reviews for: listing #38069 - Newport Beach, California Townhome rental

Quaint Townhouse, One House from the Ocean!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Balboa Peninsula
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $400 /nt
    $2,195 - $3,995 /wk

sort by:

When things don't go perfectly, a perfect response!

Review submitted: December 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

As a frequent VRBO renter I have always had the best of luck and this rental was no exception. It was great! We had a 'situation' when we arrived with the lock box not working, which can happen, and Russ showed caring and understanding and helped make a difficult situation better. It really matters how owners/agents handle the problems that can occur with any rental. Russ gets an A+! The house looks just like the photos and is well equipped. The bedrooms are all good sized and the beds are comfortable. The kitchen appliances are wonderful. My pies baked to perfection in that great oven! The dishwasher is a double drawer making it great for running small or large loads of dishes. The fridge is a side by side and roomy. The washer and dryer were great. The barbeque was brand new! The bikes and the beach toys are especially wonderful to have provided. Our family rented for a week during Thanksgiving. I want to suggest 'off prime season' renting to anyone who can do it. It felt like we had the beach to ourselves and it was so relaxing and fun. The weather wasn't 'sit in the sun and bake' type but my grandchildren loved jumping the waves and building sand castles and collecting shells, etc. The basketball courts and playground are right there and everyone enjoyed them. The restaurants weren't jammed packed as they are in the summer. There are lots of advantages to off season visits! But is especially want to say that it does matter how problems are handled and for this alone I would say this is a fabulous rental - but it is in every way.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Returning Home to Visit

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Loved our time on the peninsula!! Throughtly enjoyed our rental, location, and amenities. I was born and raised in southern california and was overjoyed with being able to share that heritage with my husband and childern. The rental lacation was perfect. Just steps from the beach and boardwalk, yet minutes to resturants and stores. We loved the crusing bikes!!! What a wonderful way to experience the beach scene and activities. The home is charmingly decorated with beach and nautical themes. Comfortable and inviting. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare nutritious meals as well as a BBQ for grilling out on the quaint patio. We would definitely rent this home again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Willard Family

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Words can't express how much this home was perfect for our family of 5!! Our boys, ages 7, 5 and 18 months had a blast!!! So easy to take everything to the beach, which was pretty much our back yard!!! My parents came to visit us for 3 nights and felt absolutely comfortable in the guest room with their own bathroom and shower right outside their door!! The boogy boards, bikes, beach towels and beach toys provided to us were a huge plus!!! Beautiful short walk to the Fun Zone almost every night via the boardwalk!! Easy enough for the kids to walk too!! Such a beautiful home!! Highly recommend staying here for your family vacation!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Visitors from NY State

Review submitted: April 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

What a beautiful home for our family vacation! The pictures did not do it justice. The furnishings were great; they were modern, attractive, comfortable and in excellent condition as well as clean. The space was more than adequate for the six of us. We did not feel cramped. The decorations were a big extra. Everywhere were nice wall hangings and live, pretty plants. We were amazed. The kitchen was well equipped with more than we could ask for. Besides the standard dishes, glasses, silverware, and appliances were state of the art furnishings as well. The refrigerator and freezer looked like cabinets. Equally impressive was the distance to the beach. We could walk to the beach within about a minute and without crossing any busy street. And that beach was gorgeous! Beautiful stretches of sand surrounded by rolling waves on one side and an elegant looking boardwalk on the other. Unlike the honky-tonk businesses lining the boardwalks that we're used to, this boardwalk was lined up with attractive beach homes. Daily, we used the boardwalk for walking, jogging and bike riding. It was so nice to be able to use the owner’s beach bikes. Similarly, we enjoyed using his beach chairs, beach umbrella and beach towels. Several times we used the owner’s guide to local restaurants and found his recommendations to be just right for us. This was definitely a vacation home that we'd be delighted to visit again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great, relaxing beach vacation!

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Southern California and couldn't be happier with our house rental. The location is terrific--just a hop, skip and a jump to the beach--and a short drive to many attractions. We spent a few days at Disneyland while we were there. The house was well-appointed for both hanging out (wifi, TVs, kitchen items, etc.) and for the beach (bikes, boogie boards, etc.) and had a binder of information to help us get oriented to the location. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Another great time on the Peninsula!

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

We have stayed for a month on the Peninsula each of the past 3 winters and enjoy the area very much. Each property we have rented has had its own particular features. This house is about as close to the beach as you can be without actually fronting on the beach. Comfortable and well maintained with very private/convenient sleeping for 4 adults. The 3rd bedroom is located via the garage entrance and would be just right for 2 children. Some previous reviewers have commented on the street noise. While it is indeed noticable, it was not an issue. Given it was winter, we could not take advantage of any of the "water activities", but did enjoy sitting on the beach several days....beach chairs are provided, We made the most use of the beach cruiser bikes, which are almost a must on the Peninsula! The house is nicely located approximately central to the Wedge and the entrance to the Peninsula...so easy to ride or walk to either end. If you want to be close to Newport pier and where the "action is" without being where it is too conjested, this is a good location to enjoy your time on the Peninsula. Walk/Ride down to Charlie's Chili for breakfast by the pier, sample $1 taco Tues/Thurs at Great Mex, wonderful Italian at Mama D's....the list of good restaurants within 1-2 miles is long!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Newport Beach vacation

Review submitted: November 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

This is a beautiful house, very well maintained and tastefully decorated. Includes everything needed to enjoy our stay. The owner is very helpful, courteous and attentive. Great location, and it is one house from the beach. Perfect for our family get-together, we will certainly be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location and Wonderful Property!

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

This property is in an excellent location on the peninsula and made a week of "beach living" very fun. The property is just as advertised in pictures and description. The house is clean (and I am a neat freak) and well maintained. The owner was very helpful, gracious and professional. There are only two drawbacks to this property: 1) the road noise from W. Balboa can be loud at times and 2) the 3rd bedroom (with the twin beds) is the only pass through to the and from the garage. May not be an issue for your family though ... so again, I give this property a big thumbs up. :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: August 10, 2009   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

We had a fabulous week in this rental. We really lucked out. Best place we ever rented! Condo had everything you could possibly need and owner was more than accomodating. Place was immaculate. First place we ever rented that we would return to in a heartbeat! Worth every penny!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: September 2, 2008   Date of arrival: September 2, 2008

This well-kept townhome is located in a great area. Very roomy, good furniture and beddings, well-stocked with toiletries, beach paraphernalia such as towels, chairs and bikes! The only drawback was some of the windows in the master bedroom could not close completely so it made it more noisy from the traffic. Otherwise, everything else was perfect! Will definitely stay there again. The property manager was also extremely helpful.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review