reviews for: listing #38408 - Shasta Lake, California House rental

Beautiful! Views! Walk to Lake! Ski,Swim, Fish, Do Nothing
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Lakehead
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $400 - $500 /nt
    $2,800 - $2,800 /wk
    $3,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Lake Shasta vacarion

Review submitted: June 27, 2014   Date of arrival: June 18, 2014

Loved our stay at Lake Shasta. This house was fantastic for our 2 families with a great kitchen and plenty of space. Would highly recommend. Location is excellent and convenient to Sugarloaf. Looking forward to staying here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Rental I've ever stayed at in Shasta

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 3, 2014

I have stayed at several vacation rentals in Shasta and this one is by far the best so far. This house is beautiful, comfortable, in a great location and full of extra amenities. I recently stayed here with my wife, teenage daughter and 3 of her friends and we really enjoyed our stay. The views from the relaxing decks were incredible and it's just a short trip down to the water. The owners are fantastic and Mike went and out of his way to drive down to the marina and help me get my boat squared away. The house was fully equipped with everything you could possibly need, including top end appliances and Weber Grill out on the deck. The layout was great and all the beds were very comfortable. I highly recommend this property and we would definately stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The house and owners did not disappoint!

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Not only was the house beautiful and well-equipped, the owners went out of their way for us. We unfortunately got a flat tire on our trailer on the drive up, and the owners actually went into town for us to replace the spare so that we could enjoy more vacation time! We enjoyed our meals out on the spacious deck, the classic '70s albums played on the turntable, the hot tub, the home-grown vegetables the owners shared with us, the proximity to the lake, the wood floors and cabinetry and artistic touches throughout the house, you name it! You cannot go wrong with this lovely home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Surprise family Reunion

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

We just returned from our family vacation in this beautiful home. 7 adults and one toddler. The house iwas as beautiful as the pictures, and the deck was perfect. The layout gave us lots of room to all be together and lots of room to get away from each other! We enjoyed our meals on the deck, and the nights soaking in the hot tub. The kitchen was well stocked and our 17 month old loved the toys we found in the closet. They kept her occupied for hours. The internet service was fine, which was important for us because we had 2 people who work from home and had to keep up with things. All in all it was a fantastic and comfortable vacation. We highly recommend this vacation rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great View! Comfortable Vacation House! Nice Owner

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

My family (total 5 embers) come from Indonesia visited me in United State. I decided to take them to Shasta Cavern and happened to stay at this comfortable vacation house.
We stayed 2 nights.... all of us had same thought "We should stay longer"

We felt very relaxing.... all of us left a great memory to the house, the view... Thank you Michael. We really like the house.
Tjin

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A beautiful and relaxing home

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

This is a lovely and well maintained home with gracious owners who make sure you are happy and comfortable. This was our second time renting this house and we came back because of the cleanliness and beauty of the home....also very close to the lake in a great location. The owners have made sure things are in order and well maintained and have created an atmosphere where you feel welcome and comfortable. Everything is there you need including a well stocked kitchen, outdoor BBQ and plenty of towels. The washer and dryer were great to have. We spent a lot of time on the large deck overlooking the lake...it was so relaxing. Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great time, beautiful home!

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us! We had a great week at Shasta Lake despite the rain. We enjoyed lots of time on the balcony and listening to your great record collection! The house is beautiful and suited our needs perfectly. Also, thank you for taking the time to meet us and show us around the house. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Such a Beautiful Home

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Such a Beautiful Home, we truly enjoyed this vacation spot, it was the ultimate : ) some days we walked to the Lake & back, loved the exercise up the Hill LOL! very roomy and especially loved hanging out on the Balconies, reading, chatting and BBQing : ) We enjoyed boating on this Huge Beautiful Lake and had fun in the evening playing family games. Our coordinator did a wonderful job organizing and makeing sure we all cleaned up our messess : ) Thank You for sharing your awesome Home with us all! God Bless to You All!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unique and comfy!

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

Great place!! Very roomy and yet cozy! I came here with a bunch of guys for a bachelor party (not the crazy ones, just a laid back and adventurous one :)) and we all really enjoyed our stay there.

One note of caution: reception isnt the best there and the wifi is really reallly reaaaaally slow. Like slower than your phone slow (but you cant use your phone cuz theres no reception haha).

But all the more better if you wanna get away from technology and looking for some peace and quiet.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Cell phone service is good and is accessible on the balconies. Also did you know that a cell phone can easily be transferred to a landline "a neat feature" for rural mountain areas. Internet service is good (much better then dial up) but not high speed. Will look into more band width.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Yah!

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Yah! We have been really enjoying your home. We will definitely come back here in the future. We decided to take you up on the extra day. We would like another day on the lake with our wave runners since we are having so much fun.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Really Enjoyed Your Home!!

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

We really enjoyed your home!! Your home actually gave us some ideas on the remodeling that we have in progress!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location, Great Cabin, Great Owners

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

We had a great time at this Lake Shasta rental home. The views are amazing and the cabin is beautifully decorated and well maintained. The owners were very helpful! They met us at the rental to answer any questions and explain anything about the house. We would definitely recommend this cabin to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Die Hard Shasta Family

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

Amazing home! The home was immaculate and equipped with all that we needed to make our stay enjoyable and relaxing. Love the spaciousness of the kitchen. My in-laws enjoyed the master bedroom. They have difficulty with stairs so this was perfect for them. I enjoyed the up stair bedroom with the small deck for star gazing. Wish I had a telescope!! We all agree (14 people in our party) that our favorite part of the house was the large open deck where we spent most of our time playing games(Scrabble), eating, and watching from the deck our daughter's proposal. If you enjoy birding, the balcony offered numerous birdwatching, especially daily visits by a pair of hummingbirds. The marina was just a few minutes away as well as beach access. We enjoyed being able to take long walks,biking and water activities.

Thank you for opening your home to Shasta Lake lovers!! Words can not describe this vacation rental, you have to be there to experience it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

As all the other reviews state, pictures just don't do this home justice. To start, the small gated community offered a nice sense of privacy. Situated at the end of a long private driveway, the house was nestled amongst beautiful pine trees showcasing a variety of birds (my mom and I love bird watching). We had the great opportunity to catch glimpses of several deer wandering through the property. The home was immaculate and equipped with all that we needed to make our stay enjoyable and relaxing. I think we would all agree (there were 9 people in our party) that our favorite part of the house was the large open deck where we spent most of our time enjoying the beautiful views (lake included), playing games, eating, and simply relaxing. The kitchen is beautiful and fully stocked with all the necessities, including a wonderful herb garden located just outside the front door. The lake is within walking distance. My family spent several days relaxing on the beach and boating. Mike and Marguerite were extremely accommodating and made sure we had everything we needed during our stay. We plan to return for our vacation next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pictures don't do it justice

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

What a wonderful property!! The photos don't do it justice. The home not only has beautiful views, but it has top-notch appliances and furniture. I loved having the hot-tub right outside the master bedroom and a great soaking tub in the master tub. Our meals came out perfect because we had everything we needed. The original art work all over the house adds a very warm and beautiful touch. I felt like I was in a home I would have wanted designed for myself. The only thing I would change is having a round dining room table--I think that would accommodate people more comfortably in that area. This home is truly especial!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Zivney Family Summer Vacation

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

We had a wonderful time! The house is very comfortable and everyone had something to do. The views from the decks were amazing and we enjoyed just sitting out there and visiting. The kitchen was very accomodating and everything was easy to keep clean. It is not that far to the water and the lake was so warm great for wakeboarding. The phone reception was spotty, but it was kind-of-nice to be a way from the rat race.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so Much

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your Shasta home with us. We had such a wonderful time. The kids really enjoyed the property and eve set up a play for us on the driveway. The views were fantastic and Antler's was very easy to work with. The rain was unusual, but we made the best of it and went to see the Caverns. The home was comfortable and had all the amenities needed. Us kids born in the sixties especially loved the records. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Harris Family

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

My husband, son and his family and daughter and her family stayed at this rental. There were enough bathrooms to facilitate our group of 8 ... we were walking distance to the lake and took walks mornings and evenings...great workout for those of you who like inclines. We had a spectacular view of the lake and all amenities were within a mile or 2 from the house. We felt house was centrally located to all we wanted to do. We absolutely loved it...did not want to go. The owners were so accommodating that we lacked for nothing. Bring mosquito repellents because they were in full force...

The art on walls and outside gardens with fresh herbs and vegetables were quite lovely. Phone reception was not always good, but we worked around it.
Paula et al

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your comments. Enjoy your Art!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

very relaxing good time, even in the rain

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

We flew in from Utah for some sun and wakeboarding over memorial weekend. Although the sun didn't cooperate with us we had a great time staying in this beautiful home. It is very well equipped with everything you need for a home away from home. We had fun bbq'ing and sitting out on the deck admiring the gorgeous views. The hot tub came in handy on the chilly nights and was very relaxing. The artwork in the house was amazing and fun to look at. I wish I would have had more room in my luggage to take some home. We will definitely be back and recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to stay while visiting shasta.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LOVED LOVED LOVED this place

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

We planned a family reunion here and our experience was GREAT! Marguerite was wonderful, friendly and very accomadating. Marguerite arranged 3 massages to be done at the same time for us on the deck and they were wonderful. We were grateful she was able to do the arrangements and not have us worry about setting things up. She emailed me the cost and info and in a matter of a couple emails everything was set up. We just told her a time and a date while on our vacation and it was so convenient. The views were wonderful, the beds very comfortable and everything was so neat and clean. There were plenty of extra linens and towels. Everything was so close. We rented a boat at the sugarloaf marina and it was literally a 10-15 minute ride. We were able to walk to the lake and just enjoy the scenery and also the tranquility in the home. I truly recommend this home, we will definately be back! Not only is the home BEAUTIFUL, the friendliness the owners give you is also wonderful!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Positive Rating

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

Our family spent three nights and four days at this lovely home. The views of Shasta Lake and the surrounding mountains were amazing. At night when the stars came out, they lit up the sky.

The home was very clean, well-maintained and beautifully decorated. We really enjoyed the private setting. We highly recommend this vacation home to anyone who is planning a trip to the Shasta Recreational Area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

I wanted to go on a wakeboarding / boating vacation and I got exactly what I wanted. The house sits behind a private gate that opened up to Lake Shore Drive and we docked our boat at Sugarloaf, which was within a football field of the gate. The balconies overlook the lake. Perfect!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Trip

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

Had a wonderful time during our stay in july. The house was very beautiful, the pictures dont even come close to how beautiful this place is. The hot tub was wonderful, and the view from the deck was awsome!! I could go on and on about this place. Will hopfully be returning next summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AWESOME!

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2010

We just stayed at the beautiful home and we loved it! We played on the water all day and enjoyed the patio every night! The house was completely accommodating for all of us. (Adults and teens) My children already want to plan a trip for next year. My sister and I enjoyed walking around the house and checking out the local art pieces on display. The lake was beautiful and the water was super warm! I could go on and on........

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Please stay again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Title is accurate of the property and recreation available.

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

The listing is accaurate of the amenities in the house. In fact the house was better than we expected with a master suite, with a private bathroom, bathtub & shower. The kitchen is upscale with nice appliances and easy to work in. The property was clean and very well maintained. The owners were helpful and explained everything we needed to know. I would recommend this to residence any one. We had 7 adults and 2 children and there was plenty of room for everyone. We enjoyed eating on the deck and taking a nice hot tub also. We enjoyed renting a patio boat for a day and eating at the The Bass Hole restaurant.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular View

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Just returned from our family week of vacation at this wonderful home-away-from-home. We had a wonderful time. This property has easy access to the lake, and is up and away from the traffic. Lots of choices available for activities, too. We ate every meal on the deck enjoying the lovely view. We also enjoyed fresh strawberries from the garden several times. Lots of amenities. Hope we can come back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Come and stay again! If you can offer any pics let us know.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Awesome!!!

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2010

We had a wonderful, relaxing week at this lake view house for the past weekend. The house was neat, comfortable, and had everything we needed. The house has an amazing view during day and night. The views from each level are so beautiful and the lake is a short stroll down the hill. During the night we enjoy the sky full fo shining stars sparkling, just simply amazing!!! Mike and Marguerite were so accommodating and always available to answer any questions. The house is also filled with wonderful artwork and very spacious. We'd highly recommend to anyone looking to relax by the lake !

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Come and stay again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

thoroughly enjoyable experience!

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

The place has amazing view of the river & lake. Amenities are excellent and approachability is great.. highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad your family enjoyed your stay. What a long way some of your family had traveled to stay here at our vacation home. If you have any pics you would like to share send them our way. Cheers From Lake Shasta!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 1, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

What an amazing house and location! Mike and Marguerite were so accommodating and always available to answer any questions. Overall I'd say this is the best house you can get on Lake Shasta. The views from each level are so beautiful and the lake is a short stroll down the hill. The house is also modern, yet filled with charm and very spacious. We'd love to stay again and highly recommend to anyone looking to relax by the lake !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 16, 2009   Date of arrival: September 16, 2009

What a relaxing place to spend your vacation! The beds are comfortable, the kitchen is fun to work in, and the view is fabulous! If we weren't on the lake, we were relaxing on the wonderful, large deck, or soothing wakeboard muscles in the jacuzzi. We particularly enjoyed the display of local art throughout your home. Thank you for providing a great end of summer retreat!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 11, 2009

Wonderful Place, wonderful owners! This cabin home is
the perfect place on Lake Shasta to stay if you're
looking for rustic and modern convenience. It is
definitely a home away from home and a vacation
home I would highly recommend.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 21, 2009   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

This is a truly beautiful home with every possible comfort you could hope for in a vacation property. Putting aside the thoughtful and well layed out design of the house, we enjoyed the amazing views from the large deck and close proximaty to the lake the most. This home offers privacy and luxury you rarely can find in rental properties and is well worth the little extra you have to pay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 15, 2009   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

We had such a great time in this beautiful house. Everything in the house is very clean, comfortable, and updated. We spent most of our time on the deck enjoying the BBQ, hot tub, and great view of the lake and mountains. We miss it already!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 27, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at this vacation home. Its a beautiful new home, with all the amenities in an excellent location. Sugarloaf resort is walking distance.

The Home is very new, has a beautiful view, very secure and with all amenities. We enjoyed barbecuing in the patio, the jacuzzi with music in the stereo system.

I would recommend this home for families. My group had 5 children, and they enjoyed very much.

Excellent!!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review