reviews for: listing #37916 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Apartment rental

Beachfront, Rainforest, Waterpark all in One
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Aquatika
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $250 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Great place for a wonferful vacation

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2009

This is definitely a great rental! I visit every year to see my family and we always look for rentals by the beach as we like to make it more of a vacation even though we have family in the metro area. I found this place online and had my brother check it out as I've never heard of it before, and to be honest, they weren't kidding when they told me it was a beautiful place. Our stay was for 10 days and we truly enjoyed every moment of it. The apartment is very comfortable and Damaris keeps it just perfect. Definitely what you see on the pictures is what you get so no surprises there. She also keeps lots of information for her guests on places to visit and things to do which I thought was a great touch. The view from the apartment is just fantastic and very relaxing as it is truly an ocean front apartment. The complex is just beautiful and very well kept. The pools are just divine, especially the one closest to the apartment. During the week there was hardly anyone there so it felt like we had the place just to ourselves. Very much a kids friendly place if traveling with kids. My 4 yr old just loved swimming all day as well as enjoyed the miniature golf course and the playgrounds. For the golf lovers, definitely very nice courses around to choose from. Some of them are pricey but definitely worth the money. Overall we surely give this place 10 out of 10. Damaris is fantastic, very friendly and very helpful. She was truly a delight.
Definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a nice, clean safe and just beautiful place to stay in Puerto Rico.
Thank you Damaris for letting us rent your place and we truly hope to be back soon!
We had a really fantastic time at Aquatika!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for the review and for choosing our home for your vacation. It was our pleasure having you and your family as our guest. We have a couple of new surprises at the unit for you on your next visit.

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Fabulous family vacation!

Review submitted: April 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

We booked this condo after some family members stayed in the same unit last year and gave it a glowing review. We were blown away by the unit itself, but also by its perfect location, with mountain views out one side, and overlooking the ocean out the front. Waking up to the sound of waves and hanging out on the deck was just wonderful!
Damaris was so helpful by first giving us suggestions for activities before we arrived, meeting us late at the airport, giving very detailed directions, and then checking in on us multiple times during our stay.
Everything was there that we could have ever needed and more. Our boys loved the wake boards and the hammock. There are beach chairs, a cooler to pack a lunch, beach toys, everything you could think to need in the kitchen and more. We really felt at home, but of course were having an amazing, relaxing vacation with the conveniences of home. We could have packed half of what we did because it was so easy to have laundry facilities right there. The grill was great to have a few dinners in after being gone on day trips. We used the pool nearest the beach the most because it was closest to the unit and was never very busy. It also has the best view of the ocean while relaxing in a beach chair.
Loiza was the perfect location to make day trips to the rainforest, Old San Juan, Las Cabezas, Fajardo and meals near Luquillo Beach (the kioskos are fabulous, especially La Parrilla!). Loiza looks a little rough on the edges, but we fell in love with the town. Visit the Ayala mask shop and local artist Samuel Lind if you get the chance. They are probably some of our most memorable parts of the trip! It's helpful to know Spanish to visit the Ayala shop but Samuel Lind is happy to speak Spanish or English. We felt very safe in Loiza as well as on the grounds at the condo. We want to return to discover more in Puerto Rico and would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo right on the water with amazing views!

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 16, 2014

This condo was the perfect beach vacation for our family of 5. We have a 7 yo, 4 yo, and almost 2 yo. We loved having a kitchen to prepare kid friendly food and having the balcony to eat our meals while watching the ocean. The beach access was just steps away. The sand was clean and soft, the water was beautiful aqua and clear. The first day the surf was a little rough, but the rest of the days it was perfect for my three kids to play in. The complex has many beautiful pools, mini-golf, basketball court, kayaks, volleyball, lazy river, playgrounds...
The unit itself is not 5 star luxury, but instead was accommodating and felt like home. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you could need. There was washer and dryer in the unit. The owner keeps sand toys, rafts, putters, basketball, beach chairs, pack-n-play, etc in the unit so it is really nice not to have to pack or buy this stuff.
Demaris met us at the car rental place at midnight! Because it was so late, she didn't drive us out to the unit, but gave us excellent directions. She was very accessible via phone or text and stopped by the next day to make sure that we got settled in well.
While the immediate area surrounding the complex looks a little rough, there is plenty to do in driving distance. We hiked in the rainforest and swam in the waterfall. We also spent a day in Old San Juan. I also visited the local artist that Damaris recommends and this was one of my favorite parts of the trip. All the people that we met inside and outside of the complex were very nice.
My only suggestion to make the stay better would be to have a bigger coffee pot!
We hope to return again soon!

Owners response: Thank you for being our guest and thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experience of your stay at our 2nd home. I am so glad you made it to the art Studio of Samuel Lind, he is Internationally known for his art work and a native from Loiza. I actually try and encourage my guests to visit his studio. It is an experience truly reach in culture. Samuel enjoys receiving visitors and takes his time to show and explain his art work in detail. As for the coffee maker , I am not a big coffee drinker so it never occurred to me that a bigger coffee maker is better. You can be sure that next time you come down there will be a bigger coffee pot in the unit I wish you would have let me know during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Damaris

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I loved Loiza

Review submitted: February 14, 2014   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

I stayed at Costamar apts, next to Aquatica, with my daughter and her boyfriend. It's a beautiful 1 berm/1 bath apt., with a queen sized futon in the living room, a little balcony, and a beautiful roof terrace with a gorgeous view of the ocean. Damaris keeps it super clean, and you have everything you need for a quiet, relaxing family vacation. The beach is good, El Yunque national rainforest (a must-visit place!) and Luquillo Beach are close, San Juan is about 30-40 mins away. There are stores nearby to buy groceries and wine and beer. If you like shopping , there's a great outlets mall very close to the complex, about 10 minutes away. You also have great golfing courses nearby, and horseback riding, too!

Loiza is rich in African culture, and we visited artisan stores, and a painter's studio who showed Scott some African rythms on his drums.
It was truly a wonderful experience to stay in Loiza, and Damaris is very helpful and will guide you to the best restaurants and happenings going on in beautiful Puerto Rico.
Gracias, Damaris and Sammy for letting us stay at your vacation place!
Eileen

Owners response: Hi

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure sharing our vacation home with you and your daughter Gaby. Our little secret tropical paradise. Hope to see you soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved Loiza

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

We stayed in the apartment next door to Damaris' unit, but aside from a different look, I believe it was the same. The view is definitely a huge bonus for these units. On top of the actual view, it was really nice being so close to the beach, because the complex is long. Not sure how often we would have even made the trek to the beach had we been on the other end of the complex.

Damaris was very helpful. I feel bad that we're just now getting around to writing this. When we were there, a hurricane passed by the island. Damaris really bent over backwards to make sure that we were prepared for anything. It turned out to produce some heavier than normal winds, but nothing to be scared of.

Since we were there in the off-season, much of the complex was in need of some repair. The landscaping was beautiful, but the basketball hoops were unusable, and the water cannons didn't work. The water slide was only working for a portion of the day. Again, though, we were there on the off-season, and hardly anyone was there besides us - mostly just Puerto Ricans during the weekends.

Staying in Loiza is much different than staying in San Juan. It definitely looks rough around the edges, but we didn't feel unsafe there. Apparently, the area was home to freed and runaway slaves, and was secluded (no roads in or out) from the rest of the island until the 1970's. Another huge difference, however, is the amount of English spoken. It was very difficult for me to order food at little mom & pop's around Loiza. I had to take my daughter to the hospital there, and only the security guard spoke any English. My wife and I have agreed that if we make it back to PR, we have to learn more Spanish, because we definitely want to stay at Aquatika again.

You do need a rental car if you stay here. Driving was an adventure - you really have to pay attention, due to stray animals, a lack of space on the side of the road for pedestrians, and parked cars sticking out into the street. That being said, I found that drivers in PR pay more attention to the other cars on the road than drivers in the states. PR is known for bad traffic, but we didn't experience too much of that. It's about 40 minutes to Old San Juan.

I highly recommend doing the bio bay excursion in Fajardo. The best meal we had was at Cafe Puerto Rico in Old San Juan. The "kioskos" that line the beach are good, but you gotta know some Spanish.

Thanks,Damaris!
Jayson, Natasha, Soliz and Sofia

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My dream vacation!

Review submitted: April 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

This is the place I dream of when I think vacation! The apartment is nice and had enough room for the 6 of us to be comfortable. The view!! You could sit on the balcony and take in the view forever. Just a short walk down to that beach you see from the balcony. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub which was only busy on the weekend which is when they open up the water slides,etc. I loved just hanging out there during the week. It almost feels like you have the whole place to yourself. They were cutting the coconuts off the trees while we were there and we were able to grab one to crack open and eat. There were little lizards running around and we even saw a couple of Iguana's. Walmart is only a few miles away if you need to pick up some groceries, which is really nice since you have a place to cook. There is also a nice grill on the balcony. This is the second time I have stayed at this condo. If I could choose only one place to vacation, this would be the place. It is a little piece of Paradise! Thank you Damaris for opening your home to us. We hope to be back soon!
Judy&Rick, Lyn&Rick, Jean&Dan

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: It was so great seeing you again and this time you came along with friends and family that I had not met. As I mentioned to you in the last email I sent you. We have a date for the next time you can make it down here. Sam and I will take you out to Guavate and you will experience real Puerto Rican culture a ride through the mountains, perhaps to the waterfall and then some typical food and drinks. It will be fun!

Thanks again and regards to everyone.
Damaris

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for family vacation

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 27, 2013

It took me a while to finally sit down and write a review. I'll give just helpful facts.

Location: car rent is a must! Ideal location for those who plan to visit PR attractions. It's 30 min drive to SJ, 45 min to Fajardo ferry to Culebra and 15 min to EL Yunque (you'll actually get a lovely view of it right from the kitchen window). It's a great place for a quite family vacation. If you are looking for a night life, lot's of bars in walking distance, choose a place in SJ.

Unit: it's a good size apartment, with lot's of character. The best feature is a huge balcony overlooking the ocean with hummock and gas grill. The family area is a bit small, but we were only 3 adults and a baby, so it was ok for us. The apartment is stocked with lot's of entertainment, sport and beach stuff, so save your luggage space for souvenirs.

Aquatika: it has so many pools, and so few people, that you can enjoy having one just for yourself. We were the only one in Jacuzzi, the only one at mini-golf, but we really enjoyed this feeling of having it all just for us. There were more people on the weekend, but we spend those days traveling around the island, so it didn't bother us.

Owner: Damaris was a real help meeting us at the car rental. So we just followed her and didn't have to rely on Iphone gps, which, by the way, was a real mess. It doesn't work properly in PR. So use the direction manual that is provided in unit by the owner.

Food: There is a great restaurant in the list of Damaris recommendations - Don Pepe. It's a cosy and lovely place with tasty food and life music. There are also several grocery stores around 15-20 minutes drive. We've checked three, but Ralph's is the best.

IMPORTANT: when you rent a car, they are trying to sell you easy-pass for toll roads, saying that you can't drive in PR without it, cause they don't have cash lane on toll roads. It was presented as a must! So we bought one, for about $20. We drove to SJ, to EL Yunque and to Fajardo and didn't get any single toll. The only toll road we found was between Rio Grande & SJ. We took it on our way back to airport just to use this e-pass for at least once. But there are two other free roads (one is parallel to toll, the other is along the coast). So DON'T BUY IT!

Overall, I would highly recommend this place for those, looking for a quite family vacation, who wants to rest from crowds of people, travel around island and see not only tourists destinations, but the real life of locals!

Owners response: Hi

Thank you so much for taking time out to write such a wonderful review. Everything is exactly as you have described.
Everything especially the Rainforest, Luquillo Beach and Fajardo are very close by. Fajardo is approximately 28 miles, 27 minutes and the Rainforest is about 15 minutes away. It is truly close to many of our natural beauties in Puerto Rico.

It was our pleasure sharing with you our vacation home and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thanks again!
Damaris

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Accomodations great place to stay

Review submitted: February 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

We had a great stay at this property. The condo met and exceeded all our expectations. This unit was exceptionally well maintained, clean and had a nice kitchen area for food preparation We will recommend this place to all our family and friends. It was a perfect place, and we hope to visit again!

The owner Damaris responded quickly to all our questions. Working with the owner was was a pleasure; she answered phone calls promptly and provided lots of information about local resturants, shopping and how to get there. There was no question about the return of the deposit; it was returned at departure. If you have not been there before, make sure you take advantage of the offer to have Damaris meet you at the San Juan airport and take you to the condo. The location in Loiza was convenient to the rain forest, Fajardo, highway 3 and San Juan.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful in every way

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

We are a family of four-mother, two daughters and a three year old granddaughter. We loved your condo, Damaris! The view of the ocean from the balcony and the lush, well-kept grounds were great, as were the pools, especially the one our granddaughter liked with the slide, water fountains and dumping buckets. The condo met and exceeded all our expectations, and we were especially appreciative of the washer/dryer in the unit. Damaris responded quickly to all our questions. Be sure to visit the Rain Forest and Old San Juan. We will recommend this place to all our family and friends. It was a perfect place, and we hope to visit again!

Owners response: Thank you Joan for the review and taking care of our home. I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay. That is really our goal to make you feel as comfortable and relaxed as we possibly can. Always keeping in mind that a vacation is a much deserved time and it should have lasting memories. I hope the change of weather from 78 to -9 was not to much of a shock for you and the girls.

You really picked a wonderful time of year to come down. I love the winter months in Puerto Rico, the weather is just beautiful.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks again!
Damaris

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Vacation

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

We had a great week at this property. It was our first trip to Puerto
Rico. The listing, description and photos provided are pretty much
accurate. This particular unit was exceptionally well maintained, clean,
and had very nice touches of art on the walls and a good kitchen area for
food preparation. Working with the gracious owner was 100% straightforward
and reliable; she answered phone calls promptly. There was no question
about the return of the deposit; it was returned at departure. One bit of
advice- if you have not been there before, make sure you take advantage of
the offer to have the owner meet you at SJU and take you to the place. It
would be otherwise tricky to find. The location in Loiza was convenient
to the rain forest, Fajardo, Route 3, and San Juan.

Aquatika is an interesting complex of pools and spas and recreational
facilities. Would be great for a family with small kids as well as it was
for the two adults and two college students in our group. It is very well
maintained. We felt quite secure. Access to the beach is through a
locked gate. The beach was clean. At the time we were there, the second
week of January, the water slide and spas were turned off during the week,
which was the only negative aspect of our stay.

We kayaked and snorkeled with KayakingPuertoRico and highly recommend this
outfit. Be sure to do the Bio Bay trip and the Aquafari to Culebra if
possible. We also enjoyed the rain forest and a day in old San Juan.
Staying at Aquatika requires a car if you want to go out and do things,
like sightsee or shop or even go to a restaurant. Be sure to see the
artist shop for the masks with horns very near Aquatika. Very informal.

Don Pepe's restaurant on Rte 3 near the El Yunque portal was excellent, as
was La Perilla (spelling?) on Rte 3. Both of these were mentioned in the
customer log book, but the directions were a bit hard to follow. In
general, directions to places in PR were of the "turn left at the Burger
King" variety, which was quaint but at times confusing.

In summary, you cannot go wrong with this rental whether you want to
cocoon or get out and take advantage of the unusual collection of
historical sites and natural sites in Puerto Rico. And the price was
very reasonable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place great time great owners

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

what a exceptional place close to the ocean many great activity especially hot tub
slide and mini river

the owners Damaris and her family were fantastic advise accommodating with information on eating sightseeing and the dos and don ts of the area

everyone was helpful and curious from the owners the security and maintenance people the other guest and residents included

we can only give a 5 rating but if we could it would be higher

location is close to rainforest shopping and old san juan or if you want to chill out it is easy to do here

can t wait to go back made our xmas and new year one we will never forget

Owners response: Thank you for being such wonderful guests and taking care of our home as if it were your own. It was a pleasure for us to share our second home with you and your family. Our goal is that our guest stay is a most memorable one. It fills us with joy each time our guests have had an unforgettable experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and next time we have new adventures for you to visit. There are many things to do and see in Puerto Rico and in one week you are not able to see it all.


Damaris & Sam

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great time greater owner

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

what can I say words cannot express how great this rental was
the only thing more impressive was the way we were treated by Damaris and her husband Sam

they were great host who helped us in so many ways
from dealing with our wanting to arrive sooner then planned Damaris was so helpful in shuffling things around to get us a place to stay until we could move into Aquatika

their suggestions on were to shop eat and visit as well as traveling around were right on

the property is made for relaxation and everyone from maintenance to security to residents and other guest were friendly and helpful

if you are looking for activities for your family it is here or if relaxation is your choice you got that too

looking forward to going back sooner then later

for the price for the enjoyment you could not pick a better choice

p.s. Damaris met us at the airport was there before us and waited with us until our daughter got in now that is service

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excelentes vacaciones en Aquatika

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

Excelente lugar para pasar unas vacaciones y tomarse un buen descanso .Luego de registrarme en HomeAway la búsqueda fue muy fácil. La propietaria (Damaris Colón) fue muy atenta y accesible en todo momento, antes y durante nuestra estadía.Todos los alrededores del lugar estaban impecables y la seguridad es estricta y siempre esta presente .El apartamento esta totalmente equipado y en excelentes condiciones. Mi familia y yo pasamos unos días espectaculares.

Gracias

Owners response: Gracias a ti por cuidar nuestro hogar como si fuera suyo. Fue un placer para mi recibir a ti y su familia como huéspedes en nuestro 2nd hogar. Será un placer para nosotros recibirlos nuevamente en el futuro. Me alegro mucho que hayan disfurtado.

Gracias,
Damaris

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay-from another innkeeper!

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

We own a successful B&B in British Columbia and are pretty particular about where we stay.
We would highly recommend this property for your PR vacation! Our family of 3 (7 year old son) and the other couple that we travelled with stayed in this unit for 18 days. Our son has some food allergies so we need to prepare most of his food and always look for places with kitchens. Damaris has equipped her condo with everything you would need! The full kitchen, the laundry facilities in-suite, the wireless internet, and the propane BBQ on the deck were the big sellers for us. We settled into the condo and it was immediately our new "home"!

Damaris and Sam were absolutely fantastic to deal with. Sam met us when we arrived to show us to a specialty food store in San Juan, for our son, then gave us great directions on how to find the condo complex from there.

There was an issue with the water at the complex during our stay (completely beyond the control of anyone - a water main broke out in the countryside) and Damaris was in constant contact with us to keep us informed of the status of repairs. In the meantime Aquatika trucked in water to temporarily tide everyone over. The situation was handled quite well!

Damaris and Sam were excellent hosts and went WAY above and beyond. We enjoyed their company on a fantastic outing and then when we left to fly home to BC, we forgot our son's food for the trip home in the fridge at the condo. Damaris was kind enough to drive the cooler bag to us at the airport (a 45 minute drive) in time for us to still make our flight. We can't thank her enough!!

The complex is in a great location to take in many activities in PR. You definitely need a car, but grocery stores are 10 minutes away (or in the town of Loiza there are little stores within walking distance). The location of the condo unit in Aquatika is excellent - best view in the place!

When we come back to PR this will be our place of choice as our home away from home again.
Thanks Damaris and Sam for making our trip so memorable and comfortable!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pure Heaven for my family of Six

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

My family of six -- husband, four children ages 16, 14, 11, and 7, and I -- just returned from this hidden gem in Puerto Rico. We spent a lot of time researching where to stay, and wanted to make sure that we had a beautiful, safe and comfortable spot right near the beach where we could access grocery stores and great restaurants via a car, as we knew we wanted to have one available for our stay. We read all the reviews for Aquatika we could find and we knew that it was a condominium complex but it's really hard to figure out exactly what this particular unit is like until you get there. Without hesitation, this has to be the very best location within the complex, which, itself, is a luxury accommodation. There is a beautiful balcony with the most gorgeous view of the beach and the ocean. Even with four kids, I tried to spend as much time as possible simply sitting on the balcony, listening to the waves on the beach, watching for the occasional cruise ship and soaking in the gorgeous views. There's also this great hammock on the balcony. And, the unit is on the second floor so the views are even more amazing. And, even more amazing, when you go to the other side of the condo, to the beautifully equipped stainless steel kitchen, your view out the kitchen window is the mountains of the rain forest in the distance -- spectacular! Although we spent most of our time visiting amazing attractions within easy driving distance of the condo (rain forest, caves, Old San Juan, etc) and going to the beautiful beach, just steps away, the pools are lovely, too. The grounds are meticulously cared for, with beautiful grass and plantings and flowers. Don't worry about those wrist things you put on -- we all put ours on the first day and they lasted the entire week. No one seemed to mind them at all. Despite it being April vacation in Massachusetts, we were surprised that there were so few people there during the week days. We practically had the beach to ourselves whenever we wanted it. Granted, we were blessed with the most amazing weather, but even it it had rained, the view from the balcony is worth much more than the asking price. We felt safe our entire stay. Yes, there is an attractive barrier between the condo compound and the surrounding area, but I found that to be true even at the best resorts. The surrounding area is full of culture and even a famous artist. I wholeheartedly recommend this unit.

Owners response: Thank you so much! It was a pleasure for us being able to share our home with you and your family. Our goal is for our guest to leave with a most memorable experience that will last a lifetime. I will keep you posted with a couple of new discoveries of tours around Loiza we will be having this Friday, offered by the Municipality. A tour that will be guided by the tourism office in Loiza, which will include a visit to the artist Samuel Lind, a demonstration of the typical dancing in Loiza ( Bomba y Plena) a visit to the historical church in the town and a couple of other surprises. So everyday we discover something new for our guest. Thanks again! Damaris

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Truly a piece of paradise

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I brought our two young adult daughters and their significant others to this truly wonderful hidden gem. The three bedroom apartment was perfect, with all the home away items you would need and Damaris even took the time to put a few grocery items in the refrigerator since we had such a late arrival. The Villa is quiet, beautiful, on a perfect beach and has plenty of swimming and other things to do. The community, while often called "poor" is friendly, safe and fun to explore. We took in local grocery stores, gas stations, fast food stops and even local foods. Everyone is helpful, nice and we always seemed welcomed. There are many exciting and tropical places to visit all within a short times drive of the villa. I HIGHLY recommend this location and Damaris. She took wonderful care to ensure that we had a great stay!

Owners response: Hi Tim

Thank you for allowing us to share our home with you and your family. I am so glad we were able to satisfy your expectations and more, we try very hard for our guest to feel welcomed and that everyone enjoys their stay with us. We look forward to accommodating you and your family in the future.

Thank you for the wonderful review!

All the best
Damaris

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A piece of paradise in Puerto Rico

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

Already my second time in Aquatika and will be coming back for more. Damaris was a wonderful host who took care of us from the beginning to the end. Once we arrive at the condo everything was exactly as it is in the photos...beautiful, clean and well stocked. The condo had everything we needed. All you have to bring is a bag of groceries and you are set. You don't even have to leave the complex since there's so much to do in it...from mini golf, jacuzzi, the many pools (one with a water slide) and the play areas. The BBQ grill and hammock on the balcony are priceless.
What's great about the location is that you can take advantage and visit the east coast of PR which includes the gorgeous Luquillo beach, the rainforest, the Seven Seas beach in Fajardo or even take the ferry over to Vieques or Culebra...there is so much to do.
Thank you so much for an unforgettable vacation!

Owners response: Thank you so much. It was my pleasure having you and your family as our guest. Our goal is to make sure our guests are very well taken care of and that our accommodations have exceeded expectations. We have been very fortunate to have such wonderful guests as you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thanks again
Damaris

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Be sure to consider this rental property!

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 6, 2011

Our family rented this marvelous property during the off-season, giving us the pools and the beach pretty much to ourselves during the weekdays. The owner, Damaris, is top-notch; she has gone out of her way to think of and provide all the little extras that you want when you are on vacation and she will also go out of her way to give you any help or advice that you may need. The rainforest (try ziplining!), several beaches, great food kiosks, pharmacies and grocery stores are all within very easy driving distance. The bioluminescent bay kayak tours were not that far away and getting back into San Juan for some sightseeing was also easy to do. We renewed our wedding vows with our two adult children on a beautiful evening with the ocean as a backdrop, the coquis singing to us, and several small geckos cheering us on. We highly recommend that you consider this rental when you are looking for a Puerto Rican getaway spot - you won't want to get up out of the balcony hammock or leave the apartment at the end of you stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest. Thank you so much for everything especially the truffles, the pure maple sugar and the flowers, what a surprise when I entered the apartment after you had gone. I am so glad the renewal of your wedding vows ( something so special) was a most memorable experience. We would love to share our home with you once again, you are most welcome to visit us again in the future. My regards to your lovely daughters,

Damaris

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Private Getaway for Family

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

I would recommend this place to a family looking for a quiet, private place to spend some vacation time. I felt very safe with the gated community next to a police station. The view from the balcony was spectacular. The property was very clean and well maintained. It was not to far from many shopping/dining places, but you will need a car for transportation. The only thing that was disappointing was that the waterslide and bar/restaurant were only open on Sat/Sun. All in all my family had a great time.

Owners response: Hi

Thank you so much for the review. It was our pleasure having you and your family as our guest. We love sharing our second home with families and knowing that they really enjoyed their stay is what our goal is. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many blessings to you and your family in the New Year 2012.

Damaris

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bottom line - It's Amazing!

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

Before I “review” the wonderful condo, please allow me to highlight the best part of this property – the owners! Damaris and her family are incredible. They go above and beyond to make their renters’ stay successful. From escorting you “home” from the airport to providing endless vacation advice, they truly become family!
The Aquatica community is a gem of a vacation villa hidden within a humble community. It is well-secured, and we never felt unsafe inside or outside of the gates. The beach, yards from the unit, provides a beautiful view. Puerto Rico has many fabulous beaches just short drives away; the beach at the condo was not our favorite spot for swimming, but we enjoyed its beauty, tranquility, and sunset view. The swimming pools at the villa are great and numerous. If you are comfortable driving, the area is perfectly situated to visit many magnificent sites.
Regarding the condo, it is exactly as described. We felt very much at home in the unit. The three bedrooms each have their own air conditioning unit and the beds are comfortable. The linens are in very good condition; you might wish to bring extra towels if you have a very big family. The hammock on the balcony was definitely a favorite! We also made great use of the well-stocked kitchen accessories and gas BBQ grill. A water filter on the refrigerator makes for tasty, refreshing drinks.
The only minor frustration that we dealt with was the paper security bracelets that Aquatica requires of all their guests. The bracelets cost $5 each. We did not mind wearing them 24/7 for security purposes, but they flimsy bracelets do not hold up so well when undergoing a week’s worth of ocean swimming and play. Aquatica staff told us it would cost $10 to replace a lost bracelet, so we regularly traded in worn, loose bracelets at the cost of $1 each to be safe. Of course, this policy is no reflection on the amazing condo, just something to note. Perhaps the community can determine a more renter friendly security plan.
The bottom line is that Damaris’ family condo is amazing. I hope you choose to go and enjoy it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a truly wonderful experience sharing with you and your family. The one hour hike we took along the beach to Bahia beach resort, was great, I had not done it in a long time and it reminded me that I have to start walking again, thank you. I am sure we will continue to keep in touch. That is really one of the best parts of renting out my condo is that I am able to meet wonderful families as yourselves.

Until next time either here in Puerto Rico or in Atlanta.

Thanks again,
Damaris and Sami

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

ritchey family vacation

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

we had a wonderful time at the condo. it was lovely, right on the beach, and every amenity was provided. we were also very close to a number of PR activity areas. we were able to easily travel to san juan, luquillo, and the rainforest. we even ventured to a local kiosk called sonja's and had delicious rice, beans, alcapurrias, and pastellios. we took advantage of the internet, hbo, and hammock!
thanks damaris

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure having you and your family as our guest. I am really glad to hear you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank you for being our guest!

Damaris

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the Aquatica resort. Everything at the resort and in the condo was quiet, neat and very clean. The resort is also in a good location if you want to see the rainforest and LaQuillo beaches. The personal escort by Damaris from our car rental to the resort was very much appreciated, and she and her husband were very helpful and cordial. Everything was as advertised. We hope to stay with you again someday! Thanks, Damaris!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi

Thank you so much for the review.It was really a pleasure meeting both of you and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at our home. We love it also.

We will look forward to seeing you again and if we are ever in Minnesota we will definitely give you a call. Keep warm.

Best regards,
Damaris

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Not What We Expected But Fun

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

We had a hard time finding this property after spending quite a few hours in the rainforest, killing time until the unit was ready. We had gotten off our cruise boat by 9 am. Don't get me wrong, the rainforest was awesome and we didn't feel like we were killing time. We had lunch and went to the grocery store, and by that time the unit was almost ready. This didn't matter because we had a hard time finding the complex since the mural with the name on it was not facing the way we were coming. We did eventually get there though. When we arrived, the unit itself was very clean and very nice. We have no complaints with it whatsoever. We were very comfortable being a family of five in this condo.

The biggest problem was the feeling of being locked inside a prison (a very nice prison). The walls around the complex were high and topped with razor wire. The beach was only accessible through a locked gate. The beach itself was fairly nice but could use some cleaning up. We did go swimming in the ocean twice even though the weather was fairly bad.

The waterpark itself was very nice. We didn't go swimming though as the water was very cold. There were kids swimming in there, but no adults. The hot tub wasn't hot, lukewarm at best.

Overall, we had a great time watching the iguanas, grilling out, playing games and swimming in the ocean. We were only there for three days, so there really wasn't much time to do anything else. The area around the complex wasn't all that great, and not some place we would walk around. But from what I hear, outside the tourist areas, it's not recommended to wander around anywhere in Puerto Rico.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Hi Kerry.

Unfortunately for the dates you and your family arrived we had lots of rain, all during the weeks of the Christmas holidays. You arrived with rain and unfortunately the morning of your departure it was raining cats and dogs. When we have these rainstorms and cold fronts the ocean becomes very dangerous and brings debree to the shoreline. These acts of God surely did not allow for your short stay to make the most of your time. Other guests have had the blessing of being able to enjoy the beautiful sunny days and the fantastic view my unit has to offer.

I usually meet my guest at the car rental and escort them to my property but due to the fact that I had someone checking out on the same day you were checking in, this was not possible. We were preparing the unit so it would be in optimal conditions for your arrival. I had mentioned this situation to you prior to our rental agreement.

The area surrounding the complex is a poor area but rich in culture. We have at walking distance from the complex an Art Studio from one of the local artists and he welcomes and encourages tourists and everyone to visit his studio. We also have right in front of the Artists studio another artisans studio which carve masques out of coconuts. I believe due to the rain you did not have the opportunity to explore these cultural events. I have had guests who have visited these studios and had mentioned that is was a wonderful experience being able to share with the locals.

Puerto Rico is an island filled with lots of cultural and fun activities. Due to your short stay and bad climate conditions you were not able to make the best of your stay. We encourage you to visit Puerto Rico on a longer stay and you will see the island from another perspective.

It was our pleasure having you and your family as our guest.

Thanks again!
Damaris

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great week in Aquatika

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

My family & I just returned from our vacation in PR. We had a very comfortable week in your Aquatika condo. Thank you so much for sharing it with us. The unit had everything you need to feel at home. It was just perfect & very convenient to get to many places that we had planned to see. My husband really enjoyed the hammock on the balcony & the sound of the ocean. The sunset from the pool area was to die for. Since we were out most of the day, it was great to be able to get in & go enjoy the pool at night. There are many pools to choose from. One place we enjoyed that was very convenient to get to was the beach & food in Piñones. "Carmin's Restaurant La Casa Del Chillo" is a MUST!! Great food, nice people & they accept CC.
Thank you so much Damaris. We look forward to seeing you again in the future... xoxo

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Sylvia and family

It was our pleasure having you as our guest. Well the hammock seems to be everyone's favorite. I have had guests who have even bought a hammock to take back with them.

Thank you so much for taking such good care of our home and we look forward to seeing you again.

Damaris

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Perfect Place!

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 19, 2010

Sorry for this late review (we stayed in April). Everything was just as listed. The owners were most helpful. The pools and Ocean closeness were everything we had hoped for.
Thank you!!
The Myers families from Oregon -Indiana ands Colorado

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much. I am so glad you were able to take time out from your busy schedule to post a review. I am sure others who are looking for a place to stay on their vacation will appreciate it. It was a pleasure sharing with all of you and again thank you for letting us know that you were happy with your accommodations, that is really our goal. Hope to see you again some time in the future.

Damaris

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Aquatika, PR

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 21, 2010

I visited this lovely apartment in Feb. 2010 with three friends. The apartment is very comfortable, and beautifully furnished. As the listing says, it is right on the beach. We loved sitting on the balcony and watching the ocean and the waves. The entire property is very clean and well maintained. The customer service was superior. She also gave us great tips on restaurants and on activities in the area. I would highly recommend it to all of my friends. Highlights of our trip included a day in Old San Juan, which is an easy trip from Aquatika; an afternoon at El Yunque, and a visit to the beach at Luquillo. When we were at Luquillo, we ate at a couple of restaurants the owner recommended, which were excellent. Another highlight of our trip was a visit to the studio in Loiza of local artist Samuel Lind, recommended by the owner.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Norma. I hope to see you and the girls again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous vacation on the beach in Loiza, PR

Review submitted: April 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 28, 2010

Damaris, we LOVED our week in Loiza! I know you weren't in charge of the weather so we can't thank you for sun and 85 every day. But we can thank you for a top quality, really comfortable, perfectly furnished apartment! It had every amenity we could have wished for. Totally comfortable. We loved sitting on the balcony for breakfast and at sunset, and swimming in the ocean, and in the pools. It was great to vacation in such a quiet, wonderful spot - so conveniently close to the airport and to San Juan. And thanks for the great restaurant tips too!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad you really enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to make sure our guests have an unforgettable stay and make them as comfortable as possible. It was fun meeting you and the girls, hope to see you again next year.

Damaris and Sami

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: May 3, 2009   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

We spent the April spring break week at Aquatika and it was really great to be far away from cold Wisconsin in a few hours. The apartment was just as we shown on the web site, modern, clean, well decorated with nice kitchen, excellent for a family of 4 to 6, and very short walking distance from a nice beach and all the swimming pool and other amenities. We spent most of our evenings on the balcony enjoying the warm weather, listening to the waves crashing on the shore, playing games after a nice relaxing jacuzzi. We did a lot, but a week was definitely too short..... We recommend the bio kayak trip in the evening in Fajardo, great family activity for kids and adults together.. The resort is very quite during the week, but got busier during the week ends with many local families.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: It was our pleasure having you and your family as our guest. Our goal is to make sure our guest feel comfortable and most important of all to share as much of the island with you as possible. Thank you so much for the tip of the Bio-Kayak. I had been wanting to do that excursion for a while and once you recommended it. I made reservations the following weekend. My family and I really enjoyed it! Thanks again and I hope to see you and your family in the future.

Damaris

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Magical Honeymoon

Review submitted: April 4, 2009   Date of arrival: February 8, 2009

What a wonderful place to have a wedding and honeymoon. Damaris and her husband were out of this world from the time we stepped of the plane they were there to offer advice on everything we needed they even made us feel a little extra special by having fresh roses and champaign in the condo when we arrived making this expericence even more fantastic than I could have imagined. The condo was was great and had all the necessities you could think of. for. Damaris also went out of her way to show us drictions to places and offered us ideas on places to eat and everything. They were both so nice, we had a wonderful time and fabulous memories and would recomend it to anyone. We can not wait to return there someday maybe for a renewal of our vows words can not express what a wonderful place to stay and the owners are definitly top notch. Thank you much again for everything Damaris and Samuel we will never forget you

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Christine & Bill

I would like to thank you for giving me the opportunity to experience such a beautiful ceremony. As I mentioned before if I ever get married again or we renew our vows. That's the way to go, a totally tropical wedding on the beach. You both looked so happy we wish you many happy & loving years together.

Damaris & Samuel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pleasantly Surprised!

Review submitted: April 3, 2009   Date of arrival: March 16, 2009

This was our first time to Puerto Rico and it won't be our last. What a beautiful island with so much to offer. This beachfront villa is one of the BEST in the Aquatika property and being on the 2nd level allowed for beautiful views all day long. The description and photos provided are exactly what you get. Damaris, the owner, was extremely helpful from the early planning stages to our arrival at the airport. Our group consisted of three couples and the unit was very comfortable and spacious for all of us, especially with the large balcony out front. It was heaven to wake up every morning, open all the windows and doors and listen to the ocean waves. Loiza is conveniently located in between Old San Juan / the Airport (30 minutes to the west) and Fajardo (30 minutes to the east). Hiking through the El Yukon rainforest, arriving at La Mina waterfall was a nice adventure and relaxing on Luquillo beach was great. Taking the ferry to Culebra Island and experiencing Flamenco beach is a *must*. The white sand and crystal blue waters were absolutely amazing and the Dingy Dock restaurant was a prefect place for food and drinks. Our week long vacation was not long enough and we will definitely return. This villa at Aquatika is a great place to ‘call home’ if only for a short time. Thanks again Damaris, it was so great to meet you and your family ~ until next time………..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hola

Thank you so much for choosing our home for your vacation. It was our pleasure meeting all of you and next time you come to Puerto Rico the margaritas are on us!

Damaris & Samuel

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just Like We Pictured It!

Review submitted: January 21, 2009   Date of arrival: January 13, 2009

This was the first time that I have used an apartment rental on a vacation, so I was a litte apprehensive. The main reason that I chose this property was because I was so comfortable with Damaris. She answered all of our questions and made everything so easy for us. She met us at the car rental facility and we followed her to the apartment. It is about a 25 minute drive from the airport. The apartment is in a gated community with beautiful landscaping. The apartment itself was wonderful! Three bedrooms, two full baths, full size kitchen with stainless steel appliances, and best of all...a HUGE balcony overlooking the ocean. The apartment is directly on the beach! Every morning we opened the blinds and sliding door to an ocean breeze and crashing waves. It was awesome!

Damaris gave us many suggestions on what to see and do and where to eat. We called her during the week for other suggestions and she was so helpful to us. Also, we had a minor issue with locking the house key inside. Damaris went out of her way to meet us with the key and could not have been nicer about the situation. She really made us feel like we were at home and could ask her about anything at anytime. I am so glad that we chose her condo to use for vacation, and I would DEFINITELY stay there again. You cannot beat waking up and walking a few steps to a gorgeous beach!

Happy Traveling!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad that we were able to make your vacation a most memorable one. We felt honored to have you as our guest and look forward to seeing you again. Brandon I sure am going to miss your e-mails. Remember to stay in touch every once in awhile.

It was a pleasure meeting all of you. Thank you so much!

Damaris

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great condo, great owners

Review submitted: August 25, 2008   Date of arrival: July 3, 2008

This condo was very nice, a great place to stay if you like to do lots of site-seeing by car and not just hole up in a resort. The unit is on the beach and the view from the balcony is absolutely gorgeous, but if you want a pristine beach you will have to drive to one in a nearby town, or drive to Fajardo and take the ferry to Vieques or Culebra (amazing beaches! Get your tix a few days in advance because they will sell out!). The water park is very nice, great place for kids of all ages. There is a nice kitchen and a gas grill for cooking your meals. The area around the resort is rather poor and there is not much to do in the immediate area, but San Juan in only about 20 mins away, and there is a nice mall about half-way. The owners of this place are very nice and helpful, they even met us at the car rental store and helped us with a place to buy groceries and showed us the way to the condo. If you are going to drive around the island, I would strongly suggest having a GPS, it helps a lot. We would stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experiences at my unit. We will be more then happy to have you and your family once again as our guest!

Regards to all.
Damaris & Samuel

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our stay at Aquatika

Review submitted: August 22, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at this condo at Aquatika. The view from the balcony of the ocean and beach were great. We even got to see a big cruise ship pass by in the night. My daughter really enjoyed the hamoc. In the morning that would be her first highlight of the day. The grounds in the complex are really well kept and beautiful. So many pretty palm trees lining the courtyards and walkways. There are many pools and sitting areas that are very nice. Even better that they are open until 1 o'clock am. We even swam later than the closing time! We liked the fact that this place is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main "tourist areas". You are not too far from Pinones.....where you can get good local food "Comida criolla", which is more difficult to find in the tourist areas. Damaris is a phone call away, and very accomodating when needed. My husband and I got lost on our way to a wedding, and Damaris and her husband helped us out over the phone with directions! The rooms in the house stay cool when you want, with the air conditioners. Everything we needed was there. The washer and dryer worked very well, fast with drying our clothes when we needed them done quickly to move on to our next daily adventures!
Thank you for our lovely stay. We look forward to returning!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure for us to have you as our guest. I am so glad you had a great time . We try and make our guests stay a memorable one. As I told Cyron for the next time, if he would like to Scuba Dive just let me know and we can set it up so he can get certified while he is down here, I myself am a certified diver.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you so much for being our guest.

Damaris

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Stay at Aquatika in Loiza was super

Review submitted: July 14, 2008   Date of arrival: June 27, 2008

This condo was even better than the high expectations we had! 2nd floor balcony on beach with BBQ and hamock, several large pools to choose from, A/C in the bedrooms, 10-20 miles from rain forest, lighthouse, Old San Juan, and other sights. The complex is just beautiful. The condo was equipped with all new furniture and wireless internet, big flat screen TV, etc. We are family of 6. The owner bent over backwards to make our stay so wonderful -- she was so nice, even meeting us at rental car agency and escorting us to the property when we arrived in the evening. This was exactly what we wanted for our Caribbean stay and more. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the review. It was our pleasure having you and your family stay at our condo, you were great guest. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay that is actually our goal. If you ever decide to return to Puerto Rico, we're happy to offer you an additional discount. I would recommend winter months the temperature is just fabulous and perfect not as hot as in the summer.

Thanks for the hint in reference to the photographs on the website how they do not reflect what a beautiful view there actually is. If you notice I took your advice and changed two of them.

Again thank you for being such wonderful guest! Damaris

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review