reviews for: listing #38187 - St Simon's Island, Georgia House rental

The Tides Cottage-LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ocean View
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,200 - $2,000 /wk

sort by:

Home Sweet Beach Home

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2013

Each of my family members, when they arrived at the house in St. Simonds, loved it at first sight and they continued to exclaim and admire various features as the days passed. The decor was a visual treat that spoke of the beach location we were there to enjoy. We were within walking distance to the public beach and to shops, restaurants and the liquor store. There are plenty of historical sites to drive to from the house as well as the town of St. Simonds with its pier and lighthouse. There was lots of space to park all 4 of our cars and the yard included a shady place to sit and enjoy the night air. An outdoor shower was useful for cooling us off when we returned from the beach. The beds were comfy and clean as were the bathrooms and kitchen. We fixed several meals in the well appointed kitchen. The house was accessible to my husband who has some mobility issues with only two steps up to the back porch entrance. I spoke with the owner by email and phone prior to the visit and all questions were answered to my satisfaction. Clear directions for entering and leaving the house were posted at the house. I cannot think of one negative we experienced in our stay at this house and feel that it helped my family and me create a very special beach trip memory. I would definitely recommend this property to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Beach House

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

We used this house for a mens golf trip for 8. The location was fantastic with great proximity to the beach and restaurants within walking distance. The home itself was very clean and had a complete kitchen and spacious family room. I would reccomend this rental for groups, but would also be perfrect for a family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Atlanta

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

Great location on a quiet street with nearby access to everything we wanted (beach, shopping, restaurants, grocery). Perfect for our family and our kids friends. Updated technology with fast wireless network. Kids loved upstairs area and had room for air mattress in media room. We will come again. Thanks for making the rental process so easy and convenient.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

fun seekers

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

My husband and I came with 2 of our children and two of there friends. All of them teenagers. They were never bored. We had a fantastic time and would highly recommend St Simons and in particular this rental. I think the house was prettier then the listing photos showed. The beaches and resteraunts were great. The owner was very responsive with any questions I had. We will definately be coming back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Pleasant Stay

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We came to St. Simons with our 2 small children and their grandparents. The owner was wonderful to work with and gave us great dining suggestions. This home has substantial parking and the small fenced front yard was a perfect place for the kids to play. The interior is quaint and very relaxing. The location is within walking distance of the beach, bike rental, shopping, and great seafood. A young lady at the bike shop asked where we were staying and I said The Tides Cottage, she quickly said she lived across the street and has always thought that was the perfect beach house. Our family could not agree more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic place!!

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

This house on St. Simons is charming and has everything you need! We didn't want to leave. East Beach was a short 3 minute drive from the cottage. There is a grocery store nearby and restaurants within walking distance. I can't say enough about "The Tides Cottage", I hope to return soon. Amy has thought of everything! There were plenty of dishes for entertaining, tons of beach towels, and enough space for a group of eight. We used this home for a women's retreat, and it was absolutely perfect!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The most memorable vacation

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 25, 2011

We arrived on Sept 21 unsure of what to expect. When we walked in the front door we were overwhelmed with all the amenities! We didn't have to bring anything but our clothes. They have everything we needed to just start enjoying our vacation. To the owner of the home, you have made this vacation experience the most memorable one we have ever had! To anyone wondering if they should choose this path or choose a hotel, I can guarantee that you will be more then satisfied with this vacation home. You will never find the comfort, privacy and amenities at any hotel. I highly recommend this house to anyone looking to stay on St. Simons Island and feel like they actually live there!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very, very nice

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

This property was extremely clean and accommodating for my family of four. The location was a great part of the island for us because it allowed for quick trips to the beach, the community pool, and several restaurants. The kitchen was totally stocked, so we were able to prepare breakfast every morning, and have late night snacks without having to go out. Overall, this cottage was a lovely place to stay, and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting St. Simon's Island.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

It Doesn't Get Any Better

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We went to Tides Cottage for a long holiday weekend, and it was the kind of visit that makes you want to move in! The house is beautiful, comfortable, and everything you could need or want. The pictures don't do it justice on how spacious and well maintained it really is. And the location is perfect. Walking distance to a cute little breakfast place and other restaurants & shopping, and only a short distance to the center of town. The beach is only a few blocks away so you go at the drop of a hat. St. Simon is a wonderful location and feels like a vacation even for a short visit. It is really great. We will certainly go back, and would recommend Tides Cottage completely.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review