reviews for: listing #37814 - Hood River, Oregon Townhome rental

Gorge's Best Viewhouse, downtown, VIEWS !!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  downtown Hood River
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $171 - $275 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,300 /wk
    $2,800 - $5,200 /mth

sort by:

What a View!

Review submitted: June 26, 2008   Date of arrival: June 10, 2008

This rental exceeded all of our expectations. It is thoughtfully appointed and sparkling clean. The three-level layout - with the master upstairs, two bedrooms downstairs and the living area in between - was perfect for friends traveling together. The location is very quiet and convenient. I especially enjoyed walking to town and around the charming neighborhood.

And the name says it all. The view is truly spectacular..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best rental experience!

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

We spent a weekend here for a family reunion. Everyone that came over was in awe of the house and the the view! House was so clean upon arrival. Instructions for use of everything in the house was clearly marked, which for me was a huge plus. My dog even felt at home with the cookie the staff left her.
Julie (owner) was fantastic to work with. She communicated everything along the way.
Julie, I have to say this was by far my best house rental experience and for that I thank you!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, thank you ! I'm very glad I was able to make your reunion so special. You folks were wonderful to work with as well.
Thank you again !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place !

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

Great place! Spacious three bedroom, with spectacular views of the Columbia River Gorge and Mt Adams. The house is newer than most in the area, with all of the amenities. If you like to cook than you are in luck. Two ovens and a gas range top make quick work of large meals. There is even a BBQ out back. Tile floors and huge windows give it a great beach house feel. The views to the North are spectacular, and there is no shortage of comfy viewing space. Julie does a great job of making sure your stay is nothing but amazing. We will be back.

My Response

You'll be back ?? Thanks for the warning ! Just kidding- you guys were great ! Julie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a view !

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

What a view! We had a great time. Plenty of room for the entire family and so close to downtown. We walked everywhere and was a perfect starting off point for road and mountain bike rides.

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

My Response

In further communication, the guest added this : "we've rented a lot of houses off of VRBO and you are by far the most responsive and lovely to work with. Thank you!! Next time we are planning a getaway to hood river, we will definitely be in touch. Thanks!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

What a view! We had a great time. Plenty of room for the entire family and so close to downtown. We walked everywhere and was a perfect starting off point for road and mountain bike rides.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: In further communication, the guest added this :

"we've rented a lot of houses off of VRBO and you are by far the most responsive and lovely to work with. Thank you!! Next time we are planning a getaway to hood river, we will definitely be in touch. Thanks!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorge's Best Viewhouse

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

Great place! Spacious three bedroom, with spectacular views of the Columbia River Gorge and Mt Adams. The house is newer than most in the area, with all of the amenities. If you like to cook than you are in luck. Two ovens and a gas range top make quick work of large meals. There is even a BBQ out back. Tile floors and huge windows give it a great beach house feel. The views to the North are spectacular, and there is no shortage of comfy viewing space. Julie does a great job of making sure your stay is nothing but amazing.

We will be back.

Owners response: You'll be back ?? Thanks for the warning ! Just kidding- you guys were great ! Julie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved it !

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

had a fabulous time in the Hood. House was amazing, met our expectations and more. Loved looking out at the Gorge every morning.Nice to be able to see all the kiteboarding. Our son was out for 3 days in a row for 4-5 hours at a time. Good wine, good beer, good food, and good people. The boys loved the golfing, the ladies- stand up paddle boards which you can rent for $40 for 24 hours at 2nd Wind downtown. The weather was fabulous(thanks, Julie). Went to the local hang out on Tuesdays, the "Ruins"- live band, gre3at wine, beer, pizza. Must do on Tuesday evening 5-10 PM. Get there early to get a seat. Loved it !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

favorite memory

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

The house was beautiful and the location was great. We loved walking into town every night to see what was going on. our favorite memory was taking our dog Lola (14) to the beach for a swim. we were told she only has 2 months to live but here 7 months later she swam, played fetch, and chewed on sticks. It was great !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"million dollar view...tranquil setting...close in

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

Stayed Oct. 17, 2011- July 1, 2012

Julie has created a lovely place to spend however much time you have. Many secluded spaces for privacy, yet space enough for gatherings..all needed amenities and services. Friendly and quiet neighborhood..one could have many family/friends 'times 'while enjoying the river and hiking/mountain excursions and returning to all you could ever need to finish the day... and just relax...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hood River is a gem !

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

August 1-August 8,2010
A wonderful spot to have spent a week with family and friends. Great views and wonderful location close to town... we will return. Hood River is a gem !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

great location and very comfortable

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

July 18- Aug. 1, 2010
This house is great- spectacular view, great location and very comfortable. We enjoyed our 2 weeks with our son, daughter in law, and grandson. Lots of windsurfing and biking.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

incredible week

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

8/8-15/10
What an incredible week ! This is an ideal location to explore this beautiful part of the country. Everyone here has been so friendly and helpful, too !The sailing and surfing are great to watch. Mt Hood, Mt St Helens ,and the Gorge have fantastic hiking to beautiful spots. The fruit orchards are great at this time of year- homemade raspberry/huckleberry pie at the Country Store is scrumptious !! The Bonneville dam and fish hatchery is so interesting- too bad we didn't plan to do fishi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

marvelous house and unique village

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

Aug. 27- Sept. 3, 2010
It was an amazing vacation. We enjoyed our stay in this marvelous house and unique village. The toy kitchen was also very exciting [owners note: kids kitchen for playing ]. I love the view of the river from the balcony. Going on Mt hood was also an amazing experience. We made our own huckleberry jam which was absolutely delicious ! The house is very spacious and provided us with everything we needed. we are even thinking of coming back !
New Jersey

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

great space

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

Sept. 3-10, 2010

Hi Julie,
Great space- wonderful place. We enjoyed ourselves immensely.
S. Dakota
Wenatchee, WA,
Indianapolis

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

we will be back !

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

July 9- July 23, 2011

2 weeks at the Gorge's Best Viewhouse and it was amazing !!!! Hood River speaks for itself but having this fantastic place in this location with that view made it GLORIOUS !
Julie was always so helpful , answered all our questions, and even came by a couple of times to help with some of our questions. She sat with us at sunset and gave us some local tips- and we were able to enjoy some HR local flavor.
Kiteboarding every day, trip to the fruit loop for berries and lavender farm, kids played in ALL the HR parks and awesome sunsets every evening ! Best View, Gorge House- WE WILL BE BACK ! Thank you !

Tokyo, Japan
San Diego, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

our dog thanks you

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

July 2- July 9, 2011

Just spent a week at your townhouse. Very nicely furnished, great view, spacious, comfortable. Our dog thanks you for being able to spend vacation with us ! Garage nicely set up for windsurfing. We spent our time windsurfing at the "Hatch", Rowena,and Event Site. Spent several windless days riding the Whoopy Trail, and Kniebal Springs and one day hiking on the Washington side- huge fields of flowers, great views of St Helens, Adams, Rainier, and Hood and totally private hike- no other hikers. Thanks for sharing your townhouse with us.

Spokane, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

under promised and over delivered !

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Sept. 15, 2010- July 1, 2011

Under promised and Over delivered !!! This place was beyond our expectations for the winter. Started out at another vacation rental- HORRID- then moved here. LOVED IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!! HATE TO LEAVE !!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

marvelous house

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

It was an amazing vacation. We enjoyed our stay in this marvelous house and unique village. The toy kitchen was also very exciting [owners note: kids kitchen for playing ]. I love the view of the river from the balcony. Going on Mt hood was also an amazing experience. We made our own huckleberry jam which was absolutely delicious ! The house is very spacious and provided us with everything we needed. we are even thinking of coming back !
New Jersey

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

incredible week

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

Aug. 8-15, 2010
What an incredible week ! This is an ideal location to explore this beautiful part of the country. Everyone here has been so friendly and helpful, too !The sailing and surfing are great to watch. Mt Hood, Mt St Helens ,and the Gorge have fantastic hiking to beautiful spots. The fruit orchards are great at this time of year- homemade raspberry/huckleberry pie at the Country Store is scrumptious !! The Bonneville dam and fish hatchery is so interesting- too bad we didn't plan to do some fishing. Oregon is a best kept vacation secret ! What a treat to not have to pump your own gas, too !
Wisconsin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

wonderful spot

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

A wonderful spotto have spent a week with our family and friends. Great views and wonderful location close to town... we will return. Hood river s a gem !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

loved it !

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

July 18- Aug. 1, 2010
This house is great-spectacular view, great location and very comfortable. We enjoyed our 2 weeks with our son, daughter in law, and grandson. Lots of windsurfing and biking.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location & Vacation House

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: May 26, 2010

My husband is from Hood River and we come out every year from Florida to visit family & friends. This is the first time we had to rent a house due to a family member having surgery. WE LOVED IT!! Great location and quiet neighborhood. Convenient to everything and great views of the river & Mt. Adams. We are now spoiled and probably won't stay anywhere else when we return next year. Julie is a pleasure to deal with. We felt at home and had plenty of room. We'll be back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyable Vacation

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed it! The place was spotless and had everything we needed, and more. We really enjoyed the location and view. We spent a lot of time on the balcony looking out at the beautiful view. We were 2 families with kids, and everyone enjoyed it. We found it to be reasonable priced. Would definitely recommend it to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

Length of stay : 1/8/2010- 3/27/2010
Thank you for providing a well furnished home. My stay was very comfortable. Love the area !

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Definitely the best view !

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 26, 2009

Length of stay : 9/26/2009 - 1/8/2009
Definitely the best view ! The house is beautiful. We loved the radiant heating, especially. The sights are one of a kind and lots of great restaurants ( Bette's, Kaze, Baneventi's in Bingen). Really felt at home here- thank you, Julie !!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

Length of stay : 9/26/2009 - 1/8/2009
Definitely the best view ! The house is beautiful. We loved the radiant heating, especially. The sights are one of a kind and lots of great restaurants ( Bette's, Kaze, Baneventi's in Bingen). Really felt at home here- thank you, Julie !!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Definitely the Best View !

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

Length of stay : 9/26/2009- 1/8/2010
Definitely the best view ! The house is beautiful. We loved the radiant heating, especially. The sights are one of a kind , and lots of great restaurants ( Bette's, Kaze, Beneventi's in Bingen). Really felt at home here- tahnk you, Julie !!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so much

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2009

This house was great for our little family gathering. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect !

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: September 14, 2009

The house was perfect for 5 family members who came from Boston for our nephew's wedding. It was a very comfortable place to come back to at the end of the day.
We enjoyed exploring the area and tried to take in as many sites as we could in 3 short days. The area is beautiful and now we know why our nephew has relocated here.
Have a great fall ! Boston., Mass

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

What a wonderful place to stay ! Views, spacious home with all amenities. We'll definitely be back. Hendersonville, NC
 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

best view and best equipped

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

We had a great 2 weeks here. Not only the best view, but the best equipped place we've rented here. Def- we'll be back. Anchorage, AK
 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

windsurfed every day except one

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

We had a fantastic two weeks here and windsurfed every day except one !
The area around the River is fantastic and we enjoyed lots of views. I'm sure we will be back for more windsurfing. Paul and Carol Dorset, UK

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

stunning views

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

The title of the property lived up to it's name with stunning views of the Hood River- for anyone windsurfing or Kiting you can immediately see the weather conditions to decide whether to sail or not. If not there is so much more to do no one could possibly get bored.
The house was fabulous and delivered all it promised, it was immaculately clean. The owner was very friendly and helpful and answered all our questions.
We will definitely be returning- there is so much more for us to do and explore.
Carol and Paul Dorset, England
 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

24th year to Hood River

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

This is the 24th year that we have come to Hood River, Oregon, to accompany our son and daughter for their passion of windsurfing. It is our custom to camp out for a week and not rent a house for a week.
Your house is very well appointed and makes holidaying a real pleasure. Whoever built and finished the house is to be complimented as the trim and cabinetry are done in good taste.
We are feeling right at home as we have the same leather furniture in our rec room at home.
We have enjoyed the WiFi system as we have four laptops between the families and our son is a computer programmer and works when the wind isn't blowing.
Sherwood Park, Alberta Canada
 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We look forward to our return

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

Countless hours were spent admiring the view from every room. Thank you for sharing this corner of heaven with us. Our vacation was filled with kayaking, touring the "Fruit Loop", and exploring the Gorge area. The house perfectly suited our needs. we look forward to our return. Whittier, Calif

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best house in the Gorge- without a doubt !

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 24, 2009

Best Vacation House in the Gorge !
For starters, I initially planned to rent the house for September....and to make a long story short, I've now been here 6 months . This is without a doubt the best house in the entire Columbia River Gorge area. The views of the Columbia River ( you can also see Mt Adams) are absolutely amazing, and the proximity to MT Hood means you're very close to some of the best Hiking/ Mountain Biking Trails anywhere in the country. The House is stocked with everything you can possibly think of and all the appliances are brand new. The 3 levels provide plenty of space for families and the surrounding neighborhood is extremely quiet.
Also, the downtown itself is only a few short blocks away, so due to its location you can pretty much walk anywhere.

My job is taking me out of the area, which is why I'm leaving, but please don't hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or require additional information about the House. The bottom line is that if you're looking to stay in Hood river this is by far the best house so if it's available, rent it immediately ! Cheers, Jason Portland, OR
 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love this place !!

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2008

We love this place !!
We saw the site, thought pretty nice, but when we arrived we were totally impressed ! This place is awesome ! Great views, quiet, super comfy beds, and a short walk to everything . Many well thought out amenities and very comfortable. We wanted to just stay and savor the ambiance, but too many fun things to do in the are. We will be back and highly recommend this place.
Pocatello, Idaho
 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2008

This vacation rental is perfect ! Well lit, spacious, and tastefully decorated. It has everything a family looking for a fun-filled and relaxing time will need- not to mention the expansive river and mountain views ! My kids loved having the downstairs all to themselves. I loved the upstairs room and the new appliances in the kitchen. The location is great, too. Just a short walkfrom downtown shops and cafes and close to many attractions. Hood River is the perfect spot fpr exploring the Columbia Gorge. The owner is very friendly and helpful. We'll definitely come back again.
Guest name : Family of Four San Jose , CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a View !

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2008

What a View!
This rental exceeded all of our expectations. It is thoughtfully appointed and sparkling clean. The three-level layout - with the master upstairs, two bedrooms downstairs and the living area in between - was perfect for friends traveling together. The location is very quiet and convenient. I especially enjoyed walking to town and around the charming neighborhood.

And the name says it all. The view is truly spectacular..
guest name: Horse Lover L Washington

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable and kid friendly

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2008

We had five days of relaxation here. The house is very comfortable and kid friendly. We got to do some sight-seeing and hiking, but mostly we just lounged in the great room and read or played games. The view is absolutely mesmerizing ! We love Oregon ! We'll definitely come back again. Calif
 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

don't want to leave

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

This is a fantastic rental unit!So comfortable & the views of the river & mts are great. For being in a neighborhood,it is extremely private. There were only 2 of us but it would be a perfect place for 2 couples or a family, plenty of room to move for all. The kitchen is a gourmet's dream,with every gadget/appliance provided. Don't cook every night though,because you can walk to downtown in minutes, where there are many great restaurants & shops. We love the place....do we have to go home?
guest name: Chef-Tell

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

bird's eye view

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

This rental is just what we were looking for. Great location, nice neighborhood & we can walk to town. No need to bring anything,this place has it all... & then some!From the bedding & towels to the well appointed kitchen to the books,games provided,the only thing we would suggest bringing is your binoculars,the eagles & osprey fly by almost everyday!

Owners Response: In front of the home is a bird sanctuary - Well's Island, named after Doctor Wells who lived there in the mid 1900's, commuting by boat to treat his patients . It is now home to the eagles and a pair of ospreys, as well as flocks of ducks, herons, and numerous Canada Geese, who grace the sky over the Gorge with their shifting V formations of honking flight. I agree wholeheartedly and bought binoculars for the home after these people left. It's a great show !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular !

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 11, 2008

Spectacular !!! We loved watching the osprey pair and the eagle as they fished and CAUGHT fish. An osprey flew right past our window with a fish one morning.This place has been very comfortable and relaxing. We hate to leave, especially for the view !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spacious, bright, well appointed

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Gorge's Best Viewhouse. The home was new, spacious, bright and well appointed, with spectacular views of the Columbia River and Mt. Adams from the the main floor and master suite! A lovely walk to downtown for activities, shopping and dining! Plus the owner was very gracious and helpful! We'll definitely be back Yarrow Point, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LOVE the view !

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: April 14, 2008

We LOVE the view ! And the beds are very comfortable. I'm sleeping so well I slept all the way through a huge windstorm the other night .
The location is great- right in the middle of everything and so close to it all.
We all would recommend this place to everybody.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 24, 2008

Thank you for making us feel so comfortable and welcomed. We are really enjoying our little "vacation" while our home gets remodeled.
-Dani and family Hood River,OR

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You gotta stay here

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 24, 2008

I've lived right next door for a little less than a year now. All I can say is WOW what a view! The townhome is very comfortable, with a huge master suite and gourmet kitchen then dine on the deck and watch all of the kites in the summer. You've gotta stay here. Sandra Hood River, OR

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mesmerizing view !

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2008

We had five days of relaxation here. The house is very comfortable and kid friendly. We got to do some sight-seeing and hiking, but mostly we just lounged in the great room and read or played games. The view is absolutely mesmerizing ! We love Oregon ! We'll definitely come back again.
guest name: Tsang Calif
 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2009

This house was great for our little family gathering. Thank you so much.
guest name: McMillan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect house

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: September 14, 2009

The house was perfect for 5 family members who came from Boston for our nephew's wedding. It was a very comfortable place to come back to at the end of the day.
We enjoyed exploring the area and tried to take in as many sites as we could in 3 short days. The area is beautiful and now we know why our nephew has relocated here.
Have a great fall ! guest name: Ellis Boston., Mass
 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful place !!

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

What a wonderful place to stay ! Views, spacious home with all amenities. We'll definitely be back. guest name: Hull Hendersonville, NC
 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best view, best equipped

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

We had a great 2 weeks here. Not only the best view, but the best equipped place we've rented here. Def- we'll be back. Anchorage, AK
 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic 2 weeks

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

We had a fantastic two weeks here and windsurfed every day except one !
The area around the River is fantastic and we enjoyed lots of views. I'm sure we will be back for more windsurfing. guest name: Paul and Carol Dorset, UK
 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

24th year to Hood River

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2009

This is the 24th year that we have come to Hood River, Oregon, to accompany our son and daughter for their passion of windsurfing. It is our custom to camp out for a week and not rent a house for a week.
Your house is very well appointed and makes holidaying a real pleasure. Whoever built and finished the house is to be complimented as the trim and cabinetry are done in good taste.
We are feeling right at home as we have the same leather furniture in our rec room at home.
We have enjoyed the WiFi system as we have four laptops between the families and our son is a computer programmer and works when the wind isn't blowing.
guest name: Dunns Sherwood Park, Alberta Canada
 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Countless hours...

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

Countless hours were spent admiring the view from every room. Thank you for sharing this corner of heaven with us. Our vacation was filled with kayaking, touring the "Fruit Loop", and exploring the Gorge area. The house perfectly suited our needs. we look forward to our return. guest name: Saavedras Whittier, Calif

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What View !!

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2008

What a View!
This rental exceeded all of our expectations. It is thoughtfully appointed and sparkling clean. The three-level layout - with the master upstairs, two bedrooms downstairs and the living area in between - was perfect for friends traveling together. The location is very quiet and convenient. I especially enjoyed walking to town and around the charming neighborhood.

And the name says it all. The view is truly spectacular..
guest name: Horse Lover Washington

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular !

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 11, 2008

Spectacular !!! We loved watching the osprey pair and the eagle as they fished and CAUGHT fish. An osprey flew right past our window with a fish one morning.This place has been very comfortable and relaxing. We hate to leave, especially for the view ! Guest: Caldwells CA
 

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

WE LOVE THIS PLACE !!
We saw the site, thought pretty nice, but when we arrived we were totally impressed ! This place is awesome ! Great views, quiet, super comfy beds, and a short walk to everything . Many well thought out amenities and very comfortable. We wanted to just stay and savor the ambiance, but too many fun things to do in the are. We will be back and highly recommend this place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 23, 2009   Date of arrival: September 23, 2009

From the guestbook :
This house was great for our little family gathering. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 14, 2009   Date of arrival: September 14, 2009

From the guestbook :
The house was perfect for 5 family members who came from Boston for our nephew's wedding. It was a very comfortable place to come back to at the end of the day.
We enjoyed exploring the area and tried to take in as many sites as we could in 3 short days. The area is beautiful and now we know why our nephew has relocated here.
Have a great fall !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 16, 2009   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

From the guestbook :
What a wonderful place to stay ! Views, spacious home with all amenities. We'll definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 8, 2009   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

From the guestbook :
We had a great 2 weeks here. Not only the best view, but the best equipped place we've rented here. Def- we'll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorge's Best Viewhouse

Review submitted: July 28, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

The title of the property lived up to it's name with stunning views of the Hood River- for anyone windsurfing or Kiting you can immediately see the weather conditions to decide wether to sail or not. If not there is so much more to do no one could possibly get bored.
The house was fabulous and delivered all it promised, it was immaculately clean. The owner was very friendly and helpful and answered all our questions.
We will definitely be returning- there is so much more for us to do and explore.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 27, 2009   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

This vacation rental is perfect ! Well lit, spacious, and tastefully decorated. It has everything a family looking for a fun-filled and relaxing time will need- not to mention the expansive river and mountain views ! My kids loved having the downstairs all to themselves. I loved the upstairs room and the new appliances in the kitchen. The location is great, too. Just a short walkfrom downtown shops and cafes and close to many attractions. Hood River is the perfect spot fpr exploring the Columbia Gorge. The owner is very friendly and helpful. We'll definitely come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 25, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

From the guestbook :
We had a fantastic two weeks here and windsurfed every day except one !
The area around the River is fantastic and we enjoyed lots of views. I'm sure we will be back for more windsurfing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 11, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

In response to the comment left by the Dunns :
Thanks for the compliment ! I selected everything in the whole home and had it custom built. Glad you like it !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 11, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

From the guestbook :
This is the 24th year that we have come to Hood River, Oregon, to accompany our son and daughter for their passion of windsurfing. It is our custom to camp out for a week and not rent a house for a week.
Your house is very well appointed and makes holidaying a real pleasure. Whoever built and finished the house is to be complimented as the trim and cabinetry are done in good taste.
We are feeling right at home as we have the same leather furniture in our rec room at home.
We have enjoyed the WiFi system as we have four laptops between the families and our son is a computer programmer and works when the wind isn't blowing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 15, 2009   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

From the guestbook :
Countless hours were spent admiring the view from every room. Thank you for sharing this corner of heaven with us. Our vacation was filled with kayaking, touring the "Fruit Loop", and exploring the Gorge area. The house perfectly suited our needs. we look forward to our return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation House in the Columbia Gorge!!!

Review submitted: February 24, 2009   Date of arrival: September 12, 2008

For starters, I initially planned to rent the house for September.....and to make a long story short I've now been here 6 months. This is without a doubt the best House in the entire Columbia River Gorge area. The views of the Columbia River (you can also see Mt. Adams) are absolutely amazing and the proximity to Mt. Hood means that you're very close to some of the best Hiking/Mountain Biking Trails anywhere in the country. The House is stocked with everything you can possibly think of and all of the appliances are brand new. The 3 levels provide plenty of space for families and the surrounding neighborhood is extremely quiet.

Also, the Downtown area itself is only a few short blocks away so due to its location you can pretty much walk everywhere.

My job is taking me out of the area, which is why I'm leaving, but please don't hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or require additional information about the House. The bottom line is that if you're looking to stay in Hood River this is by far the best house so if its available, rent it immediately!

Cheers,
Jason

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 24, 2009   Date of arrival: February 24, 2009

From the guestbook :
For starters, I initially planned to rent the house for September....and to make a long story short, I've now been here 6 months . This is without a doubt the best house in the entire Columbia River Gorge area. The views of the Columbia River ( you can also see Mt Adams) are absolutely amazing, and the proximity to MT Hood means you're very close to some of the best Hiking/ Mountain Biking Trails anywhere in the country. The House is stocked with everything you can possibly think of and all the appliances are brand new. The 3 levels provide plenty of space for families and the surrounding neighborhood is extremely quiet.

Also, the downtown itself is only a few short blocks away, so due to its location you can pretty much walk anywhere.

My job is taking me out of the area, which is why I'm leaving, but please don't hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or require additional information about the House. The bottom line is that if you're looking to stay in Hood river this is by far the best house so if it's available,
rent it immediately !

Cheers, Jason

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 3, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Gorge's Best Viewhouse. The home was new, spacious, bright and well appointed, with spectacular views of the Columbia River and Mt. Adams from the the main floor and master suite! A lovely walk to downtown for activities, shopping and dining! Plus the owner was very gracious and helpful! We'll definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We love this place!!

Review submitted: June 28, 2008   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

We saw the site, thought pretty nice, but when we arrived we were totally impressed! This place is awesome! Great views, quiet, super comfy beds, and a short walk to everything! Many well thought out amenities and very comfortable.We wanted to just stay and savor the ambience, but too many fun things to do in the area.
We will be back and highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family vacation home!

Review submitted: June 28, 2008   Date of arrival: June 23, 2008

This vacation rental is perfect! Well-lit, spacious, and tastefully decorated, it has everything a family looking for a fun-filled and relaxing time will need--not to mention the expansive river and mountain view! My kids loved having the downstairs all to themselves. I loved the upstairs-room and the new appliances in the kitchen. The location is great, too. Just a short walk from downtown shops and cafes and close to many attractions. Hood River is a perfect spot for exploring the Columbia Gorge. The owner is very friendly and helpful. We'll definitely come back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 25, 2008   Date of arrival: June 25, 2008

What a View!
Horse Lover L Washington.
Date Submitted: June 25, 2008 Date of Stay: June 2008
From the guestbook :
This rental exceeded all of our expectations. It is thoughtfully appointed and sparkling clean. The three-level layout - with the master upstairs, two bedrooms downstairs and the living area in between - was perfect for friends traveling together. The location is very quiet and convenient. I especially enjoyed walking to town and around the charming neighborhood.

And the name says it all. The view is truly spectacular..
Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 20, 2008   Date of arrival: June 20, 2008

From the guestbook :
We had five days of relaxation here. The house is very comfortable and kid friendly. We got to do some sight-seeing and hiking, but mostly we just lounged in the great room and read or played games. The view is absolutely mesmerizing ! We love Oregon ! We'll definitely come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 7, 2008   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

don't want to leave
chef-tell snowmass vlg.co usa.
Date Submitted: May 14, 2008 Date of Stay: May 2008
From the guestbook :
This is a fantastic rental unit!So comfortable & the views of the river & mts are great. For being in a neighborhood,it is extremely private.There were only 2 of us but it would be a perfect place for 2 couples or a family, plenty of room to move for all. The kitchen is a gourmet's dream,with every gadget/appliance provided. Don't cook every night though,because you can walk to downtown in minutes, where there are many great restaurants & shops. We love the place....do we have to go home?
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway, and Sightseeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 7, 2008   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

birds eye view
birds-eye snowmass vlg co. usa.
Date Submitted: May 14, 2008 Date of Stay: May 2008
From the guestbook :
This rental is just what we were looking for.Great location, nice neighborhood & we can walk to town.No need to bring anything,this place has it all... & then some!From the bedding & towels to the well appointed kitchen to the books,games provided,the only thing we would suggest bringing is your binoculars,the eagles & osprey fly by almost everday!
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway, and Sightseeing
Owners Response: In front of the home is a bird sanctuary - Well's Island, named after Doctor Wells who lived there in the mid 1900's, commuting by boat to treat his patients . It is now home to the eagles and a pair of ospreys, as well as flocks of ducks, herons, and numerous Canada Geese, who grace the sky over the Gorge with their shifting V formations of honking flight. I agree wholeheartedly and bought binoculars for the home after these people left. It's a great show !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

don't want to leave

Review submitted: May 14, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

This is a fantastic rental unit!So comfortable& the views of the river & mts are great.For being in a neighborhood,it is extremely private.Their were only 2 of us but it would be a perfect place for 2 couples or a family,plenty of room to move for all.The kitchen is a gourmet's dream,with every gadget/appliance provided.Don't cook every night though,because you can walk to downtown in minutes, where there are many great restaurants & shops.We love the place....do we have to go home?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

birds eye view

Review submitted: May 14, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

This rental is just what we were looking for.Great location, nice neighborhood & we can walk to town.No need to bring anything,this place has it all... & then some!From the bedding & towels to the well appointed kitchen to the books,games provided,the only thing we would suggest bringing is your binoculars,the eagles & osprey fly by almost everday!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: In front of the home is a bird sanctuary - Well's Island, named after Doctor Wells who lived there in the mid 1900's, commuting by boat to treat his patients . It is now home to the eagles and a pair of ospreys, as well as flocks of ducks, herons, and numerous Canada Geese, who grace the sky over the Gorge with their shifting V formations of honking flight. I agree wholeheartedly : bring binoculars. It's a great show !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 11, 2008   Date of arrival: May 11, 2008

From the guestbook :
Spectacular !!! We loved watching the osprey pair and the eagle as they fished and CAUGHT fish. An osprey flew right past our window with a fish one morning.
This place has been very comfortable and relaxing. We hate to leave, especially for the view !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 24, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Thank you for making us so comfortable and welcomed . We are really enjoying our little "vacation" !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 24, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We LOVE the view ! And the beds are very comfortable. I'm sleeping so well I slept all the way through a huge windstorm the other night .
The location is great- right in the middle of everything and so close to it all.
We all would recommend this place to everybody.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 24, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Thank you for making us feel so comfortable and welcomed. We are really enjoying our little "vacation".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 24, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

I've lived right next door for a little less than a year now. All I can say is WOW what a view! The townhome is very comfortable, with a huge master suite and gormet kitchen then dine on the deck and watch all of the kites in the summer. You've gotta stay here.

Owners response: This comment comes from a family of 4 that are my long term renters in the unit adjacent to the vacation rental.The units are mirror images of each other.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review