reviews for: listing #38446 - Redondo Beach, California House rental

Catch the Waves! 2 Blocks to the Beach, Spanish Bugalow Home
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $250 /nt
    $1,150 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

We keep coming back!

Review submitted: June 13, 2009   Date of arrival: May 10, 2009

I normally wouldn't take the time to review a house but the owner asked if we would and we said YES! I hope this review counts for 4+ reviews because we have stayed at this house many times over the past 3 years and keep coming back! It's great and we love it. We come back 1-2 times a year to visit family in the area and it each time it has been clean and well kept. The owner is easy to deal with and very responsive to our questions. There are lots of great extras, the kitchen is nicely stocked, a great backyard, it's an easy walk to pretty much everything we need.

We'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you, we look forward to seeing you this fall!

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Amazing!!!

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013

We had the BEST stay here! I rented this little gem in Redondo Beach to accommodate out of town family over Thanksgiving break and we couldn't have been more pleased. Basically, we echo what all of the other reviews stated-great location, beautiful home, super clean, stocked well with everything you could need, convenient to everything...all in all, my family and I were impressed and we are already making plans to stay here again!

Anna, the owner, was incredibly nice and accommodating and the transaction was smooth from start to finish. It was seamless and completely hassle free. THANK YOU!!!! We look forward to staying again.

-Nicole

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Bungalow

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in April and it was wonderful. The decor is warm and inviting and well equipped with kitchen items and plenty of towels . The beds and linens are very comfortable. We really appreciated having beach towels and chairs provided. The location is good to walk to the beach and into town. There are several great restaurants and fast food establishments available within walking distance. There is a bit of traffic noise at times, but once inside or in the secluded back yard, it didn't bother me at all. The owners are so pleasant and very responsive to our questions or needs. This is our second time staying in one of their properties, and we felt very welcome in both well equipped and immaculate rentals.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cute little older home on PCH in Redondo Beach!!

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

We stayed in this cute little Spanish bungalow in Redondo Beach for a week (just 2 short blocks to the beach!) The pictures all show exactly what you will find when you arrive. Comfy and cozy and convenient to lots of local restaurants and other places of interest in Southern California. TV issues were addressed readily by owner. NOTE: Furniture covered in white cotton would make for a "very dangerous cleaning deposit situation" for families with children! Back yard was nice to sit out in the back yard in the evenings. All of the beach chairs & umbrella made beach days a lot nicer. Also note street parking only is not a good situation since the house faces directly onto the PCH, however we were always able to find a spot on the side street. A great place to enjoy Southern California / Redondo Beach. Thanks Anna!!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the review, it was a pleasure having you, love you cheery personsality. No worries about the slipcovers, with 3 children of our own, we know slipcovers are the way to go! My personal favorite is white, you can bleach them and they keep looking great!

We do recommend guests park on Ave. A, it's a great neighborhood and walking around it great fun. Have a great winter!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Thanksgiving stay

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

Thanks so much for your note.

Yes, we had a wonderful stay at your place--everything worked great for us! We are thinking of doing it again next Thanksgiving week and may be back in touch with you about availability if as many people come next year as this year!

Many thanks

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a great place

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

Date of stay, april 2011
My family, 2 adults and 3 small children, stayed at this charming home for our spring break and had a wonderful time.  The owner is easy to work with and professional, from quickly responding to returning our security deposit it all went like clockwork.  It was nice to have a 2nd bedroom for the kids, the dining room and kitchen are well equipped and very comfortable.  The walk to the beach was easy and we also enjoyed lots of bbq time in the nice backyard.
The kids loved it, they call it their beach house and want to come back.  We also appreciated how clean and well kept everything was.  Thank you
 

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Warm Weather, Nice People

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

My wife and I rented this cottage in January of 2011 to escape the northern weather. We are a retired couple from New York. The cottage was very close to the ground with no steps, and so we had no trouble getting inside or getting around. My wife is extremely allergic to dogs, and when we found out that no pets were allowed or had ever been allowed, that was the place for us! Thankfully, we had a sneeze-free getaway, and my wife and I returned to New York feeling refreshed and ready for spring.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mother-Daughter Week

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

I rented this property this past summer (2011) for a week, and I brought my teenage daughter along. Redondo Beach is a beautiful area, and there were lots of fun things for her to do. Her favorite day was when we walked down to the pier, bought ice cream, and people-watched. The home itself was very clean and well-maintained. I am a bit of a neat freak, but they must have it cleaned regularly, because I couldn't tell if anyone else had been there all year (it was so clean). The home was nicely painted (my daughter fell in love with the blue bedroom), and the only minor complaint I have about it is that the kitchen was just a little too small when we were trying to cook. Other than that, it was a very nice girls' week, and I would definitely recommend the property to just about anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT VACATION

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

Talk about a great location! We were conveniently located within driving distance to a world famous comedy club - where we sat 10 ft from Jay Leno! The next day we visited Sony Studios and mingled with the STARS - did I mention the ocean within walking distance? That was fun, too. The house was quaint and just what we needed for a little get-a-way for the wife and me.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Vacation

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 9, 2011

This was the second time my husband and I visited the property. We love the location - it was close to everything - from the donut shop in the morning to the beach in the afternoon. It was nice to take my coffee in the morning in the backyard - surrounded by palm trees and exotic plants. Later, I would take a bike/run down along the beach. The home was equipped with satellite tv, plenty of family moveis - if you wanted to be inside. However, it never rained during our visit and we were able to sightsee and enjoy the outdoors. Definitely recommend this property and will visit again soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BE CAREFUL!

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

We recently rented this property during Oct 2011 and have unfortunately had a terrible experiance. It is a lovely villa, however, it is not as child friendly as we were led to believe - white sofa and under floor heating were a nightmare for my two little ones! The heating system has no guard over, so while it is on you must be so careful that the children do not walk over it and burn thier feet as our did.
The garden however is enclosed which is great for the kids.
The villa is very out dated, door knobs would fall off in your hands and the beds were very old and smelt fusty.
We paid the security deposit and unfortunately the owners took most of it! They made false claims regarding cleaning expenses and didnt even have the decency to consult with us first hand to let us know exactly what those expenses were. Our other family members rented a house a few blocks down and have had a lovely experiance with no problems, at all so please be very careful if you do choose to stay here. My advice is to take pictures on arrival as we did so that you can prove how the villa was when you entered..

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: This guest was the worst in our 10 year history and it was all very upsetting. After they left my cleaner of 4 years called me frantically concerned she may not be able to prepare our home for the new arriving guests because the house was left in such shambles.

Our home is child friendly, we lived in the home until we outgrew it with our 3 children. We do eat the kitchen or dining room and not on the sofa. The home is beautiful and shows just as it appears in the photos.

There were numerous other issues which went wrong with this person during the reservation process with this guest and I should have declined her request then. We did actually cancel her reservation for non payment because she would not send the final payment but reinstated after her US based family promised to pay.

I wish there was a place we could warn other landlords about tenants, I would definetly include this guest as one not to rent to. I should have followed my instict and not rented to her.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Everytime a nice place to stay!

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

Like the year before it had been a very nice stay at the Spanish bungalow. Everything has been fine and all maschines and the wireless lan have been working. In the house we found everything we needed and also some brandnew things (microwave, flat screen tv). Anna and John helped us immediately when we had some problems (for example with the post) and brought us what we needed for our little son. It`s a quiet and friendly neighborhood, next to a good bakery and ice cream shop.
Everytime a nice place to stay - we`ll come back next year again! Thank you, Anna and John!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 4, 2010

We lived in the house in May 2010 for the whole month.

The house is very big, clean and comfortable. It has everything you need (washing mashine, dryer, microwave,...). All appliances, heating and fireplace worked properly. There are enough towels in the house and also plenty of toys. Also the Wi-Fi worked very well. For infants, the house is suitable. It is secure and there is a wall around the property.

The area around the house is very beautiful. The beach isn`t far away, bakery, food stores and post office are right next door. The owners are very nice and answered every question quickly.

For us, the house has been perfect and we will come back next year for sure.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is such a pleasure to have a kind and courteous family enjoy your home. We are very happy you are coming back next year! Thank you and best regards,

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Spanish Bungalow

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

Very nice property, owner was great to deal with. Very good location. Looking forward to the next time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

We could hardly leave

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

We, a family with kids aged 3 and 6 years, spend a wonderful time in this house. A bunch of toys and kids stuff were in the house. It was clean and got cleaned during our stay, the garden was well-maintained and the overall impression lovely.

The house is cosy and we felt really great there, the beach is a walk away.

The landlady cared fine for our well-being in advance, during and after our stay (yes "after"! We forgot something in the dryer).

Thank you very much. Whenever we'll be in SoCal again, we'll stay here again.

PS: The internet worked fine at any time.
PPS: The sink problem mentioned by earlier guest just 'vanished' after an hour.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

average in redondo

Review submitted: June 10, 2009   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

-The only major issues were
1-No internet connections despite the presence of a router-mnager and verizon were unable to fix
2- some plumbing problems in the bathroom sink

overall nice little property

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: It is a great little property.

The internet problem was with Verizon, not with our home. We spent hours trying to fix the internet problem which was beyond our control. We then tried work arounds, including getting tech to the house (which was expensive) but it was not successful. We did offer another wireless network for the guest but their computer was not able to pick it up.

We were never told of any plumbing problems or we would have sent a plumber right over.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review