reviews for: listing #38667 - Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey House rental

Special 1600.00 A Week July & Aug. !!!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,500 - $2,200 /wk

sort by:

Last minute vacation house was awesome

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

House was great super clean and apprx 7 blocks to the beach, out side was also very nice . Backyard , hot tub, koi pond, and nice fresh flowers all around. Thanks Bill and Gaby for a great week.
Will definitely be back next year Dan and family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for the nice review.
Bill and Gaby

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice if you like Dirt!!

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

I rented this house for family visiting from Norway. I wish I could have read the review of the previous renter before I rented it because it's right on the money. The house didn't look that bad when we first pulled up, but upon closer inspection it was gross. My visitors and I spent 3 hours cleaning that house before they finally decide they would not stay there. They ended up staying with me even though there was a good chance they would not see a dime back on their rental money. First when we got there there were sheets on one of the 4 beds and I don't even think they were clean. The sheets we found didn't look much better (crumpled up on the floor in the closet or stuffed into a plastic bag in the dirty laundry room). The refrigerator was half full of opened containers of food and was filthy. We ran a swifter on a little bit of the hardwood floor and it was covered with dirt. The garbage in the kitchen was half full. The one garbage can outside was completely full and the other one had just enough room in it for the garbage in the kitchen. I was embarrassed that I was the one that recommended the house to them. When you rent a house the first thing you do when you get there shouldn't be cleaning it from top to bottom, washing all the linens and towels, and putting out someone else's garbage. Welcome to America! Another thing is the washing machine was broken, get it fixed! Hey at least he told us where the Laundromat was. It's a real inconvenience to take laundry for 7 to a laundry mat. When you rent a house it should be clean when you arrive. You shouldn't have to say "Oh wow it's clean too"!!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 13

 

Absolutely Recommend!!

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Let me start by saying that if I were fortunate enough to have property in a vacation area such as the Jersey shore, I am not sure I would make it available to renters. You obviously have to deal with a multitude of personalities and individuals with high expectations. That being said, I strongly rebut the previous review of this property. We returned this weekend after having had a wonderful time. Upon our arrival, we found the house, kitchen, bathroom, bedrooms, adjoining deck and hot tub absolutely immaculate. We literally were able to unpack the car and start our vacation. We had our small dog and two grandchildren with us who totally enjoyed the fenced-in back yard - and yes - it was beautifully landscaped. There is a lovely patio set which was perfect for us and our guests. The adorable koi pond is an added plus - and yes - it contained koi - not mosquitos. Much needed time was spent in the hot tub - and yes - it was hot and extremely relaxing. I used the washer and dryer when needed and they functioned perfectly. We had no issues whatsoever with the cul-de-sac - normal community traffic - and the neighbors I met were very friendly. The property is close to town where we enjoyed coffee, dinner and walks for ice cream. I absolutely recommend this property to couples, families with small children and those who like me, cannot vacation without their beloved pets. In the event we are able to get away next year, I will most definitely be reaching out to Bill in the hope he can accommodate us again. Bill - if you read this - many thanks again to you and your family for such a wonderful week!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Recommend!!

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Let me start by saying that if I were fortunate enough to own property in a vacation area such as the Jersey shore I am not sure I would make it available to renters. You certainly have to deal with a multitude of personalities and people with high expectations. That being said, I seriously rebut the previously posted review of this property. Having just returned from a week at this property I had to reach out to prospective tenants and state that this is an adorable beach house at which we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Upon our arrival, the house, kitchen, bathroom, bedrooms, connecting deck and patio, backyard and hot tub were immaculate. We were literally able to unpack the car and start our vacation. Our small dog and two small grandchildren were with us and totally enjoyed the fenced-in backyard which was mowed and spotless and yes - it is beautifully landscaped. The koi pond was an added plus and yes, it contained beautiful koi - not mosquitos. A lovely patio set is provided which seated us and all our guests perfectly. We had absolutely no issues with the cul-de-sac - normal community traffic - not noisy - and the neighbors I met were extremely friendly. There were televisions in the living room and in each bedroom - all functioned beautifully. I did use the washer/dryer when needed - no problems whatsoever. All provided appliances operated perfectly. The home is conveniently located to the town where we enjoyed coffee, dinner and trips for ice cream. I can honestly say I have no complaints about this property and if we are able to get away next year, we will definitely reach out to Bill with the hope that he can accommodate us again. I wholeheartedly recommend this property to couples, families with young children and definitely to those who cannot travel without their beloved pets. Bill - if you read this - thank you again for a wonderful, relaxing week!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Do Not Recommend

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

The day before arriving at the property I had to call the owner to find out where the keys were to get in the house. They were not in a lock box usually found when renting houses. They were in a mailbox, unlocked, outside the garage. During the conversation I was also told the washing machine was broke. At the time I didn't make a fuss. After thinking about the number of people I had, six, & beach towels, I realized it was essential and contacted Bill the morning after we arrived. I asked if the washing machine would be fixed during my week stay and was told he would call me the morning of Tue, 7/5, & would be at the house 7/5 to replace or repair the washing machine. We arrived at the property around 10pm 7/2 & found a note from Bill saying the dishwasher was also broke & there is a laundromat around the corner. I paid too much rent for 1 week & this is what I got for starters. I went to take a shower & found the bathroom a mess with a dirty toilet & area rugs & dirty tub. I then cleaned the tub & shower walls. At this point my husband was steaming because I shouldn't have to clean a place I'm renting for vacation but I couln't get in the shower without cleaning it first. After this, things just kept getting worse. I found the fridge, freezer & counter tops were dirty. The coffee machine had grounds from the last person & had mold in it. There was no internet access as advertised & the computer in the place was filthy & really old. Bill said the internet access was an error made by his wife in the listing. Not all TVs in the house had cable and 1 only got the weather channel. Traffic is not light in the cul-de-sac, the yard was not beautifully landscaped (all listed in ad) - & it had weeds coming thru every crack & pebble. There are no koi in the pond - only mosquitos. The hot tub is old & falling apart, had freezing cold water in it & stopped working on 7/8. Trash cans were filled with the previous renters trash & were covered with magets. I washed beach towels at the landromat & found the dryer also not working when trying to dry them at the house. All was reported to Bill over the phone when he said he would call me on 7/5. He never called me after that or returned any of my calls. We left the house early on 7/6, keys back in mailbox by garage & left voice mail for Bill that we left house I expected my deposit and additonal monies for inadequacies and early departure. I did not receive anything back and plan to go to small claims court.

Owners response: All this woman did was complain about everything from the start, you get those sometimes when you're in the rental business, just about everything she is saying is not true, she is making things up as she goes along..
This is my 3rd year renting this home and i have never had anyone as unreasonable as this.. I told her the washing machine was broke, her response was well who washes clothes on vacation anyway, then when more people showed up than expected it became a problem for her.. I told her the keys would be in the mailbox she said no problem, the bathroom was not dirty as she says, it was clean like always, the hot tub is fine only the heater wasn't working, the dishwasher was broken by the previous renters i did not have time in 5 hours to replace, besides what's wrong with doing the dishes in the sink for the week,all the tv's have cable , even complaining about the cul-de-sac, the kitchen was very clean, toilet was not dirty i cleaned it myself. The previous renters left some trash behind not alot, not to make a big deal over. This is a beach house , not the Ritz Carlton.. This was all written days after the renter had left the property..

Helpful votes: 9 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review