reviews for: listing #38750 - Pacific City, Oregon House rental

"Mayes Resort Cottage" WITH HOT TUB!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $89 - $139 /nt
    $599 - $849 /wk
    $1,600 - $2,400 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Place to Stay!

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

My sister and I, as well as our husbands, stayed at Mayes Cottage for 3 nights. The accommodations were very clean and modern, with TV, DVD player and DVDs, as well as games to play. In addition, a notebook with suggested outings was available. The set-up was perfect, with the main unit on one side and a separate bedroom and bath in the other unit. This gave us some private time, yet we were right next door and shared a beautiful deck. The location was within walking distance of a grocery store and a library, and a very short drive from some excellent restaurants. We had a wonderful time, and I would highly recommend this property!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Please let me know whatever questions you might have..we try to cover all the bases of having a delightful vacation rental for our guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

After reading all the other reviews, we find it hard to add anything else. No wait!!! No one has mentioned how reasonable the rates are for Mayes Cottage. We could not believe how nice it is. When you walk in, you realize the pictures of the cottage, though very nice, do not do it justice. It is beautiful and very clean. Everything is provided for a carefree relaxing stay, including a washer and dryer. It's a block to the Nestucca River to launch our kayak. The new hot tub is lovely for stargazing.

What we really want to convey is that Mayes Cottage made us feel as though we were staying in a friend's lovely home.

Working with Gary was pleasant as he was very prompt and courteous.

We will definitely return.

Rick & Dayle

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Rick & Dayle for all your kind words..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

Really loved our stay at your home and the location and town was wonderful for us..Nice owners and everything needed except food..

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to stay here again!

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

This was the BEST getaway weekend we have ever had, right from the start. First of all Gary (owner) was a pleasure to talk to on the phone to make the arrangements.

Upon arrival we were pleased with the size of the deck on the front of the house with the large hot tub. Never staying here before we were unsure what to expect the inside of the home might look like being an older beach house. Wow, what a surprise. It looks like a fresh remodel of the entire house. New kitchen, bedroom, bath... you name it. It was beautiful and very comfortable.

It's not located right on the beach, but only a few blocks away. Also, it's not located on a high traffic road which is nice for setting on the deck without all the noise..

We can't wait to stay here again.

Thank you Gary,

Nick & Tabitha

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

When can we stay again? This fit us perfectly!

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

This was the BEST getaway weekend we have ever had, right from the start. First of all Gary (owner) was a pleasure to talk to on the phone to make the arrangements.

Upon arrival we were pleased with the size of the deck on the front of the house with the large hot tub. Never staying here before we were unsure what to expect the inside of the home might look like being an older beach house. Wow, what a surprise. It looks like a fresh remodel of the entire house. New kitchen, bedroom, bath... you name it. It was beautiful and very comfortable.

It's not located right on the beach, but only a few blocks away. Also, it's not located on a high traffic road which is nice for setting on the deck without all the noise..

We can't wait to stay here again.

Thank you Gary,

Nick & Tabitha

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy, cute and relaxing

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

We stayed at Mayes resort cottage (or Fish Camp Palace)for twelve days. We originally booked for ten but liked it so much we added two more days.
It had everything you need and was clean, comfortable, quiet and very nicely decored. Since it was such a short walk to the beach we were there minimum once a day. The weather was cool some and warm some so we made good use of the hot tub too.The river's right across the street with a great spot to load in a canoe, kayak or paddle board and take a trip on the river. Pacific City is a coll casual little town with friendly people and animals. Gary the owner is a very nice guy and very approachable should you have any questions.
PC is very handy to other nice locations up and down the coast and it's beautiful all around both the valley and the beaches.
We will stay here again in the future and recommend it to anyone seeking a nice relaxing getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

mayes resort cottage

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

We had the best time at this cute rental. The house has been very recently remodeled and is just as nice, if not more so than the pictures. We even slept really well because the matresses were extreamly comfortable.
While it isn't on the river you do have a very nice view from the private deck with a hot tub. Also, there is a grocery store one block from the property and a wonderful restraunt called the greatful bread bakery also a block away. The beach is a very quick 3 minute drive and its beautiful.
The owner of the property was very accomodating and friendly. I have stayed in a few rentals on the coast and this is one of my favorites. The only thing I can think of to add is to make sure to bring condiments for cooking. There isn't any olive oil or pam or butter etc. Also, there aren't many books or board games if you have kids.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Soakin' it up!

Review submitted: March 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Everything was easy from the start with this extra cute rental. The owner was prompt and considerate, the rental was very clean and tidy with lots of updates. My friends and I really enjoyed the hot tub especially :) Don't be deceived by the rugged exterior because the inside is lovely!

The only downsides would be the lack of a view (except for the main street), a scarcity of non-filet kitchen knives, and no kleenex (my nose was extra runny from the windy weather). I would 100% stay at this fun spot again!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review