reviews for: listing #38631 - Mauna Lani, Hawaii Villa rental

Top of the Line, Professionally Decorated, H23 Palm Villas
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Palm Villas
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $188 - $375 /nt
    $1,645 - $2,625 /wk

sort by:

Pefect condo

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

We had the perfect vacation on the Big Island staying at this condo. The location was ideal-- very nice, short walk along the beach path even loaded down with 2 small kids and gear. The condo was even better than the description provided. It was equipped with everything one could possibly use/need and all of it was in great condition. While a little tight for 2 families with a total of 3 babies/toddlers, it would be perfect for a single family with kids. We had a fabulous stay here and cannot wait to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Well equipped and conveniently located.

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the Palm Villas. The owners are well organized which made it easy to get settled and find our way around the island. The condo is well equipped so cooking at home was easy but their restaurant suggestions were helpful. The condo is well maintained but we did have a hot water problem so had cold showers the last 6 days of our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 11, 2013

The H23 Palm Villas condo was exactly what it was listed to be and much more. Upon first impression, the size, cleanliness, and decor were exceptional. Once we got settled in, we were very impressed by the detail in the amenities such as the towels (nice quality, size, and number), closet size, incredible kitchen and lanai with grill. The owners even provided additional goodies which went above and beyond our expectations. We were supplied with some "basics" to keep us from immediately having to go to the grocery store, as well as some very helpful information to get us familiar with the island (laminated maps, Big Island book, etc.). Another wonderful surprise was the provision of necessary beach items within the condo and the storage area including: beach towels, chairs, mats, umbrella, even snorkel gear for our whole group! I also appreciated the access to a washer and dryer within the home and the provision of soap. What a help!

My favorite things about the accommodation were the bed (size and comfort) in the master bedroom and the provision of snorkel gear. The furnishings were of very high quality (though, candidly, we did not spend a ton of time inside). The kitchen was very well equipped. I was the only one of our group of four to use the Palm Villas pool area, but I thought it was beautiful, and it was never crowded or noisy at all. It was always very clean and well maintained, and I thought the incorporated lava rock was beautiful. We all enjoyed the local beach, which was very convenient to us, as well as the beach side cafe/bar. The location of the home was perfect, which we appreciated much more after having driven around the entire island! Everything within the home was most definitely clean, and everything appeared to be in working order.

The only thing I would recommend would be to add an extra blanket somewhere for chilly nights, though it could have been somewhere that I just did not see. All in all, our group had an amazing time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Palm Villas!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location - Great Stay w Teens

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

We just returned from the most relaxing and fun vacation to Kona. Having been to the Big Island twice before I did a lot of research, knowing I wanted to stay at a condo with access to the Mauna Lani Beach Club - the best beach on the island. My communication with the owners was prompt, courteous and very detailed in the information provided. I was so impressed with the owners that I booked the Palm Villas.

Location - The gated Palm Villas is close to the Shops @ Mauna Lani, dining, grocery store and alike. The spa is right across the street and it is a 20 minute walk (bring water) or 5 minute drive to the private beach club where covered cabanas for two, nice lounge chairs and a nightly groomed beach await. Truly spectacular way to spend your days.

Pool | Hot Tub - There is also a private pool and hot tub for the guests which was almost always empty. My 3 teens played in it nightly (closes at 8 for kids and 9 for adults). It is surrounded by lush gardens and blends in nicely to the hawaiian landscaping. Clean. Perfect temp. Avg 4' deep.

Our Unit - We chose a top floor unit with a loft and outside bbq | lanai. We had a peak-a-boo view of the water and great sunsets from the lanai and were able to save money eating breakfast in and using the grill at night. The kitchen was fully furnished and my kids loved the toaster oven (ha). The wine cooler was handy and the washer dryer even had Tide detergent provided.

Entertainment: With 3 teens the extensive movie library (~100 DVDs) was a nice way for the kids to decompress after the beach while adults sat on the lanai to watch the sunset.

Dining on Site: We did eat at Napua at the Beach Club and it was our best meal on island. And you can't go wrong with a bar right on the beach with you. They even have ice water and plastic cups readily available if you come up from the beach and need a quick drink of water.

Snorkeling on Site - Great snorkeling off the beach with lots of coral and fish to be seen. A turtle swam in every day, which was a treat. We rented stand-up paddle boards for the teens and they had a blast. You can dicker with the rental guys for reduced fees on hourly rentals so don't take the prices on the board. Showers are there, as is a lifeguard. Truly an amazing beach and why you should book at the Palm Villas.

I highly recommend Palm Villas for an unforgettable vacation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect place to stay in beautiful Hawaii

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

We so enjoyed our family vacation to Hawaii and H23 Palm Villas was an excellent home away from home. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Kona one day. The pool was beautiful and the condo was well equipped with everything we needed. Arthur and his wife have done a wonderful job thinking of everything a family needs on their vacation. Can't wait to visit again - awesome!!

Thank you,
The Sanderson Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another Great Stay at Palm Villas

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Fantastic experience. Working with the owner to secure this unit for our stay on the Big Island went very smoothly; everything we needed from snorkel gear to high chairs to a chef's kitchen was provided. This meant less time planning and worrying, more time enjoying the wonderful setting of this unit. We would have a daily stroll through the fish bonds to the beach club to enjoy the sunset, or just spend time looking out on the lava rocks and the ocean from the unit's lanai. Perfect if you want a no-stress rental process, access to amazing beaches (with snorkeling), and the ability to enjoy meals at home with your family. We can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mauna Lani Stay

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

We had a great time and really enjoyed the condo. It was what we expected and had almost everything we needed. Would recommend adding another bar of soap to each bathroom. Guests wanted to wash their faces plus use the shower. With only one bar of soap per bath this was the opportunity for improvement.

We would definitely recommend this condo as soon as we get our cleaning deposit returned.

Owners response: We always appreciation suggestions from our guests. Evidently this guest did not prefer the shower gel in the shower to the soap on the sink we provided. This guest, like all our guest were refunded their deposit within 14 days as required by Hawaii State law.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

Excellent rental! The condo was well constructed, beautifully furnished, very well equipped and fantastic all the way around. The bed was comfortable, we LOVED all of the beach and snorkle gear and found the kitche to be very well stocked. The tips and Big Island Revealed book were very appreciated. We loved Hapuna Beach for boogie boarding, the Place of Refuge for interest and snorkling (and the private beach for snorkeling), Tommy Bahama's for happy hour (great deals!), Kona Brewing Company for pizza and beer, Akaka falls (wow), and our helicopter ride over the volcano (WOW). An amazing trip overall. Thanks!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place!

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

We stayed 10 nights in this unit the photos do not lie, this place is beautiful and well appointed. After coming from a sub-par rental on the Volcano side, this unit was perfection. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you need to make a fabulous meal.

The garage was well stocked with beach toys, so you can leave all your sand toys behind.

Comfy beds, great shower, plentiful linens, you couldn't ask for more.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional Stay

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

WOW... from the first time we talked to Arthur about booking this Villa to arriving in Hawaii, I knew we made the right choice in booking the H-23 Villa. I have rented condo's or villas in the past from other owners around the USA but this place was gorgeous and Arthur and his wife thought of everything. His staff is great to work with and made everything so easy. The place was beautifully furnished with extra touches throughout. The place was so clean! All the beach and snorkeling gear was great to have, the extras in the kitchen (spices, oil, tinfoil, Kona coffee, soaps, etc made you feel at home). This was perfect for our family of 5. We loved the lanai and the breezes from the ocean let you open the windows and doorwalls and enjoy the Hawaiian tropical air!

The Palm Villas is a beautifully maintained complex. My family loved the pool and hot tub. The complex is quiet and this is a perfect place to stay. We loved staying in Muana Lani. We had fun at the beach club that you would have access to. This is great for snorkeling and the stand up paddle boards.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay immensely. The condo is gorgeous and extremely well-outfitted. The owners generously allow the use of their extensive beach and snorkel gear, and we took full advantage nearly every day by walking to the nearby Beach Club (very best snorkeling and paddle-boarding beach!!) or driving to Hapuna Beach, a quick 5-10 minutes to the north. We loved the big island -- so much to do and see, incredible topographic, climatic and botanic diversity -- and very much hope to return someday. We would gladly repeat our visit to this lovely condo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

race get-away

Review submitted: June 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

what a fantastic place to stay! - The location was ideal for our group of racers - we prepared all our own meals in the huge kitchen - everthing we needed was available - great BBQ - the garage made it easy for us to store and work on our bikes - 10 min walk to the private beach for a swim! can't say enough great things about this place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded All Expectations +++

Review submitted: March 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

I consider myself a discriminating – even picky – traveler so the comfort and ambiance of the place I stay in is of utmost importance. The moment we arrived (with whoops and ‘high fives’) we knew we had found our ‘home away from home’. It is obvious that Arthur has considered even the tiniest of details to ensure that his guests feel pampered and cared for. The layout of the condo is wonderful and the tradewinds naturally cool the living space (we only ran the A/C in the late afternoons). The furniture was comfy, the CA King bed exceptional and our breakfasts and sunset dinners on the lanai amazing. Because the condo is nestled toward the back of the complex, there were no traffic or noise concerns, and our 6-year-old granddaughter played safely in the side yard. The walk to the private beach is beyond words – but 'easy', 'beautiful', 'interesting' and 'unique' come close. Thank you, Arthur, for an experience that exceeded our highest expectations! Me Ke Aloha Pumehana

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lap of luxury Hawaiian style

Review submitted: March 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

Wow. Exactly as advertised and even better. We were pleased to find that the basics - not usually found in rental units - were very complete: shampoo, soap, lotion (delicious smelling) and paper products, spices and oil etc for cooking. We didn't have to go buy items that we would only have used a small amount of.

The condo is well situated in the Palm Villas complex, and was really quiet and peaceful. This is definitely the lap of luxury, Hawaiian style.

Highly recommend! Mahalo Arthur!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay! Will definitely be back!

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2012

Mahalo, Arthur for allowing us to stay at your beautiful condo! The unit was even more beautiful than shown in the photos, and we loved not only the Palm Villas complex, but also the Mauna Lani resort. The condo was immaculate and perfect in every way. Truly, you have thought of every last detail and "extra" to make the stay comfortable for your guests. There were so many things that we have always wished we had when staying in other condos, which were so thoughtfully provided in yours (great selection of beach gear, cooking spices, beach towels, resort map, flashlights, first aid kit, etc., etc. -- the list could literally go on and on). We cooked many meals at the condo, and found the kitchen to be extremely well equipped, and we loved the great grill on the lanai. You were great to work with throughout the reservation process, too! We definitely will be visiting with you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

No need to look any further - really!

Review submitted: August 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2011

If you're looking for a place where all you need to bring is a few articles of clothing, this is it! Never before have we seen a condo so thoughtfully furnished and outfitted. The decor is beautiful and restful, and the owners provided lots of extra wonderful touches (beach toys, kitchen extras, grill included, etc). They anticipated everything you could possibly need to make it a vacation place of your dreams. The Mauna Lani area is fabulous. The walk to the Beach Club is around 10 minutes through fishponds, but you can drive to it if you're feeling especially lazy. We snorkled at the Beach Club's reef every morning. The ocean was calm and the reef is amazingly colorful and alive. Arthur is a delight to work with on the rental and was very accommodating with our late checkout due to a late flight off the island. This is by far the BEST place we've ever stayed on the Big Island (and we've been visiting Hawaii since 2003). For as long as they continue to offer their vacation rental, we'll be coming back again and again. No need to look any further - really!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What you see is what you get...

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

Never has a home, so far from home, felt more like home than this one.

My wife and I and two kids spent eight glorious days and nights enjoying this condo and the many wonderful amenities of Mauna Lani. The beach club is great, short walk but a little tough towing all the gear so we drove most days. We found the location to be perfect - easy to get to many other areas of the island and close to some excellent beaches, shopping, restaurants, and alike. Everything is as advertised...and then some. The property owner Arthur and his assistant Leisa have been a pleasure, great communication and follow-up.

There's really nothing more I can add to the other reviews except to say WE WILL BE BACK! Thank you Arthur and Leisa!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Lovely experience

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

His unit is centrally located within the resort - close to shopping, historic park - easy walking to the beach through the park, good access to the beach club, etc. The unit is very clean, nicely furnished, with a well equiped kitchen, lanai grill (good for dinners), luxurious towels, washer/dryer (and soap). We went to Costco (25 minutes away) and purchased salads and things to grill for our meals. The snorkeling and beach equipment were of great quality and handy! We enjoyed the complex pool at the end of a day after touring parts of the island. A little exercise and cool down were welcome! Pool/beach towels were very handy. The only problem we had was opening the front gate to the complex. We finally got a code that worked.

Prior to making the reservation, we spoke to the owner. His comments solidified the deal as he was courteous and answered all questions regarding the unit and surroundings - VERY HELPFUL!

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Place to Stay

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

It was fabulous. Our daughter never wants to stay in a hotel again. The kitchen had great appliances, the outdoor grill was great, and the garage had every toy we needed for the beach to snorkle, boogie board, or play in the sand. The walk to the beach took 20 minutes with a hot,short-legged, five year old, so we were lazy and drove after the first day. She loved the pool. Both beds were very comfortable and the linens high quality.

We stocked up on staples and produce at Safeway and the Farmer's Market in Kona (Wed-Sun), and then used Foodland to supplement with fresh meat and fish.

We had good service from the owner, everything was well maintained, and we would definitely recommend this place to family and friends. It may not be ideal for very active young children because there is a lot of art throughout the condo, glass tables, and two sets of stairs.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mauni Lani

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

I wanted to let you know how much we loved this unit – it was perfect for us! The quiet location and the quality of the building of these units being so soundproof was very unusual – even with multiple kids in the other units we did not near a thing – not even plumbing noise. The unit was so beautifully appointed in Hawaiian culture at it’s best, we looked forward to returning each day. The beach club topped all expectations….we loved our stay!!

The Mauni Lani resort has everything you need including the wonderful Island Foods grocery store which has everything!

Can't wait to return

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal home-away for small family on Big Island

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

One of our best and most stress-free vacations... thanks to Arthur & H23 Palm Villas.
Location: 25-30 mins from Kona airport, 2-3 mins from shops/grocery, 5 mins from beach club (all driving times). You could walk to the beach, but it's easier to drive with all the beach goodies from the house.
Home: very comfortable, impeccable furnishings and appliances, perfectly maintained. Felt like a home too! The lanai overlooks the lava rocks and you can see the ocean in the distance.
Bathrooms / Kitchen: spotless, plenty of amenities to get started. we spent 8 days so needed extra shampoo / soap but it was well stocked. kids loved the big tub and the kitchen was well designed with new gear.
Misc: parking was no issue, no garage but plenty of space near the condo. the beach stuff was amazing - boogie boards, 8-10 snorkel sets in all sizes, blankets, noodles, life jackets, etc. made this a perfect beach vacation.
Beaches: the beach club was nice, but we ended up mosty on hapuna and mauna kea (go early - only 40 visitor parking spots). both are some of the best beaches in the world and just 10-15 mins away.
Food: we did a bit of cooking at home. the bbq on the lanai is excellent. the restaurants in mauna lani and waikoloa (next development over) are fine but there's more interesting stuff in hawi, waimea or kailua (all 25-30 mins).
Sightseeing: probably the only downside of staying in the mauna lani area is the distance (2.5-3 hrs) to the volcano / lava flow, waterfalls (akaka) and black sand beach (near southern tip). but you get the great weather and beaches.
Booking: real simple and did not have any issues at all. arthur and team are super responsive to any questions, and thankfully we did not have to ping him for any reason from hawaii.
Summary: we will be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kohala Coast

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

This place and owners are top-notch. The unit has amenities aplenty and everything you can think of to come back to a nice home at the end of a day is considered and provided for here. The grounds are pretty, quiet, and peaceful. The walk to the beach is a nice stroll early in the morning when relatively cooler, but I'd suggest the short drive if going to the Beach Club as it gets hot on the path in direct sunlight. The snorkeling there (from my perspective after having snorkeled both on Hawaii and Maui) is quite good, especially for those who'd love to see plenty of fish in shallower waters or are a little timid about venturing far from shore. The cabana chairs at the Beach Club are awesome. A short drive away are the kickin' beaches of Waialea and Hapuna. Thank you, Arthur, for being such a fine host and excellent to deal with in making all arrangements.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect place to stay

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2010

We had an amazing vacation on the Big Island and this property was the perfect place to stay. With two young children under 5, it was great to stay in a place with a kitchen and washer/dryer -- as well as a high chair and pack n' play. The condo is extremely well equipped with everything you need in the kitchen, plus plenty of dinnerware (even including plastic plates/cups for kids). The beach is a short drive away and there were plenty of sand toys/beach chairs/snorkels at the condo for guest use. The Mauna Lani beach is especially good for kids -- large, shallow lagoon with gentle waves. The pool at the Palm Villas was also a favorite with the kids. The owners are very responsive - I set up the reservation on 2 days notice over a weekend since we were going on a last-minute trip, and when I had questions during our stay I got email responses immediately. I would love to stay here again and would definitely recommend it to friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: December 17, 2009

H-23 was an eye-opening experience to condo life. We were impressed with the condition of the property and really appreciated the fully equipped kitchen and decorative appointments throughout the unit. Communications with you were excellent and attention to details were evident even to the extent of labeling the light switches. Great BBQ by the way and the property management came thru with the grill brushes. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and manicured. Especially impressive was the tranquility and one might even say that the senses of sound, sight and smell were re-discovered. With the absence of city lights, millions of stars were clearly visible. Our son, Ryan, really made use of the beach and club since it was so close. The views from our patio were awesome. Proximity to the Shops at Mauna Lani was so convenient and we especially enjoyed Tommy Bahama's, Brown's Beach House, and shopping at Foodland. Gayle's mom from Hawi joined us and enjoyed the good life with us. Although we didn't use the beach equipment, we did check the garage out and were impressed by the selection of "toys". Our next trip definitely won't include a hotel and we'll certainly contact you when we do visit again.
Mahalo, and Hauoli Makahiki Hou!
Dennis & Gayle - Anchorage, AK
Ryan - Boston, MA
Ruby - Hawi, HI

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place, well equipped, no hassle

Review submitted: December 21, 2009   Date of arrival: December 11, 2009

We are a family with two children under the age of 5 and we had a great time. It was ten minutes walk to the beach with the kids, along a beautiful path through the lava fields and fish ponds. Ten minutes walk or 2 mins in the car to the grocery store and shops. The condo was equipped with every single item you could possibly need, from kitchen appliances and gadgets, to beach gear, baby gear, DVDs, and extra linens. Everything was clean, new, and well cared for. Instructions for finding the place, getting keys, and checking out were precise and clear. No problems at all with setting up the vacation rental and no problems with damage deposit return. Nothing negative to say about this place at all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Big Island Vacation

Review submitted: August 26, 2009   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

The Palm Villas condo was one of the nicest, well equipped vacation rentals we have ever stayed at. Every detail was addressed from a well equipped kitchen to all the required beach gear including chairs, umbrellas and snorkel gear. The location was ideal. Just steps from the waterfall pool and walking distance to the beach club, world famous Mani Lani Spa, and short drives to some of the best golf course.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

An unforgettable trip

Review submitted: August 18, 2009   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

Our family of 5 (my husband & I and our children ages 20, 16, & 9)stayed in this beautiful home and had a wonderful time!! The property was clean with lovely furnishings and everything thought of to make our stay comfortable and relaxing! Everything from the reservation process to the check out time was top notch and professionally handled.

The home is well stocked with things such as snorkel gear, beach chairs, coolers, towels, etc. It all added to our remarkable trip!

We shopped at Costco and ate at the home a lot. Sunset dinners on the lanai couldn't be beat.

The loft was the perfect place for our 20 yr old son to have his own "space".

The ONLY thing that wasn't exactly what the owners said was, the "10 min walk to the beach" was more like a 20 -25 min walk.

We highly recommend this property!

Thank you!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: My wife and I walk this very often and I have timed it several times. It is still 10 to 12 minutes for us from the gate of the complex to the shore depending on how fast we walk and where we go to the beach.

Maybe for a family of five with kids and beach equipment and looking around along at things as they go it might be 15 to 20 minutes.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

what you see is what you get... plus more

Review submitted: July 30, 2009   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

We stayed here with 3 kids ages 7,4, and 1.5.
This is a hard-to-find beautifully furnished and maintained rental home which is also child friendly.
All appliances and bedding are new.
Pool complex was nice and serene.
The private beach resort was a gem with complementary cabanas/ available lunch service/ wonderful snorkeling.
This unit is located on the second floor and was very quiet/ private.
The resort complex has interesting fish ponds/ lava cave formations/ and a petroglyph park to visit.

The owner is extremely professional, conscientious, and responsive: the level of responsiveness could not be more if he were physically on-site! The amount of beach accessories available for guests' use is almost overwhelming.
We will definitely stay here again and recommend to friends visiting the Big Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

More than Satisfied

Review submitted: June 20, 2009   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

We were a family of 4, (2 adults/2 teens). We we very impressed by the quality of the home, its furnishings and the Palm Villa complex itself. Everything was top of the line, exactly as it appears in the photos and was clean and new. The kitchen was completely equipped for cooking, with Calphalon pots and pans. The spice rack was nice, but it would have been nice to have had some items such as oil, vinegar, sugar, coffee creamer, which are hard to buy in small quantities. Having WiFi was great, and the electronics in the condo were high-end. The Palm
Villa complex pool was quiet and relaxing, and the access to the beach club was a very nice perk. The beach equipment provided by the owner was terrific -
chairs, umbrellas, excellent snorkel equipment, boogie boards. Making our reservation was very positive experience. The owner is very professional, prompt and organized. A car is definitely needed to get to restaurants,
shopping, and other attractions. We would definitely use this condo again for a return visit to Hawaii.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Palm Villas H23

Review submitted: June 1, 2009   Date of arrival: May 18, 2009

Tastefully decorated, elegant, quiet condo with magnificient art and antique furniture. Enjoyed the beach access to a private bay where the snorkeling was superb and the marine life abundant and gorgeous! Loved the South golf course at Mauna Lani with the breathtaking ocean views. Able to achieve total relaxation!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Accomodation

Review submitted: May 13, 2009   Date of arrival: April 16, 2009

My husband and I had a very comfortable 18 day stay. The unit was clean, beautifully furnished, comfortable beds and organized with every attention to detail. We were close to the grocery store, coffee shop, spa, the beach and the golf course. We have visited the Big Island many times over the past 15 years and we have always stayed at the Mauna Lani Resort. This stay was our first time at The Palm Villas and this unit. We wish we had found it sooner. We will be back, again and again.

Denise (West Vancouver, B.C. Canada)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful & relaxing with easy access to nature

Review submitted: April 22, 2009   Date of arrival: April 6, 2009

From the beginning, I had a good feeling, as all communications with the agent/owner were detailed, timely and formal. The unit was refreshingly quiet, very well maintained and fully appointed. The lava landscape and palm tree sunsets made for an unusual serene environment. The unit had so many extras, such as snorkel gear, boogie boards, coolers that you would have to buy/rent if you stayed at a hotel. Beach access was an easy 10 minute walk on a trial across the lava or 3 minute drive. The pool/Jacuzzi was a two minute walk. The kitchen and living areas were well equipped, but be prepared for expensive prices at the supermarket. Forget the local restaurants as they are overpriced, although Sushi Rock in Hawi is well worth the 30 minute drive away from the resort area for good food at a reasonable price. We prepared most of our meals in the unit to cut costs and to allow our kids to eat more healthy food. Make sure you have a rental car and most of the island’s natural attractions are at your finger tips. Also, the Saddle Road to Hilo and the Volcano is an easy and safe drive, contrary to the description in many outdated travel books. If you are looking for a more affordable game of golf, try the Makalei course about 10 minutes north of Kona airport (35 minutes from the unit).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Condo rental in Hawaii

Review submitted: March 24, 2009   Date of arrival: March 5, 2009

This was a great place to stay. The pictures do not do the home justice as to how beautiful the home is and the area around the home. I will recommend this condo to my friends and family. The owners were wonderful in making sure we had all the supplies we needed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 29, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We stayed in this condo the last week of August. It was beautiful and the perfect location. Dinner at Tommy Bahamas was great. The beach club was perfect for a day of relaxing and snorkeling with the kids. We have recommended this condo to friends.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

No Regrets

Review submitted: August 18, 2008   Date of arrival: May 11, 2008

The Villa was immaculate and so beautiful. The Ellison's are sticklers for details and it shows.
The location could not be beat, a short walk to all amenities.The access to the Private Beach Club makes this condo a steal!
The pool area was so quiet and private. A great place to relax.
We love to golf and snorkel and had the very best right out our door.
The owners have all the gear you need.
We are a frequent VRBO renter and Big Island visitors and would recommend this complex to anyone thinking of staying nearby.

You will not regret it. We certainly don't!

Tim & Donna
Renters from May 2008

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Super property, excellent location

Review submitted: August 13, 2008   Date of arrival: May 29, 2008

Our group stayed in the Palm Villas while participating in the 1/2 Ironman. The location was great - near the finish line with all the amenities of the hotel plus a well stocked kitchen and practically semi-private grounds. The unit was in excellent condition - spacious and spotless. We would certainly recomend this unit and location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We will definitely stay here again...

Review submitted: August 13, 2008   Date of arrival: June 3, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay here! The place was immaculate and had all the amenities we could ask for. Arthur and Karen thought of everything. We will definitely come back here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved this condo.

Review submitted: August 6, 2008   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

We really loved this condo. The location within the Mauna Laui resort was great. The condo itself is beautiful and spacious. The upstairs loft was a huge hit with my two children. The condo is fully stocked--complete kitchen, TV and DVD player in every room, 50+ DVDs to watch, WiFi. Plus a garage full of beach equipment--numeous sets of snorkeling gear, beach mats, beach chair, beach umbrellas, noodles, coolers, towels, etc. Everything you can think of is there. The condo is quiet with a great deck and nice view--wonderful sunset. We will be returning!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 8, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

For wife and my honeymoon we stayed in this condo for 8 days and we had a wonderful stay. The Royal is very well furnished with extremely comfortable beds. It's like being at home but not. The kitchen is loaded full with everything that you need for cooking and eating. The location is fantastic and there are stores and restaurant very close by so that you don't have to get out too far from you room if you don't want to. We ate at the Ruth's Chris and the Tommy Bahamas and enjoyed excellent service and food. The pool is nice and the entire area is very quiet and relaxing. When my wife and I drove up we really couldn't believe just how beautiful it was and the reaction carried on into the condo. Pictures really don't do it justice. That goes for the area and the condo. They are even more beautiful in person. I highly recommend this as a place of rest and relaxation for that perfect Hawaii get away.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review