reviews for: listing #387907vb - Esterillos, Costa Rica rental

Award-Winning Luxury Ocean View Condo 275 Yds from the Beach
  • bedrooms  9
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  11
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 695 - $ 1,250 / night
    $ 6,965 - $ 8,750 / week
    $ 17,250 - $ 18,000 / month
  • sleeps  25
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Amazing house and staff.

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 13, 2014

This house is just amazing for a large group. Having the help of Javi the property manager was just as great as the property. Javi always went the extra mile to help accommodate our group. I would recommend this location 110%.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to go back!!

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

Myself and 25 of my family and friends just returned from vacationing at this property for a week and it was amazing! We plan to visit Costa Rica again and will not stay anywheres else but this house. First of all, the owner was extremely helpful and quick with info and setting up the reservation. The house is very reasonably priced and so worth the money. The pictures really do no justice. Whether you rent the entire house or just one floor you will be pleased. Every room is very spacious and exteremly nice. The beds are super comfortable and AC is cold. We loved the roof top pool and spent almost every day lounging and nights drinking and visiting at the bar. The view of the town and beach from the rooftop is gorgeous during the day. I also loved how secure we felt in the house. There is a 4 car garage and gate entrance to the house that you can keep locked and can only be opened with a garage opener or from the inside. The house is a short walk from
the beach and there is a mini grocery store that's even closer that will have all of your food and drinks. There's also a very cool restaurant that serves excellent food right next door to the mini mart. I can not say enough about the groundskeeper Javier and his wife. They made our stay even more pleasant. Javier was extremely helpful the entire trip. If we had a issue with something in the house he quickly came to fix it no matter what time if day. He set up all of our excursions and told us where to eat and where to shop. He took us to some beautiful waterfalls and set us up with some reasonably priced local fishing. Costa Rica is beautiful and full of fun activities and awesome sights! If you plan to go, look no further. This is the place to rent for your stay. We had all ages from 1 years old to 60 years old in our group and everyone had a wonderful time!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! Javier had a great time helping you out with our time there. Costa Rica is such a wonderful country and we love the village and the people in it. Its an awesome community to spend a week in. Thanks for coming down and we'd love to have you again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place!!!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 16, 2014

Cannot say better things about this place. The guy who owns this house makes sure you are taken care of and his caretaker can help assist you with any activities or personal needs. My group was six friends and we all felt comfortable and spread out. Very peaceful place & felt safe the whole time. As far as getting away and relaxing the area the house is situated in is a quiet sleepy surfing village with plenty to do. I recommend the sunrises in the morning on the rooftop! I own a small business and considering bringing my sales team down to the house, there's plenty of room.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Property

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

I recently stayed at this gorgeous property with a bunch of my friends & we all had an amazing time. The photos don't even do it justice! The beds are all super comfy, the rooms are very spacious & the entire place is very clean and well maintained. The groundskeepers are also very friendly and incredibly helpful. The beach in front of the property is pretty secluded, so it felt like it was our own private beach. But our favorite place was the rooftop pool. I would definitely return here if I end up in Costa Rica again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Azarja,
Thanks for the great review and I'm glad you had a fun stay and thanks for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mike M.

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

This place by far blew any of my expectations out of the water. We rented the entire property and the condos are absolutely magnificent and kept in great condition. I planned a bachelor party for 2 of my friends and we had 11 people total. There was plenty of room in the 9 bedrooms for everyone to sleep. Javier and Arturo were there to help us out as best they could by setting up taxis, dinner, really whatever we needed they tried to accomdate us. Couldn't have asked for better people. The house is a short walk to the beach with a small surf shop in town to rent surfboards as well. We spent a lot of time on the roof at the pool just taking in the amazing views of the ocean. It was nice being in a small town away from Jaco and the craziness but is close enough (20 min cab ride) to go do anything you want in Jaco. I would reccomend this place to anyone. You will not get a nicer place for the money you are paying. My only drawback was finding enough food at the market in the town. YOu may want to stop in San Jose at a Wal Mart to stock up on supplies. We caught enough Mahi to feed all of us for 3 days. I would again like to thank Alan the owner for answering any questions we had, and again to Javier and Arturo for making our trip to say the least unforgettable. Hope we will be able to return one day!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hey Mike,
Thanks for the great review, and I'm happy we could make your stay memorable. You guys were great to work with and we appreciate the feedback. Come back any time! Alan

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Esterillos Oeste

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

Our stay at the condo in esterillos Oeste was amazing. The house is beautiful surrounded by lush green jungles and the immaculate vistas of the beach and ocean. We zip lined, went to the beach, went to. Manuel Antonio national park, hiked to waterfalls, boogie boarded, etc.

Arturo and Javier were great hosts who showed us things off the beaten path. They were a big help for us. The owner of the house had great vision in putting this great property together! Thanks for the memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect location for a work retreat

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

Our group had a wonderful time staying at Alan's condo. Our office (23 people) went down to Costa Rica for a work retreat and it was a perfect size for the amount of people we had. The penthouse worked out really well as a group meeting space. It was also really nice to have the common areas on the first and second floor for smaller meetings and quiet time. We were all very thankful for having so many washrooms on each floor. We spent a lot of time in the pool and lounging on the rooftop. The ocean and wildlife were incredible to observe, especially the macaws!

On the weekends, we took a trip to Manuel Antonio National Park, went surfing and zip lining near Jaco, and a few people also went fishing - all were a hit! Javier and Arturo (condo managers/local guides) were very kind and helpful. We really appreciated having them around.

We had catered meals from Los Almendros and everyone agreed that Karen's cooking was excellent.

Many of us talk about returning with our family and friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

La Sirena at Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica

Review submitted: January 27, 2013   Date of arrival: January 16, 2013

We stayed for a week at this wonderful condo. There were 16 adults and we rented the entire 3 floors of condominiums. We had a marvelous week with swimming, going to the beach, boogie boarding, snorkeling, zip lining, shopping, fishing, eating, and just having a great time together.
The condo is absolutely gorgeous and every thing was just as advertised. It is a little bit of an adventure to get there from San Jose but we were able to find it with the detailed directions given. The small village of Esterillos Oeste, is just dirt roads and many and varied homes but the people were gracious and so helpful. They were very concerned that we have a pleasant and safe stay.
Javier (Javi), the caretaker was so great to respond to our every need. He came instantly if anything needed attention or if we needed his help. He went with us to shop and he guided us to restaurants, hiking, zip lines, and waterfalls, he arranged for us to go out fishing and we caught 8 large 2-3 feet long mackerels in about 3 hours. We barbecued the fish that night on the roof of the condo and had Javi and his delightful wife and children come to dinner with us to share the fish. It was sooo delicious.
The roof top pool is perfect and we spent a lot of time just soaking in the pool and lounging around with the fantastic views. We would love to come again!
We recommend the Los Almendros Restaurant right in Esterillos Oeste. It is local food done with a gourmet flare and very inexpensive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Ever!!

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

We could not have asked for a more perfect experience than we got staying in this condo in Esterillos Oeste. Everything about the unit was high class and extremely luxurious. My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer! The condo is located in a secluded village, which makes for a very relaxing trip when you basically have a whole beach to yourself. The locals are super friendly and make delicious food! This was my first time visiting Costa Rica and we are already planning our next trip back. I cannot say enough good about our whole experience with this vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to relax

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

This place was absolutely perfect. This was the first vacation a group of my college friends took together since we had "grown up" and gotten wives. We chose this place because it was close to the Marriott in Los Suenos where our friend was getting married. We had been visiting Arenal and Monteverde the previous 3 days and were looking to relax and unwind from a lot of driving. This place was great for that. The onsite manager was very helpful and friendly and was even able to arrange transportation for us to Los Suenos and back one night for a very reasonable price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Relaxed Getaway

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 10, 2011

We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing, comfortable getaway. We stayed on the second floor and loved the views and all the amenities. Relaxing by the pool was an afternoon favorite of ours. A beautiful place in a peaceful relaxing town. If you are looking for exciting nightlife, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for somewhere to get away from the crowds, you couldn't ask for anything better. The local restaurants have fantastic food at extremely reasonable prices, and the local corner grocery store has everything you could possibly need. The Vago down on the beach was our nightly gathering place for a few beers and maybe an afternoon or evening snack. Great food and great beer. Almendros restaurant had some of the best food we have ever had while traveling. Do not miss this restaurant! The Chiclets Canopy Ziplines were fantastic. The drive to Manuel Antonio National Park is simple and is a fun day excursion. If you like busy tourist towns, then Jaco 20 minutes to the North will give you what you want. Javier, the caretaker, was very helpful and willing to show you fun local places to eat, and activites to do. We can't wait for our next trip, we will be coming again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved Costa Rica and we loved this Condo!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We had the great opportunity of occupying the penthouse portion of this great property and it was an amazing experience. The owner of the propery was very helpful in helping us get to the location and giving us ideas of what to do while we were there. The local manager of the property was also very helpful and willing to give us local recommendations and help us get the best price on certain excursions. The western amenities were great and the property is always in pristine condition. The pool deck on the roof was amazing and great for late night barbecues and swimming. The views from every angle of the property are fantastic. The location is excellent. Esterillos Oeste is a very quiet surf town with some great local restaurants within walking distance. The beach is also great and within walking distance. It is also a very short driving distance from other great towns such as Jaco (great beaches and restaurants) and the park, Manuel Antonio. There are so many great things to do in Costa Rica and being able to stay in this property just made everything better. We loved our time in Costa Rica. We can't wait to go back and hopefully we'll be able to stay in this great house when we return. I highly recommend this property to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unforgettable getaway and an incredible property!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

This property is tucked away in the quiet village of Esterillos Oeste providing a relaxing getaway, away from crowds of tourists though just minutes from great resturants and shopping in Jaco. We have vacationed in busy Manuel Antonio, 45 min to the south, and loved it, but it was so nice this time to stay at this property and feel like we had our own private beach. The views form the condo are breathtaking and relaxing at the rooftop pool after a day at the beach is the perfect way to enjoy them. The property is very secure, clean and well maintained and the onsite manager, Javier, was very nice and accommodating. Several great beaches, resturants, canopy tours, waterfalls and countless other activities are nearby and Javier will point you in the right direction to the activities you are interested in.
We highly recommend this property and hope to make it back there soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Discriminating Traveler Loves this Property

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

We are very seasoned travelers and Costa Rica has become one of our favorite vacation destinations. This property is amazing! The most discriminating traveler would have a difficult time finding anything to complain about. I found everything to be accurately described from reading this listing. No words can really describe how amazing this property is. It is new and sparkling clean! I have never slept so good on a vacation before, the beds were super comfortable and the sheets were soft and silky. The kitchen had all of the ammenities we needed and more. The penthouse feels airy and spacious with floor to ceiling sliding windows that open up to the balcony to create an outdoor living feeling. The infinity pool on the roof is beautiful with spectacular views of lush green folaige that surrounds the property and breathtaking views of the ocean. It is also a great place to view many colorful birds, including Macaws, that are bright turquoise, red, and yellow. My favorite spot was lying in the hammock under a cabana next to the pool. This was a great place to take in all of the sights and sounds, to lazily dream, or read a book. We also loved having a shaded bar next to the pool to make coconut smoothies and fresh salsa. It was nice being steps away from the local grocery store and police station. We always felt safe, and the people were very friendly. The local food is delicious. Some of the food we enjoyed included costa rican rice, fresh veggies, fresh fish, and chicken. The beach just down the street was a perfect place to learn to surf with warm shallow water and long rolling waves. We are excited to visit again in January!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Travelers find premier property in Costa Rica!

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 30, 2011

Beautifully taken care of! All of the 'western' amenities we could ask for. Within walking distance to a grocery store, bars, restaurant and miles of beach. An amazing pool with million dollar views was a wonderful retreat after a day at the beach.

We look forward to going back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review