reviews for: listing #37791 - Ocean Beach, California Cottage rental

Lotus2 Historic Cottage - Steps to the Beach
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ocean Beach
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $130 - $190 /nt
    $780 - $1,140 /wk

sort by:

Lotus Cottages

Review submitted: February 29, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We were evacuated during the California Wildfires and so we rented this cottage for four days. We really enjoyed staying there. I enjoyed the fact that because it has been recently renovated, everything was brand new. I am also a history buff and standing on the part of the back deck that used to be Wonderland simply intrigued and excited me. The cottage was cozy and comfortable and the decks gave us an opportunity to get away from people which is what I really needed to do. I loved the stained glass windows in the bedroom and bathroom and the sound system was pretty terrific. I have a penchant for wood, so I really enjoyed the paneleing and cabinets. They are beautiffuly done. The beach really is maybe a two minute walk away and the pier is very close. All and all my husband and I had a great time there and in spite of worrying whether or not our home would be there when we returned, we were truly able to relax and enjoy the beach community life and there is plently to do within walking distance. The only thing I could say that "could" be a problem is parking if you have more than one car. There is parking on the property for one car, otherwise you have to park on the street. Though it is a beach community which by nature has a lot of people, I felt very safe there.
The cottage was setup the way it was presented in the advertising, it is clean and very well maintained, I didn't have to deal with the owner much but he responded to my questions or requests quickly. I would recommend this property to anyone wanting to be at the beach but have privacy too. We mostly just cooked in the kitchen but we did go to Thee Bungalow for dinner one night and really enjoyed it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind words. I am so glad that we were able to provide you a temporary home during that trying time. We're glad you enjoyed LotusCottages so much. We put a lot of energy, effort and love into restoring this special historic beach cottage. The knotty pine paneling is so beautiful and it has such a terrific golden glow. The romantic night-time lighting in the living room and the bedroom make for such wonderful, enchanting memories. It's also great to know that you enjoyed our kitchen so much. Isn't that JennAir system terrific! I love the high-tech glass cooking surface. Again, thank you so much for appreciating the beauty and the history of LotusCottages.

Helpful votes: 20 / 22

 

Cozy and best location in OB.

Review submitted: July 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 25, 2014

I am so glad I chose the cottage for 5 days stay with my husband and son. The cottage was very charming. Beds were very comfortable. Many of the "appliances" one has in their home were provided at the cottage. This made our stay very relaxing and comfortable. Additionally, the cottage was very well kept and clean. Definetely recommend it!

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind words. We try to make our cottage "your home away from home."

We have tried to have everything you need, ready for you -- hair dryers, shampoo, beach towels, top quality kitchen appliances, pots and pans, blenders, wine glasses, beach chairs -- and the list goes on.

Please stay at the Cottage again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WE LOVED IT!!!

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

The Lotus Cottages reservation process was easy, the cottage was clean and welcoming, and everything about staying there was fabulous! We got a night free for booking 6 and we used all of that time to soak up sun and surf on the beach, get reacquainted with OB and visit Sea World multiple times. The cottage made a beautiful home away from home!

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kinds words. All of the original knotty-pine-paneled walls certainly add a wonderful character to the Cottage.

Please come back and stay with us again! Please keep thinking of the Cottage as being your home away from home!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

.Great place for a couple

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

Great place to use as a base to explore Ocean Beach and very accessible downtown San Diego. Walking distance to shops and restaurants - about 15 minutes. Wonderful beach just 5 minutes away. Very private and quiet cottage with everything we needed. Kitchen stocked with basic dishes. Coop just 3 blocks away with organic everything. Ate lunch each day on back deck under the umbrella. Bedroom was only inconvenience - so small one of us had to crawl to other side of bed which was against the wall. Especially nice place for dog lovers. They are everywhere.

Owners response: Hi Carol. Thanks for your kind words. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much. You're right about the bedroom -- it certainly is cozy! When we renovated the cottage, we went to a whole lot of attention on the bedroom. I hope you enjoyed the beautiful stained glass window, the romantic night-lighting and all of the wonderful wood detailing! The cottage is very close to dog beach. We do have a no pets policy at the cottage, but our guests who are dog lovers really enjoy the short walk to dog beach to enjoy other peoples' pets! Please come back and visit us again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyed the Historic Lotus Cottage again!

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 27, 2014

Our family of three has stayed at the Historic Lotus Cottage four times now. Each time we enjoy the convenience of staying so close to the beach and all the great dining OB has to offer. We parked our car in the driveway and only drove it when we went to Legoland for the day. Otherwise we were walking everywhere! We love that because we live in Phoenix and the weather and sprawl doesn't permit walking everywhere. :-)

The new boogie boards and beach chairs were great! We love sitting on the front porch and in the grotto. We look forward to coming back again - hopefully next summer! Thank you so much!

Owners response: Hi Michelle

Thanks so much for your kind review. We always enjoy your staying with us at the Cottage. We're glad that you like the new boogie boards and beach chairs! They are the Body Glove brand, and are EXCELLENT on the water!

Here's looking forward to your next visit!

Take care -- and thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Second Stay!

Review submitted: November 8, 2013   Date of arrival: October 22, 2013

My husband and I returned to stay at Lotus II for our second time. While visiting our daughter, this was a just right space for us. The cottage was very clean, had everything we needed and was a short walk to everything from the beach to interesting restaurants and shops.
We could've used a little more in the way of silverware and the beach chairs and grill need replacing. The patio was a cozy place to sit, read and sip a glass of wine. We appreciated the washer and dryer and also thanks for the laundry soap!
The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were top quality.
I would not recommend staying here with kids but it is just right for two! Thanks for a great stay and for good communication when making our arrangements.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for staying with us two times -- we're really looking forward to your returning to visit your daughter again next year. We truly appreciate your kind comments. For many couples and families, this is just the right place! It's an extremely cozy, comfortable Sears and Roebuck "kit beach cottage" -- and it's just a few steps away from the Pacific Ocean. The Historic Cottage reminds me of the place my family had on the beach when I was a child, and it's great to share that experience with and with other families. I apologize for the grill not being fully cleaned before your visit, and the missing silverware. Both have been rectified, and we have also upgraded and improved all of our beach chairs, beach umbrellas and beach toys for the 2014 season!

Again, thank you very, very much for staying with us at the Lotus Cottages. We really look forward to hosting you again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This cottage is absolutely gorgeous

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

This place is so great. We fell in love with OB all over again. Thank you so much for letting us stay here. This cottage is absolutely gorgeous – you did a GREAT JOB with every detail. From all the mini-fridge space to the backpack beach chairs. You thought of everything. We can’t thank you enough. We will definitely come back! Thanks! It was amazing!

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A fabulous stay at Lotus Cottages.

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

A fabulous stay at Lotus Cottages. We had great weather – sunny, 70s and especially enjoyed the proximity to the beach – people watching – surfers, volleyball players, dog walkers, joggers, children mesmerized by the surf … as well as walking down the bike path along the river, with a plethora of birds on the left and skateboarders on the right. We loved Torrey Pines – both the beach and the hiking in the reserve.
The cottage met all of our needs – a great home base.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Really great house!

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

First time in San Diego. Love, love, love Ocean Beach. Mostly just hung out on the beach, relaxing. Really great house! We grilled and relaxed on the deck. Wish we could have stayed longer. Would love to come back. Thanks for a great experience!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will be back!

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

We loved the LotusCottage! Everything about it was perfect –location, layout and cleanliness. The LotusCottage staff were very helpful and always available to answer questions. We liked it so much we had all our friends that live locally come by to see it. After returning to OB after 25 years, it’s good to know it has not changed!! When we come back to OB we would definitely stay in the LotusCottage

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will be back!

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 22, 2011

We thought the cottage was terrific --- clean, cute, updated appliances, warm and friendly and you couldn’t beat the location.
Such a lovely experience. We will be back! … and we’ll for sure tell friends and family about this wonderful treasure !

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved every minute of it

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

We stayed in this beautiful cottage for a week and loved every minute of it.
Everything is so close which meant a lot since we had our six months old boy with us.
We also recommend this well equipped kitchen as it made us tasty dinners every evening.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The OB cottage was amazing!

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

The OB cottage was amazing! It was a catalyst for old friends to meet again, many of us had moved away from OB (some do get out) and it’d been overdue to see each other. OB is always an amazing loving beach town and the Cottage is definitely Ocean Beach!
Thank You

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Many fond memories

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 14, 2010

All the staff at Lotus Cottage are to be congratulated for a job well done. Our experience here far exceeded our expectations.

Both of us leave with many fond memories, not only of the OB community, but of our stay at Lotus Cottage, too. Neither would we hesitate to recommend Lotus Cottage as a beautiful place to stay, relax and enjoy the Pacific Ocean.

Take in a sunset or two.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love the Lotus Cottage!

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

We love the Lotus Cottage! Great find. We had a lovely time with our family who live here. We had a great Thanksgiving dinner here at the Cottage. The BEST weather for dining on the deck. The children love the Cottage – so close to the beach. We love watching the dogs play in the Ocean.
Thanks! We will be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Review 14 - August 2010

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2010

This cottage was a great place for our family. We had a great time watching movies with the kids and we also had a wonderful time cooking in this cozy cottage!
We were surprised by all the amenities the cottage provided, as well. Thank you for this wonderful stay. The oceanside location was also a plus to this great experience.
All in all, this cottage experience brought our family closer together and provided a great stay for many memories! We hope that this cottage provides many happy memories for future guests!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Review 14 - August 2010

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the cottage. It was like living in a doll house! The community is just what we wanted, with plenty of privacy, but lots of things to see and do.

We really enjoyed the down time sitting on the front porch in the morning or on the back deck in the evening, or just walking in the neighborhood and taking in the atmosphere of the community.

We found that if we followed the directions for use of all the things at the cottage, like the beach stuff, it encouraged us to do things we wouldn't have thought of on our own. Boogey Boarding for example! We are way too old to be doing that, but had a blast trying anyway!

Thanks to you for being so helpful, it was one of those rare experiences beyond expectation. Thanks again.
We’ll be back
Thanks

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Review 12 - June 2010

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

We came here as a couple needing to get away, and this cozy little cottage was the perfect place. We loved that we could take short walks to the beach, sit out on the patio and enjoy the beautiful weather or take a short drive to go see the sights of San Diego.
We also enjoyed a wonderful fireworks display off of the Ocean Beach Pier on the Fourth of July!
Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Review 12 - June 2010

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

Loved the cottage and all the workmanship and TLC that went into restoring it! Thankfully everything was close, so we packed lots into our week.
Used your gourmet kitchen and wonderful patio/deck most nights for cooking. Thank you so much for all the info and easy of use you provided.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Review 11 - May 2010

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

LotusCottages is GREAT!!

We love the beautiful craftsman work that has gone into the restoration.

Thanks for sharing this lovely place with us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Review 11 - May 2010

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

LotusCottages is GREAT!!

We love the beautiful craftsman work that has gone into the restoration.

Thanks for sharing this lovely place with us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Review 11 - May 2010

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

LotusCottages is GREAT!!

We love the beautiful craftsman work that has gone into the restoration.

Thanks for sharing this lovely place with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Review 10 - May 2010

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

Truly enjoyed our stay in San Diego and the LotusCottages.

This place was everything I hope it would be – loved the decks as a place to relax after a busy day touring the sites.

Nicely done renovations and OB was a great base from which to explore the greater metro area. Hope to be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location near SD

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

I spent 4 days at this cottage while my girls played in a soccer tournament nearby. It was the perfect location - close to everything in greater SD. I walked the beach in the morning and looped down to the main drag in Ocean Beach for breakfast. I stopped at yard sales on my way home.
The locals are extremely friendly. What's not to be happy about in OB?
This cottage is beautifully done. Very private from the neighbors; even the motorcycle-riding neighbors that you share the driveway with.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kim -- Thank you very much for your kind words. Our next-door neighbors, Wendy and Don, are wonderful people (originally from Virginia) and they take great care to roll their motorcycles down the driveway and not start them until they are out on the public street, and when they come home they turn off their bikes on the street and roll into their back yard. OB definitely has charm and character. Our cottage is in one of the quietest and most private areas of OB -- and we are only a few hundred steps away from the beach !! We're looking forward to your coming back for a return visit.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our second time at the cottage

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2010

Our second time at LotusCottage from upstate New York. It is now our home away from home. All our stays in San Diego will be here in the future – if the cottage is available.

Thanks so much!!

(This comment is from Judy after her second stay - she has returned for a third) Welcome back Judy!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

brought our family closer together

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

This cottage was a great place for our family. We had a great time watching movies with the kids and we also had a wonderful time cooking in this cozy cottage!

We were surprised by all the amenities the cottage provided, as well. Thank you for this wonderful stay. The oceanside location was also a plus to this great experience.

All in all, this cottage experience brought our family closer together and provided a great stay for many memories! We hope that this cottage provides many happy memories for future guests!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We thought the cottage was terrific

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 7, 2009

We thought the cottage was terrific --- clean, cute, updated appliances, warm and friendly and you couldn’t beat the location.

Such a lovely experience. We will be back! … and we’ll for sure tell friends and family about this wonderful treasure !

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The cottage met all of our needs

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 31, 2009

A fabulous stay at Lotus Cottages. We had great weather – sunny, 70s and especially enjoyed the proximity to the beach – people watching – surfers, volleyball players, dog walkers, joggers, children mesmerized by the surf … as well as walking down the bike path along the river, with a plethora of birds on the left and skateboarders on the right. We loved Torrey Pines – both the beach and the hiking in the reserve.

The cottage met all of our needs – a great home base.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Wonderful Cottage Retreat

Review submitted: June 19, 2008   Date of arrival: June 11, 2008

Our stay at Lotus Cottage was relaxing, comfortable, and great for entertaining. Since our daughter lives in OB we have been looking for a place other than a "hotel" to rest our heads. Lotus Cottage is by far the best deal for the money and ambiance. The renovation is first class, the amenities like home, and the location perfect. It is within easy walking distance of "downtown" OB and the beach, as well as close to the freeway. We look forward to many more visits to Lotus Cottage.

Judy from New York

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 7, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful time staying in this simply lovely beach cottage. The next time we come back, we'll definitely bring our surfing gear! Thanks again for letting us stay at your beautiful beach cottage.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 15, 2007   Date of arrival: December 15, 2007

The cottage is very wonderful. All of the wood paneling, the exposed beams. Knowing that you are only a few steps away from the beach, staying in a San Diego historical home. Wow. We'll definitely come back

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review