reviews for: listing #38124 - Newport, Oregon House rental

Bridge View Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $110 - $150 /nt
    $590 - $690 /wk
    $2,000 - $2,350 /mth

sort by:

lovely house

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

What a beautiful house! Nicely decorated, all the comforts of home and close to the Bay. We had an excellent stay. Thank you!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our cottage has been a labor of love for several years now. To have guests in our home that treat it with such appreciation and respect means a lot to us. Thanks you very much for your kind review.

Sincerely,

Craig and Lisa Reed

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

return guest

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

The first time my wife and I stayed at the cottage was Oct& Nov 2011.We stayed for a month. We would often walk the bay front, shopping at the various shops. As well as just enjoying the water front and the scenic views. The cottage offers all the comforts of home and a charming atmosphere. The cottage is very clean and well maintained. The owner has always been very cooperative and more than willing to help, including when I locked myself out, lol.
The 2nd visit was for 3 weeks the end of January to the middle of February. My mother was very sick and we had to make an emergency trip back to Newport. The owner once again was very accommodating, and with short notice reassured us we would have use of the cottage as long as necessary. I can not emphasis enough how helpful the owner was.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

No Christmas Presents for You

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 17, 2012

This is a beautiful house in a great neighborhood. My husband and I stayed here for two weeks during Christmas vacation, with our two kids. My husband's parents came for three days and stayed at a local resort with a fine restaurant and a pool to enjoy. We were planning on opening presents at the house together and enjoying a meal, but received a phone call from the owner. It was 9:50 pm on Christmas Eve, and it was a rude and accusatory message. The caretakers had reported that additional guests were staying with us. I immediately gave the name of the resort and name of the reservation to the owner so he could confirm. He told us point blank that they were not to step foot in the house. Not allowed to open Christmas presents together. Luckily, the resort felt badly for us and for an additional fee upgraded my husband's parent's room to a suit with kitchen.
Although this house was nice, the idea of accusing a renter of something and not allowing grandparents to share a Christmas is inexcusable. I would not recommend staying here.
Additionally, the heat on the first floor did not work. I mentioned this four time but the owner did nothing to fix it. It was very cold.

Owners response: Dear Guests,

In an effort to prevent situations such as this we have always included very explicit guidelines on our 'Rental Agreement'. We as property owners are limited by the City and our insurance company when it comes to occupancy loads. We also reserve the right to protect our investment from abuse. Please take a moment to read the 'Tenant Guidelines' and 'Rental Agreement' when considering our property. Please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

Craig Reed

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Great Coastal Rental--Highly Recommended

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Beautiful home close to all activities in Newport. We've stayed here before and will again. Everything necessary for clean, comfortable living is here: kitchen with all cooking and eating supplies, bedrooms with comfortable beds, spacious shelving and closets, bathroom with good shower (lots of hot water), washer and dryer, and location-just a short, one-block walk to Bay Street, with its restaurants, commercial fishing environment, and therefore, fresh fish stores. The owner has invested much time and money in this property and it shows.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A perfect sanctuary

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

Bridge View Cottage was the perfect sanctuary for me, my partner and my son. We came to New Port for the difficult task of spreading my mother's ashes per her wishes and needed a place on Highway 101 that would be comfortable, affordable and pleasant. The cottage was all of those things and more. The view is lovely, the home is comfortable and well decorated and maintained. We played some pool in the basement, made a nice dinner in the kitchen (well stocked with cooking ware), watched some TV on the big screen and slept well in the comfortable beds. We were walking distance from the heart of New Port and did some shopping as well. It was a wonderful place to relax and take care of ourselves.

The only downside I could find to the place is that there is no central dining table. There is a small two person table in the kitchen and four person table in the living room that is bar height (which served well). Other than that is was a gorgeous place and I would highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful home in a great location!

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

A lovely home in a great spot to explore and enjoy Newport. Almost everything is with in walking distance or a very short drive. Beautiful view of the bay and bridge. Great amenities and very comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Only Wish

Review submitted: March 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 26, 2009

We have greatly enjoyed our week in your cottage. The views are spectacular, the proximity to the bay front so convenient, and the quality of the house and furnishings beautiful, comfortable and welcoming. We only wish we could stay longer.

Thank you for this opportunity,
Kathy & Ernesto
Flagstaff Arizona

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home away from home

Review submitted: March 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

We had the best time ever staying in your Bridge View Cottage. We loved being so close to the bay front. We could walk down & check our crab pots, or see what the chartered boats brought in from the ocean. Your home was so comfortable it became our home during our great vacation in Newport!

Thanks so much
The Andersons from Idaho

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Honeymooners

Review submitted: March 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2008

Thank you so much for this wonderfulexperience! Our honeymoon was perfect thanks to this place. You have really outdone yourselves. The view, the furnishings and everything else is just spectacular!
Thanks again,
The rices

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lasting Impression

Review submitted: March 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2008

We'e created family memories here in Newport and in the cottage. Thank you for sharing your "home" with us.

Bill and Linda
Saskatchewan, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review