reviews for: listing #382070ha - Playa Hermosa (Guanacaste), Costa Rica rental

Beautiful Villa w/Ocean View from Every Room; Walk to the Beach
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 264 - $ 364 / night
    $ 2,549 / week
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

Slice of Heaven!

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

Wow! What an amazing girls trip in Playa Hermosa! The views from every inch of this beautiful villa were breathtaking. The owners were so prompt and generous with suggestions and information about their favorite sights, restaurants, tours, beaches, etc. Laura at Milargro was like a family to us! She provided us "Beck and Call" service beyond any rental company that I have dealt with. I have rented over 50 homes all over the world through VRBO and this home was spectacular for our party of 4 ladies! We each had our own bedroom and tons of space to spread out, relax and spend sunsets out by the pool or the rooftop terrace. Bernal and Lilliana at Tico Tours provided private tours for us with amazing guides. We had so much fun with all of them at Tico. It was all first class- the restaurants, the volcano tours, natural steaming mud baths, private massages at the villa, chef services from Rocio, great diving, day trip to Nicaragua, Palo Verde National Park and river tour, Miravalles Waterfalls, etc. We saw 3 types of monkeys, countless species of birds, iguanas everywhere, baby crocodiles, etc. We cannot wait to return! Pura Vida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

UNBELIEVABLE

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

We were so lucky to have found this. This house is as all the reviews say it is...wonderful. I can't say enough about this house. The house was perfect , Costa Rica was perfect and Hermosa was definitely perfect. We had 7 adults and a baby stay here. We had seven different opinions and choices what to do. Costa Rico and Tico Tours provided for all the different choices.We all did agree on the pool.... it was tiny! It may have been tiny but we were in it at least 5 hours a day (starting at 5:30 AM, My grandaughter woke us to go in the pool in the morning)!
Initially, we thought about renting a car. I'm glad there was a snafu at the car rental place. We relied on Tico Tours, some cabs and some walking.Tico tours was able to show us much more than what we would have been able to find on our own. We ate every morning at the casa, we lunched where we were spending the day and we had dinner when we came home.We did take advantage of using the chefs twice, it was excellent. I highly recomend this rental but you need to contact Tico Tours also.THANK YOU, THANK YOU

Owners response: Glad you had a good time and our house worked well for you. While we call it a splash pool, with 7 people in, it can be cozy! And Tico Tours does a good job.
Thank you and come back again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay @ Casa Buena Vista

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay @ Casa Buena Vista the week of Feb 8-15. The house was perfect for our vacation at Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica. Plenty of space for any activities and a great kitchen that was well stocked. The house was well maintained, clean, bright with wonderful decor. The location was perfect for beach time, restaurants and there was a small grocery store just 5 minutes down the hill. We spent a lot of time in the plunge pool as the temps were in the 90's. What a great way to cool off! The outside lounging areas were a real plus and provided us with plenty of space to relax and enjoy not only the plunge pool, but the fantastic view of Playa Hermosa and the Pacific ocean. The management company even provided us with a welcome basket of coffee, chips & salsa. Nice touch. Our favorite restaurant in the area was Ginger which was so good we went there twice for dinner. Another great restaurant within walking distance is Bosc del Mar at the Playa Hermosa Hotel where we had lunch our last day of vacation. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Buena Vista.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Situation and Comfortable

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 31, 2013

Five friends stayed in this lovely villa for a 1 week girls' vacation. The house met our needs perfectly and was well located in a gated community. We "lived" on the terrace with the lovely view of the Pacific off Playa Hermosa. The villa was clean, as described, and well-maintained. A nice surprise was that the owner's responsive management company was there upon our arrival to welcome us and provide an orientation of the house - very helpful!! We loved the local restaurants, especially Ginger and Hotel del Bosque and their restaurant, Niromi, for dinner and Finisterra for breakfast - what a view!! After visiting several of the beaches to the south of us, our 1st choice was always the southern end of Playa Hermosa - uncrowded and more Costa Rican family oriented with lots of parking. In fact we enjoyed the native feel of Playa Hermosa very much. I'm sure if you are planning to rent this wonderful villa, the owner will share with you directions to some "secret" beaches - a special treat! We used local Tico Tours for several day tours and can't say enough about it's founder and guide, Bernal. He runs an excellent company.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Home, Fantastic Location!

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Our party (7 people) stayed at Casa Buena Vista over the New Year's holiday this year. Absolutely beautiful house, spectacular views and a great location. Easily within walking distance to the beach, several fantastic restaurants and plenty of activities. Would definately recommend to families or larger groups. The pictures do not do it justice!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

As a family we have experienced many wonderful places and vacations. Our week here in Costa Rica at this property rates right up at the top. We traveled here with our 3 grown children and were more than impressed with the beautiful spacious home, the proximity to the beach and the breath-taking view from the terrace. We started our day with coffee looking over the ocean, spent great afternoons on the beach or ones nearby, and ended the day watching the sunset from the balcony. We loved the closeness to the Liberia airport and the feel of a "local" beach. Playa Hermosa still has the Tico feel and our favorite place was lunch or dinner at Hotel Valero, with our table pulled right up to the edge of the beach. It was a perfect vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Home

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

We just returned from renting this beautiful house.What a great place to stay in Costa Rica. The view is simply amazing. The rooms are large and everything you need is here. We are so glad we choose this area to stay. It is close to many things, incuding beaches ( but you really do have to drive to them ),restaurants, and even a small market where you could buy liquor and food to make at the house. We loved sitting by the pool and watching the birds and aguanas . Monkeys were in the trees down by the beaches.We would not even hesitate to rent this property again. Great times !!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Costa Rica paradise

Review submitted: December 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 16, 2011

Wonderful house with great views. This is a nice area, small town with a real Costa Rica experience.
I loved hearing all the tropical bird songs as I woke up in the morning and the gentle wave and monkey sounds in the evening. We had many trips to nearby destinations. Tamarindo surfing, Volcano hikes and a 2 day trip to Granada Nicaragua. There are many good restaurants nearby, but we cooked many of our meals in the great kitchen and ate outside on the veranda watching the sunset. We had great fishing on a half day trip (Freddy senior and Freddy junior know where to go!). We caught lots of fish and enjoyed the remote coastline and sightings of dolphins, turtles and many seabirds.
We came into Liberia airport,( I will never come in thru San Jose airport again!!) Just 20 minutes to the house, so easy. I would definitely stay in this house again. The Views there are amazing, we hated to leave. The property was well maintained and clean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Incredibly peaceful, beautiful; undiscovered treasure!

Review submitted: December 10, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

We stayed here a year ago and still rave about our week here. We loved being able to easily get around locally without using a car; well stocked small store closeby, walk to beach is quite enjoyable, little restaurants serve up yummy food. We saw and heard monkeys in the trees during our beach walks. The bay was gentle and good for a nice long swim. And when we felt like jumping in the car we went snorkeling nearby. We took a day trip to go surfing and another day to play on zip lines. (Quite thrilling for ages 16 - 60; big FUN!!). These were easy distances to cover by car. The home and community were so deliciously relaxing we decided to spend every other day at the house; we spent the opposite day going on various outings. Balconies provided great space & privacy for my yoga. Patio had incredible sunsets over the bay; perfect setting for before dinner (and during and after) drinks. BBQing here shared that great view too. Upstairs sitting area gave kids a place to sprawl without us tripping over them. Can't say enough great. It was perfect for us!!! Special thanks!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolute Paradise!!!!

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 30, 2009

This house is amazing and it is perfectly situated with beautiful views and a real sense of seclusion on the hillside and yet is still an easy walk to the beach or the little market down the road. The kitchen is fully stocked and is truly a "cooks" kitchen. The house is beautifully decorated, large and wonderfully laid out and works perfectly for multiple families who also want their own separate spaces and balconies (we were a group of 7 and we had lots of space). If I could do it over, I would stay here longer and plan more day trips using this house as our base rather than driving all over Costa Rica - it's also so convenient from the northern airport which is just so easy to get in and out of. I hated to leave this beautiful house and want to go back ASAP!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay, please come again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pura Vida Vacationing

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

Spent a week here with a group of 6. Extremely comfortable and relaxing. We made extensive use of the kitchen (and the blender) and BBQ. House is amazing. As the first review says, relatively new construction, nice little pool, stunning views. Can't beat it. We did a number of day trips, but also took quite a bit of time to just lay about the place with drinks in hand. Really nice roof top deck, too.

Tip: Local groceries can be a challenge - look for (I think it was) the Auto Mercado, but there are lots of local places, too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Pura Vida!

We like to go just to relax and eat at the great restaurants nearby.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Beauty

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

The property and view are exquisite. Everything about Playa Hermosa is world class. The view is spectacular, looking out over an infinity pool to an expansive view of the Pacific. The house is amazing. Rooms are large and well appointed. The kitchen - which also has a great view - is large enough to host family reunions. The bedrooms all sport wonderful views. The master bedroom is amazing. There's also large verandas and a rooftop viewing area that provides wonderful stargazing. Playa Hermosa is a great choice if you want a place in lovely Costa Rica to get away from it all but yet have world class amenities.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise, With a great view!!!

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

This quality villa is located on a steep hill overlooking Playa Hermosa and the bay and islands beyond. When the sun is setting and you're sitting on the amazing veranda sipping your cold tropical beverage, preparing the coals to barbecue some local dorado or camerones, you'll need to pinch yourself. Yes, you're not dreaming this is paradise.

The owners are extremely helpful and nice to work with. They seem to use the house often so it's well maintained and "working," not impersonal. The house is very well built relatively new construction and comfortably sleeps 8. If you have a bigger group or are traveling with multiple families, it is also possible to rent the place nextdoor for overflow.

There are many activities in the area or short day trips away. Wildlife tours, bird watching, scuba, surfing lessons, zip lines, and colonial city architecture. Good restaurants abound. I would highly recommend this place to friends or relatives. The only caveat I'd make is that the pool is truly a plunge pool, beautifully made and situated on the terrace, but too small for lap swim or rambunctious use.

All in all a great place. We will definitely return...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review