reviews for: listing #38165 - Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina Condo rental

Ocean Isle Beach, NC Condo Free Wi-Fi, Great Pool, Sea Kayak
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Channel Harbor
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $150 /nt
    $695 - $895 /wk
    $2,700 - $2,900 /mth

sort by:

Perfect for Young family

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

We just came back for a great week of fun.
The unit was perfect for a family of 4 ( two young kids). It was clean and functionnal.
The location si very quiet and safe.
My two years old son walk easly to the beach each morning.
The beach was good for bodysurfing and safe for kids .

Even with a 19 hours car ride from Montréal we will go back someday.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for your email. We are pleased that you and your family had such a great vacation. Montreal is a long drive so the destination better be good! We have always said that the west end of Ocean Isle Beach is very convenient to the beach, inlet and Intra Coastal Waterway for all ages. The beach is wide and sandy and getting to the dune crossing is a breeze. Walking and biking is always preferable to driving, even to the waterfront restaurant. Our satisfied guests are our best sales force so please share your vacation experience with your friends. We look forward to having you back at the beach next summer. NOTE: All 32 Channel Harbor condos are one bedroom one bath and are privately owned, decorated and maintained by the individual. We can arrange for additional condos with other property owners if you want to come back with friends or family.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Great Condo, Accessible Owner!

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

This condo was perfect for our family of four -- a pool right down the stairs and a short walk to the beach. Unit is well-maintained and looks just like the pictures. The best part for me was that when I had some questions and an issue with the clothes dryer not working, not only was the owner immediately reachable, but he sent someone to fix it shortly after. We had a great week!

Owners response: Thanks for your review. We enjoyed having you this week and hope you can come back again next summer. We know that our satisfied guests are our best sales force and aim to please. Ocean Isle Beach is a magical place of lasting memories. I am glad that we left you with a great impression of our little piece of paradise. Safe travels.

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Wonderful Beach Vacation

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Our visit at Ocean Isle was better than I had hoped for! Our family had never rented a private space before, so we were a little nervous about what to anticipate, but there were no disappointments. Michael has all the basics covered and the items in the shed for your personal use were a huge bonus... from beach umbrellas to bocce ball! We lived at the beach daily and utilized the pool (when our kids were tired of digging sand out of thier suits lol) but it was nice to go back and have the comforts of home and save money for the "special" things on our trip by eating in on the grill daily. Beach is a very short walk away, pool in your yard, sun everyday, a CLEAN and inviting place to call home for a week.. we LOVED it! Thank You Michael and your team :)

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review. We have rented enough beach property personally to know what it is like to be apprehensive about the process and experience.... sometimes you just don't know what your walking into. And those incidentals...beach chairs, umbrella, pool and beach toys add up and are a pain to stuff back into the station wagon. As such, we have tried very hard to take the unknowns out of the equation and deliver more than was expected. Your kind review is music to our ears, thanks! Hope you can come back again next summer and experience our little slice of paradise. Channel Harbor makes for a great week at the beach and we are pleased that you got to enjoy it.

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Not pleased...

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

My husband and I went down to Ocean Isle for a relaxing Memorial Day weekend. When we arrived the property manager was trying to fix the wireless internet at the condo. That was great, we thought it would be fixed and we would have wireless for the remainder of the weekend. We got all of our belongings up the 3 flights of stairs and began to take a look a round. The condo seemed fine upon arrival, but after further inspection it was obvious that the place had not been cleaned recently or at all. There was hair all in the bathtub and on the bathroom floor, and there were numerous dead bugs in the kitchen. I was very disappointed, and my husband called the property manager (who had just been there and knew we were there) to ask him about the cleanliness. He did not answer his phone, so my husband left him a message to please return his phone call. This was on Friday evening, and we never heard back from him... ever. Later that evening, we could not find any piece of information that gave the wireless internet password, so I emailed the property manager that Friday evening, and again did not ever hear back from him. We proceeded to clean the place ourselves so we could bare it. On another note, the condo has absolutely no view of anything except for other condos in the village area. The walk is short to the beach, but it was very crowded on the beach because it was the part of the island where it is mostly multi-family residences and rentals. We would not recommend staying here if you like ocean/water views, privacy, and a clean rental. Very disappointing stay to say the least. We will not be returning...

Owners response: I am disappointed and sorry that you and your husband were not satisfied with your Memorial Day weekend stay. We work very hard to anticipate our guests needs and try to exceed your expectations. That fact that we did such a miserable job is very discerning. In our six years of rentals, yours is the first review that was not 5 out of 5. We will take it to heart and promise to do better in the future.

In our defense, we inspected the unit before you arrived and that is how we knew that your Wi-Fi was not working properly. My contact information (home phone, cell phone, office phone) was on every piece of correspondence that I had with you. A review of all 3 call logs did not show any calls from you (messages or hang ups) other than the time we spoke directly by phone. Our ability to be contacted is something that we will have to disagree on. We are very very accessible. The Wi-Fi code was clearly printed on the same document that had your door code to get into the unit (which also had my 3 contact phone numbers).

I do appreciate your staying with us and for your review. We will work harder to insure that those things that we have direct control over are done well, and those things that we depend on others to do for us are tended to in a timely and more professional manner.

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

Great value, fun beach, nice amenities

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

This condo was clean, well kept and comfortable. All of the amenities worked well...Wi-Fi, TV's, washer/dryer, kitchen appliances...Channel Harbor is a small (4 building, 32 unit) development around a pool, managed by the owners (not a property management company). It makes a difference! Everything is well kept and well done. Only 300 feet from the ocean dune (easy walk for young kids), 100 feet from the Intra Coastal Waterway and close to restaurants and shopping. Great area for walking and biking. Beautiful beach. Nice pool and deck. Tons of golf courses and new public tennis courts within a few miles. We will be back next summer!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our family loves Ocean Isle Beach. We are glad to hear that you do too. We appreciate your feedback and we are pleased that you and your family found our OIB Channel Harbor condo well kept and to your liking. We do take pride in our condo and try to keep it in tip top shape. We look forward to having you back again next summer...and please tell your friends.

Thanks again
Michael, Diane, Lewis & Emalee

Helpful votes: 51 / 51

 

Great value, clean and well kept

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

We have stayed in some real doozys over the years. This Channel Harbor condo was a gem! Better than we expected. Clean, cozy and well kept. The beach caddy with chairs and umbrella was a nice amenity. The gas grill was a nice way to cook at home and save some money. We have never stayed in the same place twice. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 65 / 65

 

Great Condo, Great Owners

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

The condo was nicer than we expected. What a great value. What a great location. We enjoyed the pool just as much as the kids. We took full advantage of the Wi-Fi and downloaded movies from the internet. Thanks so much for the use of the beach chairs, umbrella and beach caddy. Not having to carry our beach cooler and chairs made the walk to the ocean seamless, even for our youngest. We appreciate your attention to our comfort. See you next year! David, Emalee, Richard & Susan.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our condo. We look forward to having you back again next summer! MSY

Helpful votes: 69 / 69

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will be back!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

This is such a comfortable condo. It is so clean, well kept and stocked for vacation. We made full use of the gas grill. The use of the beach caddy with beach chairs and umbrella was much appreciated. It made walking a short block to the dunes effortless, even for the kids. Could not keep the kids out of the pool. See you next summer.

Helpful votes: 49 / 49

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review