reviews for: listing #3813 - Bethel, Maine House rental

Beautiful Waterfront Log Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Papoose Pond
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $250 /nt
    $875 - $1,350 /wk

sort by:

Fantastic Early Fall Week

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

This cabin was just right for our vacation. The lane only goes to this cabin and the nearest neighbors were out of sight through the woods. We only saw a couple of other people in kayaks or canoes on the pond the whole week. The cabin is not a "showplace," it has been lived in and loved for a long time. Some of the furnishings are a little worn but it is clean and has everything you could need. It was just the two of us, so we didn't need all the bedrooms, but I can see this cabin being spacious enough for any big family. The fireplace was very enjoyable and they had the wood pile well stocked and accessible under the porch. I will say the washing machine needed cleaned out, someone had washed very sandy things before us. Also the water pressure of the downstairs shower was very low. Nothing major that can't be easily fixed and it certainly didn't take away from our enjoyment of our week.
We spent a lot of time on the porch enjoying the peace and quiet. You can't tell from the picture, but the porch looks out on the pond through a few big fir trees. There is a bird feeder on the porch that is very popular. We are birdwatchers so it was a delight to us when a Bald Eagle landed in a tree on the other side of the pond. The canoe was very enjoyable and easy to use. The cabin is far enough from any town lights that the stars were stunning. The Milky Way has never looked so close!
We didn't get to see a moose at the cabin, but we saw one north of Grafton Notch State Park so our Maine trip was complete! For sightseers and nature lovers who like us aren't major hikers, we highly recommend a trip to Screw Auger Falls, Moose Cave and the Artist Covered Bridge. We also spent a lot of time in the White Mountains National Forest, crossing into New Hampshire frequently. The views from the top of Mt. Washington will take your breath away, well worth the trip and the price to drive up. We also drove the length of the Kancamagus Highway on a perfect fall day. There were so many parks and places we wanted to see, we didn't get to all of them. It is a beautiful area and it was a perfect place for a fall vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the great review. The couches were a bit tattered, so we just ordered new ones! Also, our plumber just fixed the bathroom shower. Thanks again for all the feedback and I'm glad you had a nice vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Disappointment

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

I rented this vacation cottage thinking we could go swimming ("shallow sandy bottom" ). The bottom was very mucky and there was a great deal of milfoil in the water.
The cabin itself was very run down. The living room rug was in extreme need of replacement (years of ground in dirt) and had burn holes. The weather and the cabin were sweltering. There were two or three very small fans that were of little use. (Angela did say she would be getting turbo fans.). Because the slider had a large tear in the screen, and the Mosquitos were brutal, we had to keep the slider shut come dusk which did not help the heat situation. We were so disappointed we stayed only a few days.

On a positive note, the kitchen was well equipped and there were plenty of games, etc. to occupy children.

I had to give a great deal of thought before writing this negative review but I give reviews a good amount of weight when deciding to rent and I certainly would have thought twice if I had read a review that was not glowing. I have reviewed at least three other rentals from Homeaway and have given five stars to all the others.

Owners response: Heat waves are rare in the mountains of Maine, so small fans and the 2 ceiling fans in the great room, have been adequate in the past. For future renters, we have gotten 2 turbo fans. (I would have gladly had my caretaker deliver a few, had I known how disappointed the renters were). The lake is tested annually by the Lake Environmental Assoc (LEA)... there is no milfoil in the lake and it is considered healthy for swimming and lake activities. The clarity does vary from year to year (depending on rain fall and other factors... more info can be found on LEA's website). The slider door screens were immediately repaired (as soon as I found out). Also, this was the 1st we heard of unclean floors, and after inspecting the vacuum cleaner, we found out that the suction was not working properly (we have bought a new vacuum). We have a caretaker and housekeeper, and visit the home a few times a year, to ensure that upgrades and repairs are made as soon as we become aware of them. Also, we do make upgrades from time to time. Because we (as renters) have been disappointed in the past, we do pay a lot of attention to renter's feedback and maintenance; and we price the home below what comparable lakefront homes are priced, to ensure renters are happy. I am sincerely sorry that these renters were disappointed, and have addressed all their concerns (fans, screen repair, etc).

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful Vacation!!

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: December 12, 2011

This was a great place for having fun with the family. We all enjoyed the firplace, local coffee shops, and quilt shop. This home provided us with everything we needed for a great time! Thanks

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ideal Family Getaway

Review submitted: September 30, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

We rented 9/18-9/25 2011. The house was quiet and peaceful. Everything was provided that we needed. Our group included my brother and his wife, my mom and my wife, 10 month old daughter and myself. There was plenty of space for everyone to relax. There were two solid wood child gates. One at the top of the basement steps and one at the base of the steps to the second floor. They came in handy with a 10 month old that thought she needed to explore every inch of the house. The front porch was wonderful. We saw a Bald Eagle the second day. The home was centrally located for what we wanted to see. The coast was only about an hour away and so were the White Mtns. I only wish the weather was cooler so we could have tried out the fireplace. I know no one in our group wanted to leave at the end of the week. I'm sure we will be back in the future.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 21, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Just back from an awesome time. This is by far the best house for the best money my family has stayed at. It is a beautiful log home that is totally private. Beds all seemed brand new. An awesome ski house because it is the best of both worlds. It is a beautiful drive to skiing- we skiied Sunday River and Mt. Abrhams The kids loved seeing horseback riders in the snow on the way. The scenery was so pretty we were glad we did not stay right at one of the mountains. Plus the house had a whole bunch of sleds and tubes and all of us could sled right down to the lake from the house. It was the kids favorite house and ours too. Huge fireplace, very clean. Not to mention a great price in comparison for all you get.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 27, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

This is the second time we have rented this house. It is a great house with a great location. Lots of hiking , kayaking, or just relaxing. Perfect for kids.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 24, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Wonderful cabin set in the woods! Very relaxing, great sounds of nature every morning. Fully equiped with everything we needed. Would love to stay again someday.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 28, 2006   Date of arrival: February 1, 2006

We had a great stay at the cabin. Very close to Sunday River which was nice after a full day of skiing and tubing. Got about 4 inches of snow the last night we were there and the drive was plowed before we even woke up! Would definitely rent again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 28, 2006   Date of arrival: February 1, 2006

A perfect place to spend a ski vacation. Well equipped, outstanding fireplace, beautiful view, privacy and quiet. Good hot water, a must after a cold day at Sunday River. We felt right at home in this lovely log cabin, and bet it's just as wonderful for fall or summer.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 20, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

We stayed at the cabin on the week starting 10/09/05. The place is wonderful. Very cozy and well appointed, we felt right at home. We love cooking and were happy to find the kitchen well stocked with everything we needed. The views of Papoose Pond are great, and we enjoyed a trip around it in the Canoe provided by the owners. Great location, secluded, but 10 minutes to major grocery store and Wal Mart. Lots to do in the area as well. We hiked at Grafton, and took lots of foliage drives around the area (the leaves were spectacular!) We would definitely stay there again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 9, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

The cabin was beautiful. Great layout. Very quiet and secluded. Peaceful. Loved the porch over looking the lake. The hammock was great too. A wonderful relaxing vacation place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 6, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

Great house and great location. Quiet, peaceful and thoroughly enjoyable. House is nicely furnished and has everything you need including lobster crackers! We had a wonderful vacation.

Owner is great to deal with, called us on our arrival to make sure we had everything we needed. This is definitely a thumbs up rental.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 7, 2005   Date of arrival: March 1, 2005

Nice, comfortable house. Lovely and quiet location. Would stay there again. Owner is good to deal with...good communication.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 25, 2005   Date of arrival: January 1, 2005

My husband and I spent a week at the cabin over New Years 2005. The cabin was very clean and well maintained. The fire place was great to heat the home. The pond was beautiful and we watched the ice fisherman and the bald eagle that stole their fish! This is a great place to get away from the hustle bustle and to relax. We will definately be back

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 3, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

We rented the cabin the weekend of October 1st, to see the leaves change. The cabin was excellent. The interior and exterior are well maintained. The all wood interior gives it a very cozy feel. The kitchen is well-appointed and you'll find most of the things you need in it. The stove is a radiant cooktop, so it is easy to clean and much easier to cook on than an electric. The view of the lake from the cabin is nice and the porch makes it a great place to sit and look at nature. All-in-all it was a great place to rent, I would definitely recommend it for anyone, particularly families.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 2, 2004   Date of arrival: September 1, 2004

Our vacation was August 8th - 15th , 2004. It took us 12 hours to arrive but it was well worth the trip. This log home is beautiful. The open style is perfect and looking out the windows over the pond was a dream. The canoe and sailboat were a definite plus. It was so peaceful canoeing the pond and enjoying all of the homes along the water's edge. We hiked several of the trails and tried to find a moose, to no avail. Our lobster dinner at one of the marinas was fantastic.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 5, 2004   Date of arrival: August 1, 2004

If you're the kind of person who likes the outdoors, and is into hiking, nature viewing, or canoeing and kayaking, this is a good place for a vacation. While it is not the Ritz, the cabin is roomy, comfortable, reasonably priced and quiet. The real attraction, however, is the location. It is in a very rural area that is surrounded by natural beauty, and full of wildlife.
During our travels we saw a moose, a fox, a muskrat, a large water snake (at Horseshoe Pond) and many birds, including loons (one right in front of the cabin), and a nighthawk! Late one night a deer walked through the yard.
We enjoyed wonderful trips in our canoes to local ponds and rivers, and had an especially exciting ten mile run down the Androscoggin river with the help of the good people at Outdoor Adventure and Campground in Bethel. We also had fun sightseeing in nearby Grafton Notch and climbing to the top of Sabattus Mountain for some spectacular views of the White mountains. It's a very nice place to get away for a week.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 15, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

Really enjoyed our week on Papoose Pond. A very relaxing setting to get away from it all, yet still close enough to nearby pockets of civilization if you need it (stores, restaurants, recreation). Pond was quiet and not very busy, fish were plentiful, though sometimes difficult to catch - even saw a cow moose feeding across the pond one evening.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 8, 2003   Date of arrival: April 1, 2003

Great place. Not too far from Sunday river. The cabin was great. Very confortable place to come back and rest from hitting the slopes and recharge for the next day of skiing.

Looks like it is a great place for a summer time vacation too since its is right in front of a lake.

Two thumbs up!

- JLH

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 29, 2002   Date of arrival: August 1, 2002

What a great location! Loved Papoose Pond (a bit more sand at the site would help w/children) ~~ loved North Waterford...a very pretty area, rural but with plenty to do. The campground was fun, kids loved the Carousel rides! The house is absolutely gorgeous! If porch had been childproofed would have been better, because little ones are unsafe on the porch. Homeowner had lots for kids to play with (toys, movies, rocking horse, pak n play, etc.) which was a pleasant surprise. Loved spending "alone time" in the hammock overlooking the gorgeous pond. Thanks for a great week!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 16, 2002   Date of arrival: August 1, 2002

The house was absolutely beautiful! We had a really great time, it was a very quiet and peaceful location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review