reviews for: listing #38319 - San Cristobal, Central Mexico Apartment rental

La Casa Rosada/old colonial house/centro historico
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $45 - $65 /nt
    $300 - $350 /wk
    $550 - $850 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

for me it was ideal

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Guest Review
"for me, it was ideal"

My first impression of the "front" apartment did not change throughout my april thru early May 2012 stay - "The apt. is Mexican in color & feel, without effort. Wonderful." The apt is spacious - with kitchen, eating, 'living,' & desk area all in the large main room. Bathroom light is good. The apt. was ideally located for my purposes: short walk from the mayan women's org where I taught EFL, the city's food market, Santo Domingo textiles & Sna Jolobil, collectivos, & both pedestrian-only streets (the more San-Cris-native one & the sometimes astonishingly trendy one) - without itself being on a touristed block. Yet it was also nice that English-speaking folks were staying at the 2 adjoining apts. Yes, it can get chilly in the apt - as are early mornings & eve's in San Cris, or when a cloud passes over the sun - so bring something wool & use layers. The day I had a minor emergency, the owner & her son resolved it with speed & graciousness. The garden's table & chairs were lovely for relaxing on warm afternoons. If I've got any caution, it's that I don't think I'd want to be at the apt - much of whose charm comes from the fact that it is indeed 'historical' - during the rainy season. (But I don't want to be in San Cris then, either!) Yes, I've given lower than "top rates" to a couple things below - because I figure there must be some return for the astonishing high rates some locations charge. And yes, if/when I return to San Cristobal, I will want most definitely to stay there again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

fabulous

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

"Fabulous... "

This apartment has everything a family with small children needs - lots of space and enclosed garden. Well equipped and in walking distance of local amenities.

Generally good for the price and in comparison to local living standards.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

un rincon de paz

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2011

"Un rincon de paz"

Encontramos la casa por Tripadvisor.
Las fotos que puedan ver no describen lo hermoso de la casa. Su construccion antigua pero en excelentes condiciones, su jardin grande y bien cuidado, la sala, la chimenea, la tina de baño y sus ventanales.
La casa esta a una cuadra del famoso mercado textil y a 2 cuadras del mercado de abastos.
Todo San Cristobal es hermoso, pero hospedarse en el corazon del centro historico no tiene precio.
Si buscas un lugar para descansar de las grandes ciudades y no eres fanatico del lujo.. esta es la casa perfecta.
Gracias a Sebastian por su hospitalidad.
Y regresaremos el proximo año

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

its the house

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2011

"Its the house!"

I was planning a trip to meet my boyfriend and have some relaxing days in San Cristobal. I was looking for a house, to be able to spend time "at home", cause that's the way we best enjoy our time together.
I felled in love with the house as soon as I step into the entrance garden. An old colonial house, painted with beautiful colors, and amazing handmade furniture! We had a great kitchen that we filled up with the market products (just 4 block from the house), and a cozy area in front of the fire place where we enjoyed wine;)
Deborah was very helpful during the rental process and her son Sebastian was there to help us getting into the house...he was very friendly and helpful as well!
The house is perfectly located. Close to everything! Also the artisans market is half block from the house...perfect for the buying=)
I will definitely come back!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

What a Shame! (Part 1)

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 3, 2011

We are well travelled and flexible tenants. We have rented many places all over the world and have never, ever, experienced this level of disrespect and lack of care; not even in the deep hidden jungles of Vietnam. When we read the last bad review we took it with a grain of salt. I wish I had saved myself the pain and the humiliation of dealing with these people. It appears and sounds like the owner has no idea of what is actually going on in her house.

It is very unfortunate that this Mexican Heritage house has fallen into the hand of a foreign caretaker (owner's son) who has no respect of the importance of the building and comfort of his guests. The building is a marvelous and absolutely georgeous place. It is old but it is CHARMING to bits. We immediately fell in love with the old hinges, the adobe walls, and all things old and somewhat decayed. There is beauty in the passing of time, however do not confuse old with dirty.
It would seem that this place has not had a loving hand in a long time. Here is a list of things we found within 5 minutes of our arrival:

Dead light bulbs
Yellow and pink crust in the toilet (gross)
Dusty kitchen with crums on counters
Stale, musty fridge that started leaking water when we plugged it in
The bedding did not seem freshly changed
The living room had a bunch of half-dead flowers with green water and rotten leaves
Dust everywhere.....like a house that was abandoned with and left only with its possessions inside

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: The house suffered neglect this rainy season whilst I was away. I took a last minute booking before checking everything which was a mistake! The apartment has now been THOROUGHLY cleaned and repaired and put in order. The owner.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Don't rent this place..It's horrible!!!!

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

The house was filthy, unkept, neglected and rundown. Definitely not what the buyer advertised , definitely not what I had agreed to rent. The house is mouldy and not up to standard. I requested a full refund.I have contacted the seller directly who gave me in writing her promise to refund my $ in full but who is now reneging on that promise.This house is in terrible disrepair,has cockroaches as well as rats and should not be on the market for rent until it has been professionally tended to.Oh and the "garden " is nothing but a jungle. The photo's are very misleading, they are an amalgamation of different suites.
Filthy, Filthy , Filthy and unbelievably horrid!

Owners response: We were distressed to find this renter disliked the apartment so much and it is the first time we have received such an unfavourable review in 4 years of renting. This was also surprising as the tenant who left two days before her wrote to book again for Christmas. The guest in the adjacent apartment this month has made a repeat booking for next Summer. The property clearly does not suit all tastes. It is very old being a listed building and the persistent rain in September makes most properties a bit damp and it is difficult to keep the grass well cut. The warm, wet weather does make for jungle conditions! We do not wish to mislead future renters when we say it is neither modern nor luxurious but comfortable enough and more suitable for renters who enjoy the historic charm. It has adobe walls and the original brick floors that do not favour a spotless look. It is not our policy to give full refunds on deposits before examining the charges made and coming to a compromise and as the reviewer was there nearly one week before leaving we are deducting the cost of her stay.
I have never seen a cockroach or a rat! Photos of both apartments appear on the site. We make it clear which apartment is available when an enquiry is made. We do our best to respond to the needs of guests. Unfortunately, in this case the manager was unavoidably out of town for 2/3 days which may have worsened the situation.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review