reviews for: listing #38024 - Grand Haven, Michigan House rental

Charming Historical Home - The Howard House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $300 /nt
    $1,300 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

From New Jersey Back to my Hometown

Review submitted: September 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

I was born in Grand Haven, and come back every summer with some or all of my big family. We often rent 3 houses in town! This year we stayed at Howard House. It was just 3 of us, my daughter, her 3 year old and me! What a delightful house! We parked the car and never got back in. The beach, the darling town, the boardwalk, the great places to eat...all in walking distance! We loved the swing on the front porch and the big patio for meals. The beds were very comfortable, with nice quality sheets and blankets. The kitchen had everything we needed. This was by far the nicest house we have rented in Grand Haven. We hope to return next August.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

This house is absolutely beautiful. My husband grew up growing to Grand Haven for summer vacation. As a family we began going 4 yrs ago and the Howard House was the icing on the cake. The house was so welcoming. We felt like we were at home the entire home and couldn't have had a better visit. We've already booked our vacation for next year just so we can stay here again. Tom and Eve have done a wonderful job.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

We recently rented Howard House and truly enjoyed our stay. The house was plenty big for our family including my husband and I, our 4 year old and 2 year old along with my husband's parents and 21 year old sister and my brother. We all had plenty of room and private space when needed. The house is in great condition and we loved all the decorations. Our favorite location on the house was the front porch swing. The location of the house worked out great for us as well. We were able to walk to shop or eat as well as to the boardwalk and beach. Our nightly walks around the neighborhood are some of our favorite memories of the trip. The owners take great pride in their home and were very easy to work with. This was our first visit to Grand Haven and we look forward to returning already.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What fun we had

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

As you know,a house(home)sets the stage - Each of us oohed and aahed when we came in, it felt so inviting and beautiful. The renovation was terrific, beautifully finished, everything! And Eve, we loved all of your touches, it makes a house homey and warm.
We walked, relaxed, laughed and ate! A perfect vacation for all of us! Loved the town, have to come back and visit the many more great things to see and do.
Again, Thanks for everything, it was the highlight of the year for us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Thanksgiving Getaway

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Our visit to the Howard House made a truly memorable Thanksgiving! The amenities are contemporary but the atmosphere is historic. Even though the weather was cold, we were cozy and comfortable, enjoying our time together in such a clean,lovely home. A traditional Thanksgiving dinner was prepared without a hitch in the marvelously appointed kitchen, the beds were great and the showers were always warm! And our Saturday football was enjoyed on the large screen TV! Lots of little touches make it very homelike. Grand Haven is a lovely place to visit--we enjoyed many wonderful walks with our 2 dogs. Many thanks to the Tom Pushaw family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Heavenly Howard House

Review submitted: September 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

Our stay at the Howard House was truly heavenly. We LOVE the decorating touches and all the renovations in this beautifully restored historic home. Stained glass decorations, framed 1889 newspapers, clocks galore, antiques, whimsical signs --everywhere you look there are lovely appointments. The bathrooms are gorgeous with nice big fluffy absorbent towels. With seven adults, we never ran out of hot water! Water pressure in bathrooms is great!! Delightful kitchen, gorgeous counter tops, all the important appliances. There is a great selection of DVDs for movie watching. Everyone said how comfortable the beds were and how impeccably clean the home is. The open air deck off the upstairs bedroom is a huge plus. It even has a table and chairs out there for coffee. Big back patio with large table and chairs is another eating option. It is within walking distance of the musical fountain and the restaurant Porto Bello's. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and definitely plan a return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Love this place!

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2010

This is the second year we've stayed at Howard House, and this stay was even better than the last! The house is absolutely gorgeous - you feel like you've stepped back in time, but with 21st century amenities. Our group had 4 adults and a toddler, and we fit very comfortably in the home with room to spare. The location is perfect - it's an easy walk downtown, and very close to the beach - with the toddler, we drove, but we've walked to it as well. Grand Haven is really charming, and the beach is beautiful (depending on the finicky Michigan weather!). We didn't have ideal weather for our stay, but the house is so comfortable, we had no problem spending a rainy day indoors, watching football on the flat screen TV and fixing snacks in the spacious, modern kitchen. Tom and Eve are wonderful owners, and we really appreciate the beautiful home and service they provide. Howard House has become a family tradition for us, and I look forward to many future stays.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review