reviews for: listing #386 - Kerrville, Texas House rental

Bumble Bee Lodge
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $210 - $285 /nt
    $1,250 - $1,600 /wk
    $3,500 - $4,400 /mth

sort by:

Enjoyed Our Stay!

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

Our extended family gathered at Bumblebee Lodge and Shamrock Cottage for a three-day stay. We loved the 100-year-old lodge and were privileged to hear about its history from one of the owners. The living room across the front of the house was an ideal gathering place for a large group, and we appreciated having books, videos, games, and the piano to enjoy. The kitchen was spacious and equipped very nicely, and the large dining area was perfect for our group.

One bedroom is a little awkward because it is very small, has three doorways, and has a pop-up trundle day bed. We were able to make it work for us, however, and the king bedroom, small twin bedroom, and bunk bed loft were fine. The main shower and toilet are handicap accessible. It was convenient to have a washer and dryer.

The grounds were well maintained, and our grandkids had great fun on the swings. We only wished we could have been there in summer to enjoy the beautiful pool and decks.

The owner and the manager provided good service. We would recommend a stay at the Bumblebee Lodge.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the detailed review. We appreciate your comments about the bedroom with the trundle. We have considered closing one of the doors or using just one Queen size bed. Your thoughts would be valuable. I can offer a 5% discount on a future stay.
Rocky

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice and cozy

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

Loved the place, it was cozy and roomy and the kitchen was well stocked. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed the piano and both kids enjoyed the pool with slide. I loved the porch overlooking the pool. Wish we had more time to just spend at the place, but we were on the go a lot. My only negative comment is that it could use a good cleaning. Furniture was quite dusty so I took a duster to it and the oven was full of crumbs and aluminum foil. We still enjoyed the place and Joe and John were very nice. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Time

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

Our family had one of the best vacations ever at the Bumblebee Lodge and Shamrock Cottage. The lodge was very comfortable and all was met beyond expection. The owners take pride in this home and it is very well kept. Loved the family time away from the real world. Enjoyed the pool. Our special thanks go out to Beth and her dad for providing this home for family vacations. Another special thanks goes out to Johnny. Made us feel at home. We would love to return back in the future for another vacation. Once again thank you. The Garza Family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Third visit!

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

We had a wonderful time! Lots of good friends and a family reunion. Sleeping arrangements were great, as were all the spots for visiting and gaming. Thanks again for a third wonderful few days.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanks for sharing your beautiful lodge & cottage!

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

Wow! We couldnt have asked for a more perfect location for our family and friends get together. The lodge and cottage were clean, comfortable and spacious. The place is even nicer than the pictures show. The service was excellent. Really a great place for adults and children. We would definately come back. Thank you for sharing your beautiful lodge and cottage!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

love this family home

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

great place to stay for the family, feels like being @ home. Love the house and pool, very reasonable for the size and area.

Great for young children, puzzles, toys etc already on property!

We love this place!

Thank you Beth, Johnnie and all!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun place for family gathering!

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

Great location for a mini family reunion!! Pool was fantastic, the roomy lodge was super for visiting, swimming, cooking & eating! It was exactly what we needed. Plan to book in the future for yearly family visits.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was exactly what we were looking for!

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 14, 2009

Thanks again for sharing your lodge. It was exactly what we were looking for, and hope to return next year.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review