reviews for: listing #38083 - Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Condo rental

Oceanview 2BR/2BA, 2 blocks to beach, Private roof terrace
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $143 - $278 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,950 /wk

sort by:

Peaceful, comfortable condo with great beach facilities

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

Spent 10 wonderful days in this condo- AC worked great.Plenty of hot water-just took a couple minutes to warm up. All appliances worked well. The Riviera Maya management team was very efficient. Check in and check out were quick and easy. Condo was clean and had wonderful breezes on roof top and balcony.Best part was the free access to Las Palapas Beach Club- the nicest section of beach in town! Large shady palapas and comfortable lounges. Great food and drinks available. Several nice pools on the grounds. Just a short walk thru jungle to beach.Will definitely return soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

As soon as we walked in to the Condo we loved it!!! Location is prime. Great amenities and no trouble with the Management Company with our requests. We loved the pool and hot tub. Able to meet other families and couples to share our stories and Playa suggestions. We did have an issue with the hot water but both management and the owners were very very accommodating. The owners were excellent to work with that we already re-booked their unit in July. I did miss having a United States news channel, i.e., CNN, but is was great at the same time because it made it feel like a vacation. Great to have the access to Las Palapas. After 8 trips to Playa, this was the best beach for us. Great location to the our favorite part of Playa Del Carmen.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Palmar Del Sol - - Wonderful Condo in PDC!

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

I've been to Riveria Maya and Playa del Carmen many times - - staying in large all inclusives and small boutique hotels in town. This is the first condo I've rented and enjoyed the experience very much. It feels so warm and it was so nice to have a large space - - 2br and 2 baths plus a full kitchen. The condo was just lovely and in a great location on the quieter north end of 5th ave....close enough to all the restaurants and beach yet far enough from some of the larger "clubs". Communication upfront with Amy was prompt and she provided a document with great details for first timers including transportation options and restaurant recommendations. Having access to Las Palapas beach was a great perk with chairs and palapas; restaurant and bar; and restrooms. Felt very safe at the condo with a security guard and locked front entrance - - there is a safe in the room and free wifi. Spent most of our time at the beach but the pool was one of the nicest pools I've experienced in Playa. Great size, lovely waterfall, perfect temperature, and jacuzzi always heated. Some restaurants we enjoyed were: The cafe Chez Celine (in same building as condo) has the BEST chocolate croissants EVER; Cuevo del Chango for breakfast chilaquiles, Il Pescatore de Ileana on 10th ave and 24th st has some of the best italian food; and El Diez on 5th ave and 30th st has a great agentinian flank steak. Buy yourself a bottle of La Pinta Pomegrante Tequila for predinner drinks...the best! I would highly recommend a stay in this condo. Looking forward to coming back next year. Thank you Amy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Christmas and New Years 2012 Family Vacation

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

I have to say this was a really excellent find. Amy helped answer all our questions and the place actually feels a lot bigger in person. The roof top was perfect and we even had a couple afternoons at the pool. However, the big highlight was having access to Las Palapas. Yes we had to go down early to get seats - but we spent the majority of our time at this most perfect spot on the beach. When we walked down the beach we realized how great the location is. The only suggestion I had was the checklist that we had to fill in when we got there - it was very long, detailed and seemed may have gone quicker if the concerige had gone through it. Some of the names of the items I did not recognize so it may have been inaccurate. Overall, however, a wonderful time and a wonderful place!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay in PDC

Review submitted: May 28, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Thank you very much for allowing us to use your great apartment.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in PDC - your place was in a perfect location for us.....away from the main part of 5th but close enough when we wanted to go there, and plenty of nice restaurants close by. The beach club and facilities at Las Palapas were great to have - we spent a LOT of time there.

Thanks for your information and recommendations too.  We ate out lots.  We can also highly recommend Epicurean Chef Services - they prepared a wonderful meal and cocktails for us on our friend's 40th birthday. In fact, we were eating leftovers for a couple of days too! Fantastic.

Anyway, thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved or stay at Palmar Del Sol !

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

We just returned a few weeks ago from a two week stay at Palmar Del Sol . We have stayed at many places in Playa since our first visit in 2002 and PDS was by far our favorite. The condo itself is very large and beautifully decorated. It was also immaculate and any glitches were handled by the onsite management promptly. The views from the rooftop terrace are amazing and the breeze was very refreshing after a hot steamy day at the beach! The pool and gardens of PDS are unlike any other condo property that I have seen in Playa. It's a very large pool and courtyard area which is rare in Playa, the jacuzzi was actually hot at night and the pool temp was perfect. The ability to use the facilities at Hotel Las Palapas was a unique treat, especially considering that we had our 3 year old daughter with us. Las Palapas is beautiful with their lush landscaping and tons of mature palm trees on their beachfront. The pool there was great as well and very family friendly. We have already booked our stay for next year and Amy is a sweetheart!
Regards,
Brian, Heather, and Shylah from Michigan.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

stay here

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

New, clean, and with high end features - steps away from all of the action - perfect location - pool has a resort feel and the beach where we had access was the least crowded on the strip so you don't have to worry about being on top of everyone. Will definitely stay there again. It was a pleasure dealing with Amy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely condo

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 13, 2010

We stayed here for a week in December, and what you see on vrbo is what you get! Everything is just great about this place. One of the highlights for me was the huge, private rooftop patio that has completely unobstructed views. Rooftop balconies seems to be a big draw these days, but I have noticed that many times you get a balcony that has high walls that you can't see over-- which really defeats the purpose for me. I would go back for this alone, but there are also many other amazing features. The condo has a great kitchen that is well-stocked, comfy and clean furnishings, and really nice bathrooms. It's very quiet too. The location on 5th Ave and use of Las Palapas, which is the best spot on the beach, are perfect. The grounds and pool are as beautiful as they are in the pictures, and it's hard to imagine they have created such an oasis right in the middle of town. Amy also gave us great restaurant suggestions and other helpful information about town. Thanks for a great stay, Amy! Everything was perfect, and we would definitely stay here again.

If you'd like more info about places I like in the Playa/Tulum area, check out my travel blog at lolabees.wordpress.com

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Special Family Christmas in Playa del Carmen

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

We have been vacationing in Playa del Carmen for nearly 20 years so we know the town well. Without a doubt, Palmar del Sol is one of the top 5 nicest, best located condos in Playa and is the reason we chose to return again this year after our wonderful experience here the previous year. It is at the quieter, northern beginning of the pedestrian portion of 5th Ave. and walking distance to all the best restaurants. This unit is beautifully decorated, perfectly arranged for privacy and the views from the rooftop are breathtaking. Each bedroom with private bath is perfect for 2 couples traveling together. The pool and jacuzzi are great for quiet lounging in a garden oasis. But, if you don't just sit on the beach and bask in the beauty of the Caribbean, you'll miss the best part of your vacation. The beach is lovely with chairs, towels and palapas provided and a wait staff at the beach bar that will bring you anything your heart desires. The staff at the condos especially Fernando are so friendly and efficient at check-in and helpful with any questions you may have. Really, just sit back, relax and take in the beauty that surrounds you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect paradise for us!

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 3, 2010

Our two week stay at Palmar del Sol was perfect! We're beach lovers, so the use of the facilities at Las Palapas was a huge benefit, but the condo itself was extremely comfortable with a great location. Convenience is the one word that sums it up for us. Having rented a car, the garage was very convenient, not having to look for parking on the street. With several excellent restaurants closeby, the location of the condo in the trendy north end made going out in the evening convenient without having to drive. Making breakfast and lunch in the condo was a breeze with all of the amenities of home, and was a big money saver for us. Having a washer/dryer was another big convenience, even though we didn't have to use it much, having the maid service so frequently. All of the staff at Palmar del Sol, Riviera Maya Suites, and Las Palapas were friendly, professional and extremely efficient. We've stayed in several condos in Playa and this was the best one yet! Thanks, Amy, for making us feel at home in your slice of paradise!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Condo!

Review submitted: May 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

Our vacation was wonderful. The condo met all our expectations and then some! We expected it to be clean and well appointed, which it was. We appreciated how quiet the condo was and the very efficient A/C made for great sleeping. And, we were especially pleased with the pool and gardens, the beach club access through Las Palapas and the very helpful and attentive staff, especially Simona who went above and beyond helping us book our day trips. We were also very happy with the location of the condo and felt we really were on the best part of the beach. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! Thanks Amy, for your part in making this a great family vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a great vacation!

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

We have a family of four with two children, ages 8 and 11. We all had the best time in Playa at Amy's condo. The condo is so beautiful and we LOVED Playa! The information that Amy supplied was fantastic and we LOVED picking out which restaurants to try! All of her suggestions were so helpful! The weather was fantastic and we loved the beach! We went to Xcaret and did the Tulum extreme with the zip lines and also swam with the dolphins! Our only problem was that we ran out of time for all that we wanted to do! But, we decided that we just need to go back again!! Thanks for everything, Amy really went above and beyond to help us! The condo is in an excellent location and we would definately rent here again! Everything was very clean and the people were very kind and helpful. We did not have a rental car and could easily walk everywhere or get a taxi for further excursions. Thanks for a wonderful trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

The condo was wonderful - it had everything we wanted and more. Amy was a pleasure to work with in advance. The condo was nicely decorated, the beds were comfortable, the facility was spotless, the managers were accommodating, the internet was always operational and fast. The access to Las Palapas Resort made this property feel like a resort experience with all the amenities of a condo. The location is perfect - right on 5th Avenue for convenience but away from the night club activities. Bottom line - what we were promised was delivered - and very much appreciated!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

Awesome condo. No complaints. We stayed there summer of 09. It was everthing we wanted. Pool was great. Beach club was also very good. Small walk but well worth the great service that we got. They allowed us to set up an account for food. View from the balcony was very good. At night we would listen to concerts at the beach from the roof. The condo is very clean.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 7, 2009   Date of arrival: July 7, 2009

Our family of four, with 2 young children, stayed at Amy’s condo during the weekend of July 4th. Amy was very responsive to our questions and provided us with valuable information to get oriented with the Playa Del Carmen area. It was our first time to PDC so the information was very useful and appreciated. First of all and as other past renters have commented, the condo is in a very good location. It’s at the edge of where the foot traffic on 5th ave would begin. So, it’s close enough for you to enjoy 5th Ave but not on 5th so you don’t have to deal with all the street noise. Also and most importantly, the condo is only 2 blocks from the beach. But you can see the ocean from the balcony or the rooftop patio. The condo looked as nice as the pictures on the vrbo website. The condo was clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The beds were very comfortable and kitchen was stocked with everything you would need to cook a fabulous meal. But we did not cook during our stay because eating out and trying all the local restaurants is so much fun. Our children loved the pool and the pool and grounds were kept immaculate during our stay. Finally, the underground parking is a plus versus parking on the street. We look forward to staying here in the near future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 24, 2009   Date of arrival: March 24, 2009

Had an AWESOME time in playa and everyone really loved the place.
Plenty of room for everyone to sleep and hang out.
The stereo and TV were a nice bonus.
We loved the roof top view (you should really talk that up a little bit)
really nice people were around. We loved the pool and hot tub. I think we went to the beach and the pool every day.
The cleanup service was great and having the 5 gallons of water accessible to us was greatly appreciated.
It was perfectly located, a couple blocks from playa mamisma, easy walking distance to everything and yet far enough out that it was quiet after going out.
I go to Playa/Cozumel every year and this by far the best deal ever...will be doing it again in the future

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 18, 2009   Date of arrival: March 18, 2009

We had a very enjoyable 8 night stay at Palmar del Sol. The condo is very comfortable , spacious and beautifully decorated. We really enjoyed early morning coffee , breakfast and lunch on the balcony. The rooftop terrace was enjoyable for evening drinks , views of Cozumel with the cruise ships coming and going and also the sunsets. We spent a lot of time in the courtyard at the large pool and hot tub. We really liked the location in the North end with many good restaurant choices and it is only 2 blocks to Mamitas Beach club with a beautiful , sandy beach.Thanks again Amy for letting us rent your condo. We hope that we will be able to return next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 19, 2009   Date of arrival: January 19, 2009

Beautiful condo we rented for one week-nicely decorated, well kept, and with all kitchen tools and appliances. Palmar del Sol complex is well maintained. The location is perfect- near the beach & 5th Ave, yet quiet & residential. The swimming pool/garden area is beautiful. Amy provided us with 10 pages of wonderful notes to the area. If you rent it, keep it nice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 19, 2009   Date of arrival: January 19, 2009

Our trip to Mexico was amazing. Not only because of the beautiful blue/green waters and amazing sand beaches but also because the area had enough to offer to everyone in our family. We completely enjoyed this condo especially because there were no surprises. Everything was as advertised and as shown in the photos. The terrace was one of our favorite places for morning coffee and evening meals. The two bedroom condo provided everything that our family needed. We will be coming back to Playa soon and staying in this same unit. Thanks Amy for making our stay wonderful.
Sheri, Burnsville, MN

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 4, 2008   Date of arrival: August 4, 2008

First of all, I just want you know that it was a pleasure staying in your condo. I felt so comfortable the whole time we were there. It felt as if the condo was designed for us. It is beautiful and in the PERFECT location. The beach is great and 5th ave is wonderful. You were right about the pool, 90% of the time we were the only ones in it. Overall we had a great vacation. Thank you for your quick responses and for accomodating our date change at the end.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 19, 2008   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

We had a wonderful stay in Playa del Carmen during the month of July. The condo is everything and more than the description and photos online show. We thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful amenities at the condo. The kitchen made eating meals at home a breeze. The high speed internet service also allowed us to keep touch with family while in Mexico.
The grounds and facilities are kept to a high standard and we were very impressed by the sincere kindness of the staff at Palmar del Sol. The pool is huge compared to others with plenty of seating.
A huge perk of staying at the condo was the location. Just a couple of blocks to the beach club and right out the front door to quinta avenue.
Thank you again to Amy who made it possible for us to have a wonderful vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 22, 2008   Date of arrival: June 22, 2008

Hi everyone,

We spent 1 week in June in the Condo which is great for family - We were with our 3 kids who loved it. The condo is very confortable, quiet. As soon as you leave the complex you are in the 5th avenue the right place to have dinner or to walk with family. The kids also enjoyed the beach which is very close from the condo 3/4 min.
As June is the low season , but weather was great we were able to take advantage of the great swimming pool - You can do your laps without any problem and this one is a real one.
Finally I also want to mention that the service in the condo is very nice - The people in the office are very helpful and if you have any question they will be available for you.

So we really recommend you this great condo for family who want to stay and to work with Amy was also a pleasure.

Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review