reviews for: listing #37900 - Los Angeles, California Apartment rental

1920's Adorable Flat in the Best Neighborhood in LA
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $350 /nt
    $1,900 - $2,200 /wk

sort by:

Charming and Convenient- a perfect home away from home

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

My collegues and I hit the jack pot with this apartment. We were in town from NYC to work on a show at the Ahmanson in downtown LA, this apartment is a 10-15 minutes drive on backroads to the theater. We couldn't believe the SPACIOUSNESS of this apartment. Big comfy bedrooms, lovely clean kitchen, WASHER AND DRYER (!!!!), and a great living room and even better dining space. Not to mention the owners were a quick phone call away to help us with any requests. We utilized the back deck with a big grill and lounge furniture. We were there for over a month and rarely saw the tenants in the other apartments in the building. Minor negatives: The hot tub was broken during our visit, and the parking spots behind the property are VERY tight (this is serious coming from a New Yorker). Let me emphasis the charm of the space, the attentiveness of the owner Deanna, and the amazing locale to Griffith Park trails, Zoo, Downtown, and several major highways. STAY HERE! You will not regret it! Thanks Deanna!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beyond our Expectations...

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

I stayed at the 4BR flat with my wife and two sons. The grounds were well kept. The patio was amazing with water misters and spanish tile. The flat itself was super clean and very spacious. Even though the flat was build in the 1920's, everything was new. All appliances were new. All the beds were grand with expensive sheets and duvet covers. Overall the experience was beyond our expectations of a vacation rental and the price was more than fair. We loved the flat and hope to come back again soon. Thank you Deanna..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a delightful home stay

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

My family, friends and I stayed here over my daughter's long wedding weekend. We were so pleased with everything being exactly as portrayed on the VRBO photos. Our time together here was much nicer than could have been at a hotel. We particularly enjoyed the front patio off the dining room along with throwing the french windows open and hearing the fountain below. It was totally hacienda-like -- such a California living experience different from our East Coast homes. Every little detail in the flats we occupied was for the comfort and convenience of the guests. Our young grandchildren were delighted with the toys and books awaiting them in the bunk room. The los Feliz neighborhood is so convenient to shopping, the highways and Hollywood. We would definitely like to treat ourselves to staying here every time we visit out here.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So much better than hotel!

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

I loved this property from the second I walked in. It was bright, airy and spacious. It also had a very luxiourious feel to it. Jose and Deanna were great helping me get situated and were always available if I needed anything. The property also had a great location. It was close to the 101 and the 5, which was perfect for me since I was in LA to run around from Burbank, to Hollywood, to Downtown on a work project. Also, the neighborhood was nice and I felt safe. I know some sections of Hollywood area can be sketchy... but I felt comfortable there. I will definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exactly What We Needed

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

With a lot of family & friends coming in town for our wedding my wife and i wanted to find something more comfortable & relaxing for our guests than a hotel. This location was perfect - thank you to Deanna for a flawless experience. We used all four units and the back patio was a perfect common place for guests to relax. All the bedrooms were spacious and clean, the neighborhood is residential and quiet, and it was conveniently located for all our hollywood activities. We would not hesitate to highly recommend this location and would certainly use it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Top Shelf

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

I live in Big Bear, where vacation rentals of all levels of luxury are plentiful. When I come to LA, I stay at Deanna's knowing, no matter which unit is available, I will enjoy top shelf luxury with an at-home feel.
I have stayed in every unit and they are all clean, beautiful, comfortable, and well stocked.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Home for a Family Vacation!

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

We loved the house, location and owner! We came to LA for a family reunion and this home was perfect. Three of the bedrooms are very large with comfortable beds and the fourth bedroom has bunkbeds which was perfect for my girls. The house is exceptionally clean and very roomy. The location is excellent...you are close to so much in LA (Griffith Park, Sunset Blvd, Dodger Stadium and more). We loved taking walks through the neighborhood and enjoyed the patio on several occasions. We would definitely recommend this rental and hope to rent again if we are ever back in the LA area!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hello Susanne,

Thank you for the lovely review. I am sad that you gave me an average review even though you said only positive things. I hope I have another chance in the future you give you a 5 out of 5 star experience.

Deanna

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Apartment for a Family Stay in LA!!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

The home is extremely spacious and very artistically decorated. Loved the landscaping, attention to detail. 3 pretty spacious bedrooms, well kept, clean and perfect for family stay.
the care takers are pretty good and owners are wonderful people and pretty responsive. I m definitely going to come back to stay.

Plan your parking well. I have a big SUV and it can get a little tight if you can planning to park inside the house. Street parking is also available which is good enough.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review. I am so happy your family enjoyed the flat. You were perfect guests and would welcome you back. My home is yours...
Bests,
Deanna

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unbelievable Rental!!!

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

This vacation rental is amazing! There's plenty of room for a few families or just a nice group to be comfortable. Big bay windows in the front open up onto a patio terrace which is great for your morning coffee. All amenities are available such as, Laundry, Cable, wifi, etc......even a back patio with a hot tube. There's one parking spot on the property, but plenty of street parking available. It's very close to everything Los Angeles has to offer & the owners were a dream. If you are looking for a place to have a great getaway, you can stop looking......You found it :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hello Guest,

I am so happy you loved the flat. Thank you for taking the time to write me an amazing review. I hope you find your way back to LA again, we would love to have you. Return guests get a nice discount; especially, when they write such a sweet review!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

From France : wonderful stay in L.A (in English and French)

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

In English :
Lovely unit in L.A. You are note far from every where : Universal Studios, DownTown, Griffith Observatory...
You will get large bedrooms well equipped, 2 bathrooms and a huge dining room with a TV set.
We were 7 people in this unite and it has been great. Just may I write it will be difficult to park a compact car as SUV in the park lane behind house.
It's a very quiet place with a beautiful view from the street on the Downtown center in L.A.
I recommand this rent for every body with a family. I think go back in L.A in his unit next time. Morever I would like say thank you to the owner beacause always available with Internet and e-mail for any question (before and after departure!!! Even during stay...)
Yohann

In French :

Séjour magnifique en Californie dans une location de qualité dans un quartier très tranquille et tout proche de tout ce qu'il y a à voir à L.A : les studios universal, le centre ville de L.A, les plages de Santa Monica... entre 10 et 30 minutes maximum puisque beaucoup de circulation à L.A
La maison était très bien équipée, propre et prête pour accueillir 7 personnes sans aucun problème. On pouvait même y mettre 8.
Je recommande cette location à 100% et je pense, un jour, y retourner. Je remercie aussi la propriétaire pour sa disponibilité par mail ou téléphone avant le séjour mais aussi pendant!!!

Yohann

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An wonderful place!

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

Several buddies and I flew down from Seattle for a weekend getaway in Los Angeles. We stayed in this apartment and it was affordable, gorgeous and incredibly convenient for our activities! Deanna was wonderful to work with leading up to our visit (answering about a gazzillion questions from me!), and we really felt like the place was our own. We were a group of guys, but I'd stay in this place again with anyone, be it family or friends. While my two year old didn't join us on our trip, I could see this being a wonderful place for families to stay. The twin bunk bed room would be great for siblings. There are also a ton of fun "at home" activities available in the apartment - lots of board games, etc. We rented a big mini-van that was tough to get in and out of the driveway in back, but finding street parking was absolutely not a problem at all - an added plus in Los Angeles! And despite other guests staying on the property, we felt completely isolated and thought the apartment was very private.

I can't speak highly enough for this rental, or for its owner. Would highly recommend to anyone going to Los Angeles! And as I mentioned, the price just can't be beat - cheaper than two nights in a hotel without a doubt. And the kitchen is great and could easily be substituted for expensive dinners out.

A wonderful trip made better by a terrific place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Place to stay in LA!!!

Review submitted: December 31, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2010

What can I say about this gorgeous 1920s flat. Tall ceilings, bright, well decorated, well maintained. But even more important, the owner is SO responsive, when we broke the coffeepot, she was there within an hour with a new one! Wow!

Internet access kicks butt.

The shower and bath have great water pressure. The beds were pristine in their cleanliness. The comforter was clean and fresh out of the wash.
We're talking high class but with a feeling of a grand Hollywood home.
Sleeps 8 people comfortably in great King Beds. Bedrooms very big and its a quiet neighborhood.

Right below the Griffith Observatory, in walking distance of the hipster section of LA known as Vermont/Los Feliz neighborhood.
I loved my stay so much that whenever I have family in town I have them stay here.

Look, I'm a talent agent and when I invite important producers, clients, talent to town to take meetings with me, I always recommend this property and contact Deanna. With Deanna, you get personalized service, great cleanliness without the sterility or impersonal treatment of a local hotel.

My group had 3 cars and we all easily found parking. We had one parking spot with the unit, but the street parking was ample.
The jacuzzi seats 6 comfortably, the water was clean, and we sat in the bubbling hot water and we could see the city, as well as beautiful tall trees. All the advantages of a cozy home, nature and right in the big city of LA.

The rooms have great color, great natural light and feel very breezy.

It's also great for taking meetings, impressing your bigwig Hollywood contacts with your grand digs.

Do yourself a favor, and stop the headache of shopping around. This is the place. Call Deanna. No need to thank me.

Ross

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Superb Experience!

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

The apartment was exceptionally clean, well-maintained, well-located, and spacious. The photos and descriptive material on VRBO.com were accurate, so we knew exactly what to expect and the only surprises were pleasant ones. The unit was perfect for our group of six (four young adults and two middle-aged adults). Having three king-size (and very comfortable) beds was a real treat! The truly delightful environment added immeasurably to our vacation experience. We would highly recommend this rental to anyone, and we would eagerly stay here again ourselves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review