reviews for: listing #38313 - Gulfport, Mississippi House rental

Gulfview Getaway
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Second Street
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $350 /nt
    $1,050 - $2,100 /wk
    $3,500 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Quick Gulfport weekend

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

This was a great half-way meeting place for a quick family weekend. The house was great and had a fantastic view of the beach. Enjoyed sitting out on the wraparound porch and taking in the view. It was a very short walk across the street to the beach. The location was close to the Island View casino, and we had some fun there one evening. Lots of restaurants to choose from and lots of shops I would love to visit. Wish we had more time to explore the area, maybe next time. Definitely a place we'll return to in the future! Glad we found it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very big Beach house

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

Very nice beach house with plenty plenty plenty of room. It was so nice having a washer and dryer in there. We were there for vacation/baseball tournament and had to wash my son's baseball uniforms, so that was a real plus for me. We cooked breakfast and dinner in the house and the house was well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, cups, utensils, dishwashing detergent, sponges, etc., so we didn't have to spend much money on food. Although, we did go to Bull's Restaurant and the food was excellent. Everything worked well in the house, the AC, t.v.'s, washer, dryer, stove, etc., we did not have any problems. The only thing I would recommend is to get a better mattress for the king bed, it was a bit uncomfortable, but not to the point where you couldn't sleep. Also, very friendly neighbors to the left of the house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wonderful and Relaxing home

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

I went to the coast for a weekend getaway with a friend, and loved the house and stay so much that my husband came down and we stayed an extra three days. The house is so perfectly located, that it is a quick drive to great restaurants and the casinos. It also has a wonderful view of the gulf. I brought a lounge chair and spent my mornings on the wraparound deck having my coffee. You can walk across the street to the beach. I loved the master bathroom and closet, it is huge. As far as the negative review before this one, I went after they were there and experienced none of the problems that were listed. There was a dishwasher, working washer and dryer, no sign of mold, and the TV's were great.
The owner provides soap, dishwashing detergent, laundry supplies...etc. As far as the price, you can not get a nice hotel room on the coast that is comparable to renting this house. Especially with the view and size, plus I was able to bring my little Yorkie. The other positive, is the house is new, as it was built after hurricane Katrina. It is the perfect home for a getaway and we will definitely be returning for another stay.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Major disappointment

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

This could be a nice property, but falls way short in so many areas. The location was great, half-way between Biloxi and Gulfport and almost directly across the street from the beach. Pets are allowed, which was the reason I chose this property. There is a wrap around deck on 3 sides. The house is fairly new or either newly remodeled, so at first glance, it looks like a nice place. However, the owner has not invested the money needed to make the house worth the rent she is asking. When we arrived, the air conditioner was off and the house was at 83 degrees--at 9 pm. It was just about too hot to breathe, much less sleep that night. We would have opened the windows, but there were no screens. The air conditioner is way undersized and just could not cool the house adequately. It took 2 days of running full blast to get the house down to 72 degrees by the 2nd night, and then it went back up to 78 during the day. The furniture is sparse and in really poor condition--looks like it came from a thrift store. The bedroom windows are covered by paper shades weighted down with plastic clothes pins; there are no coverings at all on the kitchen/family room windows/doors, so forget about privacy, since there is a house right next door. There was no dishwasher, and the dryer was broken. We didn't find this out until we washed a load of clothes, and then were stuck with wet clothes that we couldn't dry. There is an old 23? in. TV in the living room, but no TV stand or table; it is sitting about 6 feet high above the fireplace mantle, which would give you a sore neck to watch it. There is a small newer flat-screen TV in the master bedroom, but the old brass headboard makes it uncomfortable to try to sit in bed and watch. There are not even any dressers for your clothes in the master or one of the other bedrooms; there is an old, almost nonfunctional dresser in one bedroom; several of the drawers are broken. No internet. No extras, not even an alarm clock. Worst of all, there was black mold growing on the ceiling and walls in the hallway! This is definitely a health hazard if not a health code violation! The house is in a nice neighborhood, but the owner has exaggerated opinions of what this house is worth as a rental. I have rented nicer houses in Hawaii for the same price! I would never rent this property or anything from this owner again.

Owners response: I love my house, and the only reason it is a vacation rental is so that I can afford to keep it. This house is new, as I had to completely rebuild it after Hurricane Katrina.

It is not perfect, but $150 per night is a very reasonable price.

I've been to Hawaii, $150 per night is not an option.

I have a new dishwasher ( I personally have never used it.) When I stay on the coast, I like to eat out at the many fabulous restaurants close by. (Let me suggest The Chimneys for one.)

There are no alarm clocks in the house. This is a vacation. If you need one, you will have to bring it.

I don't have internet or a landline phone there either. I have a cell phone and a computer that connects to internet on its own. There are several coffee shops/ restaurants nearby that have wi-fi, if it is needed.

There is a new large capacity dryer as well as the washer for your use. I usually have the laundary detergent available for my guests.

I have added some new furniture. Four barstools to use at the bar or kitchen pub table. The third bedroom now has a glossy black chest of drawers and side table.

The house is approximately 1450 square feet. The 3 ton a/c unit is quite adequate to cool it.

I have two flat screen tv's. They are new. I have cable, but not 100 channels or movie channels. I spend most of my time there outside of the house. There is a radio/cd player for your use.

I have people there now that are back for their second stay and stay 5 weeks!
I have had many returning visitors who like myself, think this is a great place.

I hope you will come stay sometime soon and write me a complimentary review!

Jo Lynn Michael, owner
and Real Estate Broker

Helpful votes: 20 / 21

 

A Must Rental

Review submitted: June 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2010

Great, Relaxing, Beautiful spot in Gulfport. Close to casinos but not too close. My family and I will continue to use this rental on an annual basis. The House has a wonderful view and evrything you could want is included. I can not imagine staying anyone where else along the Mississippi coast. IT is perfect.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful! Beautiful! & Great Location!

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

I cant express enough the wonderful quality of our stay. We needed the rental home for a small bridal party to stay for a wedding. The weather was nice and the patio furniture suited well with the unobstructed view of the beach near the rear of the rental. The beds slept comfortably and everything that I needed was there (towels, washer/dryer, sheets etc). The owner was incredible to work with! Myself as well as the bridal party members are eager to go again. This will always be the place I seek to stay when I am headed to the area. As a native of the MS Gulf Coast I was very impressed and fell in love with my home all over again.

It was a nice mini vacation for me. I actually extended my stay because I loved it so much!

Thanks JoLynn!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

wonderful! wonderful! wonderful!

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

I cant express enough the wonderful quality of our stay. We needed the rental home for a small bridal party to stay for a wedding. The weather was nice and the patio furniture suited well with the unobstructed view of the beach near the rear of the rental. The beds slept comfortably and everything that I needed was there (towels, sheets etc). The owner was incredible to work with! Myself as well as the bridal party members are eager to go again. As a native of the MS Gulf Coast I was very impressed and fell in love with my home all over again.

It was a nice mini vacation for me. I actually extended my stay because I loved it so much!

Thanks JoLynn!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

March 2010 Stay

Review submitted: March 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

Great gulf view. Beautiful beach. Quiet neighborhood. House is new, had a nice wrap around balcony. Convenient to Biloxi and casinos. Linens provided which was very convenient. House had iron, hair dryer, etc. Weather was beautiful during the stay so patio furniture would have been a plus. Parking could be an issue if multiple vehicles were needed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 16

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review