reviews for: listing #37953 - Shasta Lake, California House rental

3 Story Shasta Lake Vacation Home
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $490 - $750 /nt
    $3,400 - $4,800 /wk
    $5,200 - $7,500 /mth

sort by:

Great Time

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

We had such a great time... we were so close to the lake i thought we would be spending the whole time there...nope...i was a lil worried about the reviews but i didn't experience any of the pre-stated problems... pool was wonderful kids loved and i was happy to see there was 2 pool showers... wonderful. the house was quiet and relaxing. only 1 tv had a lil problem and that is because it was on the wrong channel but they also had stickers on the back of the remote that said which was sooooo wonderful just what we needed... if the kids weren't swimming or exploring the walking trail they were playing dart or ping pong or pool or foos ball in the garage... we had such a great time we stayed for an extra night did want to leave

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


My second home

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

My family has been renting this house for the past three years. We love the space and the location of the house very much! However there are a few things that we would prefer, the nicknacks everywhere could go, they tend to get in the way. Also the decor of the rooms could be changed to a more lake or outdoor theme. Make sure things are up to par because we have had a few past issues with tv's not working and things like that. Other than that we love the fact that everyone can get away and have their own space and us kids love to be able to go and hang out down at the pool and spend the nice nights in the hot tub. If those things were taken care of the house would be amazing! We hope we can come back again this summer because we all love it up there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Not the best!

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

It is advertised as a 6 bedroom but really only 5. The shower goes from scalding hot to freezing cold back to scalding so be careful especially when children are showering. The pool and hot tub were EXTREAMLY dirty and the hot tub never got over 89% more like luke tub, We called Jamie several time about HT before she finally responded to the house phone, she seems very unorganized, she sent some one out they said it need lots of work. One of the reasons we stayed here was because of HT so real let down and did not get refund for it not working, took 4 weeks to get back deposit. Also house not very clean. Great time w/ family but wouldn’t stay here again.

Owners response: I am really sorry to hear your review and hope that I can do my best to make it up to you. I tried to have the hot tub fixed the first day you told me & the man said he fixed it. The reason the pool and hot tub got dirty was because a hole was blown in the filter, which let demetreous (?) earth into the pool & made the pressure bad, shutting down the hot tub. The spa was working when I went out after you left and that's all he told me was wrong, so I thought that was the end of it. I didn't get a call back from my message when I called to make sure it was working so I didn't know to give you extra back for the trouble.

I resent your deposit the day you told me that you had not received it; I'm sorry the first check wasn't delivered.

Please tell me which shower had a problem... I have tried each shower and couldn't tell. Each bathroom is on a separate tankless heater.

My data entry person has changed the wording of the rental agreement and on the website it also says 5 bedrooms and den (which people have been using as a bedroom for years) but there is not a way to word it in VRBO's description of bedrooms. I have a video that shows the whole house... I always stress to everyone to look at it so there are no surprises; I'm sorry if I didn't do that for you.

I tried very hard to make the home perfectly clean before your arrival - please let me know what was overlooked. Also, please let me know what I can do to compensate you for your trouble. Thank you.


Jamie Hess

Helpful votes: 6 / 6



Review submitted: October 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010


Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much... unfortunately, our housekeeper is very allergic to pet hair.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


Best Place I have been

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

OMG this home is just beatiful great view of the lake.Close to the boat ramps....Even though you don't want to leave the house. Great for large family unions or just having a good time with freinds. There is everything you need in this house just bring FOOD. I will be back time and time again and let all my friends, co-workers and family no about this place and there staff.......HOUSE WAS SPOTLESS

Look forward to next time I come to visit this beatiful area

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you

Helpful votes: 5 / 5


Reviews are the subjective opinions of travelers and not of, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review