Where all of your dreams

Come true

Andersons, Barbara, Debbie,
Scott, Melissa, Laura, Blake

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 31, 2005   Date of arrival: July 31, 2005

We had lots of fun. The house is beautiful. We had lots of fun at the beach. We liked taking morning walks and going to the beach in the afternoon. We also liked to collect shells early in the morning. We ate a lot of meals outside because the view was so pretty. Thanks for a wonderful vacation! (Rachel-10), Katie and Stephen, Andrew (8)
Michael (13) Jonathan (1)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2005   Date of arrival: July 17, 2005

Lots of fog, but not enough to spoil our wonderful time. We enjoyed the well stocked house. The deck was just fabulous. Beds were comfortable. We enjoyed long walks on the beach. We even went swimming in the ocean.
It's a very peaceful house. Coffee on the deck in the morning and watching the surfers was just great.
Thanks for it all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 22, 2005   Date of arrival: May 22, 2005

Perfect weather, a fabulous house w/amazing views- who could ask for anything more?!
We all enjoyed walking on the beach and playing in the waves. The time spent on the deck was so soothing.
Didn't really do much out & about. Why should we? Everything we wanted was right here. We even got a visit from a sea lion!
Chris, this place is a little slice of heaven. Thanks so much for allowing us to share.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 17, 2005   Date of arrival: April 17, 2005

This house has exceeded our expectations. It has everything we could've possibly needed- including the priceless view.
We enjoyed a wonderful Italian dinner at "When in Rome" in downtown Encinitas and Mexican lunches at Kotija's at the bottom of the hill. Great fish tacos!
Our most favorite thing to do while here was to hang out at the house and enjoy it- which we did!
Thanks for a wonderful time!
Hope to see you next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 30, 2003   Date of arrival: November 30, 2003

Our family truly enjoyed your home & the beautiful ocean. The kids enjoyed surfing for the first time. Our daughter had a soccer tournament in Del Mar & it was nice to have this wonderful home to stay at. We'll definitely be back..
There are lots of nice places to eat around here, and there's still the kitchen. Thanks again- Great place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 10, 2003   Date of arrival: August 10, 2003

Some quick thoughts as we pack our things and head back to Houston:
What a peaceful, beautiful space! Was perfect for everyone.
My wife Melanie, was able to relax in or out of the house and still enjoy the view. My mother, who had recently injured her leg, could enjoy the sun and surf- without walking down the hill. Perfect.
The boys, Joey & Billy, learned to surf. Amazing. After a quick lesson early in the week, we rented boards and that was it... It was great fun watching a 9 yr. old and a 6 1/2 yr old sitting on their rented yellow surf boards- chatting away with the locals- all waiting for that perfect wave... Great fun! Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 26, 2003   Date of arrival: July 26, 2003

Chris-
"Wow" is an understatement!
We've spent the best two week vacation we've ever had-and this is our fourth trip to Encinitas. Your home has a great vibe-peaceful, calm and totally awesome. We loved being able to check the break from your deck. Especially with an early morning cup of coffee or the last thing at night.
Caught some great waves and were blessed to get close to the dolphins. Watching them from the deck was a thrill for all of us.
This trip and your home exceeded our expectations...
Leaving is very hard and feels as if we're moving away! The ocean is a source and we'll definitely return to Beacon's and Leucadia!
Thanks again- Blessings Greg, Sandy, Steven, David

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2003   Date of arrival: July 6, 2003

We are so glad we did not cancel because of my illness! This was the best thing we could have done-I go home to a CAT scan feeling healthier than when I came and having had great times with kids and grandkids- The house is perfect for a multi-generational family-especially the 3 bathrooms!
Lots of privacy, and the wonderful deck for reading, relaxing and margaritas-
Thanks for all your help-The flowers were beautiful-
Mary, Bill, Nancy & Ken, Brady (4) & Riley (2 mo.) Billy & Dustie, Shelby (2)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2003   Date of arrival: March 22, 2003

Hey Chris,
What an awesome place! We'll be back.
Since Denver and Conifer had the Blizzard of 2003, we were even happier to be here. Conifer had 6' of snow- 866 Neptune-sunshine and 70's. Anyway, great place, great views-awesome sunsets!! See you again very soon! Bob & Pete
"Nothing like cold beer, awesome deck, surfers, sunsets, blue ocean-Simply the Best!!"

A perfect spot for resting & letting the stresses of everyday life float away. Thanks for sharing your beautiful home and wonderful seaside ambiance. Jacque G. and Larry F. p.s. Sand and surf beats shoveling 48" of snow anyday! Eric K.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 16, 2003   Date of arrival: March 16, 2003

Hi Chris- Well, we really enjoyed our third annual visit to your comfortable and welcoming home. It seems to get better each year! We're going to miss watching the waves and keeping track of the surfers- shoveling snow in Wisconsin just doesn't sound like much fun. Thanks for all the nice extra touches- We love it here. Roger & Barb

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 29, 2002   Date of arrival: December 29, 2002

Dear Chris- This was the perfect spot for a family reunion, your connections with the "weather gods" were impeccable- Everyday was beautiful! The waves have soothed us, the hikes have firmed us and we are ready -if not willing-to return to the real world.
Many thanks, Nancy, TX, Cheryl & Charlie, PA, Scott, PA, Melissa & Joel, Mt. View, CA, Liana, NYC. "Monroe" TX.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 3, 2002   Date of arrival: November 3, 2002

We have thoroughly enjoyed your wonderful house with it's magnificent views of the ocean. All of us have some wonderful memories of your house to take back with us... Sunsets! Sunrise! Dolphins! Surfers...and the calming ambience of this marvelous house.
Many Thanks, Chris, Natalie, Jac & Ashli
We can't add anthing else except to say thanks for the gorgeous bread. Alwyn & Roy Hookings.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 21, 2002   Date of arrival: September 21, 2002

Dear Chris, we would all like to say how much we enjoyed our stay.
The villa is perfect and has the most spectacular views.
We were able to see numerous sites from this base, but always were able to come back to peace and the quietness of the ocean.
The views from the villa are breathtaking and the wildlife seen such as dolphins or pelicans are an added bonus.
We all agree that if we come back to this part of the world, (and we will), we would not hesitate to stay here again.
Thanks so much for your hospitality and your homemade rosemary bread.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 1, 2002   Date of arrival: September 1, 2002

This has been a fabulous time for our family.
We have vacationed in So. California for many years, but this summer was exceptional.
Your home was perfect for us. The deck was "the room" we lived in and on-coffee in the morning, sunning in the afternoon, watching the seagulls and surfers, and cocktails and dinner at night. You can't improve on this view of the ocean. We loved (underlined) every minute!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 21, 2002   Date of arrival: July 21, 2002

When it's 107 degrees in Phoenix, and 74 here has been pretty refreshing. This was a great spot to bring 4 generations together...and we did it all-bike, beach, Disneyland, Sea World, SD Zoo and Legoland. This house and the ocean made the get-together that much nicer. Thanks Chris for the hospitality. Our daughter's 30th birthday cake was a success...
We leave tanned, refreshed and hope to do it again in the future.......Your Zonie friends

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 27, 2002   Date of arrival: June 27, 2002

"We absolutely had a blast! We lazed on the beach alot and even played our own version of "World Cup". Your home was wonderful! It was much bigger than what we had rented in the past. It was the best "stocked" of the homes we've rented the past three years. Thanks for a great stay an hopefully we'll see you again "next" summer."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2002   Date of arrival: January 2, 2002

"Thanks again for everything. We had a fabulous time. The house was perfect for us. Now that I know a little more about the area, I just went back online to look again at vacation rentals in the area and didn't see anything that would have come close. Feel free to use me as a reference. Happy New Year to you as well!!" Gretchen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 28, 2001   Date of arrival: November 28, 2001

"Chris, Thanks for having a perfect home for a family Thanksgiving reunion away from the frozen north. Your kind hospitality, answering our questions about the house, shopping centers and restaurants, an a gift of bread were all highly appreciated."
"We marveled at the high rollers and numerous surfers. Dolphins also played for about 2 hours near the shore. This is also a fine focal point for birders and naturalists, as well as for the renowned San Diego attractions...."
Families of Virginia, Massachussetts and Calif.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review