reviews for: listing #37827 - South Haven, Michigan House rental

House with large deck over Wooded Ravine Near Lake Michigan
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $138 - $288 /nt
    $788 - $988 /wk
    $1,888 - $2,888 /mth

sort by:

Great comfy place to relax

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. The description was accurate. Very clean and well maintained home. The house had everything we needed. The beds were above average. Good location to take in the area beaches. We visited local farmers markets, explored the area and had a nice and relaxing time. We visited a few local artists and potters studios. Enjoyed Holland State Park. Check out the wineries and Fennville if you don't mind a 15 min drive. The owner, Evan was helpful and great to work with, Would recommend to friends and family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Darrell, Chicago Illinois

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We rented the house for a family reunion because it was close to other cottages that family members owned and had rented. The house was very clean and roomy and had all the amenities stated. My wife stated that the pictures didn't do it justice. It had wireless internet, I was able to work while I was there. There's woods in the back with a trail to public access to the beach and is near the new nature center.
You might want to bring drinking water, some of my children didn't prefer the tap water.
The owner was very pleasant to deal with and was more than helpful with any questions we had.
I would definitely recommend renting this house to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We spent a week here and our family loved the house and location. It was quiet and peaceful and the kids each had their own room. Located in the middle of many things to do - not far from horseback riding, wineries, blueberry picking, antiquing and less than 10 minutes to downtown South Haven. So many things to do, we didn't get a chance to do them all. House had all the amenities we needed. It was great to have a washer and dryer to do the beach towels and suits and the kitchen had everything we needed. Evan was great to work with and left a lot of info on the surrounding area which was helpful. Thanks Evan!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Escape the noise of the town

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

We truly enjoyed our trip to South Haven, Michigan. The house was clean and comfortable for our family. We slept very well and found the location was a good compromise. It was close enough to the South Haven public beach, but outside of town, and provided us with privacy and quiet.

The owner provided excellent customer service and was helpful providing information about the area. After previous poor experiences with vacation rental homes, Evan renewed our faith in renting and was a superb host.

We enjoyed many area restaurants, but we also enjoy cooking ourselves. If you like to cook, bring your spices with you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Tranquil, peaceful, quiet stay. Nice owners.

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

We were very happy to have had such a nice quiet stay in this peaceful setting. At night, all we could see were stars in the sky, and all we could hear were the rustling of the leaves. I am a single mom from New York with two teenage children. We each had our own bedrooms, and of course I got the master bedroom which had a king size bed. HEAVENLY! There was a deck in back of the house where we could sun ourselves and have a small barbeque! The owners required a security deposit, but it was returned to us in ten days, which was understandable and acceptable to me as we did not damage anything. We are planning to go back this year! Looking forward to another peaceful stay! Nice!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very nice owners & Very comfortable beds! Lovely!

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2010

We were looking for a place that offered a comforting and soothing atmosphere, and we found it in this three bedroom rental. The owners are very gracious as they made sure that we were comfortable. They took the time to tell us about the surrounding areas, and basically made our vacation extremely pleasant. The beds are very comfortable, as they are furnished with high end mattresses. It's hard to get out of bed once you're in! This was a romantic getaway for us! We loved it there, and will definitely be back.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Decent place

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 24, 2010

We decided on a whim to take a quick trip up to South Haven and I found this place at the last minute, which was nice. We stayed for a long weekend and this house met our needs. It's definitely a trek to get to the beach through the woods if you're wanting to walk. Unless we were taking the wrong way, I highly recommend just driving to the beach instead. It's a nice area off of the highway that's close enough to town, however we were expecting it to be a bit more accessible to the beach. The back deck was a little rough, definitely need to watch for spiders and wear shoes since the wood was weathered. Also, check the silverware and dishes when you get there and before you leave- we were charged $10 for 1 missing fork. No clue where it went or if it was just hiding but either way, not a huge deal. The lawn didn't appear to have been mowed in quite a while. Also, there were sheets covering the furniture in the living room that we weren't supposed to remove to keep them clean, so that was kind of different. All in all, it is a nice place for the money, plenty of room for the 5 of us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are glad that you enjoyed it. Please consider us again we would love to have you. The sheets on the couch are more an option than a requirement. We just offer them because they are easier to clean than the couch itself if something happens, as something often does. We try to keep a clean house throughout a summer of back to back rentals and the couch upholstery itself can be difficult to clean on short notice. We are a bit embarrassed about the fork. Although it never did turn up, we were a bit on the spot and it is slightly awkward when the renter makes a special request for their deposit back at the time of check out. We want to accommodate special requests but it really offers no opportunity for us to find everything that may be missing or to catch everything that may be missed without the extra time we might normally have before returning the deposit. We normally return within ten days. We try to get up once a week to mow the one acre lawn. Sometimes it does go two weeks. Perhaps this summer we'll hire someone. Its true that the deck can use some work. As far as the lake, as close as it is, it can be a challenge to get to through the woods. We too recommend driving to the beach as a primary method.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comfortable Accomodations

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

This property easily met the needs of our little family. We were able to have all the privacy we wanted and still be conveniently close to the amenities of South Haven and the Beech. The owner was great at communicating with us and making sure that we would have everything that we needed. There was plenty of room to sleep, the kitchen was usable and well furnished and the ability to wash and dry clothes was a real life saver. We would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for clean, low allergy accomodations!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Quiet, rural vacation rental

Review submitted: August 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

For our first trip to Lake Michigan this house meet our needs. Not knowing exactly where to stay we did a good job at guessing. This location is outside of town in a rural and quiet area. We enjoyed our stay overall and the one situation we had arise was addressed very quickly after we brought it to the owners attention. We did not attempt to walk to the beach through the woods as we became comfortable driving to the public beaches. However is was further than we had originally anticipated. We found it more convenient to go to the beach for the day with a lunch packed in the cooler and cloths to change into before we got dinner and spent the evening strolling around town. The house was clean and manicured upon our arrival. While there are some dated features in general the house is well maintained.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

BEAUTIFUL House and property

Review submitted: October 3, 2009   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this marvelous home and absolutely loved it!! The house is just beautiful. The bedrooms are nicely done. The Living room had a huge, comfortable sofa with a nice flat screen tv, and satellite tv was provided. The deck out back is great!! A really nice propane grill is available, and we definitely used it! The property is lovely, we took a short walk and found ourselves at the lake and enjoyed a magnificent michigan sunset! It is only about a 10 minute drive into town so that was quite convenient. The price is definitely right on mark. I would HIGHLY recommend this property to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review