reviews for: listing #37605 - San Jose del Cabo, Baja California Condo rental

2200 sqft Deluxe Beachfront at affordable rates!!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  El Zalate
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,400 - $3,200 /wk

sort by:

Doesn't get better than this!

Review submitted: June 21, 2014   Date of arrival: June 4, 2014

This is the best place to stay in Los Cabos. For me, Cabo San Lucas is a bit on the "wild" side for me, so staying in San Jose Del Cabo was right up my alley. The town was pretty and clean! This is the perfect area to stay if you want to avoid the frat party usually associated with Cabo San Lucas. Now on to the condo! Why in the world would you want to stay in a hotel for MORE money? This was a HUGE, beautiful, convenient place! We stocked up at the market a few minutes away, and felt like we had the entire development to ourselves. Beautiful pools that were never crowded! I can't imagine staying in a resort with its crowded pool when you can have this!! We went with our two young boys and they loved having their own huge beds, listening to the waves crash on the shore. And when we wanted to drive into Cabo, it was about a twenty minute drive. Coming back to the condo was bliss, though, as a very quiet reprieve from the bustle of Cabo. We will be coming back over and over! It was the perfect vacation and the best home to center from. You will not be disappointed!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded Expectations

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 22, 2014

We love San Jose del Cabo and have been going there for about 7 years. This condo far exceeded our expectations, and as a previous guest stated, was even better than the pictures! The deck was fantastic - we spent most of our 'at home' time out there, with lots of room for our kids (1 and 3 yrs old) to play safely. Within walking distance of amenities, kitchen very well set up. The best kiddie's pool we've ever seen! Excellent separation between the adult and kiddie areas, allowing people to just relax without the noise of the little ones. We felt very welcome when we arrived, and the owner readily available had there been problems (not that it was needed, but nice to know!) This was an fabulous setting for our family of 6 (grandparents. parents and two children), but I can't imagine any visitors that would not have a wonderful vacation here!
Thank you Clare - we hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what we wanted and more

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

We were in San Jose del Cabo for a wedding and our first visit in the area. We've had quite a bit of experience with VRBO rentals and this exceeded our expectations. Photos that are generally taken with a wide angle lens turn out to be deceptively small. Not so with this property. It is as spacious and comfortable as it looks! The views are gorgeous, the property grounds and pool are immaculately cared for and the location was convenient to the airport, historic town and market that stocks everything you can imagine. Elevator is nice for 55+. Easy parking. The owner was very helpful and responsive to questions about the area. I would highly recommend this condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Outstanding, Outstanding, Outstanding

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

This is our second time in the unit. Everythning about this condo is great. It is a huge Condo, much bigger than most others in El Zalate. It is very tastfully decorated by the owner, and feels more luxurious than many high end hotels. The owner also has a property management company on retainer and they can help you get daily cleaning service at an affordable price. It is our second time in this condo. And we will be back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Delivered much more than we expected!

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

Our experience in Cabo was absolutely perfect. The pictures (while impressive), do not do proper justice to how amazing this condo is. Gorgeous views, very roomy, comfortable and frankly nicer than most 5-star hotels. The pools were great for our 18 month old son and offered plenty of super shallow areas for him to be able to walk, splash and play—he LOVED it! We walked to dinner every night, short drive to the super market, and close enough to spend a morning in Cabo San Lucas (before nap time). We would highly recommend this property and cannot wait to go back!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation in Years!

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

This past trip to Cabo was the first with my one-year old and my parents joining us for 12 days. The Condo was the perfect location for the whole family. There was more than enough room for everyone. Plenty of indoor and outdoor space for a one-year old to run and explore, with enough space for the rest of us to relax. The condo has all the comforts of home, a convenient location, clean, quiet, and in such a beautiful setting. The grounds are spacious and meticulously kept. I have already recommended this condo to several friends and cannot say enough good things about our stay. This is truly a gem and I hope that my family can make time to return again next year. Thank you so much Clare!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent place to relax with your family

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

We had an amazing holiday in San Jose del Cabo and this condo was such a great place to have as a base. The condo is so spacious inside but the best part is the large deck outside where you can eat breakfast and watch the waves roll in or take an afternoon siesta. The pool was the central attraction for our 2 and 3 year old especially with the beach style entrance, and the beach was right there to head out surfing or stand up paddling or just to go for a walk. The grounds man is great and will help you grab a taxi for excursions, but really, you don't really need to go anywhere! Clare was also excellent to deal with and answered all my questions quickly with lots of information about the area. We hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome, awesome, awesome

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

If we could give it 6 stars out of 5, we would. It is exactly as advertised and more. Clare has this down to a science and her instructions were right on the dot. Great place. Great location. Great time. Perfect for young families.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thrilled with this Cabo retreat

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

Your unit is absolutely lovely, and contained everything a person could wish for to enjoy a vacation in the sun & surf. I want to make special mention of how well maintained the grounds are at El Zalate. The crew does a fantastic job & always had a smile on their face for us. We soaked up some rayz pool side every day - loved it!

We so enjoyed ourselves that we will definitely be going back, and will be recommending your unit to all we know. Thanks again for the smooth transaction & for helping to make our vacation so memorable

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location and very nice!

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

Tastefully furnished with style and comfort; it is conveniently located right by the ocean, near shopping and attractions. We found the availability of the pool and the easy access to nearby bays offered the best of both worlds!
We found the option to snorkel and kayak at the nearby bay, 12 km away, and a swim in the pool on the property before refreshing for the night out, very convenient. It is very close to down town San Jose Del Cabo with easy access to the main roads to town, airport and the town of Cabo San Lucas.
For those days when we wanted to just kick back and relax we had the option of just lazing by the pool or sitting out on the spacious balcony. We could even check our email while gazing out onto the ocean! What a treat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect "home-away-from-home" in paradise!

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 12, 2011

Our stay at El Zalate could not have been more perfect. Although many of these online photos tend to accentuate the positive qualities of a property while disguising the less appealing qualities, not so with El Zalate. If anything, the photos are a pale substitute for the real thing. The condo is perfect in every way - extremely large, beautifully decorated, conveniently laid out, with the most wonderful balcony and views to die for. The beach (right out the back gate) and pools are unbelievable, and we practically had them to ourselves. The grounds are lush and beautiful, and upkeep is obvious in every area. Having a washer and dryer made our week-long stay so much easier, and unpacking wasn't nearly as much of a chore!

The owner is a delight - she made the rental process a breeze, and was extremely helpful in making suggestions of local restaurants, car rentals, etc. It made vacation-planning so much easier, especially since this was our first trip to Cabo. Thanks a million, Clare - can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Wardle family San Clemente CA

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

We loved this place! Very spacious, clean, well appointed and meticulously maintained in addition Clare the owner was very responsive and helpful .

This complex is very clean and pools were a delight to hang out in. Parking is very close to the property. Facility feels very safe due to the friendly and attentive security staff that makes very regular patrols of the property.

The condo is in a very convenient location: a very new and clean Mega mart is less than a mile away making it very easily to shop for all necessary supplies; good restaurants were within walking distance and the harbor from which the fishing pangas depart is an easy 10 minute drive. The fishing harbor is very new and well managed and exceeded our expectations.

Prior to making our decision to stay here we had planned to stay at the Hilton los Cabos beach and golf resort. We made the right choice as the Hilton was way out of town, this condo a short drive to the down town which has a very friendly laid back atmosphere and has some delightful places to eat including a great French bakery/café.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A beautiful Condo which made our vacation a complete paradise!!

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

What a fabulous week we had at this beautiful condo. All the comforts of home were provided for us, so all we had to do was unpack our suitcases and enjoy the incredible condo and views out of every window. Every detail in the condo was perfect, very cozy and comfortable. The weather was perfect, warm with tropical breezes, and complete security so we felt very safe at all times. Plenty of restaurants, grocery stores, and a wonderful bakery just around the corner. We hated to leave, but are looking forward to returning next year, already counting the days! Thank you Clare for all your hospitality and making this one of the easiest vacations to plan.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place with great location

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

The condo was even better than what was advertised. Condo was clean with modern furniture - vonnage and internet access was great. The location was perfect -- the pool very clean and not crowded. Clare was great with providing suggestions for dinner and with the grocery store close by -- we enjoyed cooking in the spacious kitchen (with all the needed items) and BBQ. We will definitely be back -- thanks Clare!!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best holiday ever!!!!!

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2011

This is by far the best holiday I have ever experienced. When we arrived we were delighted with the property, the condo, the views, the absolute perfectness of it all!
Other than sleeping and showering in the condo and cooking in the kitchen, we spent all our time on t the amazing 600 square foot terrace. I have never had the pleasure of having a terrace that big and the views were amazing too. The grounds were always impeccable and we felt very safe there. There was a guard who was there 24/7 and who walks the property. Most times we used the pool and hot tub we had it to ourselves.We loved our beach walks too which was right there through the gate. We also loved the crashing of the waves which lulled us to sleep and was a great backdrop sound..
One day we went our on a day adventure and were picked up at the door by Cabo Outfitters and we did a full day trip to Cabo Pulmo which is almost a 2 hour drive through the desert to get there. Casey and Ismael,our guides were awesome. We kayaked in that area which is a national park and protected. Just getting out of the bay we were delighted to spot a grey whale with its calf only 200 feet away or so! Afterwards we swam with sea lions and the snorkeling was wonderful. We were picked up and returned to our door.
Clare was really helpful with information and guidance and recommended a car rental company which gave me peace of mind and it worked out well too....no surprises. She was always quick to respond to emails and was always so accomodating. She has done an incredible job decorating the condo and has made it so inviting. We didn't watch T.V., just enjoyed our snorkeling (Santa Maria Beach and Chileano are close to drive too) and our beach walks and swimming in the pools there. That area of Mexico is quite safe and makes for a delightful getaway. The townsite is very authentic Mexico and we really enjoyed the food and the Mexican people there. We found them to be very friendly and sincere and it made the trip that much more enjoyable. It was great having Costco about 20 minutes away too so we could stock up on the groceries affordably.
I have already talked to colleagues and friends and have raved about what a great spot El Zalate is and especially this unit.We will for sure return as soon as we can.
Bonnie & Joseph
Calgary

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Five Star ++

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 4, 2010

What an amazing place - pics do not do it justice!! The condo was way beyond our expectations in terms of luxury finishes and furnishings, not to mention the gorgeous view. The living space is huge and it is so bright and airy - just makes you feel good being there. The owner furnished the unit in a more contemporary and modern flair as opposed to some of the other condos I have stayed in where they have a lot of dark more traditional furnishings. We stayed in December and were able to open the pocket doors from the living room and bedrooms so the terrace really became part of the condo.
Being able to wake up to the sound of the waves in such a beautiful surroundings made our vacation just perfect. The owner, Clare, was fantastic to deal with - couldn't have been more helpful. We can't wait to return to paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hip, contemporary, sexy, awesome location, amazing view

Review submitted: October 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

This is the perfect condo for a double date trip - 1/2 way between town and Costa Azul surf rentals/lessons (take a lesson with Alex - he is a master!). Hip furnishings, all the amenities - even a beach umbrella and chairs. Clare is very responsive, super thorough and offers an incredible value. We will tell all our friends and can't wait to get back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Property

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2009

We stayed at this unit 5/1/10-5/8/10. The El Zalate condominium buildings are located on the highway between San Jose and Cabo San Lucas about a mile or so from San Jose. The complex is on the beach. San Jose is about 22 miles from Cabo San Lucas but is somewhat less "touristy. The property sits adjacent to Coral Baja Hotel.
The grounds are very well manicured and upscale; there are two round style well designed swimming pools as well as a hot tub. A security guard walks the property 24/7. Pictures don’t do this unit justice. The unit is beautifully decorated. The beds are extremely comfortable. Clare is a delight to work with. They have taken great care to decorate and furnish the condo with beautiful furniture and technology. The Vonage line (free US and Canada calls) and wireless internet features were fantastic. Clare provides you with a great document that addresses any and all questions you may have about the unit, including dining, shopping and activity suggestions.
We spent most of our time on the terrace enjoying the view of the ocean and listening to the waves crashing at night. The beach is nice but the water is bit rough most of the time for swimming, but there are other swimmable beaches within driving distance... The pool area at El Zalate was almost deserted most of the time although the few people we did see were very friendly.

There are terrific restaurants nearby as well as in San Jose del Cabo which is only a short drive. All in all, El Zalate is an excellent choice for affordable upscale accommodations in the San Jose del Cabo/ Cabo San Lucas area.
This is my third trip to the area. First time in San Jose. By far, the best. We preferred the laid back atmosphere of this location and thoroughly enjoyed our accommodations. I would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful and well-appointed family-friendly condo on the beach

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 18, 2010

We had such a wonderful time staying at this condo. It is located perfectly right near the pool and beach with easy access to San Jose Del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas. The condo and terrace were very spacious and had all the amenities of home, but it still felt like we were staying at a high-end resort. Our son loved being outside on the terrace and playing at the pool and on the beach, and the beach toys provided at the condo were perfect. The condo's owner was an absolute pleasure to work with and was very responsive and accommodating. We really didn't want to leave and hope to be able to go back again soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: March 24, 2010

We loved this place. All was as described in the online ad. Owner was very helpful. We would stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 11, 2009   Date of arrival: March 11, 2009

This condo is perfection! Gorgeous views, wonderful beds, totally equipped, diligent owners, perfect condition, fabulous location near San Jose, wonderful pools, elegant interiors...simply the best rental property we have ever encountered. A++++! It was a week of heaven for our family with gorgeous views day and night. The owners are very responsive to their renters and follow-up to make sure everything was perfect. Everything was wonderful. Whale watching was fun too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 26, 2009   Date of arrival: February 26, 2009

This condo was just perfect... overlooking a beautiful beach and pool area (my kids LOVED that!) Great BBQ on the huge balcony was the BEST to cook up fresh fish tacos! Wonderful kitchen, super comfortable beds, lots of space to spread out, and the whole place was so beautifully decorated! WOW! We really enjoyed this place! :) Thanks again Clare!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 26, 2009   Date of arrival: January 26, 2009

We had a fantastic time at this beautiful beachfront condo! It was our second visit and we hope we hope to return soon. The condo is so spacious and luxurious and the views are absolutely amazing - pictures do not do it justice!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 15, 2008   Date of arrival: December 15, 2008

Fantastic condo - the pictures do not do it justice. Very well appointed and decorated. Great location right on the beach and close to the Mega grocery store. Grounds/pool are immaculate and the views incredible. Owner very helpful and accomodating. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 29, 2008   Date of arrival: May 29, 2008

This property is amazing. The complex is conveniently located near San Jose del Cabo with stores and restaurants nearby. It is very well maintained and is peaceful and quiet (at least when we were there). The Condo has a wonderful view of the ocean and pools. Being on the second floor is nice as you can take the stairs up to the Condo. We had a rental car and there was plenty of parking near the Condo. The inside of the Condo is great (as described). We really enjoyed the large balcony and all of the other extras this Condo has. Working with Clare was great. She is very nice and professional. We can’t wait to go back again, you will be very happy if you choose to stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 28, 2008   Date of arrival: May 28, 2008

Beyond our expectations. Pictures are great, but seeing it assures the beauty. Very comfortable, nice views, very quiet setting. Pools and the beach were great, no beach vendors to drive you crazy on your vacation. We will be going back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review