reviews for: listing #37751 - Port Lavaca, Texas House rental

The Texas Court House
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Port Alto
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $400 - $500 /nt
    $2,000 - $3,000 /wk

sort by:

Texas Court House - Home away from Home

Review submitted: July 30, 2009   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

My siblings and I stayed at this remarkable home from July 18 through July 26. The Texas Court House is more than the owners advertise. It is truly a home away from home. The home was very clean and well furnished. The atmosphere of this retreat fit all of our needs ranging from true fishing experiences to fun with the little ones on the play ground equipment out back. We watched beautiful sunsets and sunrises on the pier. The porpoises came within 20 feet of the pier several times, entertaining all that were present. We launched our boat at a nearby boat ramp and enjoyed the experience of the bay in many ways. We followed several porpoises, watching them majestically play in the water. We found a sand beach just a few miles out in the bay that yielded a playground for the little ones and fishing for the older ones. The house was furnished with everything that one could dream of from games to home entertainment systems. There was more than adequate room to prepare a meal for more than 20 individuals without having to rush or get in each other's way. The beds were comfortable to all. There is a small beach just at the start of the pier, which provided hours of fun and enjoyment for the little ones to collect shells and play in the water. Their were kayaks to be used by the guests, but the wind was a little too strong most of the days for unexperienced kayakers to attempt. We visited with several of the locals and learned when the fish were biting and where to go in the boat. Our entire family created wonderful memories during this stay. To say the least, this is truly a magnificent location to rent, very reasonably priced and strategically located to obtain all of your personal needs. Thank-you for allowing us to rent the Texas Court House. See you next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Excellent vacation home

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

We all had an excellent time at this beautiful vacation home. The home with its beautiful decor was squeaky clean, and came well-equipped with towels, extra blankets, pillows, kitchen utensils, video games, DVDs, fishing rods and even kayaks. Kids and adults had a blast at the private pier. We went fishing, kayaking and got to see the dolphins!! We also want to leave an extra word of thanks to the kind owners and their very trustworthy housekeeper who found the Kindle that we left at the property by mistake, kept it in safe custody until they were able to deliver it in safe hands. What an incredibly fabulous vacation we all had!!! We'd love to come back again!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family of 22 Thanksgiving Vacation

Review submitted: December 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

We stayed in your house for Thanksgiving break 2013 with around 22 people. Most of which were teenagers and below. We had so much fun and made so many memories. The house was so nice. Plenty of rooms for all the adults ( kids slept here and there, different place every night). Beds were comfortable. Plenty of tvs and game systems for the kids to play. Kitchen table was huge, may of nights playing games with the kids and meals. Neighbors were friendly. Never found the alligator, guess it was too cold for him too. Not hard to get back into town for shopping and eating. We took the kids down the the canal off 35 and fished all day caught plenty of fish. Will recommend your place to all my friends or anyone that wants to vacation in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Alan Jackson

Review submitted: December 13, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

Great property, truly is an oasis on the bay. The owner Tim took great care of us. We look forward to coming back in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful vacation

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

The neighborhood is very quiet.. It is in the perfect spot. We celebrated Thanksgiving there with our family.. Lots of fishing and lots of memories. The kids loved it as well. Thank you for allowing us to stay in your home!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Family Reunion Ever

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

Our family of 14, stayed in this beautiful home from July 21 through July 27. From the time we arrived until the morning we left we were impressed with the fact that this house was equipped with more features and cooking/eating utensils that anyone could wish for. Not to mention the two kitchens, one up and one down made food prep for a large group much easier. Bring your food and clothes that's all you will need. Everyone enjoyed the fishing off the lighted pier, especially the kids, most of the fish were small but caught many different types. We have rented other homes in the past along the gulf and all were nice, but this home is outstanding. We will visit it again. Thanks to Tim and his family for allowing us to visit their home. We will not soon forget our best family reunion ever. Oh, don't forget you will need a fishing license if you are 17 or over.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

AWESOME PLACE!

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2012

This is a wonderful, off the beaten path place. Our entire family gathered for our mother's 60th Birthday here. It was absolutely the perfect place for us. We will surely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Williams family Vacation

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 9, 2013

This house is awesome...we had such a great time in Texas, and had the opportunity to stay in this well maintained beautiful home. Fishing off of the pier was a blast.. The kids caught tons of fish, mostly small ones but lots of action...swimming and playing and kayaking in the Bay was fun. The house is well furnished( very comfortable ) with plenty of seating. I would recommend this house to everyone I know. Plenty of room for the 11 of us. Thank you so much for opening up your house to us.
The Williams Family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Court House family reunion

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

We had a very enjoyable time at the Court House. Everything was as advertised, no surprises. Great fishing off the pier with spectacular sunrises. Definitely would stay here again!! Most of the party are from the Midwest so this coastal retreat was a big hit!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

As advertised

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

Many thanks to Tim for his vacation rental. We found the house to be all the post says. The house is extremely nice, easy to visit, with all the needed supplies. The seating is very comfortable, the beds were all good, and all the outdoor areas well maintained and suppied. Tim responded promptly to my calls and e-mails, and we had no complaints about the house or the host. Try this place, it may change your attitude.
We did fish with some luck, but lost two big ones to using ultra light tackle. We tried the two local nine hole courses, Hatch Bend, and Palacios and enjoyed both. They are small town courses, simple and inexpensive. A good place to play to relax and easy for true duffers to get around.
Almost all our dining was prepared by us at the house. We did have a local vendor drive up and sell us some very fresh, plump, and tasty shrimp. The oysters at the bait stand in Port Lavaca across from the Lighthouse were great.
I gained four pounds, too much good food and loafing. But it was worth it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Favorable Ruling for the Texas Court House....

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

We really enjoyed the Texas Court House. Initally we experienced an issue w/ the DTV but the owner went out of his way to find a repair guy. DTV needed a week to provide a fix but the owner searched and found a fix locally. Some Rental Owners may have not done this and, needless to say, we really appreciated the extra efffort.
The house is really nice and offered all we needed and more. We utilized the entire house which offers 2 cooking areas, 2 Gathering Areas, 5 bedrooms and 3 Full baths. This is an excellent rental for small or large parties.
Summers would be awesome at this home considering the nice pier w/ fishing lights and fish cleaning station.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Handicapped Person plus Two

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

We stayed a week. The Texas Court House is impressive on the outside and uniquely decorated on the inside. The owners were friendly when contacted. Unfortunately, in our opinion, the house, both inside and outside, has not been well maintained.
The house is advertised as HANDICAPPED/WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE. BUT BEWARE: There are four steps (no railings) to get into the house both at the front and rear of house. The doors to the downstairs bedrooms and the one bathroom are too narrow for a wheelchair; however a standard sized walker can pass through them. The commode is low and there were no safety railings at commode or tub area. There is no tub chair and no hand-held nozzle in the shower. Due to how the shower is configured, it is extremely difficult to balance the hot and cold water mix and the shower head is too high to adjust the direction of the water flow. Only by moving an old worktable from the laundry room and moving a sofa, can a person in a wheelchair eat and work at a normal table height. The stove downstairs has the controls on the back of stove and when oven is on, the entire body of stove heats up.

Owners response: This review is filled with half-truths and fabrications. This house is in excellent condition. There are NO maintenance issues. Everything is in very good working order. We stay in this house all the time just to make sure. We just upgraded to an HDTV in a bedroom and to Blu Ray DVD Players. Stay in any of our houses and you will NEVER see a house in better condition. Look at all of our other favorable reviews here and at our other houses.

We love this house. It is truly a special place as well as our pride and joy. We love to be able to share it with others. It saddens us to have someone walk away unhappy without even allowing us the chance to try to make it right.

In five years of owning this house, we have had a number of people in wheelchairs and with disabilities stay at the house with only raves about the house, grounds and Pier. We specifically say in our ad that the house is wheelchair accessible but NOT ADA compliant. It is a slab house with only two small steps (NOT four as stated in the review) up to the house. Easily manageable in a wheelchair with a little assistance. Look at our photos. The entire downstairs at all our rentals are tile or stained concrete – no carpet -- specifically for persons in walkers and wheelchairs.

This is a private house, not a motel. We are not required to be ADA compliant and if you need that, you should stay at a Holiday Inn or Super 8. This renter called the day he checked in to comment on no electric plug on the fish cleaning stand (which we have already fixed), a wobbly fan and the size of the door into the bathroom. We immediately offered him a full refund. He declined and said his wife actually liked the house and wanted to stay. NONE of the other things raised in this review were ever brought up. Had we known the additional needs, we would have done whatever we could have, including providing a different shower head and table.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Spring Break 2012

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

We stayed at the Texas Court House during 2012 spring break and had a great time. The house is clean, very well stocked, and huge! My 18 year old son and his friends loved having the entire downstairs to themselves. We liked it as well! The 2 master suites upstairs are large, very comfortable and I think must be soundproof as we never heard anything!

The weather was ok, rainy at first and then very windy, but we were still able to fish off the pier and catch a few fish.

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing vacation-much needed relaxing!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spring Break 2012

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

We stayed at the Texas Court House during 2012 spring break and had a great time. The house is clean, very well stocked, and huge! My 18 year old son and his friends loved having the entire downstairs to themselves. We liked it as well! The 2 master suites upstairs are large, very comfortable and I think must be soundproof as we never heard anything!

The weather was ok, rainy at first and then very windy, but we were still able to fish off the pier and catch a few fish.

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing vacation-much needed relaxing!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

2012 Spring Break

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

We stayed at the Texas Court House during 2012 spring break and had a great time. The house is clean, very well stocked, and huge! My 18 year old son and his friends loved having the entire downstairs to themselves. We liked it as well! The 2 master suites upstairs are large, very comfortable and I think must be soundproof as we never heard anything!

The weather was ok, rainy at first and then very windy, but we were still able to fish off the pier and catch a few fish.

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing vacation-much needed relaxing!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place!

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

This place is very nice in a VERY quiet neighborhood (at least in October). We enjoyed fishing off the pier and lounging on the two decks. There is also a wide variety of bird species in the area this time of year; we saw tons of hawks, Caracaras, sea birds, etc. The owners are very helpful. This would be a great place for a large or extended family. We only had two people and stayed mostly in the upper half of the building (great views). There are two masters upstairs and a full kitchen on each floor.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Hope to return soon..

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

If you are looking for a party hot spot this ain't it. If however you are looking for a quite home away from home to gather an extended family you will not beat The Texas Court House. The upstairs family room with decks on both sides took my breath away. Pictures just did not do this place justice.The only thing you will need to bring besides clothes is food and your own bathroom products. (Yes, you have to provide your own soap and shampoo it's not hotel.) The owners were very helpful and easy to work with. And went above and beyond in getting a left behind article returned to my granddaughter. Almost anything we needed was right where we would have expected to find it at home. From fishing gear and life jackets, to first aid kit and flashlights. Yes, I would recommend this place to my closest friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. This is why we love to share our house. Thanks for the suggestion regarding soaps and shampoo. We strive to provide everything anyone might want and are going to make sure these things are provided in the future. God bless you and your family!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Family Vacation 2011

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

This house was amazing, it made you feel like you were at your own house. My family takes a summer vacation every year,this was one of the best. My 10 year old son loved it. He was able to fish, do some crabbing, swim. He had a awesome time. We all had a great time. We had about 16 of us and we all were very comfortable. I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a awesome vacation near the water.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Family Graduation Celebration

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Decor was charming following a beach theme and home was large enough to accommodate 12 people, which is the limit before a $10 fee a day per person is added. Having two kitchens was definitely a plus. The outdoor sitting areas all around the house gave great moments to soak up the sun--the upstairs one facing the pier gave wonderful views of the water. Homeowners provided many things for various activities.

Came to celebrate my graduation with my family members and they all enjoyed their stay. Good place to come together and make great memories. Nice way to get away for a bit. It's not too far from where we live, so we'll probably be coming back for an extended stay soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2010

We stayed at The Texas Courthouse for the start of our Spring Break. I must say that the house is immaculate! There was more than enought room for everyone! The views fron the front balconay and the back deck are priceless! The home had everything we needed. There was always something to do for the adults and the kids! My children enjoyed the beach and the playground! This is the best vacation rental that we have ever visited! We saw the porpoises, the kids played baskeball, we BBQed, we saw beautiful sunsets and sunrises! My kids really enjoyed EVERYTHING...they didn't complain one time during our stay! I would gladly refer this rental to anyone looking for a nice KID FRIENDLY stay! Thanks for having us Raub Family!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Review submitted: December 21, 2009   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

We stayed at the Texas Court House for our Family Christmas 2009. The house and amenities were perfect for our family. There was plenty of room for everyone--2 nice living spaces, balconey and patio views of the water and the pasture land (a couple of deer were even spotted), a playground for the kids, a pier for fishing and feeding the seagulls, and even a game room for the kids. The weather was cold and misty, but it did not deter us from having a great time. Our family weekend included my dad (age 74) and my grandkids (the youngest is 1 1/2)and everyone found something to do and enjoy. The house is decorated beautifully and both kitchens have just about everything you could need. I had planned to decorate a bit for the holidays, but was pleasantly surprised to find the house already decorated. (Granddaughter Madelyn loved Santa and the flamingos.) It is also a very short trip (about 15 minutes) into Port Lavaca to a WalMart. Our stay was very enjoyable and my 4 kids and 4 grandkids are already talking about checking into renting it for next year. Thanks for allowing us into your home for the opportunity of building memories for our grandkids!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: August 10, 2009   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

My siblings and I stayed at this remarkable home from July 18 through July 26. The Texas Court House is more than the owners advertise. It is truly a home away from home. The home was very clean and well furnished. The atmosphere of this retreat fit all of our needs ranging from true fishing experiences to fun with the little ones on the play ground equipment out back. We watched beautiful sunsets and sunrises on the pier. The porpoises came within 20 feet of the pier several times, entertaining all that were present. We launched our boat at a nearby boat ramp and enjoyed the experience of the bay in many ways. We followed several porpoises, watching them majestically play in the water. We found a sand beach just a few miles out in the bay that yielded a playground for the little ones and fishing for the older ones. The house was furnished with everything that one could dream of from games to home entertainment systems. There was more than adequate room to prepare a meal for more than 20 individuals without having to rush or get in each other's way. The beds were comfortable to all. There is a small beach just at the start of the pier, which provided hours of fun and enjoyment for the little ones to collect shells and play in the water. Their were kayaks to be used by the guests, but the wind was a little too strong most of the days for unexperienced kayakers to attempt. We visited with several of the locals and learned when the fish were biting and where to go in the boat. Our entire family created wonderful memories during this stay. To say the least, this is truly a magnificent location to rent, very reasonably priced and strategically located to obtain all of your personal needs. Thank-you for allowing us to rent the Texas Court House. See you next year.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 30, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We had the best of times! Really wonderful accommodations and the gentlemen could not say enough about the beautiful surroundings and accommodations. You have a wonderful home on a wonderful piece of land and I would recommend the trip and stay at your home to anyone. We may plan to make this an annual event!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 18, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

This was a great space for our large family. We had grandparents to grandbabies and everyone had plenty of room to relax and have fun. The house is spacious and well equipped, including two full kitchens and master suites. There was very little that was not provided that we wished we had on hand. The large decks and porches offered amazing views of sunrises and sunsets as well as plenty of room and shade for lounging all day (or night) long. This is a great spot to get away from the noise and crowds of suburbs and cities.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 12, 2008   Date of arrival: August 7, 2008

This was a great space for our large family. We had grandparents to grandbabies and everyone had enough room and lots of fun. The house is spacious and well equipped, including two full kitchens and master suites. There was very little that was not provided that we wished we had on hand. The large decks and porches offered amazing views of sunrises and sunsets as well as plenty of room and shade for lounging all day (or night) long. This is a great spot to get away from the "noise and crowds" of suburbs and cities.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 19, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

Wow. Great home... great stay. Decks front and rear. Beautiful views on a large private lot. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to escape city and work. Guiet peaceful neighborhood. Fun on the water. Owners offered lots of toys and personal amenities. My wife and I just kicked back, relaxed and enjoyed. Would not recommend to folks looking to keep "city life" kicked in! This is the real deal!!!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 13, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

This property is as nice in person as it is in it's pictures. We had Dolphins come within 15' of pier two days in a row. Lots of shells on beach - kids had a ball. Caught several fish right off pier. Owners have created a nice guide of area attractions. We had one minor issue with property when we showed up. Owners responded and corrected it immediately. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review