reviews for: listing #38221 - Tulum, Yucatan House rental

Utmost Privacy
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Tulum Beach
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,700 - $3,500 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful Location!

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

The privacy and views of the water were both relaxing and beautiful. The sun was out every day I was there and the views of the sunset and stars from the rooftop deck were breath taking. Dan, one of the owners is an extremely nice and helpful man and I received a very warm welcome from him! The beach is very private and the water beautiful. If you come in October/November do bring bug spray as the mosquitos are quite bad.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

log off from our busy life

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

Thank you so much for our truly
lovely week here at Casa Estrellita !
It's exactly what we needed ; to completely
log off from our busy life in London.
Hopefully wer will be back one day !
All the best.
Marta & Daniel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

milestone birthdays

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

Dear Dan & Vera,
What a wonderful place for the two of us to spend our milestone birthdays !
the house was great, although we spent most of our waking hours on the beach.
We hardly saw anyone on the beach during the week, and just a few beach walkers on the weekend.
Fantastic !
It's a special place-
we hope to return some day.
Best to you both,
Joe & Evan
Washington

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

saw all of 4 people

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Dan - Vera,
Thank you so much. We loved Casa Estrellita !
I think we saw all of 4 people our first few days.
This is such a special and serene place.
We can't wait to come back !
Heather & Jez

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

the beach

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

Dan + Vera-
What a wonderful week in spite of our multiple monthe beachsoons and romantic candle lit evening :.)
Casa Estrellita is wonderful - the beach, the beach, the beach ! Glorious ! We hardly left it when the sun was out.
Coming from a town with a population of 700 and our nearest neighbors the moose, we so appreciated the privacy and isolation yet the close proximity to all of the other wonderful things Tulum has to offer-
Casa Estrellita is truly a gem.
Dan & Vera - we had a great stay-
the best of everything- close to Tulum & wildness of Sian Kaan- great balance.
Would love to return !
Leslie & Steve
Temple Maine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oscar & Oscar

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Dear Dan & Vera
I had a great time and the experience went far better then my expectations !
Or own private beach
uh I just love to think of it !
I'll really miss this place while I'm gone, but if it's open during winter break or spring or whatever just call us up.
You guys have a great place and I hope to come back !
Best regards, Oscar ( not the iguana, me ! )

This was a very special gift for our family.
Thank you
Shara & Andy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tulum with love

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

Dan & Vera,
Your home here in special Tulum has been just perfect for both my wife & I.
In the past we traveled & backpacked a lot then life, kids, work etc took over...much of it pleasureable but we both seemed to loose a 'connection' together on our path !! Our big 40th birthdays were celebrated in April so we came to Casa Estrellita to rekindle our magic together with no communications with the outside world & our wonderful kids safely at home with granma.
We have done more than reconnect, we have pushed our love to another level because of these 'paradise surroundings'!
Tulum is a magical place, we were so very happy with the house, the beach is idyllic, the birds, trees, animals all made us smile the whole time here.
We were awoken daily by the mad woodpecker who would rap a tap-tap on the window frames & the dancing yellow birds who would skip & tap on the glass letting us know it was time to start the day !! Tulum has a special place in our hearts & we both want to return again next year with our wonderful kids.*I'd like to recomend to guests 'Om' for the best 'fish dish special'we shared it & it was truly the top meal. we experienced peace, love
Sean & Tara
Big Sky Montana
& Isle of Mann.
x

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Property not as advertised.

Review submitted: April 28, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

I’ll preface my review with some background on myself and my family. We have traveled many times to Tulum and the Yucatan area over the last 20+years. We always stay in remote, off the beaten track properties whenever we can find them and are used to not having "resort" like amenities. We know and appreciate the sensitive ecosystem that helps to make this area so unique and special. That said, it does not mean that you can't have a reasonably comfortable chair to sit in and read or a decent reading light to do it by. In at least 2 other reviews that we read we noticed complaints/comments about the mattress and fouton not being comfortable. In both cases the owner[s] replied that a new mattress for both the bed and fouton had recently been purchased. Alas, this was most definitely not the case. My wife woke up numerous times every evening and I, who can sleep on a floor, found myself stiff and sore almost every morning. About the fifth day into the trip the owner? Dan asked how things were[that being the first time we saw or heard from anyone] and after I commented on the beds not being very comfortable he asked me what type of mattresses I thought he should buy. Doesn't sound like a question from someone who recently replaced them. Although it really did not impact us that negatively[although no one would have been able to reach us had there been an emergency] the property is advertised as having internet. Again, not really the truth. On arrival we were told that maybe by standing in a certain section of the patio area OR in the street we might be able to use the internet. We attempted such on about the 4th day and no service was available. We tried again in case things were tempermental but again, no service. We will say that the beach is wonderful, although there was more garbage on the beach and also being washed up. This was especially true the first day or two we were there but obviously this is not any doing of the property owner. We did enjoy the 3rd floor viewing deck but again that could use some chairs that were a bit more comfortable. One was cracked and you could easily get your pants and/or skin pinched. My final and overall comment would be that for your money you could find something much nicer for less $$. Just plan well ahead and enjoy the unique beauty that the Tulum area has to offer.

Owners response: sorry for the inconvenience
I wish you would've emailed us (I'm sending this message from the rooftop terrace) we could've moved you to another gorgeous 2 bedroom beach house.
some people like soft matress, some like it harder (healthier ).
we do have 24 hour electricity (solar )unlike most places on Tulum beach- who cut the lights at 10 pm or midnight at the latest (generator).
comfy chairs we had in storage were brought in last week.
thank God you liked the beach & 3rd floor Caribbean sunrise & lagoon sunset views,
Vera

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

really great week

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

dear dan + vera,

thanks for a really great week !
thanks
christy matt

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Getaway

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

Estrelita is a remote and romantic "get away from it all" place. Comfortable and clean house. You own the good beach for as far as you can go. Good security. Dan and Vera saw to our every need.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: thank John & Joan,
it was truly delightful seing you again !
we enjoyed going to the art opening & looking for turtles with you
hope to se you next year-
vera & dan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

hello paradise !

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 14, 2011

Dan & Vera -
Hello, paradise ! We could not have asked for a more perfect honeymoon spot ! Nothing but us, the sun, the moon, the stars...and the ocean.
This place is the perfect escape from the ordinary and an amazing place to share with the one you love ! We truly enjoyed the privacy & beauty Casa Estrellita offers - We will pass this secret on ! A great place to discover Nature...and yourselves ! Thanks again !
Sarah & Dustin

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

wonderful time !

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

Dear Dan + Vera:
Had a wonderful time here in tropical paradise..I feel that we got to spend time in the "good old days " . It was wonderful to simplify and let things drop away day by day.
Things we loved
- The cheerful bouganvilla at the gate
- The star filled sky every night
- The roar of the surf at the door
These will be calling us back....
Anne + Arthur
P.S. Don´t forget handsome Oscar !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Muchas Gracias

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

Vera & Dan
Thank you so very much for the fabulous " Estrellita " ! We have traveled to many places and rented many villas in the last 15 years and your villa Vera is among our top 3.
The beauty and solitude of the beach is unsurpassed. We enjoyed every day to the fullest !
You were right- go early to the Tulum Ruins.
We got there at 8:00 am and us and another couple were the only ones there. When we left at 10:00 there were at least 100 and more were coming by the busload and it was very hot.
We dined at a lot of your recommended restaurants with Ocho our favorite, El Tabano were also very good. AyJ was ok but a little stuffy.
Muchas Gracias, Hasta Luego
Jim and Dawn
White Lake, Michigan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

just awesome !!!!

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

from Isa, Tracky, Gerri, and Matthew November 2010
Just Awesome !!!! this place is tight !
I love the beach because like nobody is there but us. The place is so relaxing with the hammocks and the beach and the rooftop it´s so cool !
We went through Tulum where all of the little shops are I love them I bought a skull diorama for me and one for my teacher. I like the out door shower for after you get off the beach. I saw Oscar but if you dont know who he is which you probably do because you´ve seen him but if you dont he is a huge lizard he is so cool.
Just to let you know keep the screen door or glass door closed so the mosquitos dont get in. I recomend this beach house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

sunset on the roof terrace

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

Dan & Vera,
We had a wonderful time in Casa Estrellita and Tulum.
What a lovely place ! We especially enjoyed the solitude and the beautiful nature & view surrounding the house.
Our favorite time was during sunset on the roof watching the birds make their way to the lagoon.
Our little Maya particularly enjoyed the garden, sounds of the beach and the winds as she peacefully slept ( more time for us !) House had everything we needed & more ! It was priceless to be disconnected from everything for a week. Thanks from all of us.
Cheers !
Julie, Tamer, Maya- Montreal Canada Jan 19, 2011.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

booggie board everyday

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

Dan & Vera - Wow !! We never want to leave.
The beach is the best. We booggie boarded everyday. Watching the sunset from the roof was breathtaking. Thank you both so much for the wonderful house & friendship.
XO Katie & Scott
Minneapolis MN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

OscarĀ“s family

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 11, 2011

Dan & Vera,
We had a magnificent week far beyond our expectations. Beautiful sunsets and wonderful sunrises and in between fun on the beach.
The kids loved Oscar and his "family".
We hope to be back one day.
Many thanks !
Beda Helmer Lotta Mathias

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

surf and stars

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

Dear Dan & Vera-
We had a lovely stay at Casa Estrellita- your little spot of Caribbean paradise ! Love the surf and the stars !
For those who follow us- we recommend casa violeta for delicious grilled seafood or wood oven pizzas. Nice Caribbean breeze as well.
Thanks for everything.
Sharon & Mike
Chicago Il

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lucas loves birds & turtles

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

dear dan & vera,
thank you for sharing this wonderful slice of paradise with us. we have been habitual hawaii people for 8 years; but i think this visit to "Estrellita" and Tulum may have convinced us to make this our new beach destination. we especially loved the sunrises over the water and the bird song that filled the mornings. ( so did Lucas, whose first words each morning included some discussion of all the beautiful sounds he awoke to hear ). you are excellent hosts and i will miss Dan´s smile. thank you.
jonas & lauren & lucas.
santa fe nm
p.s. we saw a big turtle last night !!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Back for my second trip to Estrellita!

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

Now that I've been back for my second time I know that Estrellita is a very special place. It was wonderful to see that after a year had passed, that nothing had changed at Estrellita. It was just as beautiful, just as private and every bit as wonderful as when Camilla and I were there last year. One nice surprise was that there were even more excellent restaurants than last year, everything form traditional Mexican food to homemade pasta at more than one excellent Italian restaurant. I spent a good part of every day just laying on the beautiful beach and swimming in the beautiful sea directly in front of Estrellita. I didn't even have to wear clothes if I didn't want to! It was glorious. The only thing I worried about when posting this review was that if I gave the place too good of a review it might not be available next year when I want to go. Remember to leave your hairdryers at home. The solar power is more than enough for refrigeration (there's a small solar powered fridge just perfect for cervezas and food), lights and the essentials and Tulum is laid back enough to not worry about how your hair looks. I recommend this place highly and Dan and Vera, the owners, are great people and are always willing to help!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oscar the Iguana revisited.

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: February 7, 2010

Dan and Vera,
Thank u so much for your hospitality-we loved the solitude and beauty.We have been to beaches throughout Mexico,Costa Rica,and the Caribbean and have never seen one more beautiful. We try never to go to the same place twice so, most likely, will not be back- but would certainly recommend Casa Estrellita!!
Jeff & Barbi Tucson Az
PS; We kept talking to the iguana but never knew his name was "Oscar" until we read camilla´s note.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oscar the Iguana

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2009

Vera and Dan,
Camilla and I cant begin to tell u how much we loved it here at Casa Estrellita. With every day we grew to appreciate its solitude and serenity. On the 1st day a tejon ran within 10 feet of me less than 250 feet from Casa Estrellita. We saw so many beautiful birds, and the resident mockingbird serenaded us many times.We grew fond of "Oscar" the iguana who guards the gate!!!He would listen intently while Camilla played her flute. We hope to see u again, hopefully during turtle/whale season and even spending some more time with you both. Thank u for everything!! Daryl&Camilla.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Hidden Gem

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

We loved your Casa Estrellita & the pristine beauty that surrounds her!Thank u Vera and Dan for sharing this hidden gem.We started the day on the beach at sunrise,quietly moving to the roof to birdwatch just after. Days were spent in hammocks beneath the palms or in the Caribbean or beneath the little shade hut. late daylight at the water´s edge then rooftop for another fabulous sunset. A bite to eat then the stars! Heaven. Thanks for all the lovely, artistic touches Vera.Peace.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A little slice of paradise

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

The location of Casa Estellita is about as good as it gets. Located within Sian Kaan biosphere, the level of privacy is unbeatable. From the rooftop terrace the only manmade object in sight is the small radio tower at the entrance to the reserve 500m away. Sunrise on the beach: not a soul in sight. During the day there will be the occational walker/jogger wandering down the beach away from the small hotels. There are two thatched roofed casas on the same strecth of beach but they are far enough away not to be noticeable. There is a mini rush hour of Jeep tours to the biosphere every am/pm. One of the best things about the location is there are a number of good to great restaurants within a 20-40 minute walk down the beach. Nothing like an afterdinner starlight stoll down the beach back to your casita. The area in front of the house is perfect for hanging out in the shade, reading in the hamocks, various tables and chairs for your choice of breakfast spots. The beach is incredible. Clean white soft sand. We did have to clean up some of the washed up plastic. The Mar Caribe is warm and beautiful. Snorkling can be done on calm days. When the wind picks up the Carribean can get quite rough. There are some cenotes expelling fresh water into the sea that create some blurred vision for snorklers. No bugs when the wind blows. A few mosquitos at sunset when it's calm. The house is spacious for two people. Extra people would have to sleep in dining area or with parents in master. Clean sheets, bath and beach towels were provided. Kitchen is limited. Small fridge, no freezer, match-lite 4burner stove, very low water pressure in kitchen sink. We had to wash dishes in the bathroom. Cooking 3 meals a day for 4 people would be a challenge. Not a problem for us due to the fine restaurants just down the beach. Our cell phones worked well but the solar electical system didn't work for our phone/ipod chargers. Most of the lights worked. Outlets where sketchy. Hot water worked but showers were weak. Plenty of purified bottled water was provided. When we ran out or water, Pancho and his brother Poncho who live just down the road were quick to get us more. Dan the realtor was helpful and friendly. Overall I would highly recommend Estrellita for those wanting a beautiful private spot on a gorgeous beach removed, but not too far from civilization. It's not for those expecting or demanding modern conveniences. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are more than happy to share our little slice of paradise with all of you, and will continue to improve on amenities and basics at Casa Estrellita. Our location and that of Tulum beach is a priviledged one.. because we are still relatively undiscovered, and not as of yet, so developed. This is why the nature in our area is so spectacular. Tulum beach has no electricity, so everyone either has a generator, solar power (as we do), or wind power. Lights are out at 10 pm at most hotels on Tulum beach and there are often power outages. This is part of the charm(you can actually see the stars at night). Casa Estrellita is a newly built beach home,that requires much maintenance (as other hotels on the beach) due to the toll this enviroment takes upon man made structures. To date we have improved water pressure(in showers) and changed the faucet in kitchen. Our refrigerator is a solar fridge, bought for the express purpose of energy conservation. A big fridge would use alot of electric.. meaning lights out early. We provide a cooler for ice. Lastly..the house is ideal for 3 people. Some people really want the house for 4 people, and in these cases we do try and accomodate them. We appreciate greatly our reviews..and thank our renters for their patronage of our Estrellita. So with margerita in hand..(lots of lime)..we say Gracias (Oscar too, who by the way loves any fruit).. and see u soon.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review