reviews for: listing #38632 - Mauna Lani, Hawaii Villa rental

Top of the Line, Professionally Decorated, H3 Palm Villas
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Palm Villas
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $176 - $350 /nt
    $1,540 - $2,450 /wk

sort by:

kim and chris

Review submitted: March 3, 2009   Date of arrival: February 8, 2009

We found the unit to be in a great location, due to the Beach Club Beach access. The unit itself was very clean and nicely furnished. The ammenties included were greatly appreciated. ( beach towels, chairs, coolers, and snorkel gear) A lot of units we have stayed in do no include chairs and towels, which really come in handy. I would say the only thing that we could have used were left over condiments. ( mustard, ketchup, mayo, olive oil) Maybe when cleaning out the fridge leave these items for the next guest. We would definately stay here again and recommend the unit to friends. Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great!

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 1, 2014

Wonderful rental

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We will likely return.

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

· What did you like most about the home? lava field view from interior and lanai of the unit. Plenty of plastic bags, toilet paper, dishwasher and laundry detergent.
· How was the quality of the furnishings? lighting options were exceptional, beds and bedding were comfortable, recliner was very appreciated, recommend tacking down run in front of lanai door, unit and local information was very helpful, thank you for the Message Bible and dvd's and Ipod speaker/recharger and beach equipment/towels and plenty of hangers.
· Was the kitchen well equipped? heat from the appliances was hard to manage without air conditioning since there is no screen on the front door and the window over the sink is hard for a short person to reach unless one hops up on to the counter. Maybe a foot stool? Very much appreciated the condiment/spice supply. Although there was an adequate number of knives with good edges, some appear to have been used on concrete and are no longer sharpenable with a steel until reground or just replaced. Recommend replacing dishes with some that are lighter weight: one of the dinner plates slipped out of the hand while being placed in the dishwasher and broke. We purchased a lighter for the candles that we used every dinner on the lanai.
· How was your experience in making the reservation? excellent
· Did you like the Palm Villas pool and complex? marvellous:) The occasional social interactions and sharing of local information was a bonus.
· How was the location of the home? H building is the best in the Palm Villa complex which is the best in Mauna Lani.
· Was it clean and everything in working order? Generally yes. A couple minor items: The squeegee in the shower was broken which may have contributed to the need of thorough cleaning. I did not see the Comet in the back of the cupboard until I was checking to make sure we did not leave anything when departing. The smoke alarm in front of the lanai door started beeping in the middle of the night. We could not get it to stop beeping until we purchased a battery at the local grocery the next morning.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow! I want to return as soon as possible.

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

My boys and I had a fabulous time at the Big Island and especially in this rental. Right from the start, the owners were very accommodating with our schedule and did everything possible to make us feel welcome and comfortable.

First a bit about the location: Central enough to reach most parts of the island in a day. Very close to one of the best beaches I've ever been to - Hapuna. Shops, restaurants and a grocery store are within walking distance. The lava tunnels are amazing (practically in the backyard) and the access to the beach club and Mauna Lani is great. The condo is spacious, nicely decorated, and the kitchen was very well equipped. Everything was sparkling clean and in working order. We took advantage of the lanai on a regular basis for dinner. Loved having the washer/dryer in the condo.

The Palm Villas pool and complex was a real treat. We took advantage of the pool everyday after the beach - its really nicely landscaped and plenty of chairs. The equipment is newer and in good working order in the gym. It was easy to park. The condo was also well equipped with boogie boards, snorkeling gear, beach chairs and umbrellas and coolers. This was so lovely to have - and we put them to good use.

I am also a vacation rental owner and I have a learned a few things from Arthur and Karen about renting a home. Really well managed, really great people and I'd highly recommend staying here. In fact, I'd like to plan my next trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation home away from home in Kohala

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

This condo was pretty amazing, it's an immaculate 2 bedroom condo in a sparkling new development community about a 10-15 minute walk to the beach.

A couple of awesome things:
* There is a well stocked kitchen with all the utensils, cookware, etc. you need, and a local grocery store is a 5 minute drive away

* The home has a garage that contains snorkel gear, beach accessories, and a cooler, so it's like being at home (if your home were a 10 minute walk from an amazing beach)

* The owner recommended we contact Gail from Brown's for a wonderful meal at the Fairmont (which was an amazing walk away - we ran into a turtle on the way over), and we had a great sunset meal.

I would highly recommend this luxury condo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hawaii at it's best!

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

This condo was well equiped with all of the household items one could want while on vacation. The pool was beautiful and close to many majestic beaches. We ate at Kiran Chinese at the Hilton twice....best Chinese food on the Big Island (in our opinion). This condo was close to many good restaurants and in a clean safe area of the island. We enjoyed our time at the Palm Villas and had only 1 complaint...wish we could have stayed longer! We were sad to go, but will definitely visit again! Great condo! Aloha and hui hou Palm Villas!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved our stay!

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 17, 2012

We loved our stay at the H3 Palm Villas. We were traveling with a two-year-old and the Ellisons had thought of every detail to make the trip smooth and easy. Simple check in process, the house was super clean and fully stocked with a pack and play and high chair, beach toys and kids dishes and utensils. The proximity to the pool rocked and we love the Mauna Lani beach club for kids of this age... it's absolutely perfect.

We will be back to Palm Villas, hopefully sooner rather than later, and thanks to Arthur and his family for an enjoyable vacation in Hawaii. Highly recommend!

The Murphy Family from Orinda California

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We found Heaven at Palm Villas H-3

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation at Palm Villas H-3! The unit is beautifully decorated and was stocked with everything - and I do mean everything - that a family could need. We especially appreciated the fully stocked kitchen, which made making meals a pleasure! The beds were comfortable, the linens were soft. Having access to the beach club was a total bonus - arriving at the beach and having a lounge chair to sit on was heaven! The pool was lovely and had lots of shade. The pictures are not enhanced - that is exactly what the unit looks like! Great snorkelling just off shore, soft sand, wonderful restaurant at the beach club. Simply heaven!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Place

Review submitted: March 28, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

WOW!! Thats the best word to describe this unit. It was perfectly decorated and provided all the amenities one would need on a vacation to Hawaii. And...it was by far the cleanest condo we have ever stayed in. The resort itself is beautiful. Take it from our personal experience, you do not need to go to any other beach if you are looking for a place to snorkel. We were lucky enought to see turtles, a white tip reef shark and an octopus. This private beach has chairs, a restaurant/bar and clean bathrooms. The traffic is much better on this part of the Island. We are hoping to come back again next year.

One side note....go on the Manta Ray night dive. It was the coolest thing we have ever done.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quiet and Peaceful!

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

Our stay was a very enjoyable one. The Mauna Lani area of the Big Island is the best on the Kohala coast. The condo is nestled in a very quiet area with excellent access to the Private Beach Club or Hapuna Beach a short drive away. Walking through the Historic Park to the Beach Club or the nearby Mauna Lani Hotel was a good way to get a little exercise before a day of lounging or snorkeling at the beach. The snorkeling is excellent! Someone described it as looking into an aquarium! The pool (cool in the morning, much warmer in the afternoon) is small but nice with lots of chairs and beautiful landscaping.

The unit itself is clean, nicely decorated and very well appointed with everything you will need for your stay. Everything was in good working order. The owner’s description and pictures of the unit is accurate, what you see is what you get. The bed in the Master suite is very comfortable; tons of drawer space for clothing and the closets were plenty big complete with lots of hangers. This unit is very comfortable and you will want for nothing. After a long day and dinner out we were able to relax by choosing one of the DVD’s provided by the owner. Over 50 titles to choose from.

We would definitely recommend this property to anyone that is interested in having a quiet and peaceful vacation. A car is a must have while staying here. That’s probably true in most areas of the Big Island. If you’re looking for night life or a lot of action, this is not the place for you. You would be better served staying in Kailua-Kona.

Making the reservations was easy. The owner was prompt in returning emails and answered any questions we had prior to making the reservation. Our damage deposit was returned in a timely manner as well. This owner is organized, prompt and has a well-run rental; you will not be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

One of our best vacations ever

Review submitted: November 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

This place has it all- a modern and upscale kitchen with granite countertops, large dishwasher, microwave, stove, large refrigerator and washer/dryer in unit as well as a great lanai with propane grill out back. The place was super clean. The decor is tastefully done with a definite "Island" style that reminds you of where you are, a joy to wake up to in the morning and perfect for chilling out at the end of the day.
The location is great. Access to the Mauna Lani Beach Club was something that we took advantage of several times during our stay- great indoor/outdoor restaurant and a great sandy beach for just reading a book in one of the lounge chairs in a cabana or getting out into the water to snorkel or dive- lots of fish in this calm bay!
Check the room prices of any of the resorts along this coast- you won't find one for less than double or triple (or more) the price per night of this villa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice unit, but lots of noise from upstairs.

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the condo overall. The unit was perfect for us, but may be a little small for two couples. The kitchen was well-equipped and the furnishings were lovely & comfortable. We found the location to be perfect for us -- close to zop-lining to the north, not far from many good restaurants in Kona to the south, and we really enjoyed the immediate access to the beach club --& great snorkleing. The only negative was the sound of the people upstairs: you can hear people walking around, and for some reason, the family staying in the unit above us were stomping around pretty consistently. At one point, we were hoping to have a relaxing hour or two in the unit, but the noise upstairs was so bad that we actually got in our car and left. I wouldn't hesitate to stay in the area again, but probably would not rent a downstairs unit the next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location and wonderful amenities

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

From the first morning walk through the lava field to the ocean we were in love with the unit and the location. Loved staying in a condo that was equipped with all we needed in the kitchen as well as a bed that slept like a dream. My son-in-law has vowed to purchase one just like it! We would highly recommend this property to anyone who wants the true Hawaii experience without crowds of people surrounding you at every step. We enjoyed Cafe Pesto, Huli Sues (yes real Texas bbq with a twist), Merrimans and Hawi Towns Lukes Grill. The zip line in Hawi is top notch, we love the Fair Wind and Hula Kai snorkel trips. Yes we did both and felt it was worth it. The Hula Daddy coffee company gives an amazing free hands on tour that allows you to see how Kona coffee is made from picking the beans to roasting to sampling a just roasted batch. Yummy, we were able to purchase a freshly roasted pound of peaberry coffee. Try the kayak trip offered by Ocean Safari if you are feeling adventurous. We loved our stay and after two weeks wanted another week. Hapuna Beach is great for body/boogie board surfing and I have the bruises to prove it, I laughed so much it was a blast. Costco proved to be a bonus for us as well. Aloha and mahola for helping to make our vacation the best ever.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent accommodations

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Fabulous rental. Everything was in great condition and the condo was well equipped. An organized binder of information gave us all we needed to know about the condo and there were plenty of local resources on hand to provide info on restaurants and activities. We appreciated all the beach gear in the garage, avoiding the hassle of having to rent chairs, umbrellas, etc. We found everything we needed in the kitchen. We stayed with our 2 young children and were joined for a few days by another couple. There was ample room for the 6 of us, utilizing the pull-out sofa for the kids. The location is great and having access to the beach club is a definite plus. The complex pool and spa were nice as well. There isn't much in the workout room, but it's nicer to take advantage of the outdoors for exercising anyway. The historic path to the fish ponds/beach is perfect for jogging. We would definitely recommend this property to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful place to stay on the Big Island

Review submitted: June 26, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

This unit was impeccably decorated in a wonderful location. Access to the Mauna Lani private beach and ancient Hawaiian fish ponds was definitely a plus. The condo was stocked with everything you will need on your vacation including boogie boards, snorkel equipment, and beach chairs. The condo owner was very responsive and made sure that we had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location!

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

The home is fully equipped with everything you need. Ziplocs, spices, condiments, tour guides, maps and the many movies were all appreciated. The location is excellent. Walking distance to the tennis courts, pool and spa. The pool is especially fun with a waterfall for the kids. My only complaint is the request to wash all towels, start bedding, clean the grill and all the beach equipment etc prior to departure. We paid a cleaning fee with rental and found it difficult to complete this request without spending the entire day doing washing.

I would recommend this property. Thanks, for thinking of everything!
Jane

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Five Stars Aren't Enough!

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2009

“When we entered this unit, had Bolero been playing, we would have given it a ten. The attention to detail by the owners is evident throughout the unit as well as the concern for their guests’ enjoyment within the unit and at the beach. We should have known this unit and the others the owner rents would be in a class by themselves.


This was our first visit to the Big Island and while driving from the airport to this oasis in the lava fields I thought we had made a terrible mistake coming here. The only mistake was not coming sooner and staying longer. That will be remedied shortly as we are planning on coming back and staying for two weeks.


The other reviews on this unit talk about how beautiful it is, however it is in keeping with the entire property. The pool with waterfall and hot tub that melts and massages your cares away are only surpassed by the lagoon fish pond, historic by the way, and the beach and clubhouse. If you like to snorkel you will find a book on the counter that will help you identify all of the possible 650 fish species you might see.


The only thing lacking was a golf cart in the garage, a new set of top of the line golf clubs and a few free rounds of golf at the two magnificent 18 hole courses on the property. However most of the golf balls in my bag at home are covered with smiles that would probably cause the pro to frown.
Finally my sister-in-law and my wife and I want to thank the owner for allowing us to share their vacation home."

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Always good to have happy guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Vacation could not have been more wonderful!

Review submitted: August 9, 2009   Date of arrival: July 29, 2009

My family had the most amazing opportunity when we rented your property. I immediately felt at home. You have left nothing to chance; wonderfully furnished kitchen, more bathroom towels than you could possible need, beach towels, tv's, beach gear, linens, amazingly comfortable beds, super air conditioning and a peaceful environment. The pool at the Palm Villas is everything you want in a pool. The Beach Club was the best beach I have been to in Hawaii. What a great place for kids and adults both. He plan to rent your unit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic place, great location

Review submitted: August 3, 2009   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

Our family just returned from a 2-week stay in this property. We have 3 kids, ages 7, 10, and 13 and fully enjoyed every aspect of the home. The home is well designed and, yet, very comfortable for the entire family; everything was immaculate when we arrived and in full working order. The sofa-bed worked great as a third bed for our oldest child and everyone enjoyed the TV in each room and the extensive DVD library. The kitchen had everything we needed (we especially enjoyed the big griddle and the tupperware for some of our daytrips) and many of the spices/oils that we needed. The outside grill was my husband's favorite accessory. Especially nice was the location of this unit and Palm Villas overall. This home was very close to the pool and yet you had more privacy; the lanai opened up to the lava tubes versus other units that opened onto a more public space. The Palm Villas pool was spectacular - a great temperature and long enough for me to swim laps every morning. The pool was rarely busy, too. The workout room next to the pool was well-used by my husband and son, and even my daughter sometimes. I also felt very safe letting the kids ride bikes all around Mauna Lani by themselves...they especially liked to ride along the path through the lava tubes and fish ponds over to the beach club. The garage was well-stocked with everything we needed for the beach and for snorkeling, too. Honestly, I can't imagine a better place to stay on the Big Island!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peace and Pleasure at Mauna Lani

Review submitted: July 26, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

Our unit was beautifully decorated. The kitchen was complete and had every convenience you could possibly want. It was like visiting in a nice home.

We especially enjoyed the total quiet. There is absolutely no traffic noise. The pool is only a short walk from the condo and very relaxing.

Our kids and grandkids rented the three bedrom unit next door which was perfect for two families and had a large table where we could all eat together. We found the nearby grocery store very handy.

There is an excellent snorkeling beach at the Mauna Lani Bay beach club. There were colorful fish and sea turtles.

My husband and I took several enjoyable day trips to Parker Ranch, Waipi'o Valley and Hawi. Within twenty minutes to half an hour, you are in a completely different environment.

Our best restaurant meals were at Tommy Bahamas at Mauna Lani and Merrimans in Waimea.

All in all it was a wonderful vacation for the family ranging in age from 15 months to 69 years.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hawaiin paradise

Review submitted: July 10, 2009   Date of arrival: June 21, 2009

We enjoyed ourselves immensely! The condo had beautiful furnishings, top of the line appliances, convenient walk or drive tot eh each and the grounds were spectacular. It was incredible!! We loved that snorkeling equipment, boogie-boards, towels, etc were all provided- it made a huge difference! It was private, quiet and great for a family!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Total luxury with Hawaiian flavour

Review submitted: April 22, 2009   Date of arrival: April 6, 2009

· What did you like most about the home?
Everything had been thought of. Master bedroom & ensuite were amazing. Walk-in-robe, double wash basins, huge bed and even a laundry basket! High quality BBQ out on the lanai made for several lovely sunset meals.

· How was the quality of the furnishings?
It was furnished like money wasn't really an issue. Beautiful.

· Was the kitchen well equipped?
Top of the range kitchen appliances. Nice handy extras like spice rack, cling wrap...stuff you don't expect.

· Did you like the Palm Villas pool and complex?
Pool was picturesque and suitable for a family with young kids like ours. The spa was soooo warm that even my mother-in-law decided to take a dip ! The garage was equipped with snorkel gear, boogie boards, beach umbrellas, ..amazing !

· How was the location of the home?
Nice and close to the private beach. The deck chairs with blue shades were divine.
We had a car so all places were accessible.

(The drive across the island to Hilo took us about 2 and a half hours by the Saddle Rd of which 80% is new highway. The road was still being worked on at the time of writing so some stretches had a 25 speed limit which slowed us down a little. Still faster than going by the coast).

· Was it clean and everything in working order?
No excuse to be dirty there was every cleaning detergent, piece of equipment known to mankind. Everything very clean.

Unfortunately the kettle was missing when we arrived and we had some trouble finding someone to get us another one. It was sorted by the next day. Also our toaster wasn't working and we never got that back. These last two things are the only negatives and they didn't spoil our wonderful experience at the Palm Villas.

A great place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks to feedback from this guest we now have a new electric "kettle" (aka "tea kettle") and new toaster furnished by our on-site property manager.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Great Experience

Review submitted: March 24, 2009   Date of arrival: March 15, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed our stay in this condo very much. We both thought it was probably the best vacation lodgings we have ever stayed in. Arthur was very easy and gracious to deal with and renting it was very simple. The condo was very clean and furnished like a real home and not just a rental unit. The kitchen was complete and first class in every detail, including the dishes and utensils. Every room has a ceiling fan, including the lanai, which was a great feature. The beach equipment in the garage was a nice surprise, no need to rent or buy anything. The grounds are very pretty and quiet and we particularly enjoyed the walk through the historic trails and fish ponds to the beaches. We saw more whales from a bench at the edge of the golf course than we did on a whale watching tour. There is a grocery store and shopping close by and picking up supplies for an evening bar b que was very easy. This unit is in a great resort area and it is a very simple drive form the airport. We would love to come back with our family and will be sure to tell our friends about this unit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Stay At Palm Villas H-3

Review submitted: March 15, 2009   Date of arrival: February 24, 2009

We recently returned from a wonderful trip to the Big Island, which was made even more enjoyable by our stay at Palm Villas H-3. The lush, tropical, well-maintained gardens of the complex, along with the picturesque pool, were perfect compliments to the unit itself. Decorated and furnished to perfection, it carried the Hawaiian atmosphere from outdoors to in. There is much to praise about Palm Villas H-3, including the modern, fully equipped kitchen. And there wee many extras - the outdoor kitchen on the lanai, 3 (yes 3) tv's, lots of dvd's, wi-fi, free phone to the Mainland...even beach chairs, snorkel equipment, and more to use during our stay. The owners have thought of everything! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others with confidence!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 11, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

"Aloha!
We have only been home for a week after our fantastic 10 night stay at the Palm Villas unit in Mauna Lani, and are already planning for our return!
The unit is by far the most lovely unit we have ever rented from any VRBO owner on any of the numerous Hawaiian islands we have visited over the last few years.
This was our first time on the Big Island - we couldn't have picked a better location than Mauna Lani. The shopping center up the road was so convenient. The trail through the lava tubes and the fishponds to the ocean was our nightly sunset walk, and the beach club (that we used about four times) was perfect for the whole family. We even had the awesome experience of snorkeling with a pod of spinner dolphins there one morning - Amazing!
The Palm Villas complex was lush, quiet, and very secure feeling. The pool was to die for!
The unit itself was luxurious and very tastefully decorated (it made me want to go shopping at Tommy Bahamas!) Our kids loved having their own tv and dvd in their room - they could crash for some quiet movie time in their bed, after a long day - mornings exploring the Kohala Coast beaches, and afternoons at the pool. The lanai was probably my favorite part of the condo - such a private view, and the bbq left my husband drooling. It was so nice not to have to trek across a complex to a communal bbq. Another aspect of this rental that really impressed us were the beach amenities left for use in the garage. Chairs, umbrellas, mats, a great cooler, beach toys, boogie boards, and 1st class snorkel gear (enough for a whole family!)
It really was a fantastic experience. I know I often choose a vacation rental based on previous visitors reviews, and I hope this review can express my most meaningful recommendation. As I said before, our intention is to return next year - and our friends and family are all vying to come along since they have heard our stories, and seen our pictures.
Mahalo so much, for sharing your beautiful home.
Kelly and Duane
Brentwood Bay, BC "

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

OUR BEST VACATION

Review submitted: February 13, 2009   Date of arrival: January 28, 2009

This unit in the Mauna Lani resort complex exceeded our high expectations. We were thrilled by the luxurious feel and the attention to detail in this unit. We enjoyed returning to it after a day of adventures. The Mauna Lani is well-sited for Big Island day trips and we tended to alternate those with days around the resort, where there are many opportunities for walking or soaking up some sun or just plain relaxing. We will definitely recommend this property to our friends.

We shopped at Costco for local fish and fruit, and at the well stocked Foodland in the resort shopping center for incidentals and our much loved ahi poke. The last time we were at the Mauna Lani (could it have been 18 years ago?) groceries were available only at a very small convenience store, so we were delighted to discover the Foodland.

It was a perfect vacation. We loved every minute of it.

John and Ellen

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Far Exceeded All Expectations

Review submitted: February 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 18, 2009

Aloha!
We have only been home for a week after our fantastic 10 night stay at the Palm Villas unit in Mauna Lani, and are already planning for our return!
The unit is by far the most lovely unit we have ever rented from any VRBO owner on any of the numerous Hawaiian islands we have visited over the last few years.
This was our first time on the Big Island - we couldn't have picked a better location than Mauna Lani. The shopping center up the road was so convenient. The trail through the lava tubes and the fishponds to the ocean was our nightly sunset walk, and the beach club (that we used about four times) was perfect for the whole family. We even had the awesome experience of snorkeling with a pod of spinner dolphins there one morning - Amazing!
The Palm Villas complex was lush, quiet, and very secure feeling. The pool was to die for!
The unit itself was luxurious and very tastefully decorated (it made me want to go shopping at Tommy Bahamas!) Our kids loved having their own tv and dvd in their room - they could crash for some quiet movie time in their bed, after a long day - mornings exploring the Kohala Coast beaches, and afternoons at the pool. The lanai was probably my favorite part of the condo - such a private view, and the bbq left my husband drooling. It was so nice not to have to trek across a complex to a communal bbq. Another aspect of this rental that really impressed us were the beach amenities left for use in the garage. Chairs, umbrellas, mats, a great cooler, beach toys, boogie boards, and 1st class snorkel gear (enough for a whole family!)
It really was a fantastic experience. I know I often choose a vacation rental based on previous visitors reviews, and I hope this review can express my most meaningful recommendation. As I said before, our intention is to return next year - and our friends and family are all vying to come along since they have heard our stories, and seen our pictures.
Mahalo so much, for sharing your beautiful home.
Kelly and Duane
Brentwood Bay, BC

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Palm Villas H3 Vacation Rental December, 2008

Review submitted: December 29, 2008   Date of arrival: December 13, 2008

The property is new, upscale, and comfortable. The kitchen is set up nicely and well equipped. We found the location to be quiet and ideal. The pool and spa are lovely. The proximity to the Mauna Lani spa and fitness center. The quality grocery store at The Shops just 5 minutes away was another pleasant surprise.

We found the rental process to be straight forward and without surprises.

We would definitely return and would recommend this property to friends.

Thank you for your part in a pleasant and enjoyable vacation holiday.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hawaii Honeymoon!

Review submitted: November 1, 2008   Date of arrival: October 18, 2008

We had a wonderful time at the Palm Villas! It was a perfect location for our honeymoon. We love how much the condo felt like home. It was comforting and welcoming. The furniture was Hawaii themed but classic and comfortable with being overdone. The Kitchen was almost better than mine at home. Very well stocked woth appliances and cooking utensils. Also, we absolutely loved the grill and outdoor dining area. Its fun to go on vacation and look forward to cooking! The pool was very nice and we loved the hot tub! It feels very private and Hawaii with the beautiful flowers and trees all around. The condo was in a great location. It wasn't too terribly far from anything on the island. We learned quick that everything on the big island is a little drive and feels very spread out, but there is great dining fairly close and the drives to the Volcano and Hilo are very beautiful! The condo was extremely clean and very accomodating. We loved our stay and were not ready to head home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 9, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We spent 8 days in August in this vacation villa, and all we can say is this was the best vacation that we have ever had in Hawaii. The villa was more than a place to stay, it felt like home for my wife and I and our daughter and her husband. The villa was beautifully appointed with furniture and fixtures that are top of the line. Everything we needed to be comfortable was included, such as a fully equiped kitchen, TV's with DVD players, a DVD library, games, beach towels, beach chairs and snorkeling equipment.

The location is great - we walked to the beach to see the sunset a couple of times, as well going to the hotel for dinner. There can not be a more beautiful place to vacation. We went to the Beach Club every day and had excellent snorkeling and swimming. We also used the complex pool everyday and most nights. These included amenities helped us relax, exactly why we came to Hawaii in the first place!

Our experience in renting from the owners could not have been easier. They confirmed our reservation at once, had explicit instruction for occupancy sent prior to arriving, and had a great occupancy guide in the condo that was very helpful. After we got home, our security deposit was refunded in a very timely manner. Overall, the experience was much easier and neater than checking into any hotel, condo or resort that we have ever gone to.

In summation, we had an excellent experience. The owners have made this villa an excellent vacation home for all that rent. We are looking forward to a return sometime soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A more than wonderful week in Paradise

Review submitted: September 2, 2008   Date of arrival: August 4, 2008

We spent 8 days in August in this vacation villa, and all we can say is this was the best vacation that we have ever had in Hawaii. The villa was more than a place to stay, it felt like home for my wife and I and our daughter and her husband. The villa was beautifully appointed with furniture and fixtures that are top of the line. Everything we needed to be comfortable was included, such as a fully equiped kitchen, TV's with DVD players, a DVD library, games, beach towels, beach chairs and snorkeling equipment.

The location is great - we walked to the beach to see the sunset a couple of times, as well going to the hotel for dinner. There can not be a more beautiful place to vacation. We went to the Beach Club every day and had excellent snorkeling and swimming. We also used the complex pool everyday and most nights. These included amenities helped us relax, exactly why we came to Hawaii in the first place!

Our experience in renting from the owners could not have been easier. They confirmed our reservation at once, had explicit instruction for occupancy sent prior to arriving, and had a great occupancy guide in the condo that was very helpful. After we got home, our security deposit was refunded in a very timely manner. Overall, the experience was much easier and neater than checking into any hotel, condo or resort that we have ever gone to.

In summation, we had an excellent experience. The owners have made this villa an excellent vacation home for all that rent. We are looking forward to a return sometime soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Hawaiian Getaway

Review submitted: August 14, 2008   Date of arrival: July 24, 2008

The property was beautifully furnished. It was a pleasure to come home every day. Our kids loved the pool, the big TV and the private beach club - it would be good to have instructions about where to find the beach club and what you're entitled to (like towels and lounge chairs etc). It was nice to be part of the Mauna Lani resort as well. The grocery store in the resort is really hugely overpriced, but we found one in Waikaloa Village (turn left at the helicopters and drive a ways) that was reasonable. The whole resort property is great - the beaches are safe for kids. The Fairmont Hotel beach was beautiful, but they charge $15 for parking - the shuttle goes there though. The condo was outfitted with everything we needed for fun at the beach, including chairs, mats, snorkel gear and more. We were very happy with this rental and would recommend it easily.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wow!

Review submitted: August 12, 2008   Date of arrival: August 4, 2008

We've vacationed at several other hotels, condos, and houses in Kailua and Keauhou... but this was the best! The unit is truly top notch, the Palm Villas complex is best located next to the spa and courts, and near the Shops, where there's a market that has just about everything you would need if you'd rather do your own cooking. One negative for some might be that all of the restaurants in the resort that we've seen are higher end... Ruth's Chris and Tommy Bahama's are great places if it were just the wife and I on a romantic getaway, but if you've got the whole family there, it could get costly. Would recommend you make at least one trek down to Costco in Kailua, stock up on steaks and stuff, and make use of the great grilling equipment in the unit. One additional bonus I'd point out is that the Mauna Lani resort is far enough up the West Hawaii coastline that we were clear of the vog for most days... it can get pretty thick down in Kona. Mahalo! Bruce & Shirley & Marisa

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review