reviews for: listing #38092 - Venice Beach, California Apartment rental

2 Bedroom One Bath Beautiful Unit
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $250 /nt
    $1,250 - $1,750 /wk
    $3,500 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Offers everyhting it promised, nothing more

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

Everything in the ad for this property is true but the pictures are misleading. The same rooms are taken from different angle so you get the impression that everything is larger than it actually is. Also, some of the pictures show the same rooms with different furniture. We actually thought that the middle room had a kitchen table but it didn't. There is only a tiny table with room for four chairs in the kitchen. The living room (middle) could use extra seating.

Otherwise, the location is excellent (very close to Venice Beach). We were able to walk to the beach and back to the appartment for lunch and dinner. It is located in an alleyway (front, side and back), on a corner. The streets are two-way but very narrow (effectively only enough room for a single car at a time. The rates for parking on the premise was reasonable but parking a full-size rental car (Impala) was a challenge for someone like me who usually drives into a large suburban driveway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The unit is vintage,beautiful and very popular
Excellent location
Nothing is deceiving about the ad or photos
The only change is that the dining table was moved to the kitchen
The guest could have moved it back to wherever he wanted or could have asked us to do so
No shortage of seating, again the guest could have asked us for extra seating in real time
The guest also placed the same review twice
Regards
Owner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Offers everything it promised, nothing more

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

Everything in the ad for this property is true but the pictures are misleading. The same rooms are taken from different angle so you get the impression that everything is larger than it actually is. Also, some of the pictures show the same rooms with different furniture. We actually thought that the middle room had a kitchen table but it didn't. There is only a tiny table with room for four chairs in the kitchen. The living room (middle) could use extra seating.

Otherwise, the location is excellent (very close to Venice Beach). We were able to walk to the beach and back to the appartment for lunch and dinner. It is located in an alleyway (front, side and back), on a corner. The streets are two-way but very narrow (effectively only enough room for a single car at a time. The rates for parking on the premise was reasonable but parking a full-size rental car (Impala) was a challenge for someone like me who usually drives into a large suburban driveway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Take me back!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

Had such an amazing stay here! The flats are beautifully designed, great neighbours, friendly neighbourhood, perfect location... I would say that they are actually better than they look in the photos. We rented both units in this building for 6 people and there was more than enough room for everyone. Thanks xA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Take me back!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

Had such an amazing stay here! The flats are beautifully designed, great neighbours, friendly neighbourhood, perfect location... I would say that they are actually better than they look in the photos. We rented both units in this building for 6 people and there was more than enough room for everyone. Thanks xA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Location

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 16, 2011

Property was in a great location, close to the beach and shopping. Also a great deal for the money. Coffee pot was broken and Tovi replaced it the very next day, very nice owners. Furniture is NOT what is shown in the pictures, and isn't sufficient for a family of 4. There was only a futon style couch and a foot stool in the family room plus an Ikea style kitchen set. Looks like flooring was going to be replaced or carpet was pulled up and work not completed. Enjoyed our vacation and would stay again if the furniture was replaced and an upgraded mattress.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Here is our response:



We are happy that the guest likes the location

Unfortunately she forgets to comment on the beautiful space and lighting

The unit is fully furnished with 2 queen beds, a sofa, dining table, flat TV and other furnishings

It seems like not all of them are to the guest's taste, but nothing can be done about it

The wood floor is the original one which is a very demanded feature in vintage craftsman houses



The unit is beautiful and gets a lot of compliments from our guests

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home on the beach

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Villa Mare di Vita in Santa Monica the month of January 2011. We loved it! Tovi and Miri were excellent hosts, and we enjoyed their company and knowledge of the area, as well as their property. We had a direct view of the ocean and the ferris wheel on the pier; easy access to the beach; easy walks to the Promenade, the Farmers' Market, all the restaurants, shopping, Venice, etc. The room was cozy, but adequate to our purposes. A common area is available with larger kitchen facilities, oven and refrigerator space in case the apartment sized units aren't enough for you, and a flat screen TV for movies or entertaining. When we needed different cooking utensils, cleaning supplies or other items, they were usually just next door in this area. Laundry in the lower level was fine. This is an older building, but clean, well built and attractively decorated. Remember that Santa Monica is a destination, and traffic can be daunting on weekends... but you'll already be where everybody wants to be! We would certainly recommend the Villa di Mare Vita to anyone looking for an extended stay in Santa Monica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Simply Amazing Place to Stay!

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

Villa Mare di Vita is a serene home away from home just steps from the ocean. Miri and Tovi make you feel like part of their family and are always available to give you whatever you need. For a price you can't refuse, every suite has an amazing view of the ocean or the pier, and the luxury of a hotel room, as well as parking, which is rare for a property so near the beach. Dining, fitness and shopping are all within a few minutes' walk from the property, and Miri and Tovi are more than willing to provide suggestions and directions. Additionally, it's easy to keep up with business or friends, Villa Mare di Vita provides desks, workspace and internet access so information is just a click away. If traveling alone, the neighborhood is very secure, and Villa Mare di Vita goes the extra mile to provide security at the property. It really doesn't get any better than Villa Mare di Vita, and I can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Venice Vacation

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

3 queen beds in 3 bedrooms, low quality mattresses and bedding. House was not very clean. Kitchen only had 1 good skillet, 1 adequate pan. Lots of regular "kitchen supplies" like can opener, dish towels, baking sheets, dishwasher deterg. etc. missing.
Living area pleasant, with 1 couch, 1 loveseat, and 2 easy chairs. Garden lovely, but lacked seating.
Neighborhood wonderful. Near beach and shopping. Parking tricky.

Owners response: House is a lovely 3 bedroom 1928 craftsman that sits on the famous walk streets behind Abbot Kinney
Guests had 2 parking spaces: garage parking and outside parking
House is published on the web site as having 3 queen beds
Quality of mattresses and bedding are in the eye of the beholder
kitchen has no shortage of pots, pans, utinsels
Garden has 2 lounge chairs and a big swing
Manager and owner were accessible both by phone, email and in person (saw the guests at least 4 times during their stay and specifically asked them each time if they needed anything)
Were never notified about the cleaniness or the shortage in baking sheets
Could have easily rectify it

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review