reviews for: listing #385297vb - Playa Grande, Costa Rica rental

Beach House On Playa Grande, Oceanfront, Just Steps From the Pacific, 4 Bedroom
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 286 - $ 857 / night
    $ 2,000 - $ 6,000 / week
  • sleeps  10
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Fantastic Week!

Review submitted: December 27, 2013   Date of arrival: December 8, 2013

Highly recommend this property. Just steps from the Pacific. Went on a girl's week with friends. House is well kept and clean. Bedrooms, each with a separate bath, were nice and comfortable. Local cable has several English speaking channels for anyone who wants to keep up with the news/shows. Maria, onsite housekeeper, is wonderful. She prepared our meals at a nominal cost which enabled us to enjoy all available time. However, you can do your own cooking if you desire. The ability to coordinate for groceries and drinks to be available upon our arrival was an added pleasure. Just sitting by the ocean was reward in itself, but the coordinated trips for a catamaran tour, local National Park to lounge in geothermal pools, and trips to town made it a wonderful experience. Plenty to do for adventure seekers or those who simply want to relax. Several great restaurants are within a short walking distance. Hopefully, will be able to go back with my family and friends. I know they would love it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Property

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay! The facilities were just as advertised and the location is just what we were looking for. We were looking for a somewhat secluded spot that would allow us to relax with just our family but still be close enough to a town to eat and go on excursions. There are other residences nearby and the area is a popular surf spot - but it was never too crowded. The property was clean and very well maintained. The on premise housekeeper was very nice and prepared us two of the best meals we had on the entire trip. Our contact at Senorita Casitas proved to be invaluable as she booked numerous excursions, recommended restaurants, and set up a car rental (we had read about some difficulties in dealing with car rental companies). All of this went very smoothly and allowed us to enjoy our time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love to hear how much our guests enjoy themselves at the house. It is gratifying to have many returning clients. Maria and Orlando are the stars at the house. Thanks for taking to time to write about your experience at Casa Costa Palmera. We hope you return soon.

Jim and Chris Allen
Tom and Sue Doyle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome house and beach but bring life jackets for anyone going in past our waist!

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Awesome! The house is perfect!! Maria and her hubs were great!! Didn't wash one dish the whole week! Maria cooked and that was the best! Just got to relax and let someone else worry about lunch!
Went with parents and twin 9 year old boys (who are 4'10 and 85 pounds!) and something told me to bring life jackets!! Thank GOD I did. My son and father almost drown! A surfer rescued them! It's amazing there but remember the water is known for having big surf.. We don't surf but water and beach were great!! Just be prepare and keep your eyes out! And bring life jackets!! Would defiantly recommend! Thanks Alyssa for getting our things set up and the grocery service was a perfect touch!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Living out a Dream Vacation!

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

I'm so glad that we vacationed at this gem of a beach house. Ever since then, I've been sharing this property's website to all of my friends and clients because I've nothing but superlatives to say about it. The pictures neglected to show the beautiful dark wood cabinetry, marble sinks and airconditioners in each room. We were very comfortable throughout our one week stay that went by way too quickly. Everyday the house was cleaned and meticulously kept in order, they even washed our clothes! Our delicious meals were prepared by Maria, the property's own cook, which was discretionary but highly recommended. I give a five star rating to all of the home's personnel from the owner, the manager, the cook, the caretaker and drivers who made sure that all of our needs were taken care of and they were all immediately accessible! Our job was to plan our fun activities and they all made it happen. The owner kept our pantry and two refrigerators supplied with food and beer at our request and if we needed anything special provided transportation to the supermarkets in neighboring Tamarindo. The owner also arranged court reservations at the tennis club, tee time and club rentals at the golf course, zip lining, an ATV outing that took us along the beautiful beach, through the populated hills and the town, a catamaran booze cruise which had snorkeling among the reefs, dining and night clubbing all in the neighboring towns and arranged for massages on the beach. When we stayed home, we used the property's three boogie boards and surfboard on the ocean's waves which were less than 50 yards from the back door. Whenever we tired of physical activities, we were entertained on the cable, flat screen TV, the WiFi and the internet. I am looking forward to and can't wait until the next time we stay at this wonderful place again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a great place!!! A few steps and your on the beach.

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

This was a great house for a fun filled vacation. A few steps out the door and your on the beach!!! Owners were great and helped arrange everything (massage on the beach, house fully stocked with food and drinks, etc, etc.). House keeper was very helpful and arranged for fresh seafood to be delivered every day. She then cooked to our request. House is very "up scale" and very comfortable.

Nice quite beach for a long walk in the morning. The water was very warm and we spent every day playing in the surf, surfing, boggie boarding, etc.

Owner helped arrange a sailing cruise, zip lining, and ATV rental.

Highly recommend this home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

This was our second stay at Costa Palmera and it was everything we remembered and loved. The house has paradise as it's front yard. It is truely amazing. Thanks again to Maria, Orlando, Steven and Alyssa who made our stay so easy and wonderful. We, of course, will be back again. Until then....Pura Vida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WOW!

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We cannot wait to go again! I cannot begn to describe the wonderful experience we had. First of all if any way possible have Maria cook all your meals. She is a wonderful cook (we had asked for typical Costa Rican food), none of us were disappointed and she will definately cook for us the next time we go. We were a party of five adults and the accomadations could not have been more perfect! Everything we needed and the beach was outside our front door. PERFECT! We felt very pampered and wanted for nothing! You have 3.5 miles of continueous beach to walk on (and very few people) and the shells are amazing. We even saw the tracks of one of the big turtles that had come up on the beach one night to lay eggs. It was amazing. The water is clear and everyone is awed by our amazing pictures. Would we recommend it..definately. You will not be disappointed if you are looking for a very quiet, peaceful place to unwind and rest. We cannot wait to go back...we are in the planning stages now :) All of us would definately say you should put this place on your bucket list!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent beachfront location, awesome house and fabulous staff

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

This rental property was excellent and exceeded our expectations. In fact, it was better in person than in a picture and was perfect for two families with 5 kids, in total. The property was spotless, well-maintained and the staff was exceptional. Maria, the onsite housekeeper, was wonderful. We booked through Senorita Casitas and Alyssa's knowledge was invaluable in helping us decide how to make the most of our stay.

The house was also walking distance to the restaurants and bars in Playa Grande. The beach area in front of the house was great for everyone. I will rent this house again when we come back. We loved it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We enjoyed a spectacular two weeks at Costa Palmera

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

Our teenage son and his friend surfed right in front of the house nearly non-stop for two weeks in conditions they've only dreamt about. The house and it's amenities are excellent and the small pool was perfect for our young grandchildren. The ability to walk out to a beautiful and quiet beach was wonderful. Alyssa was available 24/7 and answered our every need. The caretakers, Orlando and Maria, made this vacation our very favorite ever. We enjoyed many meals that Maria prepared and she and Orlando kept the house and grounds in perfect condition during our stay. We'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Could not Have Asked For a Better Place in Paradise

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

I came here with my wife and kids to escape from the gloomy weather in Northern California. Being new to vacationing in Central America, I had my doubts if this place (Costa Palmera) was as good as it looked on the site. We landed in the airport on the Guanacaste in Liberia and drove about 40 minutes to the villa on the beach of Playa Grande. When we arrived at the house, We were welcomed by the beautiful wood hand-crafted gate that is one of the pictures on the page. It was dark outside when we got to the house so I did not get to see the surrounding area until the morning, but when I walked into the home, my first impression was that this place was even nicer than I expected! We had pre-ordered our food and beverages for the week, and by the time we arrived, the refrigerator, the bar, and the pantry was fully stocked! I am very big on first impressions and this was definitely something that I will always remember. The house had maid service, and nightly security. We opted to have the personal cooking service, which was very pleasant. Everyone was so nice and always smiling.

The rest of the week was none the less amazing. Being an avid surfer, I couldn't have found a better place to roll out of bed and go surfing! The beach is literally 30 yards from the house and the surf spot right in front of the house had incredible waves all week. I had originally planned to go to some other surf spots, but I ended up staying here the whole time. Playa Grande is a great beach because it is entirely sand, and my wife and kids could play in the water without much danger. My youngest son wanted to learn how to surf, and the villa had 2 foam surfboards for us to use. This was great. A surf instructor could have came, but I decided to try and teach him my self, which was a blast!

One of the nights, I believe it was a Thursday, My wife and I went into the town of Tamarindo and we went to this place called The Monkey Bar at the Best Western Hotel. There was quite a few people, and a DJ playing all of the modern music. We had a wonderful time and took a taxi home which was a little expensive, but well worth it.

I would definitely recommend the Costa Palmera house. It was one of our better vacations and certainly one we will not forget. There was a living palm tree that the house was built around in the front portion of the villa, and it is one of the most unique things that I have seen. It is in one of the pictures on the site.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review