reviews for: listing #38760 - Santa Monica, California Cottage rental

Studio Guest House
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $950 - $1,000 /wk

sort by:

Tiny Jewel

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

This is a tiny jewel in a lovely area of Santa Monica. The property was clean and thoughtfully stocked. The owner was very attentive to our needs. The real treat of this studio is the beautiful, welcoming garden that so expands the space. I certainly would recommend this to others, and we plan to stay here again on our next trip to SM.
While there, we golfed. Rustic Canyon and Angeles Nat'l are two fabulous public courses. Gjelina, a restaurant in Venice was a real treat.
For un-Californians, it's good to know that "alleys" are small roads between streets that provide access to garages and little cottages like this one.
Can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful, Truly Unique. A Treasure.

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

This is an exceptional, comfy retreat. The owner has put much thought into providing all a traveler might need. The attention to detail is outstanding. The studio is well stocked with dishes, glasses, corkscrews, minor tools, pen and paper, paper products and many others items you might need. A binder with appliance instructions, area restaurants, things to see and map of the area was provided. Even a current Zagat's restaurant guide was provided. The bed was comfortable with premium sheets, hefty towels were provided, the TV was excellent, the patio serene, top notch shower and the neighborhood was impressive, safe and quiet. The pictures you see with this listing are accurate.There is free and easy parking. There is working air and heat. We stayed close to 2 weeks and the studio was cleaned while we were out. The owner is easy to work with and did I say she has thought of everything you might need to make your stay a pleasure. The location is easy to get to but not real close to the beach. You are close to Montana and we walked there easily. The only downside we found was that we would have liked to have two chairs instead of only one in the kitchen/dining area so we could have moved them closer to the TV if we wanted. You can see the TV from the bench seat but the sound needs to be turned up high to bridge the distance. We would highly recommend this unique studio.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

TOP!

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Genial, mit viel Liebe eingerichtet, sauber, tolle Lage. Sehr empfehlenswert.
Tina - thank You for being such a great host!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I wanna come back!!!

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

Simply amazing. super comfortable and equipped with everything you need! super clean and very nice garden. we loved the neighborhood...I could live there forever. i really hope to come back! :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Darling Cottage

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

This well maintained, darling cottage should be on your list of places to stay during your next visit to Santa Monica/Brentwood. Its so comfortable,just like coming home.
Pride of ownership begins at the front door, but, certainly, doesn't end in the beautiful courtyard.
Can't wait for our next stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just lovely

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

The studio apartment in Santa Monica is exactly as the pictures show. It is truly lovely and very comfortable. There is lots of storage space, a lovely patio, comfortable bed, and fully equipped kitchenette. The neighborhood is peaceful and felt very safe at all times. There is a totally private entrance and two parking places, a rarity in Santa Monica where parking is at a premium. Tina was very easy to work with. We would definitely try to rent this apartment again.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

best nest ever!!!!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

As a seasoned traveller and dweller of the many beautiful spaces, Hamptons Bali, central park, this santa monica gem is a must for the seekers of zen and beauty in the chaos of LA
Tina has thought of every detail that someone would require when traveling to make it feel like YOUR home.
Her sense of style and thoughtfulness not to mention uber location make this a repeat destination
I"m delighted to share such a wonderful experience
pp

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very beautiful Studio Guest house

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2012

Dieses schöne Objekt ist genau so schön und gepflegt wie auf den Bildern.
Wir hatten einen sehr angenehmen Urlaub.
Ich würde dieses Studio sofort nochmals mieten und jedem weiterempfehlen!

Thank you very much !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perefect!

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August, I was a bit apprehensive in the begining as I had never stayed in a vacation rental that I had booked online before but after reading all the reviews and having been to Santa Monica a couple of times before I knew it was in a good location. Throughout the whole process from originally booking the rental to the day we left Tina was brilliant and even emailed me some details of a new club that had recently opened in Santa Monica that she thought we might be interested in going to (The Bungalow).

I have got to say this rental was such good value for money, having stayed in a hotel in Santa Monica before we actually saved so much money by choosing to go with a rental property. Not only are you a 10 minute walk to the beach and centre you have free parking and your own patio area.

When we arrived we were greeted with two beach cruiser bikes which we used daily to cycle to the beach and saved us renting them which can be quiet pricey if you want to cycle most days along the bike paths on the beach. Also need to add cycling around Santa Monica was really easy and safe. Ideal Sunday was spent cycling along to Venice beach.

The rental itself is beautiful and was just what we wanted!! It was in a really safe neighbourhood and really easy to find on the GPS. The interior was really clean and very well decorated. We were also really lucky that this rental had a beautiful patio area, ideal for having breakfast in the morning and drinks in the evening! Also should add that the rental had a great wifi connection.

Overall I loved this rental and would definitely stay here again. Think It actually made our holiday staying in our 'own place' instead of a hotel.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August, I was a bit apprehensive in the begining as I had never stayed in a vacation rental that I had booked online before but after reading all the reviews and having been to Santa Monica a couple of times before I knew it was in a good location. Throughout the whole process from originally booking the rental to the day we left Tina was brilliant and even emailed me some details of a new club that had recently opened in Santa Monica that she thought we might be interested in going to (The Bungalow).

I have got to say this rental was such good value for money, having stayed in a hotel in Santa Monica before we actually saved so much money by choosing to go with a rental property. Not only are you a 10 minute walk to the beach and centre you have free parking and your own patio area.

When we arrived we were greeted with two beach cruiser bikes which we used daily to cycle to the beach and saved us renting them which can be quiet pricey if you want to cycle most days along the bike paths on the beach. Also need to add cycling around Santa Monica was really easy and safe. Ideal Sunday was spent cycling along to Venice beach.

The rental itself is beautiful and was just what we wanted!! It was in a really safe neighbourhood and really easy to find on the GPS. The interior was really clean and very well decorated. We were also really lucky that this rental had a beautiful patio area, ideal for having breakfast in the morning and drinks in the evening! Also should add that the rental had a great wifi connection.

Overall I loved this rental and would definitely stay here again. Think It actually made our holiday staying in our 'own place' instead of a hotel.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful clean, bright fresh place to stay.

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

I felt very safe and relaxed, especially after having a terrible time getting into California (late flight, misunderstanding between me and my gps...etc. etc.) Finally I arrived, frazzled to death, to Tina's place. Thankfully Tina was waiting kindly and patiently for me, she's a saint! Simply walking into the studio, I immediately felt more relaxed. I really loved this place, it was a place I could LIVE in, it was decorated very nicely and so clean, bright and fresh! The shower, the brightness, it had every utensil in the kitchen I needed, even some tea and coffee and water bottles, plenty of storage, easy parking, Zen like gardens, big TV, great lighting, comfy, fresh bed, close to great shopping, probably don't even need a car as it's only about a 7 minute walk to Montana and the Big Blue Bus/system. HIGHLY recommend, good value, you won't be disappointed. Beautiful, posh, quiet, neighborhood as well. Sincerely, Julie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Superb!

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2012

We selected this property because of the reviews and location. It is superb- better than a suite in a 5 star hotel and much less cost. Tina was very welcoming and we would reccomend this to anyobe looking for a great place to stay in Santa Monica.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

perfect

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

Place is better than it looks. Location was perfect for us. Residential Santa Monica but walking to very nice shops and restaurants. Excellent local info provided. A beautiful private outdoor space with table and chairs perfect for breakfast. I am looking forward to returning and have recommended it to my son's motherinlaw!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Highly Recommended!

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Loved everything about it! Location, amenities, price, and everything else...

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic little spot!

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2010

I meant to write this review a long time ago, but we stayed at this guesthouse in May of 2010 and it's exactly what we expected it to be- relaxing, private and just plain beautiful. Tina, our host, was very accommodating. We were having trouble getting a wireless signal on our laptop and we needed to retrieve a very important email message. Tina was very gracious in letting us use her own personal laptop until we finally got ours working. It was so nice that she trusted us with it. The river rock shower is even better looking in person, which I didn't think was possible because the picture is fabulous. We really enjoyed our stay- we only wish it could have been longer!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing and beautiful accommodation

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

Me and my partner went to LA in August 2010 and have stayed in this appartment for nearly three weeks. I can say that our stay was lovely, the place was clean, nicely furbished, and very cosy. We would definitely recommend to stay here. Having a car is neccesary to get about,but we have walked to the nearest shops and yummy restaurants many times and it only took us about 15 minutes. The walk to the beach was around 30 minutes, but should you choose to drive to the beach there is plenty of parking around. The appartment has got a small fridge and an oven so we could easily cook our meals. The patio was getting sorted while we were there so we could enjoy it for the last week of our stay and I must say it was so serene and relaxing sitting in the garden, eating breakfast and watching hummingbirds flying around.
Anyone who would like to stay in a lovely place,in a quiet neigburhood, with plenty of shops and restaurants and the beach near by should consider staying here, you will not be disappointed. Thanks again to Tina who made our stay wonderful and unforgetable.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Zanet. Thank you so much for the lovely review! I've put a fence in now, so it's more private. What a process!

I hope to see you again and I hope you're doing well.

take care,

Tina

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Sehr schöne Ferienwohnung

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Die Ferienwohnung entspricht genau den Abbildungen auf dieser Internetseite! Sie liegt in einer schönen, ruhigen Gegend von Santa Monica (allerdings sollte man mobil sein). Die Vermieterin ist sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Wir können die Ferienwohnung vorbehaltslos weiter empfehlen!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

BEAUTIFUL!

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

BEAUTYFULL STUDIO!
CLEAN AND SILENCE PLACE IN SANTA MONICA!
ALSO THE OWNER IS VERY FRIENDLY!
I RECCOMEND THIS PROPERTY!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Haven

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 11, 2010

We were in Santa Monica for a wedding. Our schedule of errands and
parties was extremely busy, The cottage was an ideal place for us to retreat to for quiet and rest. The garden is lovely and a wonderful place to enjoy morning coffee. Just a short walk to restaurants and shops. The neighborhood is very safe and it is really fun to walk around to view the diverse architectual styles.
We would give this our highest recommendation!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Perfect Haven

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 11, 2010

We were in Santa Monica for a wedding. Our schedule of errands and
parties was extremely busy, The cottage was an ideal place for us to retreat to for quiet and rest. The garden is lovely and a wonderful place to enjoy morning coffee. Just a short walk to restaurants and shops. The neighborhood is very safe and it is really fun to walk around to view the diverse architectual styles.
We would give this our highest recommendation!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect alternative to hotel

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

The studio is a real gem. It is spotless, bright and tastefully decorated. The kitchen is well-equipped and the bathroom is very luxurious. It is surrounded by a beautiful garden. There is absolutely no traffic noise, the area is safe and peaceful. It's better to have a car, like in any other place in L.A. Tina, the owner, is friendly and answered all our questions. Communication was very good during the booking process. So much better than staying in a hotel. We'll book it again when we come back !

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect hotel alternative, beautifully detailed

Review submitted: February 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2009

I stayed in the Studio guest house in Santa Monica at June 2008 for a week. Unfortunately back then there wasn't possibility to write a review. I couldn't be more satisfied for the chose I made to stay in this Studio. It was very beautifully detailed, located in nice and quiet neighborhood and the owner was extremely friendly. It was even more than I expected and very worth the price.

The guest house had own entrance with own small patio which gives the privacy. The whole studio was decorated very nicely with light shades and included everything I needed. There was forexample water, fruit and snacks waiting which was really nice welcome since I arrived late and had long flight from overseas. Also there was extremely beautiful shower with glass wall to the private patio.

I will definetly recommend this to anyone and I will definetly keep this in mind in case I travel back to California again. Thank you for making my stay very pleasant!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful rental

Review submitted: October 17, 2009   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

I agree with the previous review: cozy, attractive, private, quiet -- and in a lovely neighborhood with convenient dedicated parking. And the shower is amazing.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful guest house and location

Review submitted: May 21, 2009   Date of arrival: May 2, 2009

Wonderful guest house, very clean and very cozy. The shower is amazing! Very comfortable bed. The TV is great. Very close to all attractions in Santa Monica, Brentwood, etc. We had a great time and would definitely come back and recommend this place!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review