reviews for: listing #377446ha - Atenas, Costa Rica rental

Poco Cielo..Means 'Just a Little Piece of Heaven with cozy Bugalows
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Bungalow
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 75 - $ 85 / night
    $ 472 - $ 535 / week
    $ 1,200 / month
  • sleeps  4
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Home away from home, a piece of heaven!

Review submitted: July 22, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

My husband and I have been to Poco Cielo multiple times and cannot get enough of this little piece of heaven! We truly feel like it is our home away from home. The location is amazing, with breathtaking view and just outside of Atenas where there is plenty of restaurants and great little shops. The atmosphere is wonderful, Gary and Josanne do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. The service is truly unbeatable and you always feel taken care of. The whole resort is very cozy and comfortable with cabins that offer kitchens, ample spacious and beautiful decor! The grounds are beyond words, the views are incredible, the infinity pool over looking the valley is superb, and the rancho is great place to cook, watch movies in, play cards or visit with other guests and relax. If you want to experience the heart of Costa Rica and a true piece of heaven, then this is the place to go!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words, it was a great pleasure for Josanne and I having you back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A true slice of Heaven

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

Poco Cielo

My husband and I recently spent six incredible weeks in Costa Rica. Centrally located just outside Atenas in the Central Valley, we chose Poco Cielo as our home base while we explored the country and immersed ourselves in the serene and endless beauty that defines Costa Rica. To our good fortune, Poco Cielo is a perfect microcosm of all that is extraordinary about CR.

Located on six lush acres with breathtaking mountain views everywhere, Poco Cielo is also home to many of the unique species of birds and animals that inhabit Costa Rica. The air is filled with their voices. The property is beautifully maintained, covered in trees and flowering plants of countless varieties. And the weather, well they say it is the best on Earth. We can't disagree.

With just four cabinas for rent, Poco Cielo affords lots of quiet and privacy, if that is what you want. The cabins are cheerful, roomy, comfortable and tastefully appointed. With lots of windows and high hardwood cathedral ceilings, the dependable cross breezes keep the cabinas comfortable day and night. Each cabina has a private porch donning the most comfortable rocking chairs known to man.

There is also the opportunity to gather with other guests and the wonderful owners, Gary and Josanne Fleming, at the property's Rancho. You may lounge by the large infinity pool, fix a gourmet meal in the full outdoor kitchen, dance to your choice of music on the huge deck or, our favorite, join the owners for an evening movie under the stars. We did that a lot!

Gary and Josanne are warm, welcoming, kind and beyond helpful hosts. They will do anything they can to make sure you enjoy your stay. Having never visited the country before, Gary and Josanne taught us so much about Costa Rica, its culture and how to navigate challenges. They will direct you to the best restaurants in Atenas, which are delicious and cheap! They will give you directions to wherever you want to go... and even offer you a ride to town. When we reflect back on our visit, we have so many great memories of Costa Rica, but it is the Flemings we miss most of all.

There were many days we planned to head out to explore this gorgeous country but ended up, like many other guests, not being able to leave our already perfect pura vida life at Poco Cielo. It truly is a little slice of Heaven.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: April 15, 2014

Everything about Poco Cielo was wonderful! The bungalow was light, airy, roomy and meticulously clean! This was a great location, close to town, fantastic views, lots of beautiful birds and our hosts, Gary and Josanne were awesome! They had great insights into the area and the people, were so interesting to talk to and gave great recommendations on things to do and places to eat. We would definitely recommend this place to friends or family. We had a great time here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful, convenient location and grounds

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

We found Poco Cielo to be exactly as described and welcoming. Absolutely stunning grounds. We extensively used the infinity pool / rancho common area as our outdoor kitchen for bbq. Nice, simple and relaxing meals without much planning. The town of Atenas close by provides some great little restaurants/cafes and two excellent grocery stores plus anything else you’d need. We traveled light and planned to wash clothes - and there is on site washer / dryer. Not mentioned in description, there is a good sized lock box in each room. I’m not sure what the description “wake up with a steaming cup of brewed organic coffee grown in Poco Cielo’s orchards” means as we didn’t see or ask about that – but we did buy local coffee at the grocery in Atenas and there is a coffee brewer in the room. We loved waking up each morning to the sounds of tropical birds and having a hot cup of Costa Rican coffee to get us going. Costa Rican coffee is on par with the best I’ve ever had anywhere.

The Poco Cielo location is just outside Atenas and is perfect for those wishing to visit the volcano regions most popular volcanoes (Arenal and Poas) as it is somewhat between the two. What we found is that if you stayed near one volcano or the other, a day trip to the other is almost impossible and the location of Poco Cielo is perfect. Poas is an easy day trip and Arenal is “do-able” as a day trip. My suggestion for seeing Arenal: do an overnight trip to the Arenal Observatory Lodge and fit in a visit to Tabacon Grand Spa on the way to Arenal. This is an easy overnight trip from Poco Cielo and gave us all we needed of Arenal. Another thing NOT to miss: ask Bruce or Maillyn how to get to a world class, breathtaking, sunset view spot less than a 10 minute drive away. You won’t believe it!

We'll definitely be back to Poco Cielo -- you can't beat the location, scenery, and accommodations for the price. Awesome!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 16

 

Enjoyable!!

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 8, 2011

It was truly a very enjoyable experience...my husband and I had a beautiful bungalow, breathtaking views, and the most caring and warm service by the resorts managers Mailyn and Bruce! Really excellent!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Great hidden getaway near Atenas

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

We visited Poco Cielo in April and found it to be a great hidden getaway. The rooms were clean and the rancho and pool were great. The views are amazing. I would recommend this to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Poco Cielo is a GREAT place to stay

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

I stayed at Poco Cielo a couple of weeks ago. The place is absolutely beautiful!! Peaceful, quiet and serene. Nature abounds there!! It is even more beautiful than the photos portray.
The managers were MORE than gracious. They were happy to answer any question I had. They even offered to take me into town when they had to make a trip in.
Although I cooked my own food in the fully equipped kitchen of my cabin there was a breakfast menu available in my cabin. The managers will cook your breakfast, to your liking, and bring it right to your cabin!!!
The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well kept. The pool was sparkling and inviting. The rancho, also equipped with full kitchen facilities, are available for use by the people staying there.
I can't say when I've enjoyed a holiday more. I will definitely be going back.
As far as restaurants go, I would recommend Antanos, in the heart of Atenas.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Just adverage

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

The veiw was very nice, the grounds are well kept, but the pool was 65 degrees and dirty in February. I did not get the room I was promised. Will not go back.

Owners response: We the staff at Poco Cielo are very dissapointed to hear about Mike's experience with the condition of the pool. Normally the pool temp will stay around 75 to 80 degrees year around. Unfortunately, the San Jose area experienced record cool temps and windy conditions in late January which caused the pool temperature to drop below normal. January was unusually cold in North and Central America and Costa Rica was not spared from the effects. Thanks to Mother Nature the weather is now back to normal and so is the condition and temperature of the pool.
I hope Mike will reconsider and decide to visit us again, as Poco Cielo is truly a beautiful place. We would love to have him back again. As always, we will continue our efforts to please all our guests so that they will have a truly memorable stay at Poco Cielo.

Sincerely,
The Staff at Poco Cielo

Helpful votes: 13 / 20

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review