reviews for: listing #38630 - Mauna Lani, Hawaii Villa rental

Top of the Line, Professionally Decorated, H4 Palm Villas
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Palm Villas
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $220 - $500 /nt
    $1,925 - $3,500 /wk

sort by:

Celebration in Kona

Review submitted: December 28, 2009   Date of arrival: December 14, 2009

There were many things to love about this lovely condo. It's location is great as it is close to golf which was important to us. There is an upscale grocery nearby which makes dinner plans easy. The beach is a short drive or walking is an option. Major hotels are close if you wish to enjoy a cocktail at sunset. The pool/hot tub are very handy also. The property is beautiful and very well-maintained and there isn't a single amenity missing. All equipment is provided for snorkeling, picnicing and sitting on the beach. We were extremely pleased with this condo and impressed with the customer service from the owner. The website gives a pretty good representation of the unit. This was a lovely place to celebrate our anniversary.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stay Here! except when I want to visit Hawaii...”

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

Our family had both this unit and another 2 bed unit in the same complex for a group of 11. It was more than enough room. The smaller unit was nice but you can tell that this is the home that the owners stay in when visiting. It literally has everything. The Kitchen is immaculate and perfectly set up. The rooms, the bathrooms, all high end and clean, comfortable....

We found the Mauna Lani Resort area more relaxing and less crowded than it's neighbor Waikoloa. Waikoloa was close enough to easily visited if we missed any of that crowded, lots of people sort of thing.

Here's why you stay here:
You want a high end condo that allows for a relaxing stay with access to all points of the island (understanding that the island is big), great access to a perfect beach for laying around, swimming, or snorkeling.
Everything is labeled in perfect detail, lights, how to use the TV, etc. etc..
Can't say enough about the owners, they were amazing to work with. That's huge when you hand thousands of your hard earned dollars to a stranger for a family vacation.

Here's why you don't stay here:
you want to be ocean front (good luck with that on the big island)
you want a giant slide at your pool with tons of kids
you want room service or plan to eat our every meal

Bottom line, stay here, except when i plan to visit the Big Island which in that case, go rent the 2 bedroom unit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic property in a great location.

Review submitted: May 24, 2014   Date of arrival: May 8, 2014

Villa was just as described. Kitchen was one of the most fully equipped I have seen in a resort property. The lanai with the stainless grill was also a hit for a few dinners during our stay. The neighborhood amenities like the beach club, with its private beach and restaurant were really a great attraction for the entire group - 4 min by car or 12 min walk thru the lagoons/lava flows, but a great location. The beach toys and beach towels provided added to the enjoyment. Kudos to Arthur and his team, ease of checkin/checkout was a breeze and the property is everything as advertised.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful villa with great neighborhood amenities

Review submitted: May 24, 2014   Date of arrival: May 8, 2014

Villa was Just as described! Kitchen was fully equipped and the lanai with a great stainless grill was a hit for us cooking out. The beach club with its private beach and restaurant was fantastic and 4 min by car or 12 min walking between the lagoons, what a great neighborhood. Not to mention the beach "toys" and beach towels which were a great amenity. Also the ease of checkin/checkout was a breeze. Kudos to Arthur and his team. The notebook in the villa had several great recommendations for restaurants which we capitalized on.
Highly recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic.

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

This is a special place. The property was immaculate, just as described, would recommend to anyone, anytime. Definitely a little slice of paradise. Already looking at when we can get back. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to bring a family!

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

This condo is spacious, convenient, well designed, maintained and beautifully set up for a family to arrive and settle in. Small and large details have been well and thoughtfully attended to, and virtually every vacation wish has been responded to (snorkel gear, coolers, chairs, beach towels) to a level that is unique to my experience of visiting Hawaii over many years. Absolutely first rate!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home in wonderful area of Hawaii,

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

Beautifully furnished with absolutely everything you need for a great vacation. Exceeded expectations. A few minor issues however those were addressed immediately. Would love to return sometime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Rental

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 12, 2013

We stayed in this home for 8 days and had a great time. Everything about this rental was wonderful from the easy reservation process to the beautifully furnished home. The home was well stocked from the kitchen to the storage area where we used the snorkeling equipment, the boogie boards and the chairs. The property is near the pool however the temperature of the pool was very cold and not comfortable for swimming. My only recommendation is that the pool should be heated to a comfortable temperature. Solar heating could be an excellent solution. All in all we absolutely loved the home, we couldn’t ask for more!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Anniversary Trip

Review submitted: October 7, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

My wife and I visited the Islands to celebrate our 50th anniversary spending a week on Kauai, a week on Maui, a week on Oahu, and two weeks on Hawaii. The Palm Villas condo was definitely our best experience. The condo became our home and it was hard to leave. It is clean, well maintained, and is in general a very high quality accommodation. The Palm Villa complex is convenient to shopping and activities but is very quiet with a feeling of seclusion. The pool area is beautiful and we essentially had it to ourselves. Dealing with Arthur was professional and efficient. The reservation process was easy, accommodating, and clear. Communication was outstanding with many instructions for use of the condo, tips for the area, checkout procedures, etc. Refund of the deposit was prompt. The Ellison's have thought of everything!! Best equipped condo I have ever stayed in. The Mauna Lani resort provides top notch amenities. Arthur suggested Brown's for a nice meal and we chose to have our anniversary dinner there. The server he suggested did an outstanding job making the experience perfect. We hope to return soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A lovely home in Hawaii

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We had a lovely vacation in this beautiful, comfortable and extremely well-organized and equipped home. It was easy to find everything, and everything that one could imagine needing was provided. From boogie boards and pool noodles to extra towels and flashlights in case of emergency, this home has it all. The kitchen has everything you'd need for preparing meals for a crowd; the DVD library has something for every taste. The owner was very easy to work with - all in all, we plan to return next year for our vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Stay at H4

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We've been coming to the Big Island annually for 20 years, and stayed in several different resorts, in hotels before children, and condos after two kids (6 and 8 as of this visit). H4 is -- hands down -- the best condo we've been in.

Mauna Lani is pound-for-pound our favorite BI resort, with Palm Villas among our favorite complexes. Not only is H4 spotless and manically well-organized (I'm pretty sure Arthur and Karen own a label-making concession!), the decor and furniture is first class and beautiful. The sunset view is of course great as is the layout.

What really makes H4 special are the small touches. Around every corner and on every shelf is a little something to help you enjoy your stay, from 144 DVDs (exactly 144 -- they're numbered!) to great guide books to aloe for your inevitable first day sunburn in the fridge to extra propane tanks for the barbecue to a BI relief map and large island prints on the wall. A particular bugaboo of mine is keeping cool and sleeping well at night in the tropics. Having stayed in condos with rattling old fans, how nice to have a cool breeze from the whisper-quiet wicker ones here.

There's a reason H4 gets unanimous 5-star ratings from every guest. We're happy to add to the list. There is no question we will be back -- were the world run by hosts like this, it would be a much better place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Second Home in the Middle of Paradise

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 10 day stay in The H-4 Unit of Palm Villas on the Kohala Coast with my son and his fiance. This was our 8th trip to the islands and we have stayed in all manner of hotels, condos, and private residences. Thi stay was as close to perfect as we have ever found.
The owner has gone way above the norm to assure a first claas experience in his home on the Big Island. The furniture, appliances, furnishings, and even the plentiful artwork, are all first-class. His attention to detail is incredible. Everything from labeled electrical switches, flat screens in all bedrooms, flashlites in every conceivable location...right down to having his cell phone (and those of his local property managers) programmed with a special ring when calling from the condos landline.
I could have left a third of the things I always pack at home had I known how extensive the amenities were here. Things like first aid kit, binoculars, rolling coolers, backpacks, extra swimsuit, snokel gear in three adult sizes and kids sizes, water noodles, boogie boards, and all manner od sand toys.
My only problem will be trying to find a equalvalent property on Kauai when we travel there in two years.
Thank You for a perfect vacation!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hawaii Paradise

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Aloha - We just returned from a wonderful 2 week stay at the Palm Villa's H4 condo. This home has everything you could possibly need for your vacation. We were a group of 6 (2 children) and it fit us easily with extra room to spare. It is very difficult to find a unit that has enough dinner seating and big enough table with enough lounge space to enjoy in the evening if you are travelling in a larger group. All the bedrooms are big and well furnished and the kitchen is stocked with all the appliances and utensils you could need (infact this is the first time with a rental that I have not required anything extra in the kitchen!). This unit is extra special because of it's location - it is an end unit and has complete privacy, and gets all the afternoon and evening sun. The lanai is a wonderful place to enjoy a drink and a read after a long hard day at the beach! If you are beach people this unit is equipped with everything you might need to enjoy a day in the surf and sand - don't worry about bringing anything from home - from beach towels to chairs to boogieboards to snorkel equipment to kids beach toys - eveything is supplied. Palm Villas has a nice central location in the Mauna Lani development - you can easily walk to the stores and the beach - no other complex in Mauna Lani allows this! The central pool area is close (but not too close!!) and if you are travelling with kids they will love this pool with the waterfall and rocky outcrops. What else can I say? From the DVD library to the flatscreens in each room to the 2 outside sitting areas with barbeque you can be easily entertained whether you are inside or outside of this home! I would recommend this home to everyone, especially those looking for lots of space. Mauna Lani is our favorite holiday destination since discovering it 2 years ago - you can't beat the private beach club, gorgeous surroundings and close access to the best beaches on the Island - now we don't want to go anywhere else! Mahalo to the owners for thinking of everything and opening their gorgeous home to us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation villa

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 20, 2012

Our family-my husband and I, two adult children and spouses and 10 month old grandson had the pleasure of spending 10 days at the H4 Palm Villas. The booking process was seemless and detailed entry instructions and codes were delivered in a timely fashion. Lots of useful info re beach, restaurants etc provided in a binder at the unit. The H4 is spacious, bright and well furnished-ample sitting and dining space for all, even a high chair( much appreciated). The kitchen has great appliances and all the cooking equipment one could want. We ate most meals on the lanai and made good use of the built in BBQ-beautiful spot to sit. The unit was clean and well presented.We enjoyed the pool area and the complex grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. It is an end unit so has space and privacy-also a nice grassy area in back. We certainly look forwad to returning.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Vacation in Kona

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

We vacationed on the Big Island for 2 weeks staying in different places and different parts of the island, and our best time was staying at the Palm Villas. We had a multi-generational family vacation of 8, ranging in age from a 2 and 4 year old, and an 84 year old great-grandmother.

The condo really had everything and more that you could need on a vacation: A/C, BBQ, lanai, community pool, and even special access to the Mauna Lani Beach with free cabanas and awesome snorkeling only a 2 minute drive away! They had a nice collection of DVDs that entertained the range of ages for everyone, and also had Big Island travel books if you still weren’t sure where you wanted to go. But what makes the condo worth renting is the availability of enough beach towels for everyone, snorkel gear in all sizes, life jackets (that my children were sad to leave behind), boogie boards, and when you got tired of the beach, you were steps away from the pool. They also had very clear instructions about how to clean the equipment, how to check out, and even labeled the light switches which comes in handy when there are so many in a room.

Overall, we saved a lot of money renting this condo compared to staying at a hotel. We could cook our own meals. We didn’t have to rent any beach gear. We didn’t even have to pack so much because we were able to use their washer and dryer. And the Mauna Lani community was great because it was close to the resort, but without having to pay resort prices. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and are already talking about the next time we can come back. The owners were so easy to work with, and with 2 other properties next to each other, perhaps we can coordinate a larger reunion next time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hawaii

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

What a beautiful place. We had a great time staying at this condo. The amenities were fabulous, everything we needed. The place was so clean and well cared for. A really good location if your going to be doing things outside the resort as well. We loved Hawaii and hope to return someday soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice and well maintained

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

We had a wonderful time here. Three couples stayed here and it was comfortable for all.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Luxury Home in Mauna Lani

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

We booked the home for the week of March 18 thru 24 of 2011. The home was exactly as described.......from the gourmet kitchen to the ample living areas to the bedrooms and bathrooms. It was as though we were living in Hawaii for a week rather than just vacationing there. For anyone booking their first trip here, there is a very nice food market located in "the shops" at the mauna lani resort entrance. We didn't discover that for a couple of days and it would have been nice to make that our first stop to stock up on some some food items. We highly recommend this lovely home and we look forward to going back to mauna lani to live for another week in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One of the most beautiful places on earth

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

Arthur & Karen's place was perfect. It was stocked with everything you can need or want including a speaker/dock for an MP3. I've never stayed at a place that the kitchen had more gadgets than my home. We had four adults and a 1 1/2 year old and had more than enough room for all of us and everything a toddler needs. The furnishings were classy Hawaiian and it was so clean you could eat off the floor. It was also extremely quiet, I spent many hours sitting on the lanai looking at the lava tubes and beautiful sunsets. The pool was close and never crowded, I never did get to use the workout room. The walk to the beach was about 10 - 15 minutes through the lava tubes. The beach was clean and beautiful and any beach equipment you might need was provided by Arthur & Karen. I would walk to the beach and our companions would drive since they had a lot of things with the toddler. There is also a store and 2 restaurants within walking distance. I had a spa treatment at the Mauna Lani spa and it was spectacular. We also did a Manta Night dive with Kona Honu Divers which is something I recommend everyone to do. Arthur was a pleasure to deal with, extremely professional and very meticulous. I appriciated that every light switch was labeled. It the small details that really stood out. You can see the pride that they take in their home away from home! I only hope I can visit again very soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heavenly Stay on the Big Island

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a week long stay on the Big Island with our entire family including a 1 yr. old granddaughter. Our stay in this condo was absolutely wonderful. My wife and I have been to the Big Island many times and have stayed at many different condos, hotels, etc. and this was absolutely our best stay ever. This condo was very spacious and clean and well decorated throughout. The kitchen was large and had everything we needed to prepare our meals. I was especially pleased with the crib and high chair that was available for us to use with our granddaughter as well as all the beach equipment that we used throughout our stay. The location of the condo afforded us easy access to the private beach club and we were in close proximity to some wonderful walking trails. The condo owner was very easy to work with and always responded promptly to any inquiries we had. I could go on and on with good things to say but suffice it to say that I could not think of a better place to stay on the Big Island. We will definitely be staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: January 31, 2010

We just spent 2 ½ weeks in this beautiful home along with our 2 married children and their spouses. Our friends stayed there last year and recommended it.

We were not at all disappointed. The house was exactly as pictured, very spacious and comfortable. We did a lot of touring around the island and after seeing other locations, in the course of our travels, were very happy to have chosen this home. It was truly a relaxing beautiful place to come back to each day.

It is obvious that great care was taken to fill the house with high quality furnishings and amenities. The beds were very comfortable.

We really enjoyed the 10-15 minute walk to the beach along the trail through the lava fields with its lava tubes and fish ponds. (or 5 minute drive) The white sand beach at the Mauna Lani Beach Club, available to people staying at the villa, was one of our favourites, and the snorkelling there is great. We saw whales, from the beach, virtually everyday that we were there, as well as turtles sunning themselves on rocks or on the nearby black and white sand beach.

The home and location live up to everything said about it in the description on the web site. The owner is an extremely pleasant and helpful person to deal with. We hope to be able to stay in this home again for any future vacations on the Big Island and we HIGHLY recommend it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

We just spent 2 ½ weeks in this beautiful home along with our 2 married children and their spouses. Our friends stayed there last year and recommended it. We were not at all disappointed. The house was exactly as pictured, very spacious and comfortable. We did a lot of touring around the island and after seeing other locations, in the course of our travels, were very happy to have chosen this home. It was truly a relaxing beautiful place to come back to each day.It is obvious that great care was taken to fill the house with high quality furnishings and amenities. The beds were very comfortable. We really enjoyed the 10-15 minute walk to the beach along the trail through the lava fields with its lava tubes and fish ponds. (or 5 minute drive) The white sand beach at the Mauna Lani Beach Club, available to people staying at the villa, was one of our favourites, and the snorkelling there is great. We saw whales, from the beach, virtually everyday that we were there, as well as turtles sunning themselves on rocks or on the nearby black and white sand beach. The home and location live up to everything said about it in the description on the web site. The owner is an extremely pleasant and helpful person to deal with. We hope to be able to stay in this home again for any future vacations on the Big Island and we HIGHLY recommend it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

17th Yr Annivesary an awesome experience..Mahalo!

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: December 2, 2009

My wife, Debbie, and I had just an incredible stay here at Palm Villas H-4. We have been trying to get to Hawaii for 17 years and this was a great realization of our dream. We shared the villa with two other couples for half of our trip and stayed alone for the other half. Just a great memory.

The villa is just top notch:

We loved that is is completely equipped with anything we needed. From the necessities in the kitchen to all of the beach and ocean related equipment. And everything was "working". No burned out bulbs, broken toasters, etc. Plenty of hot water. Super clean and appears to be brand new. Beds were comfortable and even the walls look freshly painted.

We loved the abundance of TVs, the ceiling fans and the awesome grill; as well as such a large library of videos (although we didn't watch many).

The location of the villa is great in regards to having the best weather on the Big Island (it's more disparate than you think). Also, the location was close enough for convenience to the airport, several resorts, and downtown Kona was easily accessible.

The leasing process was a breeze and the owner is trustworthy. He "says what he will do and then does what he says". There is no hype or marketing spin from this owner.

When I compare the cost of this to a room in a resort, I don't understand why anyone would do the resort thing. Save the money and visit the resort for dinner on your fancy evenings out. The resort beaches, should you want to visit them, are all "public" by law and accessible within a short walk on a beautiful trail. This is a much better value.

The only problem was we had to leave. Hopefully, we will be able to return sometime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Thanksgiving week

Review submitted: December 2, 2009   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

We selected this property because it appeared to be in a great location and of high quality standards. We are pretty picky, but were not dissapointed.

Layout & equipment: Our party consisted of two couples and our friend's 11-year old daughter. The layout of two masters up and one bedroom and bath downstairs worked well. There was one larger master with a veranda overlooking the lava fields and resort beyond. The unit was in very good and clean condition, and extremely well-equipped. There was plenty of kitchen euipment for cooking, which we enjoy. There was also an adjacent storage room with beach chairs, umbrellas, snorkelling equipment, beach mats, etc.

The main room and each bedroom had a flat screen wall-mounted tv with dvd player and there was a library of well over a hundred newer dvds on the shelf for use. The first floor patio faced west and was quite private. It has a gas barbecue and sink. and seating for five around a table. All main rooms and the outdoor areas have ceiling fans, though there is air conditioning.

Location: The location is just a ten-minute walk or drive from a semi-private beach club for the condo owners and guests. This was a great spot if you don't feel like travelling to a remote location. There is a casual restaurant and bar there, and covered lounges on the beach for guests. The Mauna Lani and Orchid hotels are both within walking distance, as is a shopping center with a pretty nice market and a few restaurants.

The owners happened to be staying in the next door unit, which he owns, when we were there, and they are nice and concerned with providing a good vacation experience.

I would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better than advertised!

Review submitted: November 8, 2009   Date of arrival: November 1, 2009

Everything was great. Arthur has paid close attention to details; everything we might have needed was here. The condo was quiet, beautiful, easy to find, plenty of parking with a 15 minute walk to your choice of two great beaches. We had family stay at a condo in the "Fairways", of comparable size and price to the H4, and it was not nearly as nice. To sum things up, we had all the comforts of home with all the beauty and style of a top of the line Hawaiian house. We wouldn’t hesitate to stay at one of Arthur’s condos again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Home-Away-From Home!

Review submitted: November 2, 2009   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

My husband and I were very blessed to spend our honeymoon in this rental unit, and we couldn't possibly recommend anything more highly! The home was beautifully furnished and in pristine order when we arrived. The location was a great mid-point between the town of Kailua to the south and some of the adventure opportunities to the north, with beautiful snorkeling beaches on both sides.
We chose to make most of our meals in the condo and work out our own activities, rather than going the commercialized or touristy route, and this was a perfect home-base for us. It literally felt like coming home at the end of the day. The kitchen had everything we needed to make all our own meals, the bathrooms and bedrooms were well supplied for the entire week we were there, and the neighborhood was beautiful and quiet - we rarely saw or heard any other people inside this gated community.
We did not visit the Palm Villas pool or spa complex, but we did visit several beaches in the area. We also took the 10-minute walk through the adjacent state park to the fish ponds and beach at the resort. That made for a gorgeous walk and many perfect picture opportunities.
Making our reservations were easy and simple. Everything was completely taken care of by the time we got there, and we didn't have to worry about a single thing during our stay. Directions were clear, and we found everything exactly as we were told it would be. Check-out was also easy and the directions were very clear.
Overall, we highly recommend this location for your Hawaii visit. We had a fabulous time, and we greatly hope to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation Get-Away

Review submitted: August 22, 2009   Date of arrival: August 6, 2009

I would highly recommend Palm Villa H4 while staying on The Big Island. The home is beautifully furnished, yet very comfortable. It is located in a beautiful resort, which is away from the touristy part of the island. There is a gorgeous swimming pool almost outside the front door,as well as a walking path through an historic lava trail which leads to a beach inhabited with turtles and authentic Hawaiian fish ponds.

The house has snorkeling and all the beach equipment one needs for a fun day at some of the most beautiful beaches within a ten minute drive. There are even coolers for picnicking.

There were seven of us on our family vacation, with ages ranging from 5 to 65. We all loved waking up in such beautiful surroundings and having breakfast on the lanai which overlooks the amazing lava fields. Then, after a full day of adventures and sightseeing, coming home to a relaxing dinner cooked on the outside grill.

The service was impeccable. Questions were answered immediately and instructions were detailed and flawless. The kitchen was fully equipped, and there's a market nearby for convenient shopping. We were also given directions to Costco, which is near the airport.

Staying at The Palm Villa helped make our stay on The Big Island one that my family will never forget.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise H$

Review submitted: July 10, 2009   Date of arrival: June 21, 2009

We enjoyed ourselves immensely! The condo had beautiful furnishings, top of the line appliances and BBQ area , convenient walk or drive the beach and the grounds were spectacular. We loved that snorkeling equipment, boogie-boards, beach towels, etc were all provided- it made a huge difference! Great DVD collection- lots of TVs for all of the kids. Walkable grocery store- very roomy condo- quite spacious!! It was private, quiet and great for a family!! Highly recommend!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Welcome Home

Review submitted: May 15, 2009   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

We absolutely loved our stay in H4, Palm Villas. The owners made our experience hassle-free and from the moment we walked into their "home", we were delighted with the furnishings, linens and cleanliness. The kitchen was well stocked and the grill on the lanai provided many of our relaxing evening meals.

The storeroom for the unit was filled with all the items you could want to take to the beach or pool and everything was neatly organized and in good condition. The complex pool and spa were beautiful and while very close to the unit, never noisy!

We were pleasantly surprised to find the path to the beach was an easy stroll through the lava field and around the gorgeous, palm tree studded fish ponds. We loved the Mauna Launi Beach Club, the perfect place to comfortably hang out on the sand or grass while sipping a drink from the restaurant. The snorkeling in the calm waters was great too!

The Mauna Lani area was very convenient to shopping and dining and only 20 minutes from the Kona airport and 30 minutes to the boat harbor where a lot of activity boats depart. We highly recommend the dolphin and manta ray dives/snorkels!

We would highly recommend this unit/complex for anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing, upscale stay or vacation. In short, exactly as advertised and more, with no unpleasant surprises!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mauna Lani Condo

Review submitted: April 28, 2009   Date of arrival: April 20, 2009

Loved your Condo! It was Beautiful, peaceful, quiet exceptionally clean and perfect in every way. The location was great, fully stocked with everything we could possibly need to make our vacation the most memorable one yet! Yes I would recommend it to anyone who is interested, hoping to return myself someday soon.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantstic home

Review submitted: April 26, 2009   Date of arrival: April 13, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this wonderful home on the Big Island. The home is so beautiful and the location great. So many extra details made the stay great, including a great library of DVDs. This trip was an all adult trip, but I look forward to returning with my daughter's family including my grandchildren someday in the future. Five stars for sure. I highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay at H-4, Palm Villas

Review submitted: March 23, 2009   Date of arrival: March 3, 2009

There were a blend of families during our stay: friends with us for 10 nights, our son and his wife and 10 1/2 month old son for 8 nights, and us for the whole two weeks.
The unit was beyond its description. It was beautifully appointed with lots of extras. The kitchen had everything we could think of. The BBQ on the lanai was a great treat -- and the whole place worked really well for a crawling baby! Except for the less than wonderful weather...we could not have been more pleased.
I would not hesitate to recommend H-4 to a friend -- and the quiet was a big bonus!
The Saturday night luau at the Fairmont Orchid was a hit with all 5 of us -- and Huggo's is still fun!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful family getaway

Review submitted: January 3, 2009   Date of arrival: June 12, 2008

My wife, 2 daughters, son-in-law and I had a wonderful stay at this lovely and very comfortable condo on The Big Island in June 2008. The home is even more tastefully decorated than the pictures on the web would indicate and has all the kitchen equipment and furnishing you could hope for. The extras were simply icing on the cake - all the beach equipment you need, pass to a private beach, coolers to pack lunch for the beach, beach chairs and on and on. I highly recommend you consider staying here - my family is going back this summer. The unit does not have a clear view of the ocean but the grounds are so tasteful and private that we didn't miss the ocean view. The pool is great and just a very short walk out the front door. Go and you will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Our stay at the Palm Villas H-4,11/23 to 11/30/08

Review submitted: December 10, 2008   Date of arrival: November 23, 2008

Our stay at the Palm Villas H-4, 11/23 to 11/30/08 was perfect. My wife and I brought our kids and my wife’s parents in their 80’s. The location is in a safe gated community that is very quite. The accommodations were roomy enough for everyone. We snorkeled; body surfed and took long walks on all within minutes of the Palm Villas. There was something for everyone.
The descriptions of the facilities were very accurate and we were very pleased, we were impressed everything was first class! We had our Thanksgiving dinner there and all we needed was to bring the food. The owners have not forgotten anything to make the stay as comfortable as possible. Everything is well maintained and clean.
Every day we would explore something new on the Island, there is so much to do and see. We look forward to the next opportunity to visit the Island again. The only thing that we would change is to stay two weeks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A wonderful place for a family

Review submitted: October 28, 2008   Date of arrival: October 2, 2008

The owners were flexible and easy to deal with during the reservation process. As soon as you enter the Villa, it immediately feels like home. It's bright, open and the furniture is lovely. Everything we needed was there including beach toys, a high chair and a well-equipped kitchen. The pool is very Hawaiian- surrounded by beautiful plants and reasonably warm. Access to the beach club is a short drive or walk across the lava flow and it is the perfect place to spend the day. We cannot wait to come back!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Big Island

Review submitted: October 3, 2008   Date of arrival: June 21, 2008

The location was the best. The kitchen had everything that we needed. The property was very clean and well maintained. The owners were great. The condo has great privacy because of the lava fields in back. The only problems that I had were minor: too much furniture on the porch and too many pillows on the beds. I would recommend this condo to my friends. It was a great value.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful Condo

Review submitted: August 31, 2008   Date of arrival: August 9, 2008

My family and I recently returned from a fabulous trip to Mauna Lani and stayed at this beautifully appointed 3 bedroom condo. We have stayed in Mauna Lani multiple times and knew what to expect (which is why we have returned time and again) but we had no idea how renting a condo directly would go. Very Easy!

First, the owner is great to work with - very professional in terms of billing, instructions, communication and very helpful in terms of answering questions and providing additional services, etc.

Second, the unit is wonderful. Very clean, very new and very nicely furnished. HD Tvs and DVDs in each of the 3 bedrooms, kitchen had every appliance and utencil you could possible need while cooking and BBQing for a family. Also, there are dozens of towels, hand towels and wash clothes so you can have to worry about having a clean one.

Third, the lanai is very private. With children, we were a bit concerned about passers-by knowing who was in the unit. The lanai overlooks lava fields and no one knows you are there. Perfect.

We will return someday!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A Peaceful Home

Review submitted: August 12, 2008   Date of arrival: July 17, 2008

I vacationed at the Palm Villas with my son, daughter-in-law and three grandchildren. This is a quality home that is comfortable for everyone. We were all able to find it relaxing, entertaining and a place we were happy to return to after a busy day or a relaxing day. The peacefulness is unbeatable and when we wanted to be busy there was everything we needed for fun. No matter what it is that you are looking for evrything is provided for you at this wonderful home. We all are anxious to return to our "second home". We could not have asked for more.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 9, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

What a great place. The location was perfect...we had the best of two worlds. it is close to city and to countless activities, but at the same time our family of 5 felt like we were out in the wilderness experiencing a private Hawaiian paradise! compared to other places we have seen and experienced in hawaii, this is hands-down the choice place to get away to. whether you want a luxurious poolside day, or picture perfect hawaii beach, this place has it all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 6, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

What a wonderful retreat in paradise! We started our vacation days with a cup of Kona coffee on the lanai. We were tucked into the historic preserves listening to the ocean and the birds with privacy that felt like like there was no one else around. After breakfast we would take a walk to the beach where we watched whales, giant turtles, and on one morning, spectacular surf. Every room in this home is wonderfully comfortable and welcoming. It was very easy to go exploring the rest of the Big Island from our "home base" and wonderful to come back to our private and very comfortable retreat. We are looking forward to coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 30, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

What a great Place!

My wife and I and our two grown sons loved this place. The spacious rooms and eye for detail made our stay there memorable. Everything inside and out is new and top of the line, from the ultra comfortable beds and sheets to the beautiful bathrooms. The kitchen is a gourmet's dream with everything at your finger tips. The living quarters lends itself to family togetherness yet with enough room to find your own quiet space. Coffee on the private master bedroom balcony overlooking the lava fields is the way to start your day. It is a short walk to restaurants, shopping golfing, fishing, swimming (beach or private community pool). The snorkeling off your beach is the best in all the Hawaiian Islands and better than most of the Caribbean Islands I have experienced. My wife loved the day spa (5 min. walk) which still ranks #1 with her for a massage. It is a wonderful home in one of Hawaii's premiere communities.
We will be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 25, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Our two week stay exceeded all expectations our family imagined were possible. The quiet, walks on the trails and beaches, cliff and vine jumping, swimming in the ocean and pool,outings all over the Island including to "the end of the world", and grilling all our meals on the back patio, were all memories my family will treasure for a long time. A perfect getaway for a family with young adults. Thank you so much for provided such a memory!We will come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review