reviews for: listing #38264 - Antigua, Caribbean Cottage rental

Cottage for rent near Dickenson bay beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $70 - $90 /nt
    $450 - $600 /wk

sort by:

Francois Family

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

Myself my husband and 2 children aged 12 yrs and 1 yr stayed at Friars Hill Oct 08. The apartment was spotlesss, comfortable and had everything that you need, including a washing machine. The bedrooms are doubles and huge wardrobes and a/c. The island itself is georgeous and the beaches amazing, Long island was a favourite of ours as with children gentle waters and shade! the bar there sells great cocktails! I would also recommend the surf n turf at the waterfront which is near Sandals. We hired a car and drove around the Island which is a must and Shirley Heights is great! All in all we had a fantastic holiday and will be back again very soon, I would recommend this accomodation above any other!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

business
2 bedroom cottage with air conditioning close to beach & town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88856
+44 (0)208-3760862
Antigua Antigua & Barbuda
Rating
5 out of 5

5
Friar's Hill Guest House
mathqueen Raleigh, NC
Review Submitted: June 27, 2008 Date of Stay: June 2008
I just completed my 2nd week at the property since the end of April. It was perfect for my adult daughters and me. The couple who lives on the property seem like part of my family now.

I cannot think of one thing that we needed that was not provided either trip. It was the best value for my money on the island.

If you do not like to walk for about 30 minutes to the grocery store or the beach, then you may want to rent a car. We walked everywhere and rode the local bus to St John's.

I have already recommended the house to my daughter's friends at the American University of Antigua Medical School for their families when they come to visit.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Friar's Hill Guest House

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2008

The house is the best value on the island. This was my 2nd time staying there in 2 months. I have recommended it to several medical students for their parents book when they are visiting. The couple next door seem like family now!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 9, 2010

The cottage was immaculately clean and we felt very safe there. The care-takers were extremely kind and generous and made us feel at home. Dickensen Bay is only a 1-1/2 mile walk, and grocery stores are also close-by. The wireless Internet service was great, but be sure to bring an international phone as the cottage did not have one.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 6, 2010

The cottage was immaculately clean and we felt very safe there. The care-takers were extremely kind and generous and made us feel at home. Dickensen Bay is only a 1-1/2 mile walk, and grocery stores are also close-by. The wireless Internet service was great, but be sure to bring an international phone as the cottage did not have one.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

We would like to reflect many of the previous comments, for antigua and its location, this Cottage is outstanding value. The Cottage is clean and comfortable & the landlords who live adjacent to the Cottage are a smashing couple,very friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. It does lack cooking utensils & ovenware, which at times made cooking challenging, its probably now due for refreshing.A car is absolutely essential unless you really like walking, though Taxis are readily available & the buses are incredibly cheap. Most home owners appear to have dogs in Antigua, and at times you will pick up this noise from the neighbours, however this also adds to the security of the neighbourhood. Overall we would not hesitate to recommend this property to others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My stay in antigua

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2008

The house is about 15 to 20 minutes from the airport and a 30 to 45 minute walk from 2 beaches. There is shopping strip mall and large grocery store within walking distance and a local bus stop around the corner. It is a 10 minute ride to the capital, St. Johns. There is also a smaller grocery store just around the corner as well.

If you are not used to walking, you may want to rent a car. We enjoyed walking and riding the bus.

The landlords who live nextdoor were fabulous. We relied on them for directions and suggestions on where to go. They are a tremendous asset!!!

I am already planning another trip less than 2 months. The Friar's Hill house is the best value on the island.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

The house is the best value on the island. This was my 2nd time staying there in 2 months. I have recommended it to several medical students for their parents book when they are visiting. The couple next door seem like family now!

Recommended for: Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Holiday

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2008

Myself my husband and 2 children aged 12 yrs and 1 yr stayed at Friars Hill Oct 08. The apartment was spotlesss, comfortable and had everything that you need, including a washing machine. The bedrooms are doubles and huge wardrobes and a/c. The island itself is georgeous and the beaches amazing, Long island was a favourite of ours as with children gentle waters and shade! the bar there sells great cocktails! I would also recommend the surf n turf at the waterfront which is near Sandals. We hired a car and drove around the Island which is a must and Shirley Heights is great! All in all we had a fantastic holiday and will be back again very soon, I would recommend this accomodation above any other!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our stay at Friar's hill

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

Our stay at Friar's hill was everything we hoped it could be. The property was very clean, well equipped and in a great location, close to everything. As we spent 2 weeks there, having a washing machine was wonderful. The property also had a hairdryer, ironing board and iron, air conditioning and fans in both bedrooms. Although you really didn't need the air conditioners as the house had a great breeze once you opened up the front and back doors.

The owners were extremely pleasant and helpful and make you feel very comfortable.

We have visited Antigua many times over the past 15 years and this was the best place we have rented to date. Great value for the price.

Walking to get groceries and to the beach would be quite a trek but certainly possible. We rented a car as we like to tour the island.

I would not hesitate to rent this property again on my next visit to Antigua or recommend it to friends and family.

The only negative comment I can make is that not being able to park our rental car inside the gate was a bit of an inconvenience.

Other than that, I give this property a 9 out of 10.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Friar's Hill Guest House

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2008

I just completed my 2nd week at the property since the end of April. It was perfect for my adult daughters and me. The couple who lives on the property seem like part of my family now.

I cannot think of one thing that we needed that was not provided either trip. It was the best value for my money on the island.

If you do not like to walk for about 30 minutes to the grocery store or the beach, then you may want to rent a car. We walked everywhere and rode the local bus to St John's.

I have already recommended the house to my daughter's friends at the American University of Antigua Medical School for their families when they come to visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review