reviews for: listing #377202ha - Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica rental

UNOBSTRUCTED OCEANFRONT Views in gated / guarded Hermosa Palms
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two weeks at Tina and John’s wonderful house at Playa Hermosa. The location itself is great—an easy drive from San Jose airport, about 90 minutes, and the gated oceanfront community is a very peaceful, low-key, and beautiful resort-style area, right on the warm Pacific, with its unbelievable sunsets and world-class surfing. The house is fantastic—everything you could want, including washer/dryer, wifi, full kitchen, three bedrooms, sitting rooms, great A/C, garage, gas grill, outdoor Jacuzzi, and great, attentive staff members. The house is so spacious that we were able to have another couple join us for our second week
Playa Hermosa is a short 10 minute drive from the small town of Jaco, where we went everyday to buy our groceries, fresh fruit, produce, and incredible fresh fish. Jaco has a combination of American-style restaurants and plenty of great local places to eat and shop. The house is close to plenty of nice day-trips, like sailing at Herradura, hiking at Manuel Antonio national park, or visiting the most amazing sunset overlook at Villa Caletas.
Just leave plenty of time to relax and enjoy. We are already planning our next trip!

Owners response: Thank you for the many details in your review. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed our beach home and your recent trip.

Would it surprise you to know our home was previously known as "Pax a la Playa", or Peace on the Beach?

The ease of getting there, the great proximity to all of the central coasts activities, attractions & the areas friendly people, combined with the peaceful resort feel of the neighborhood make it a destination we never tire of. The day we leave there is often the same day we start planning our return....

We would be delighted to have you back & look forward to adding you to our growing list of return guests.

Pura Vida!

John & Tina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AWESOME.

Review submitted: May 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

This beautiful home was perfect for our visit. The location is incredible - beautiful views & very close to the beach. The house was well equipped and very comfortable & clean. The pool in the yard is perfect for cooling off, relaxing, reading. The property managers (Trey & Enricho) were so nice & helped us get the gas grill going. The community pool (huge) is very close by & they even let you take the chairs on the beach. We felt very safe in this gated community. We DID feed Paco a banana or two! This home gets an A-plus - we'll return for sure!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello Susan

Thank you for your comments about our beach home, its location, beach & pool proximity, views, comforts, local property management and cleanliness!

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our home and your stay! As you have noticed, we try to take excellent care of our home and our guests.

We look forward to adding you to our growing list of return visitors.

A few upgrades are planned, so hopefully you will find our place even more to your liking on your next visit...

Pura Vida!

J & T

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Disappointed

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

Although the house was beautiful, we encountered the following inconveniences:
1. The instructions for entry only provided a lock box key code. I was very upset that we were not notified in advance that the lock box was hiding in the back of the house. We had to circle the house several times in the dark to find it. Once we found it and opened the box...there were three keys in it. one key opened the main lock on the front door but the other two keys did not open the dead bolt lock. thus we were locked out of the house. We eventually got in by my son in law who had to climb through the kitchen window to let us in!
2. no propane for the BBQ
3. wifi did not work half the time we were there.
4. we were also told by the guard at the gate that the tap water was non-potable, so we had to buy bottled water during our stay.
5. Not enough toilet paper supplied. We bought more.

Owners response: Thank you for your recent comments. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. We strive to maintain our home to a considerably higher standard than most rentals. Not to discount your inconveniences in any way, but by way of an explanation, we recently transitioned to a new property management company located right in our neighborhood to better serve us & our valued guests. Their numbers and names are in our welcome packet.

As for the items that were overlooked on your check in, the missing deadbolt key was removed by our prior guests. We usually keep a spare propane tank beneath the laundry room sink. Extra toilet paper is usually stored in a kitchen cupboard. Each of these items will be checked prior to guest arrival in the future.

Throughout Costa Rica, there are occasional issues with electricity, water supply and internet reliability, as with many countries. Our neighborhood water supply comes from a private well. It is of better quality than many areas in Costa Rica. But when outside the US, bottled water is always recommended. We now recommend bottled water in our check in materials for our guests. Our local cable TV and phone companies, Cabla Tica and ICE, are continually investing in improved local cable plant infrastructure to improve internet reliability in the area. Our wireless router is nearly new and works well as long as the underlying DSL service is functioning.

Thank you for your detailed input on how we can improve our guests’ experiences. We understand that it is often the little things that make a difference. Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

Fabulous Tropical Getaway!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

Great pad and location to unwind and enjoy true tropical paradise. Uncrowded, unspoiled beaches with surf right out the front door not to mention wildlife such as the local monkey in backyard tree (which we could call and fed daily), macaws, and inguanas basking everywhere. The house is well appointed and in new condition with great A/C to stay cool indoors and wifi to stay connected...a turn-key, just bring swim suits, tooth brush and Amex card ;) We stayed 2 weeks and didn't want to leave. Jaco is 5km away with shopping and plenty of good restaurants. Our friends also stayed two doors down but the place was not as nice as this unit. To sum it up, great facilities, beautiful environment, very cool wildlife, excellent surf with real warm water 83 luxurious degrees and bountiful fresh fish and tropical fruits for a tasty and healthy diet...what else does one need ? Enjoy...and as they say in Costa Rica, Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Pura Vida!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Excellent accomodations in the Playa Hermosa Palms. The house is well maintained and beautifully decorated. It is situated right near the main complex pool for easy access and the house pool was a wonderful treat after a long day at the beach. You can check the waves from the upstairs master or the viewing deck on the roof. Air conditioning in every room and the towels, bed spreads and sheets are in great shape if not totally new. Other homes in the complex look tired and/or need repair but not this one. You can tell they maintain it every step of the way. Thank you very much for putting so much into our Costa Rica trip. We will definately be back. Surfers from So. Cal., NPB.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful Vacation in Costa Rica

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

We spent 7 days at this wonderful house right on the beach in Costa Rica. Everything was perfect from our arrival to our departure. The views are amazing, the house is fully equipped, and the pool in the side yard is an added little jem for families with small children. I have a 4 yr old that lived in this pool. The pool is small but that was perfect because he could reach the bottom and walk around the entire pool. I never need to worry about him in this pool and that helped me RELAX!!!! The house is fantastic, the pictures don't do it justice, but every amenity is available so no need to pack anything but your clothes and swimsuit. Thank you so much for allowing us to visit your beautiful home. We will definitely be coming back :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Nicole! We would love to have you back.

The day we leave is the day we start thinking about when we will get back ourselves. Hard to explain unless you have been there. It is difficult to showcase the place with photos as they just don't translate the peace & serenity of our oceanfront location. Other area homes may have higher ceilings & things which look good in photos, but they don't have our lot, designer touches, newer furnishings or our great views. We are so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for your taking time to write a thoughtful reveiw.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic House in Costa Rica

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 7, 2011

I took my family to Costa Rica for Spring break in April, the accommodations were fantastic. The secured community was safe and well maintained with a beautiful oceanfront pool and gate to walk onto the beach. The turtle refugee was just down the beach and very fun to go see. The house is clean and beautiful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing House and Community

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 7, 2011

I took my family to Costa Rica for Spring break in April, the accommodations were fantastic. The secured community was safe and well maintained with a beautiful oceanfront pool and gate to walk onto the beach. The turtle refugee was just down the beach and very fun to go see. The house is clean and beautiful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Claudia. Glad you and the girls enjoyed it.

Thanks for pointing out how much the secure community adds to visitor comfort levels.

Pura Vida!

J & T

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

You Will Love It

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

We spent lovely 9 days (5/11) at the "surfing turtle" and the experience could have not been better; the house is more beautiful than on the pictures, everything is high end and the whole experience with booking, helping to find the place and on the site help was outstanding. This was a gift for our older son's 30th birthday and he was having a blast surfing his little heart out. The beach is beautiful but rough for swimming; the pool makes up for it, as well as the fabulous jacuzzi at the house. You can be as active as you want or totally "veg" if you prefer. Oh, and the local fisherman stops by with the fresh catch. What a place !!! Coming back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Beautiful country and people

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

We just returned from a fun filled week at Playa Hermosa and found it to be a five star accommodation. Beautifully decorated, beautiful views and location. John and Tina were wonderful to work with the rental process and gave us recommendations for places to see and places to eat at. We enjoyed them all. Our friends were staying in another house down the street from us and they said that they felt like they were staying in "Motel 6" and that we were in the "JW Marriott". It was definitely a beautiful place. Thank you for adding to the beauty of Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Gary & Farrelyn. It was very nice working with you too! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your trip & stay.

THANK YOU very much for your qualified & thoughtful review comments! We just can't seem to show in photos or easily explain in words what you have described from your experience about our home.

Muchas Gracias! Pura Vida!

J & T

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Hermosa Palms

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

The stay in Hermosa Palms was the highlight of our Costa Rican trip. The balcony off of the master suite and the pacific ocean only steps away made the sunsets every evening a perfect photo opportunity. Live Turtles , iguanas , monkeys, birds, etc... Just hanging around the neighborhood. The home was nicely appointed and soo comfortable. The community pool is beautiful. The private pool even more fun! The gated community is safe and on one of the most pristine beaches with stunning surf! I never wanted to leave.
We were able to see a few of the other homes that were available to rent during our visit. This is the place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Reeds: We too appreciate the very things you have commented on in your kind revciew. Thank you for your thoughtful comments.

We would be delighted to have you back again... for a 3rd time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home!

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Just got back from our stay in this beautiful home in Playa Hermosa. Everything was clean and beautifully decorated with warm colors and a relaxing style. Nice granite countertops and even your own personal pool (even though we loved hanging out at the community pool on the beach as well) the appliances TV and air conditioning and internet worked without problem. Our family could easily walk to the beach for surfing or swimming. Nicely tucked away in this guard gated community but a close drive to restaurants and Jaco for shopping. We also ziplined and horseback rode nearby. Would stay here again anytime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stay in Paradise

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Just got back from our stay in this beautiful home in Playa Hermosa. Everything was clean and beautifully decorated with warm colors and a relaxing style. Nice granite countertops and even your own personal pool (even though we loved hanging out at the community pool on the beach as well) the appliances TV and air conditioning and internet worked without problem. Our family could easily walk to the beach for surfing or swimming. Nicely tucked away in this guard gated community but a close drive to restaurants and Jaco for shopping. We also ziplined and horseback rode nearby. Would stay here again anytime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

One of better rentals in hermosa palms

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

Great place updated amenities excellent view of beach nice side pool couches, beds of very high quality recommend highly

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank Kyle. We really appreciate your comments coming from someone who has stayed in several other Hermosa Palms homes over the past couple years. So glad you liked it... and hope to have you back when you can stay longer!

Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

You have a wonderful house, we hope to visit again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 23, 2010

This place is awesome! By far the best rental in the area. Beautiful, luxurious, like a spa getaway! We especially loved the sunset views from the deck every evening - so relaxing! Will stay here anytime we are in the area!

Owners response: Thank you M & B for the feedback. You will probably not be surprised to know our home was formerly known as "Peace on the Beach" It is a most relaxing place... More upgrades and comforts are on the way. The neighborhood has many nice rentals, but few if any are as fresh and have the unobstructed views.

Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review