reviews for: listing #387901vb - Kekaha, Hawaii rental

Oceanfront Beach Cottage with Amazing Sunset Views
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

1st Time Hawaii Visitors

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

I found Hale Ilima through the VRBO website when I started the search for a place to stay on Kauai for me and my wife. Given the very reasonable price for an ocean-front house, I was skeptical. However, all we saw were positive reviews from other vacationers. The house delivered without a doubt. We arrived to a clean place that was just as pictured and described on the website.
Kekaha is out of the way and I would say that this house is going to be best suited to people who want to be off the beaten path. No big resorts or 5 star restaurants nearby so if you're looking for a luxurious stay with quick access to shopping, activities and more people, you should probably focus on Poipu or Princeville up north. For those folks who want to enjoy the ocean and Hawai'i's natural beauty while being a little further removed from other mainlanders, this is your spot. Polihale is just up the road and you're also very close to Weimeia Canyon. As I said, the ocean is right across the street and you can walk to the beach. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place!

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

If you like being away from tourists and the artificial resorts, you'll really like this place. The star of the show is the lanai. We loved to relax here in morning with our coffee, as well as in the afternoon and evenings. While relaxing and sipping refreshments, we watched whales breaching and tail-slapping a couple of hundred yards away (bring some good binoculars!). Then came the beautiful sunsets. The location of this house is really great: the road does get a little busy at times, but the Kekaha beach park, where you can walk stretches of empty beach for at least a couple of miles, is just a few yards down the road. The fabulous beach at Polihale State Park is only 30 minutes away. Great views and hiking at Waimea Canyon and Kokee State Park are a short drive away, as are the daily boat tours to Napali. The small, funky town of Waimea, with grocery stores and several eateries, is only 10 minutes away. The former Grove Cafe in Waimea is now a Kalapaki Joe’s. The house itself is spacious, very comfortable and well-furnished. The supply of beach equipment came in very handy, too. Scott and Chad were very easy to work with. This was our first vacation rental, and based on this experience, we’d definitely do it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Niles5

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 5, 2013

My family which included 4 adults and three children stayed here. It was just what we needed as my daughter was getting married at the Waimea Plantation. We enjoyed every aspect of the home- it was clean, sunny, airy and very comfortable. We enjoyed mornings drinking coffee on the lanai and evenings and the sunsets with adult beverages. The house is equipped with everything you need- there were things that I don't even have in my kitchen. When the kids went to the beach they did not have to buy anything because there were coolers, boogie boards, snorkeling equip., etc for their use. We truly enjoyed our time here and it also large enough to entertain inside or on the lanai.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful and Relaxing

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

This was our first trip to Kauai and we were not disappointed. The house is located in Kekaha, pretty much the end of the road going north on the west side. The small town of Waimea is just a few miles south of the house where you can buy most of what you need. There is a wonderful beach with a lifeguard just across the road and a few hundred yards down from the house. The house is clean, beautiful, bright and airy. The house also has everything you need for the beach including Tommy Bahama beach chairs and umbrellas, coolers and boogie boards. Sitting out on the porch at night with a spectacular view of the ocean and the stars is something we won't soon forget!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved Kauai

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Almost don't want to tell anybody how nice this place was.... The house- kitchen, beds, bathroom, laundry, deck, etc. were wonderful. Maybe 5 minute walk to the beach, which we pretty much had to ourselves. A little noise from the road traffic in front of the house BUT husband says he would still rate the place as excellent and I completely agree. Conveniently close to groceries and eating places, We would definitely stay here again if we ever return to Kauai.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing Rental

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

For our first time on Kauai...I think that we hit a homerun with this rental and it's location. For starters, the property manager Scott was extremely easy to work with, very responsive to emails...making the entire process very smooth. The location of this house is amazing...and indeed the west side is by far the sunniest. During our stay...there were flash flood warnings throughout the island as bridges, roads, and beaches on the north side were closed...however, we were enjoying a sunny day (on the beach) in Kekaha. Stores and "Happy Hours" are a short trip away. But...with the sunsets and weather in Kekaha...the best happy hours were on the lanai of our house. The owners and management of this rental have left no stone unturned...including kitchen utensils and beach necessities. Needless to say, we had a wonderful time...thank you Scott!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I appreciate all the great comments about your stay. It is especially validating to read your comments about the weather. People don't always realize the dramatic differences in weather on the island. With only an average of 15 inches of rain per year, your chances of a sunny dry day can't be beat here. It is also noticeably less humid, making it all that more comfortable. We hope that you make a return visit soon.
Thanks for such a perfect description of why the west side is the best side! Much aloha

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Experience!

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Being on the dry side of the island, we were able to avoid all the rain and still listen to the waves as we fell asleep at night. Very nice accomodations and everything lived up to its description.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent Vacation Home in Kauai

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

I have rented VRBO homes for many years and never dissappointed! This was no exception! My first time in Kauai, my wife and anouther couple shared this house making the cost extrememly affordable. Everything was as depicted. We extremely enjoyed staying on this side of the island as we never had rain and were basically in a neighborhood without any "tourist" feeling. The best beach on the island is just down the road, and you are right at the base of the Canyon for great hiking. I was especially pleased with the beach chairs, umbellas, and boogie boards that came with the house. All were very high quality and in excellent repair. The vauted ceiling living area that included kitchen, dining and living rooms was very enjoyable, even though we spent most of our time on the front poarch overlooking the ocean when we were there! If you want a noisy hotel or condo crammed in with a lot of loud tourists, then go elsewhere...if not this is a great place to blend in and relax and feel like your a part of the island culture and not just a sightseer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great place for a getaway

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

This house was great. Everything is as advertised.

The house is in first class condition. Clean. Great linens and towels.

We put 2 of the 6 almost new tommy bahama beach chairs in the back of the car, left them there and used them at beaches all over the island. Each morning we would throw some ice and drinks into the ice chest we found in the closet and head out.

We slept in the front bedroom so we could see the ocean every morning when we woke up.
We shopped at the markets in Waimea for groceries. They weren't big city stores but they had a good selection of wine and beer. I would reccommend buying Poke at the Isihara market. They had several kinds that I believe they make at the store. Poke is the Hawaiin version of Sushi without the rice. It was the first time we had had it. It was great as an appetizer.

We didn't use the gas grill but it was in good condition and just outside the door on the lanai. Ther was an extra gas tank in the storage bin around the back.

We were looking for place to get away from everything and found it. The nearest hotel is probably 10 miles away. We went to 2-3 beaches in area and found only locals or a deserted beach.

Sunsets were beautiful. The water was warm.

The road up to the Waimea canyon is just down the street. Boat tours to the amazing Napali coast were available at Port Allen about 10 miles down the road.

The master Bath has an old style free standing cast iron bath tub with a shower.

The second bath had the washer and dryer which we did use. Wireless internet worked well. We didn't watch any TV.

If you go to google earth you can see that the house is almost the last one on the road. It has a turquoise colored roof so it is easy to spot.

The nerighbor to the West was very friendly and helpful.

The owner, Scott, was very easy to work with setting up the rental and sent us info on the island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Beautiful House, Beautiful View

Review submitted: March 28, 2012   Date of arrival: March 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited Kauaii recently. This was a wonderful house for our stay. It was bright and airy and comfortable. Waking up each morning and seeing the water so close was breathtaking. The kitchen has everything you could need and the towels, beach chairs, boogie boards and umbrellas are of high quality. They have a claw footed tub in the master bath that is great to soak in after a day of hiking! The brokers were informative and helpful and we didn't have any problems. The only down side to this house is the noise from the road, but there is not much you can do about that when you are staying in a beautiful place close to the water with only one highway around the whole Island. The water is also murky here due to the runoff from Waimea but you can still walk down the road to a lifeguard beach. We strongly recommend, great for a family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

30 years of visiting Kauai

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2011

Been vacationing in Hawaii for over 30 years. Best of the islands is Kauai. Best of Kauai is Kekaha. (Kekaha is on the dry side of Kauai and it is always sunny) And the best rental we have found in Kekaha is this property! Just bought our own property or we wouldn't let out what we consider a well kept secret. This is a GREAT vacation home. Open, airy, well furnished and maintained with a GAS barbecue. Sunsets from lanai are unobstructed and spectacular.
Beautiful swimming/body surfing beach in front of the house or walk to the point to be in front of the lifeguards. Polihale and Queen's pond are 15 minutes away (best beaches on Kauai). You can't go wrong staying in Kekaha and you won't be disappointed with this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

30 years of visiting Kauai

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2011

Been vacationing in Hawaii for over 30 years. Best of the islands is Kauai. Best of Kauai is Kekaha. (Kekaha is on the dry side of Kauai and it is always sunny) And the best rental we have found in Kekaha is this property! Just bought our own property or we wouldn't let out what we consider a well kept secret. This is a GREAT vacation home. Open, airy, well furnished and maintained with a GAS barbecue. Sunsets from lanai are unobstructed and spectacular.
Beautiful swimming/body surfing beach in front of the house or walk to the point to be in front of the lifeguards. Polihale and Queen's pond are 15 minutes away (best beaches on Kauai). You can't go wrong staying in Kekaha and you won't be disappointed with this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review