reviews for: listing #38125 - New Paltz, New York House rental

Modern, Artsy & Lofty Log Home
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ulster
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $800 /nt
    $2,400 - $2,750 /wk

sort by:

Great space! Comfortable and relaxing.

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

I rented this property for the weekend to celebrate a 30th birthday. We drove from NYC, looking to escape from the city and take in some fresh air. We had about 12 adults and stayed for two nights. We found we had plenty of room to hang out and play games in the great room (love the wood stove), to all eat together at the long table, and for our sleeping arrangements we had space for everyone to rest comfortably.

The property has some great deck space, a propane grill for cooking and plenty of kitchenware as well. There are some games and puzzles at the house, a foosball table and a good stereo, as well as it being very uniquely decorated. There are also some hiking trails about 30 minutes from the house if you want to get out for the day.

A friend of mine recommended this house and I was very pleased with our stay. Michael was responsive and helpful throughout the rental process. I would highly recommend this property for people of all ages. Overall a fantastic property. Hopefully we will be getting back there soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Christmas

Review submitted: December 27, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

This home was perfect for our family. We had a 2 year old, a 6 year old, and a 10 year old with us and we were all comfortable with plenty of space to find a quiet nap, gather together for dinner at the fabulous long table,or play trivia, etc in the great room. We had a professional chef in our group and he was able to create amazing meals in the kitchen. Great memories made here. Thanks to Michael for being very helpful with meeting our needs.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Reunion Weekend

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We needed a place that was centrally located for 4 couples to have a Reunion. This year we were celebrating 42 years since graduation from Nursing School. Our group was from Massachusettes, Schenectady, Baldwin and Cornwall, NY. The house was perfect! It was a beautiful wooded setting with cathedral ceilings, comfy furniture and a huge dining room table. The house was spotless when we arrived, with clear instructions on how to make our stay a great one.! There was a great Italian Restaurant close to the house for dinner and pizza. We spent hours sitting at the table laughing, playing cards, sharing pictures of our families and just catching up with each other. The kitchen had every appliance you could possibly need! The bedrooms were all a good size and the beds were very comfortable. The location of the house put us close to a number of good restaurants, shopping, hiking and views of farms and wooded areas. We all took a ride to the Walkway over the Hudson in Highland that was good for fun and exercise, and the view was amazing. Mike was helpful every step of the way, since this was my first rental of a house. He was flexible with our arrival and departure times and made our weekend a great success. I would definitely rent with him in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful and clean Home in a Quiet Neighborhood

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

My company was looking for a quiet weekend away from the city to get in touch with nature and reignite our creative juices. This property was perfect for our group of 10. everyone slept comfortably and the common areas were large and open enough for our group meetings and yoga sessions. The house is clean, the property is beautiful and the atmosphere is peaceful. a great place to go for a weekend away from it all.

Thank you!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing log house

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

This was the first place that caught our eye as we were looking for a place to accommodate our large group. Our son was graduating from West Point and we needed a place close by but not too far away from New York City. The house was very easy to find and was beautiful with all the green. We are from Arizona and we are not used to that color green but we were also not used to east coast humidity. Michael was amazing, he drove from NYC to resolve the A/C issue we were having which made the rest of our stay very comfortable. The house was clean and ready for our use. As others have said this house with its open floor plan gives you plenty of room without feeling like you are on top of each other. Fully stocked kitchen and the deck is incredible for sitting outside while you grill and enjoy the view.
Would definitely consider using this house again if we ever needed to accommodate a large group in New York.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great home for family and friends to gather

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

My husband and I booked this home for our family, both sets of parents, aunt/uncle and siblings. After our families left, our friends came in for a long weekend in the house. It was a great home for our mini family and friends reunion. The kitchen is very well equipped and spacious making it great for large groups to gather. The house is big enough that even with a full house, it never felt too crowded. The location is quiet and scenic, close to lots of things to do. We enjoyed hiking in the nearby preserves, wine tasting, and eating in the area. The restaurants were great. Everything was within 15-20 minutes. We also wanted to try apple picking and cycling but never got around too it - we had so much fun relaxing and grilling at the house. Mike was extremely responsive both during and prior to our arrival. Highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful home & great owner

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

My husband, our parents (my Korean parents, his from Dublin Ireland), uncle, wife and my sister all got together for the Christmas Holiday for a week. I think the description and photos are accurate but it is hard to capture in a photo how open and spacious the house really is. It was really a great space for all 9 of us to be together and also be private if you wanted to. The property was very clean. The owner Mike, was a great contact and was in communication with us whenever we needed him. I would toally recommend this property to friends, family etc. The house is located in farm country but New Paltz is only 20 minutes away with many amenities. We all left with such amazing memories and would love to come back again someday! Thank you Mike!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful, Spacious Vacation Home

Review submitted: December 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

This was our 2nd time staying here and we are making it a 3rd in a couple of months! We have a group of 10 ppl and you wouldn't even know there were 10 of us because the house it that spacious. Very clean, very high ceilings, plenty of beds, plenty of showers, nice sized kitchen, large deck, etc. You can count on everything in the description. Also, in comparison to others, this rental is generously priced for what you get. Highly recommend and we will be repeat guests!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful, spacious cabin

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 27, 2011

This house was an absolute delight to stay in. All of the rooms were beautifully furnished, the kitchen was gorgeous, and the property was very well maintained. The living room and dining room area was gigantic! We stayed here during the fall, and it was a quiet, lovely place. The house had many unexpected and welcomed surprises, such as a grill, a gigantic box of legos for children, and many books. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathrooms were clean and spacious.

We had a wonderful time here. We would recommend it to nature lovers looking to stay out in the country, who are looking to hike, relax, and enjoy the beauty of upstate New York.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great vacation house

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

We recently stayed at this house and would highly recommend it to anyone. It was very spacious and comfortable, with a great layout for gatherings of family or friends. We enjoyed the decor and artwork. Lovely country setting- great location for biking or hiking, which is how we spent our time. Also, we had two great meals at the Bruynswick Inn, which is a short walk from the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Saved from motel madness!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

Three generations, aged 8 to 64,from three different states, got togeather in New York to attend West Point Graduation Week. This home was our base of operations. Although most of our time was spent away from the home, it was really great to have the space to be togeather rather than being split up in separate motel rooms. Other than personal food and toiletries, everything we needed and then some was provided. I also liked how easy it was to find the house when we first arrived; no peeking down driveways to see if we were in the right place. We had good contacts with the owner before and after the stay. I would choose this home again and recomend it to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

three generations

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2011

We all visited the area for a family member's wedding. There were 9 of us total, ranging from grandparents, parents, and kids(18 - 8 years old). The kids loved the basketball goal outside and foosball table and puzzles in the game room. We all loved the Wifi that was available; it helped us plan trips to the city! The house was very well maintained and Mike, the owner, was easy to work with, and accommodating to our needs.
The bedrooms, except the fold out couch in the game room, are all upstairs, so keep that in mind if anyone has trouble climbing stairs. We would definitely recommend the house to others.

As a recommendation, there is an italian restaurant near the property that has great food and pizza.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great house!

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

My family stayed here for my dad's 60th birthday weekend. The house was great, had everything we needed and was set in a beautiful area. Mike was very easy to work with. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Holiday

Review submitted: April 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

My husband and I met up with some friends from around USA and spent a week in this wonderful house. Its bright spacious and luxuriously comfortable. It was very well equipped with all mod cons but the nicest thing of all was to sit at the magnificent dining table in the morning and look out on the pond. In the evenings we relaxed in the living room with the log fire. Despite its large size this house feels like a home. I would highly recommend it to anyone planning to spend time in this area as it would suit adults and families alike. It certainly was perfect for our time in upstate New York.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vassar College Graduation Week

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

We arrived to a lovely, clean and spacious log home in a beautiful part of NY State. The house truly felt like a get away for our graduation week with family, who traveled from Pennsylvania, Maryland and Kentucky for our son's graduation at Vassar College. There were 10 adults including my elderly father who slept on the first floor on the sofa bed which was next to the bathroom; perfect for him! We enjoyed most meals outside on the deck, listening to the bullfrogs and cicadas at nighttime. Very relaxing. Our son, the graduate, came over for a cookout and little family party, which was wonderful...we couldn't have done anything like this in a hotel setting! The artwork and furniture were unique which added to the feel of a vacation! The Shawangunk Mountains are breathtaking and the wineries superb! We would highly recommend this home and would definitely consider returning as we love, love this region of New York State. Our only thought was that it was extremely hot in May (90 degrees/humid on a few days) and there was no air conditioning available...apparently this is for the hot summer months. Thank you for great memories!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks fof your comment. We did have an unusually hot early
Summer. There was one week in early Summer.
We install 8 window air conditioner units in late June.
May need to do it sooner, as we are facing uncommon
weather patterns lately.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful home

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

We stayed in the house for a West Point event. The house was absolutely beautiful and we were pleased with how clean it was. It was very open and had enough room to comfortably accommodate the ten people who stayed at the house. The location was very easy to get to and the surrounding area was very scenic. We had guest from all over the country that were amazed by the area. I would definitely recommend this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Trip to the "Gunks"

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

My family spent 7 days at this awesome log home just outside of New Paltz, NY in the summer of 2010.
I have rented homes on vacationrentals.com for the past 4 years and my wife and I agreed that this home was the most comfortable by far. In regards to this part of NY State I'm a little biased because this is where I was born and raised. However, I will put the beauty of the Shawankgunks Mountains up against most areas in the US.

The kitchen was spacious, modern and first class. (The owner had everything possible for cooking).
The game room was awesome for my three (3) little boys. Loved the games, view from the deck and basketball hoop in the driveway.

We felt as if the area was quite central to day trip activities such as Hyde Park, Culinary Institute, Woodstock, Lake Minnewaska, Mohonk Mountain House, Ellenville and Cragsmoor.

The artwork in the home made the place very unique and homey.
The large family room with a big TV was great for my wife and I do to our morning "Insanity" workouts.

The owner is an excellent communicator and a pleasure to do business with.
The house was very clean and organized.

I would recommend this house for a super vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cozy Winter

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

We spent Christmas weekend here which was a perfect log cabin for a snowy winter! It really was lovely, huge living room, where we all lazed around the fire place. The kitchen was a lovely bright place to hang out as well, where we all sat around the island while we cooked. This place is ideal for a medium-large gathering, there were 7 adults and 1 child in our group, just the right number, I think. The Decor is tasteful and luxurious and gives you a very upgraded feel to the house. The house was spotless when we arrived, which is a rare trait as we have stayed in plenty of rentals, when you arrive there is always something to clean up....The 5th bedroom however is on the ground floor and seemed more like a games room rather than a bedroom. But looked like it could be easily converted to a bedroom if needed. Although it is advertised as being in New Paltz it is a good 15-20 minutes to the town, so technically it's in Wallkill. But this was not a big deal for us. We really enjoyed our time here and would highly recommend it and return!! Thanks Michael! We had a great Christmas.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Large beautiful log house

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

A group of us (part of a bridal party) stayed here for the weekend. It was the perfect space for this gathering. The living space and kitchen area was HUGE and easily accommodated us. The property was very clean, well-maintained, and the owner is VERY responsive and easy to deal with.

The downstairs "bedroom"/office is actually a pull-out couch -- initially we were looking for another "bed"- room since the place is so huge. There was a shower in that downstairs office but it was out of service when we were there -- there are two bath/showers upstairs but with so many of getting ready at the same time, it would have been nice to have the use of that 3rd shower. The owner let me know about this inconvenience beforehand.

We had wedding activities planned everynight elsewhere but the deck and grill was available. It would have been fun to have a cookout but we didn't get to take advantage of the kitchen/deck as much as I would have liked. It's definitely a great place to stay "home" and eat at. The kitchen seemed fully stocked with plates/utensils.

I love the New Paltz area. The location of the property is a drive away. You will need to have a car to get around.

Overall we all loved the house and formed great and fond memories there. I would definitely recommend it to a large group.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful home, great for group get away

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

This house is perfect for a large group. It is clean, spacious and uniquely furnished. There are 4 bedrooms upstairs, an office/game room with a pullout couch downstairs and a huge carpeted living room with a woodstove which was a great place for people to congregate. The owner Mike was responsive before, during and after our stay and also provided detailed written instructions for us at the house which helped to answer a lot of our questions. The house is located close to Mohonk Mountain house which has a lot of fun activities for all ages.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

August Wedding

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

We were in Wallkill for our son's wedding and rented this house for family. It was a wonderful house. We also rented another house nearby and we used this house for gathering for dinner. The huge dining room table was perfect. It was close to and an easy drive to Mohonk Mountain House for the wedding. I would highly recommend. Thank you Mike for sharing it with us. I know we will have to come back to see some of the places we missed. What a beautiful area to grow up in(the bride).
Lauren

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review