reviews for: listing #380162vb - Tamarindo, Costa Rica rental

Luxury Living on the White Sands of Playa Langosta
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 214 - $ 457 / night
    $ 2,299 / week
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Fabulous vacation spot!

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

We recently rented this condo with other extended family members for our first trip to Costa Rica. We had a fabulous time thanks in large part to the incredible condo. It had everything we could possibly want or need. The balcony was great; it's where we ate all our meals and spent hours relaxing overlooking the ocean. The sunsets are amazing. Inside, the condo is spectacular. Spacious, well furnished, etc. Each room has it's own big bathroom. We cooked all our meals in the condo and appreciated the top of the line BBQ. The building has only 20 units and most of the time we hardly saw anyone else. The pool is terrific and the whole building is beautifully maintained. We will definitely return! The condo is a bit away from the core area of Tamarindo which was exactly what we were looking for as it made for a very quiet place to stay and a bit off the beaten track, yet still close to town. We rented a car and shopped at a supermarket just outside the other side of town which was better than the smaller store within walking distance. We went on a couple of excursions and were picked up at the condo by local drivers who were very friendly and knowledgeable. The excursion to the river for a boat ride was a definite highlight! We also went zip lining. The photos on the website accurately showed the property's amenities. Overall, this was a great vacation in a superb property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Maggie,
I am so pleased you and the family had a great stay at Crystal Sands. One of the great advantages of staying at Crystal Sands is the close proximity to the town of Tamarindo yet still having a sense of being away from the hustle and bustle of this busy little town.
We welcome the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Annette and Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Stay in Tamarindo

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 16, 2014

We have just returned from our third visit to Tamarindo and it was definately one of the best. Annette and Tom's condo exceeded our every wish. It checked all the boxes - beautiful views, spacious and beautifully decorated, a perfect location between Playa Langosta and Playa Tamarindo, and sunny days. The six of us were very comfortable in this 3 bedroom which had all the top amenities we could want just steps from the beach. Although the beach directly in front of the condo was not great for swimming, it was a short walk to Langosta where you can swim although it does have strong surf. The benefit to the beach location in front of the condo is that you had it all to yourself most of the time! The pool was also very nice and hardly anyone using it so we felt it was out own personal space.

The staff at RPM were very helpful taking care of all our needs, even making a last minute change for taxi pickup from the airport due to bad weather conditions up north and also arranging for a rental car which was delivered right to the condo!

Since this was not our first visit to Costa Rica we did not do many excursions this time but we did take a river safari in Palo Verde where we saw amazing wildlife and also hiked the mud pot trails of Rincon de Viejo. We actually spent a good deal of time hanging out on the balcony enjoying the spectacular views.

The restaurant scene in Tamarindo did not disappoint with so many options we did not have enough time to hit all on our list. We were at a walkable distance to town and also across the street from Cala Luna and Sueno del Mar both with great restaurants. There was also a little market within an easy walk to stock up on basics.

All and all, we had a very memorable stay and thank Annette and Tom for opening their beautiful home for us to enjoy. We will definately be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Janet,
We too love Crystal Sands and the area of Langosta Beach. Watching the surf and the sunsets are amazing and one never gets tired of it. January this year we also had the thrill of watching a pod of whales breach just off the shore for about 30 minutes. So you will need to return soon to check out more of the restaurants in Tamarindo, relax on the deck and further explore.

We look forward to you and your family making that return visit in teh very near future.

Annette & Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunsets on the ocean

Review submitted: February 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

The view of the ocean is my favorite part of staying here along with the sound of the waves of the ocean. For my husband and I ,the verandah was one of our favorite spots, relaxing and enjoying coffee, meals and a glass of wine. The location is within a 10 min walk to great restaurants and town. The Condo is very well kept and comfortable with 3 very spacious bedrooms and living areas. The Kitchen is fully stocked and overall the property is very clean. We booked activities such as zip-lining, river cruise, horse back riding and waterslides, it was a memorable 10 days.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Val and Ken - thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Crystal Sands. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay as well as the many activities and adventures you took.

We look forward to your return to Crystal Sands that will afford you the opportunity to set forth and explore more of what Costa Rica has to offer.

Annette & Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

We've been to several 'beach' destinations in both Hawaii and Mexico, so wanted to try something different. We've heard people rave about Costa Rica, so decided to give it a try. Our family of 4 (kids 12 and 14) travelled with another family of 4, who also rented at Crystal Sands. We have stayed in some very nice accommodations in the past; I can say that we were all thrilled with our accommodations and we all agreed that Costa Rica was our best destination yet. The condo was terrific; very spacious and well-equipped. The balcony was perfect for sipping wine while watching the sun set over the ocean. The beach in front of the condo was beautiful, but not great for swimming. It was very interesting, though, to explore all of the volcanic rock formations on that part of the beach. A 5-10 minute walk, either right or left, along the beach, led to great areas for swimming, jumping in the waves, boogie-boarding, or surfing. The water was 'bath tub' warm --- we spent many hours in it!

The town of Tamarindo was a really pleasant surprise. We were there at the busiest time of year, so it was quite busy, but nothing like Maui at the same time of year! There were so many excellent restaurants all of which were reasonably priced (in some cases we were amazed with the quality we got for our money). We ran out of time before trying all that we wanted to --- guess we'll have to go back! There is so much local seafood and produce available; it must be a chef's dream to cook there.

We worked with the very accommodating property management company, RPM, to arrange excursions, including an estuary tour and zip-lining. Both were very reasonably priced and received "2 thumbs up" from everyone in our group.

The locals were wonderful. Everyone, from the security staff at the condo complex (yes, there is security, but we NEVER felt unsafe), the taxi drivers, the excursion operators, the grocery store staff, etc. was great. We befriended a shuttle driver (Jose) who was one of the kindest, hard-working, helpful people we've ever met while on vacation.

The new airport at Liberia is well-run, and is very clean --- it made for a good first impression! One word of advice: Costa Rica has a departure tax of $29/person. You can pay that tax at the bank in Tamarindo or at the airport. Pay it at the bank to avoid the long lineup at the airport!

We've been home for 24 hours, and I've already been online researching our next trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jennifer we are so pleased that the condo at Crystal Sands and the town of Tamarindo provided your family the opportunity to create unforgettable and lasting memories over the Christmas holidays. Additionally we are pleased to hear that you did not have the opportunity to see everything you wanted. This means a planned return trip to Tamarindo and we welcome the opportunity to be your hosts in the future.

Annette & Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

40th birthday celebration, family vacation and thanksgiving - All in One!

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

This luxury 3 bedroom (all master suites it seemed) unit was unbelievable! The beautiful panoramic ocean views were breath taking. You will see the sun rise and the sunset's are memorable. We dined outside on the deck daily. The beach is steps away with waves crashing at your feet! The kitchen had every appliance you can think of (and we did alot of cooking), as if you were a profession chef. There are many trails to take romantic or family walks that will lead you to the ocean. The pool at the condo was also a great time to refresh after being on the beach or in town all day. The town of Tamarindo is walking distance with many shops, dining and excursions. The condo is perfectly located to do as much exploring as you wish! The unit itself was extremely clean, had all necessities and really comfortable. When we return to stay in Tamarindo again, we will absolutely stay in this unit. My family, myself and friends were more than please. It was pure BLISS!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sandy,
Wonderful that you and your family were able to share these special occasions and created lasting memories at Crystal Sands. It truly is a a unique place one never tires of visiting. We look forward to your return trip to Tamarindo and again being your hosts.
Till next time,
Annette & Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly Magnificent !!!

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

It's hard to find words to describe this wonderful property ! First off, I think it's in a perfect spot. Just far enough away from the center of Tamarindo to make it peaceful, yet close enough to be able to make a run for those items that you may run out of. We did have a rental car, so a quick trip to the "Auto Mercado" was no problem at all. (By the way, the grocery store there was clean, modern and very well stocked !) On the other hand, if you prefered a nice leisurely stroll along the beach to get there, that works as well.
The swimming pool is wonderful, and since we were there during the 'green' season, we had it all to ourselves - very very peaceful.
There are a lot of tours available, and one quick call to the rental office, and everything was completely taken care of - with transportation waiting outside - right on time! Everyone that we came in contact with throughout the entire week were so helpful and pleasant - it was really great !
Restaurants were wonderful, and if you enjoy dining on the beach, that's avaiilable too !
I know others have said it, but....the pictures really can't describe what it's like being here. When you go out on the balcony, you don't just hear the waves breaking in the distance ..... you hear them crashing right below you - Wow !
Others have also said that the only bad thing was that they had to leave - I can sincerely say that I did NOT want to leave !!!
Annette and Tom: We WILL be back !! Thank you so much !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jim,
Thank you for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your visit to Langosta Beach and the stay at Crystal Sands was memorable. We look forward to your return visit - hopefully sooner than later.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lew & Terri, CA USA

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

Overall we were very pleased with this large, beautifully appointed 3 BR, 3 BATH Condo. It was right on the beach with a large lanai, fully furnished for outdoor living. The fully equipped kitchen had everything you need for cooking and dinning. And GE appliances. The living/dinning RM were stylishly furnished with high end touches, as were the bedrooms.4 flat screens, HVAC, ceiling fans, W/D, , pool, spa, Bar-B-Q grill. Otis Elevator, 24 Hr Security, very clean, and on and on!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lew & Terri, CA USA

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

Overall we were very pleased with this large, beautifully appointed 3 BR, 3 BATH Condo. It was right on the beach with a large lanai, fully furnished for outdoor living. The fully equipped kitchen had everything you need for cooking and dinning. And GE appliances. The living/dinning RM were stylishly furnished with high end touches, as were the bedrooms.4 flat screens, HVAC, ceiling fans, W/D, , pool, spa, Bar-B-Q grill. Otis Elevator, 24 Hr Security, very clean, and on and on!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lew & Terri - Your feedback is very useful and so appreciated. We will endeavor to provide our guests with a holiday experience that is both memorable and enjoyable. Please come and visit us again at Crystal Sands on the Beaches of Langosta

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

HIGH-END MOST LUXURIOUS OCEAN FRONT CONDO IN TAMARINDO AREA!

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

Coincidentally, the condo owners live in the same city as we do, and we were invited into their home before our first trip to Costa Rica. They were so incredibly helpful, and went above and beyond to ensure we received valuable tips and advice when we met and also prior to our departure date.

We spent several hours with a local Realtor viewing nearby ocean front condo's, and it didn't take us long to realize just what a high-end luxury condo complex Crystal Sands is -IT HAS NO EQUAL IN THE AREA!

Every day, we had the entire LARGE pool to ourselves -Inflatable air mattresses were provided in our condo, which came in handy.

One of the concierges mentioned Crystal Sands is THE most secure complex they manage--very high fence and the premises have very personable security guards patrolling 24/7.

Our housekeeper was fantastic - such a nice woman and she did a super job!

Condo is GORGEOUS - professionally designed and beautifully appointed. Master bedroom has ocean view from bed.

Sunset views from the huge balcony are amazing. Short walk to town on the beach (10 min.) or by road (15 min.) or if you walk to Barcelo, the all-inclusive which is 5 min. away, you can negotiate a taxi ride to town for $4.00, or $5.00 if you are going to the main supermarket, Auto Mercados, at the far end of town. Keep the no. of the taxi for future rides.

Activities/tours are VERY INEXPENSIVE - contact Ivan of Tamarindo Dreamers Adventure - much less than what you will find in town, as many of the vendors in town actually subcontract their tours to Ivan and load the price for their cut. Why not book direct and save money? Costa Rican handmade corn tortillas/homemade dairy cheese & authentically made coffee on a Costa Rican farm; 2 hrs. horseback riding incl. on the beach; snorkeling on the only crushed seashell beach for 30-40 min; ride to & from your condo - all for $40. each. 2 hrs. ATV ride in Brasilito (gorgeous town) incl. on several beaches, and rides to & from your condo.- all for $40. each (much better than renting in Tamarindo as you can't ride on the beach). And there are many more... Offer him $70.per trip for a/c shuttle from Liberia airport if you are not renting a car (up to 8 people).

We usually tipped $5./person-1/2 day tour; $10/person full day, $5/person airport ride. You do not tip taxi drivers though.

For a car rental, DEFINITELY get an SUV - property mgr. recommended Poas - you can't beat their rates and they are very professional!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Anne,
I am so pleased the time we spent together prior to your trip proved valuable. And more importantly we are thrilled you enjoyed Crystal Sands, Langosta beach and the surrounding areas. Looking forward to hosting you on a return visit.
Annette & Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

May Costa Rica Trip

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 13, 2013

I don't even know where to begin because everything was so wonderful.

I will start with the condo itself which is beautiful, impeccably maintained and decorated and directly on the beach. There were 5 adults and all of us had so much room we never felt like we were on top of each other. In fact it was so spacious it sometimes took a few minutes to locate one another. The bedrooms are large and open, and the bathrooms are beautiful. I cannot say enough good things about the condo itself. Our favorite part was the HUGE deck directly overlooking the pacific. Pictures do not do it justice.

Costa Rica itself was amazing and we are sure to be back. The location of the condo is perfect in Playa Langosta. Just a 15 minutes walk on the beach to downtown Tamarindo. We walked everywhere and never felt like we needed a car. If we were a little tired it was just a $5 cab ride back home.

RPM is the management company for the condo and again they absolutely made our trip seamless and wonderful. They helped us find the best tours, guides and activities and booked them all with transportation for us. We went surfing, ziplining, snorkeling, horseback riding and each thing was better than the last. They know all the best restaurants, tour guides etc and were so incredibly helpful. Everyone was beyond nice from Natalia at RPM, to the security attendants at the Condo we felt so welcome.

We will absolutely be back and would stay here again. We were here for 7 days and didn't feel like we had nearly enough time to explore all that Tamarindo and Costa Rica had to offer. If you are planning a trip STAY HERE! It will make the experience just that much better because everything will be taken care of!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Melissa,
It was a pleasure to have you stay at Crystal Sands. I do agree the unit is spacious and gives one wonderful areas to get together with everyone or if you want to spend some quiet time there are numerous areas to choose from.
Please come visit us again as those return visits can be even more exciting and adventurous.
Annette & Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

True Luxury Living

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

Our stay at the Crystal Sands was more than we expected. As a group of 8 adults we were extremely comfortable here, never crowded. The furnishings inside are beautiful, comfortable and welcoming. Our favorite spot here was the deck overlooking the ocean. It is the perfect place to enjoy morning coffee, sunsets and dinner on the BBQ. The location was excellent; from peaceful Langosta we were a nice beach walk or taxi away from bustling Tamarindo. The only thing we will do differently next time is rent a car and explore the area further. We recommend anyone traveling to the Tamarindo area stay at the Crystal Sands, and we hope to return in the future, as this beautiful property will make it difficult to stay anywhere else!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Melissa,
We are so pleased you and your group enjoyed your time at Crystal Sands. I think you hit the nail on the head when you said your favorite spot was the deck overlooking the Pacific. We too enjoy this area for our morning coffee, relaxing with a book, having meals or just watching the surf and sunsets. Truly to be savored!
And we look forward to hosting you on your return trip to Costa Rica and the chance to explore further afield.
Annette & Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic condo with everything you could ever ask for - look no further if going to Tamarindo area

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

I stayed in the condo over Easter Week with my girlfriend, her two daughters and two of their friends (ages ranging from 15 to 20) and can say that without a doubt that the entire experience far exceeded our individual expectations.

Setting up the reservation, making payment, organizing our arrival and picking the keys were all a breeze. Both the owners and the property management company are friendly and extremely helpful.

With respect to the unit, it was apparent upon opening the door that we had made the right choice. The place is spacious, well appointed, and immaculately maintained. And that is not just by Costa Rican standards, but rather by any standard. The condo's layout affords you plenty of privacy where you want it (the bedrooms and bathrooms), but remains open and warm in the main living space. In addition, the view out over the water is spectacular.

To make matters even better the entire place has a touch of home. I can honestly say that the place is stocked with everything that we could ask for (kitchen utensils, washer/dryer, iron/ironing board, flat screens tvs in every room, dvd players, internet, Weber grill, etc.). I can't recall a single time that somebody said "I wish they had a . . . " When travelling with four teens/young adults that is a rarity.

We were so comfortable in those surroundings that even when we were lounging about indoors or on the patio we didn't feel guilty about not spending more time at the beach, being in the swimming pool or taking another tour.

For those that are looking for a place to relax and recharge, the condo itself would be enough. But, for those that are looking for adventure, it also gave us easy access to surfing, snorkeling, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, quad tours, National Parks, and more within a short drive. We also found a number of good restaurants and fun bars just a short walk into town.

I own a house in Costa Rica's Central Valley and have traveled extensively within the country over the past 10 years. That said, with very rare exception have I found a place that offers as much. In fact, as the week came to a close I was ready to move in permanently. Unfortunately, reality set in and it was back to the daily grind.

In summary, I don't think you could go wrong with this unit. We would love to return and hope to do so soon. We also want to thank the owners for making it available for others to enjoy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Ron for your kind words. It was indeed our pleasure to have you and your travel companions as guests in our 'home away from home'. We take great pleasure ensuring our guests have amenities available that add to their vacation experience.
Costa Rica is a country that provides limitless opportunities to the traveler and it sounds like you have indeed experienced much of what there is. We look forward to having you at Crystal Sands in the future.
Annette & Tom

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Cond

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Condo is beautiful and well maintained. Views from balcony are awesome. Furniture and appliances are all high-end and in good shape. All bedrooms are huge and there is lots of space in condo. Staff at the property managing company are very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay and I would recommend this condo for anyone traveling with families. It is a nice walk along the beach from Playa Longosta to Tamarindo but it was rather difficult to find a taxi in Playa Longasta to take you into Tamarindo to the restaurants in the evening.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacationing in Tamarindo a Delight!!

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

We were definitely very happy with this rental condo. It is even more beautiful than the pictures show. We brought our family of 7 total and had lots of room. Location is wonderful with full view of the ocean every day and night on the huge patio. Location is close to Tamarindo and lots of great restaurants. Maid service twice a week is great too. The kitchen is extremely well equipped and a cooks delight. The barbecue was state of the art weber, my husband wants one like that now! Annette was so wonderful to work with. So we're the managers at the property site. Would highly recommend this property!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Cathy we are so pleased that you and your family had a memorable vacation. There are so many fun things to do in the area and each time we visit we further explore. Our delight this past January was discovering the mud bath and hot pools at Miravalles Volcano. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Annette & Tom

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Crystal Sands

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

Our week at Crystal Sands was total sunshine and +30C weather everyday. Very well appointed spacious condo. The owners have thought of every detail that a vacationing family would need during a stay away from home. Lovely dining room, however, we never used it due to the huge deck and the soothing sound of the surf to be enjoyed while dining. Excellent restaurants near by for those that want someone else to do the preparation. Condo property managers are excellent in arranging tours. We visited the cloud forrest, volcanoe (mud bath), waterfalls, many walks on the many miles of beach. Remember to seek out Lola's restaurant on a close by beach and see their resident pig. Shell collectors are in heaven here, we left a couple of pounds heavier :) Excellent surfing town with lots of unique shopping from local artisians.

Thanks again for the use of your condo, we will return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sue, Bill and Annie
So pleased you enjoyed our little bit of paradise. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Annette & Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Definitely paradise!

Review submitted: January 26, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

This was the perfect trip to decompress after the busy holiday season! Travelling wih my husband, two adult-ish sons and their respective girlfriends, we all decided that pretty much everything about this condo was amazing! Location, close enough for a picturesque stroll down the beach with a $9 cab ride home after some cocktails. Ammenities within the condo were perfect. Rooms were spacious and we never felt like we were ever tripping over each other. Everthing about this trip was easy, from the inital reservation request , skyping with Annette as to what to expect on our first trip to CR or dealing with the management company with regards to airport transportation and tours, everything was handled professionally and courteously.

There were quite a few evenings that we took on too much during the day that we didn't feel like cooking or getting prepped to go out to dinner, so we took advantage of Tico to Go! Essentially, we were able to take advantage of some great restaurants, right from the fabulous deck of the condo. This information was provided to us when we picked up the keys upon our arrival.

Because out time was short, we were only able to squeeze in one tour...but it was amazing. Palo Verde, with Olmon as our transport and guide. First class all the way. My advice is to go early as when we were coming in from the tour, the boats going out had a lot more people in them. Our tour was our party of 6 and another party of 4...small and fun! We stopped on the way back to Tamarindo to watch Jose's pottery demonstration, a trade his family has been doing for years, with no electricity or fancy tools. Needless to say, this non-crafty girl was in awe as Jose made a vase (perfect vase) in less than 5 minutes, all by hand..not even a foot pedal was involved.

Our short trip was definitely pure paradise and I feel like we left without scratching the surface. I guess that means we will have to come back!

Thank you Annette and Tom for having this amazing condo available for us to rent! I highly recommend to anyone who may be considering....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Posh Property on the Beach!

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2012

We have been on a lot of tropical vacations, mainly 4.5-5star all-inclusive resorts around most of the Carribean. This was our first time to Costa Rica and we chose to stay in Tamarindo for the first part of our trip because of its reputation for surfing.

I found this property on VRBO and when I contacted the owner I was most pleased with how organized, helpful and efficient she was with the booking. She even provided me with information on good restaurants and activities to try in the area.

When we arrived at the property we were immediately impressed. It is a gated property with a security guard at the entrance. There were clear signs on the highway directing us to the property. Parking was conveniently located underground. I would definitely rate this property as 5 stars. The decor is beautiful and contemporary with really nice artwork. We were a group of 7 adults (in our 30's and 40's) and it felt really spacious and luxurious. The beds were very comfortable and I loved the pillows too! It felt new, clean, and gorgeous. The kitchen was very well equipped with anything you could need. There were grocery stores located nearby. We ate breakfast at the condo and would usually eat lunch and dinner out.

The beach directly infront of the condo was rocky but stunning to look at from the balcony. The beach is better for swimming if you walk about 10 min. We walked about 10-min to Tamarindo for surfing lessons. It was difficult to get to Tamarindo by walking on the beach, but that may have been because the tide was high. I think you could walk depending on the day. But walking along the road was easy. Lots of great restaurants and bars to choose from and all walking distance.

The balcony is huge and has lots of seating with great furniture. I would most certainly stay at this property again. The property was even nicer in person than the photos depict!

We stopped at the first surf shop we saw when entering Tamarindo by foot, called Surf Culture. We had private lessons with Julio. He was a really fun, and great instructor. It was my first time surfing and he made me look like a pro! We also went on an evening turtle watching tour with "Tamarindo Nature Tours". "Maikol" who took us out was so passionate about his job. This was a memorable experience for all of us, watching the turtles search for nesting sites. We also visited a volcano and hotsprings about an hour away.

I would return to Crystal Sands!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the feedback. It is great to hear what works for our renters as we strive to make your stay at Crystal Sands most memorable. And best of all you enjoyed Tamarindo, the restaurants and the many activities that are available in the area.
The beach route into town can be a bit tricky but once you discover the path over the rocks it is a breeze even at high tide. The road to town is equally as easy and it is fun to mix it up.
Please come back and visit us soon.
Annette & Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hermosas vacaciones

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

Mis amigos venezolanos y nosotros fuimos a playa Langosta con una gran espectativa de lo que nos esperaba. Nos encontramos con un hermoso apartamento, muy bien equipado, acondicionado y mantenido. Ademas con calor de hogar.
Nuestro primer contacto fue con sus dueños, de quienes recibimos un excelente trato. Una vez en playa Langosta sus administradores, Natalia y Lola nos brindaron una atencion personalizada y profesional.
Recomendamos 100% esta unidad y deseamos volver muy pronto.

Owners response: Translation:
Venezuelan friends and we went to Playa Langosta with a great expectation of what to expect. We found a beautiful apartment, very well equipped and maintained conditioning. Also with warmth. Our first contact was with its owners, who receive an excellent service. Once in Playa Langosta its administrators, Natalia and Lola gave us personal attention and professional. 100% recommend this unit and want to return soon

Gladys and friends,
We are so pleased you enjoyed the condo and the beaches of Tamarindo/Langosta. We too enjoy the comfort of our home away from home.
Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Annette & Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

We had a great time at the White Sands. The unit is very big and very nice. Everything you need is included and is new. From the beach in front of the condo, you can walk either direction for miles. Tamarindo is only a 15 minute walk if you don't want to drive. Be sure and have dinner next door at Cala Luna (ask for Carlos) and plan at least one brunch at the B & B next door, Sueno del Mar. The local rental service was excellent in helping with any questions and the owners are very easy to work with. We plan to return with all of our family in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tom, We are so pleased that you created great memories in Tamarindo. Cala Luna is indeed a great new addition next door to Crystal Sands. Hopefully you had a chance to experience the Howler monkeys that run overhead. We look forward to hosting you and your family in the future.
Annette & Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Week

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

The property has outstanding views, it is decorated like a private home. This is our second year at Crystal Sands, the services met or exceeded our expectations, this unit is perfect for a weeks stay, everything is furnished that you need, WiFi worked. We would do it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Richard, We are so pleased you enjoyed your vacation at Crystal Sands and all the amenities the condo has to offer; plus of course the bonus of being on Playa Langosta. Look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Annette & Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Frigate Birds, pelicans, kiskadees , magpie jays and glowing sunsets

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

A spacious layout with ample privacy for each couple, spotless, comfortable and very well equipped. Even good reading lamps in the bedrooms and great showers.

A perfectly located deck for watching the sunset ,listening to the Pacific surf and dinning. A very good restaurant across the road at Calla Luna -even howler monkeys if you're lucky.

It is an easy walk into Tamarindo by road or by beach where there are many places to shop and/or eat.

Rick, the property manager arranged an excellent river trip for us and could ,if asked, make many helpful suggestions for other excusions

The beach is the main attraction - great lagoons at low tide for swimming in wonderfully warm water or walking the long stretches of sand and finding myriads of shells and watching the variety of sea birds, careful of the nesting turtle sites and maybe resting in the hammock under the trees right in front of Crystal Sands. Or surfing or fishing! Pura Vida!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kay, Thank you for your review. Can't agree with you more that this is a wonderful place for a holiday. It has so many things to offer as you mentioned and each time we go we explore and find something new to entice us to return yet again.
Annette

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review