reviews for: listing #375932ha - Kula, Hawaii rental

Kula Kottage: Charming, Eco-friendly, Beautiful view and B&B Permit
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Perfect for our first trip to Maui

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 6, 2014

My husband and I rented this Kula Cottage for 4 nights on our recent, first trip to Maui. We found the cottage to be very clean and contain everything we needed. It could easily accommodate another couple of guests as there was one bedroom that we did not use. The views were spectacular and it was a great base to all the activities that we chose to do including visiting the volcano twice (trying to find the perfect weather to hike across it) and kayaking at Makawena Landing. If you like to be away from the "maddening crowds", as we do, Kula Cottage will work very well for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stay on Maui

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

All went well until the last day, when we somehow inadvertently put in the wrong date of departure. We don't know whose mistake this was, as our flight out was booked on the proper day. The owner was downright rude, and intimated that we were trying to pull something, and offered no help in our quandary, except for an expensive extra night option with double cleaning fees. In fact, it seemed he couldn't wait to get rid of us. We spent that night in a very expensive hotel.

Other than that, the house was fine except the beds were too small for two people. I would have highly recommended this place except for this misunderstanding which we feel was very poorly handled.

Any one who rents this property should deal with Jeremy and steer clear of Ben.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: First let me apologies for any miscommunication. The records indicate that you intended to checkout on the 2nd and didn't until 4pm, we had others checking in a that time. The checkout time was 11:00 am. because people checking in we're friends, the offered to spend their 1st nite in the main house, so you could stay an extra nite. My offer to you was to pay the rate for the extra nite, but you would have to pay a 2nd cleaning fee. Keep in mind the maid had already started cleaning before your return and we paid her three hours overtime. Again I am sorry for the miscommunication. Aloha Ben

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect getaway weekend in Up Country

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

This is a great location and could nt ask for a better value with the quality of this rental. Had a small issue with WiFi that I only mention because of how quickly someone arrived to resolve the issue. The cottage had a stale almost smoke like smell upon arrival(could be from all the wood), not sure if it was just from being closed up with no air circulation prior to our stay. We opened the windows and by day 2 it had improved but still noticeable. It would not be a reason that I would not return or recommend this great property though. Looking forward to returning for another peaceful weekend retreat in the future!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

nice looking place with issues

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 27, 2013

Nice looking home outside and inside. Good location for seeing all of Maui. Unfortunately the outdoor grill didn't work, no roasting pans provided so we had to bake in a pot. Only two bath towels provided for three people, we found a couple more hidden in a bag in a closet but they were old and stained. There were three roach sightings in the kitchen despite us keeping it clean, after seeing them we didn't use the kitchen anymore. When it gets dark swarms of waterbugs hang out outside the home. The only soaps provided are liquid hand soap and a little dishwashing soap. If you plan to cook keep in mind nothing is provided in terms of salt, spices etc. Expect the house and not much more in terms of amenities though there was a beach umbrella and chairs. Also the Wi-Fi is unpredictable.

Haleakala is nearby.

Owners response: So sorry for your experience, could debate your comments, but that won't change your conclusions. There baking dishes are in the cabinet and the cabinet in bath had 4 sets of towels. We do not spray with chemicals, so keeping it clean is very important. County health rules will not allow us to furnish any foodstuff such as spices. Having a negative review like this is extremly dissappointing and we hope others will consider all the other positive reviews

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Away from the crowds!

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

We really wanted to get away from the crowds and the Kula Cottage was great for having a real Maui experience. It was cleaned and well maintained and I would totally recommend it to a friend or family.
The cottage had all the amenities we needed to make us feel at home. It was quiet, with the exception of the neighbors poor little goat who was tied up in the sun with no water. The goat was bleating and it was not a normal goat bleat, it was more like a scream. I was stressed out about this for two hot days, so I politely went and talked to the neighbor about the goat and they moved the goat into the shade, gave it some water and it stopped bleating.

Other than that small issue we had not one "bad" thing to note about the cottage. The location is great, the nearby towns are awesome, and the crater is close by. Just make sure you keep it clean because the bugs in Hawaii are busy and big!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful place to stay

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We loved Kula Kottage - beautifully set up, the most amazing view, and a treat to escape up into the hills. It was easy to get to the rest of the island, but we really felt as though we got away from the crowds when we went "home".
The only negative issue for us was the bed which we found to be small and not so comfortable - so we were awake in time for the sunrise each day (which was pretty spectacular!).
We would happily recommend Kula Kottage as a wonderful place to stay in Maui.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Kula Kottage

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

A very nice, clean and quiet retreat with a beautiful view from the lanai. We enjoyed our stay for 7 days in Kula at Kula Kottage which has a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, although you have to go under the cottage to do your laundry, which is built up high so there's easy access. The only things missing was complementary soap bars and shampoo for the shower. This is a very nice area in upcountry Maui and travel to Haleakala Crater was just a short distance. A good starting point for travel to Paia and Hana too. I would definitely come back to Kula Kottage if I come back to Maui.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mr.

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

This is a great get away cottage, for my daughter and me from Honolulu, but could easily stay a week. We never saw our neighbors, except the goat and the rooster. Kitchen had all the right tools needed to cook a meal or two. The whole middle of the island is your morning place mat with endless views. Easy early morning run to the top of Haleakala if you wish. This is the right side of Maui away fro the tourist beaches but accessible enough.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a Beautiful Stay

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

Really, truly LOVED our stay at Kula Kottage. A beautifully crafted, quality built, well-maintained and delightfully stocked vacation rental. Love the location, close enough to the highways to get around the island, and yet far enough from the noise and clamor of tourists to create your own paradise. We loved walking into this comforting home after our many daytime adventures to the elegant warmth and smell of the wood. It was quiet, peaceful, and everything we could have wanted in our stay on Maui.

The owner was immediately responsive when we had a hot water issue due to the solar panels on the water tank, so we avoided that cold shower. A definite plus on a romantic holiday! :)

We love this place and would stay again in a heartbeat!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a Beautiful Stay

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

Really, truly LOVED our stay at Kula Kottage. A beautifully crafted, quality built, well-maintained and delightfully stocked vacation rental. Love the location, close enough to the highways to get around the island, and yet far enough from the noise and clamor of tourists. We loved walking into this comforting home after our many daytime adventures to the elegant warmth and smell of the wood. It was quiet, peaceful, and everything we could have wanted in our stay on Maui.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect if you want to avoid the crowd

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

The place looks and feel exactly as the pictures on the web site. All the amenities are brand new, polished and in good condition. The balcony is perfect for sunset views, and if you want there is a grill just there waiting for you. What we found extremely useful and nice where the laundry machine, drier, beach chairs and shade available for you at the "basement”. If you're not into a 100% sun bathing vacation, this is a perfect choice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic and Outstanding!

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

We rented for 7 days over Christmas. The accommodations are well appointed, decorated classily, and the space is very warm and comfortable. The photos are exactly what the space looks like. It truly felt like our own and we wanted to live there forever. The balcony is wonderful to drink coffee or watch the sunset. Kitchen is fully stocked so you can easily prepare meals. Long's Drug is less than 5 minutes away and the wonderful Pukalani Superette grocery store is about 10 minutes away. I was most impressed by the sofa that converted into a bed. It is a futon style with a thick mattress and was very comfortable to sleep on each night. Beds and linens were top notch. There were 4 of us and we felt like there was plenty of space for each of us. And the shower is amazing! This is a wonderful gem tucked away on the side of the mountain.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Your Dream Maui Vacation Begins Here

Review submitted: December 15, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

Kula Kottage was my fifth time renting a vacation home through VRBO, and it was by far our best experience yet. The home is beautiful and completely private, and the furnishings are sleek yet very comfortable. The dream kitchen and bath are extremely well equipped. The views are amazing and we found upcountry Maui to be very friendly, and had fun getting to know nearby Pukalani and Makawao, which have some of the best food on the island. An important point is that Kula is the center point of Maui, so you can be anywhere on the island quickly, especially if you check the map for back roads. We headed to Hana via the back road and were hiking the Pipiwai Trail an hour and 15 minutes later--including stops for pics along the way--and were early enough to have Waimoku Fall all to ourselves. Then take the Hana Highway back and feel superior to the traffic jam going the other way. The owners bend over backwards to make you happy. Thank you for an amazing vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A WONDERFUL Stay: Fantastic Cottage, Beautiful View, Great Location & Friendly, Responsive Owners

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We stayed at Kula Kottage for a long weekend, and everything was wonderful. Very peaceful, cool in the evenings and the cottage is excellent - fantastic lanai with an amazing view, excellent kitchen and great amenities. We are also BIG fans of the location - a quick hop to Makawao and an easy drive to Paia and the North Shore beaches - our favorite areas. HIGHLY recommended vacation rental !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved it!

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

This home exceeded all my expectations. The cottage is located in a very picturesque area of Maui. We felt the aloha spirit the moment arrived, everyone that we encountered were so very friendly. The kids enjoyed seeing all the livestock in the fields around town, but especially loved the visits from Thrall. The cottage had everything that we needed and was the perfect size for our family. Mahalo for sharing your cottage with us.

Rootes Ohana

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful hideaway with great view!

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

We stayed a week in this amazing cottage in Maui's up country. The cottage was furnished beautifully with balinesian style furniture. Gorgeous dark hardwood floors, granite counter tops, great bathroom with 3 shower heads. Lovely! We felt pampered and were able to relax. The view is amazing- you can see both sides of Maui from the deck. A short drive down the mountain took us to Makowao and Paia where there are many great restaurants and cafes. Pukalani, a very short distance, has a full supermarket and a superette where we could pick up some local favorites. It's a short drive up the mountain to the Kula Lodge, a great place to dine and stroll the gardens. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very nice Kottage in Kooler Kula

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

The Kula Kottage is a wonderful 2 bedroom cottage well equipped, located on the slopes of Haleakala Mountain. We truly enjoyed this tastefully furnished and decorated house. Our host was helpful and friendly and I sincerely recommend this place for people seeking accommodation at a private rental home away from the crowds. The only drawback for us was the lack of a level yard or deck chairs where we could relax in the morning or late afternoon after coming back to the cottage.

Owners response: Mahalo Karolina for taking the time to review our vacation cottage. We sincerely thank you for your kind and generous remarks. Since your visit, we have decided to place deck chairs on deck along with the cafe seating. Hope to have your return in the future. Aloha Ben

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

what a beautiful place

Review submitted: March 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

Inside and out, this place was amazing! Floor to ceiling I loved being surrounded in the elegant wood interior. An all around cozy and quiet atmosphere made for such a sweet stay - I didnt want to leave. The views and sunsets here were outrageous. The locaton is great, not too far from all the wonders Maui has to offer. The owners themselves are very helpful and friendly. A home away from home with all the modern conveniences, I will definately recommend this place to friends and family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Karla for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to your return someday in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cant say enough good things

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2011

I stayed at this cottage several different times for a week at a time. I love the location. Upcountry has a pleasant temp when all else is scorching. This cottage is a fantastic getaway. Owners are super, place is beautiful, equipped with everything you need. Quiet, clean and tropical setting. It really is just a short drive to anywhere fun, touristy, beaches, hikes, shopping, movies. Check out Haleakala Bike Company. I have ridden down Haleakala 5 times through Haleakala Bike Company. Group or solo take your pick, they do this right. Experience sunrise and on the way down the mountain stop in Kula Lodge for breakfast and view. At the end of the day relax with the breathtaking view from the deck of your cottage and your fave beverage, I will be back soon. Aloha!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Modern bungalow with a breathtaking view

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2011

Love this little bungalow. Perfect for couple, single or small family. Up country is pleasant, away from the tourists. Only a short drive to many spectacular beaches and fine dining. Mamas Fishhouse, Haile Maile, Be sure to go to Haleakala for sunrise or take a bike ride down Haleakala after experiencing sunrise.(Haleakala Bike Tours) Great way to start your day. End your day at this little retreat on the deck with a glass of wine for sunset. Magnificent!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awsome!

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

I stayed at the Kula Kottage with my husband for 10 days in January. It was a beautiful and romantic experience. The cottage has a amazing view, and watch the sunset could not be more romantic! It is comfortable and the rooms are great... I love that beautiful decor, it feels cozy...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awsome!

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

I stayed at the Kula Kottage with my husband for 10 days in January. It was a beautiful and romantic experience. The cottage has a amazing view, and watch the sunset could not be more romantic! It is comfortable and the rooms are great... I love that beautiful decor, it feels cozy...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you and your husband enjoyed your stay, we look forward to you returning in the future. It was great having you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review