reviews for: listing #38872 - Woodstock, New York House rental

The Waterfall House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Catskill Mountains
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $350 - $400 /nt
    $2,300 - $2,700 /wk
    $6,000 - $9,800 /mth

sort by:

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 7, 2010

The Waterfall House is perfect - the waterfall is great, changes daily, and so relaxing to watch. All your needs are anticipated and addressed, the accomodations are top notch. Very comfortable. We had a great girls' getaway, enjoying good food, wine and conversation.Took a trip to Woodstock and enjoyed the shops and local flavor. Just a great house, great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Winter time is perfect to rent the Waterfall House. The fireplace and the waterfall views and sounds make it perfect to warm the body and souls. Bob

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Land of the magical waterfalls

Review submitted: May 25, 2014   Date of arrival: May 13, 2014

Don't look any further for a place to stay near Woodstock. This is it. But please don't book when I want to book. That's the danger of writing a good review, isn't it? The secret gets out. Discover for yourself why this home is so incredible. Owners are rock stars too.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I want to buy this house

Review submitted: May 3, 2014   Date of arrival: April 27, 2014

WOW, what a treat, can't believe such an amazing home is just two hours away. It's breath taking , we took our two dogs and I've never seen them as happy. I can't wait to return

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're thrilled the two of you and your pups experienced the magic of The Waterfall House and we look forward to your next visit! Warmer weather means you'll enjoy cooling off in our pristine swimming holes!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Little jewel box on a waterfall

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

We were happy to arrive to an adorable, warm house with a freshly shoveled walkway and a basket of goodies. The large picture windows throughout invited you to sit and enjoy the view with a cup of coffee and a good book. The house is filled with character and was thoughtfully and tastefully decorated with whimsical touches including a giant toothbrush, giant pencil, and giant ice cream cones, which both the kids and adults in our party loved. A fenced-in area allowed the kids to enjoy the snow and the quiet, dead end road was safe for a bit of exploring. Really loved our stay. Thanks, Bob & Babs! xo

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: You were wonderful guests, and while winter at The Waterfall House is magical, we're eager for you to experience the other seasons! Many thanks for your kind thoughts, and we look forward to your next visit!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

I am at a lost for superlative adjectives for this house surrounded by amazingly beautiful grounds. The perfect place to leave your worries and or stress behind. You can choose to do nothing and stare at the falls and the ever changing light, or take advantage of the many nearby activities and sites.
Bob & Barbara were wonderful! Very informative and generous with information and recommendations. Trust them they won't steer you wrong.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peace in the Catskills

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

Serenity is the word that best describes experiencing The Waterfall House. This charming, simple country home is comfortable, clean and reminiscent of times gone by. The owners know that they have something special and are most enthusiastic in sharing it. Calls were welcomed.The activities and restaurant recommendations provided were right on. Nature abounds .The falls are part of this private property and are for the use of property guests only. This rare opportunity to reconnect with Mother Earth is not to be missed by romantics, nature lovers and those who who seek spiritual renewal.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Already Planning our Next Visit!

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

Thank you for allowing us to enjoy your lovely home.
The house is clean and comfortable and decorated so beautifully. There are so many great books to read and movies to watch. And then, of course, there is the main attraction, which is the falls. We had so much fun hopping from rock to rock, or just sitting and meditating. Our dog Conrad is a little timid around water, so we didn't know what kind of reaction he would have. But he loved it! By the last day, he was hopping on the rocks too. (Maybe next time, he'll dare to go into the river!)
We are already talking about renting again in May!
Thank you again and again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peace, Tranquility & Nature

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

There are no words that can truly sum up this property. A beautiful home situated amongst the Catskill mountains was exactly the getaway we needed. The breath taking scenery, the roaring hum of the waterfalls, the magnificent gardens, and the comforts of the home were just a few of highlights. There are no negatives here, only positives. You can rest assured that Babs and Bob will rent you a home that will lead to eternal memories. I know that a part of our spirits will always remain at the Waterfall House. It's safe to say our first trip out there most definitely will not be our last.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceeds expectations

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

Everything was better than pictured and described. Beautiful view, lots of privacy, central air and on and on. I would recommend this place to others without hesitation.Close to Woodstock and Saugerties which did not matter to us that much because it was hard to break away from those falls.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

My husband and our two kids (i.e., dogs) just stayed at The Waterfall House for a long 4-day Fall weekend. The hosts (Bob and Babs) were so kind and accommodating, and made our stay truly memorable. The home is old with history, yet completely modern and updated on the inside with hardwood floors and windows everywhere for amazing views. The view of the waterfall from nearly every room with the Catskill Mountains in the background is amazing, but the sound of the waterfall right in the back yard is what makes it so incredibly relaxing. Any stress you brought up with you melts just melts away. Our dogs loved the fenced in yard, which is beautifully landscaped. The home itself is beautiful and immaculately kept... Bookshelves of DVDs and books ensure there is always something to do no matter if the weather cooperates. We sat out on the covered porch/wrap around deck during a thunderstorm and just wished we lived there full-time. There is so much to do nearby. It is centrally located near Woodstock, Saugerties and is at the foot of the Catskill Mountains. It only took us a half hour to get to Hudson (where we went to many antique shops)... We came upon this little piece of paradise by accident while searching for something else on the Internet and decided to give it a try. You will not regret it if you choose this as your next vacation or getaway! Stay as long as you can, as the longer you are there the more the outside world just drifts away...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dog lover's paradise

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

From the moment I stumbled upon this listing I knew we had found our definitive vacation rental. Barbara and Bob have thought of everything a dog loving family from NYC in desperate need of a retreat could ask for -- and that is an understatement. From the stocked pantry and doggie supplies, to the tasteful decor and majestic vistas, the waterfall house is a treasure to behold. The warmth and generous spirit of the home is an entity unto itself, the masterwork of Barbara and Bob themselves. Though we never met in person we felt we had known them for years, a testament to how comfortable and welcomed we felt throughout our stay. We highly recommend this vacation rental and look forward to our next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Dog lover's paradise

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

From the moment I stumbled upon this listing I knew we had found our definitive vacation rental. Barbara and Bob have thought of everything a dog loving family from NYC in desperate need of a retreat could ask for -- and that is an understatement. From the stocked pantry and doggie supplies, to the tasteful decor and majestic vistas, the waterfall house is a treasure to behold. The warmth and generous spirit of the home is an entity unto itself, the masterwork of Barbara and Bob themselves. Though we never met in person we felt we had known them for years, a testament to how comfortable and welcomed we felt throughout our stay. We highly recommend this vacation rental and look forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Waterfall House is a gem!

Review submitted: May 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 18, 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful week in the Hudson Valley and Woodstock areas where we stayed at the beautiful Waterfall House. Staying here was an inspired idea.
We wanted to explore the beauty and history of the Hudson region and having this house as our home base enhanced our experience. We felt like we were in the Loire Valley in France.

The house is very gracious -- a delight both inside and out. Everywhere one looks from the house - the waterfalls, streams, swimming holes, wildflowers, trees, sky, hiking paths-- is picturesque and spiritually nourishing. The water is sparkling clean and refreshing. The beautiful views keep changing according to the time of day and light. I loved just sitting and reading on the porch and looking at the views.
The house is completely comfortable. It's clear that every amenity was thought of. Great bed, great natural cotton sheets, light but warm down comforters. Robes, creams, shampoos etc. It's like being in a first class hotel but it's private and it was all ours.

The kitchen was fun to use and had every appliance needed to make gourmet meals. Besides the great breakfast that was left for us in the refrigerator -- fresh milk, farm eggs, butter, bread, coffees, granola, juice, the house contains everything we needed to cook our own gourmet dinner. I appreciated all the spices, kinds of olive oils, vinegars, wine etc. It was great not having to go buy those things. We loved lounging around, making our own breakfast and packing picnics. We even bar b que'd.

The house feels really cozy and is tastefully done. It is filled with lots of very good art, nice furniture and vintage relics of the area. The quality media equipment was easy to use and the library of books, dvd's, cd's that they've got were ones that I've actually wanted to read, see, hear and, in this cozy nest, we actually did that sitting in front of the fire place.
Being in this house was a pleasure and makes me want to return to the area and to the house very soon. It was the perfect backdrop for us to enjoy being together. So much better than being in a hotel. We had a great time.

p.s. The Saugerties Light House is A+ extraordinary.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 10, 2010

We enjoyed a wonderful few days here at your beautiful Waterfall House. The waterfall alone is peaceful and inspiring and so is the entire house with comfortable beds, great music, views and every need for living…taken care of. Having the breakfast supplies really made a nice comforting feeling. It must be beautiful in all seasons. We grew up in Woodstock in the sixties and got to re-connect with all the towns and experiences. We had a wonderful and rejuvenating experience.Also note: Your home is full of Peace and love and we shared it-thank you. The “Guest” Grandmother Jane xo

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 10, 2010

We came frazzled and fraught…sorely in need of a little soul-care.We more than found it here. We basked in the peace, tranquility and incredible surroundings. We leave (regretfully), refreshed, replenished and full of life.Thank you, thank you, and thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: February 7, 2010

What a fabulous respite and a paradise for photographers! We loved all your amazing “creations” decorating the house – whimsical, charming…lovely!!...and a well stocked refrigerator and kitchen complete with Bagels & Merlot! We could not have asked for more! Many, many thanks for your thoughtfulness and sharing this very special place with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: February 7, 2010

What a fabulous respite and a paradise for photographers! We loved all your amazing “creations” decorating the house – whimsical, charming…lovely!!...and a well stocked refrigerator and kitchen complete with Bagels & Merlot! We could not have asked for more! Many, many thanks for your thoughtfulness and sharing this very special place with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Piece of Heaven

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

I just spent a "girl's weekend "at the waterfall house and all I can think of is that I died and had gone to heaven. Even though it was in the dead of winter after a spectacular snowfall the house was as warm and comfortable as a spring or summer day. The sun was streaming in through all the beautiful windows that overlook the spectacular waterfall. I can't wait to stay there in the summer.

The amenities were first class. Just those little touches that really make you feel at home. Fluffy towels, bathrobes, little quaint books and artsand craft touches everywhere. The house is cozy and comfortable. We were compelled to use the beautiful kitchen and cook our own meal one night that we ate around a beautiful candlelit farmhouse table. It is an experience my girlfriends and i won't soon forget. Great friends, great wine and the best ambience. The towns of Woodstock and nearby Saugerties are so quaint with wonderful shops and galleries as well as some world class cuisine. I cna;t say enough about this wonderful vacation rental except to plan my return ASAP!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Love guests that appreciate the magic of The Waterfall House. Sometimes it hard for me to believe the Waterfall views from the house. I have been used to hiking miles into the woods to find falling waters. Just 2 hours from NYC. Waterfall lovers are welcome.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

What a beautiful place to unwind and reconnect with your peaceful self. The house is beyond comfortable with amenities galore. A stocked fridge, cozy fireplace - there's no need to go out! But of course we did because there are so many places to pick up local flavor. Had a fabulous girls weekend sharing wine, good food and conversation - can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Year-Round Getaway

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

This was my second time staying at Waterfall House. While the fall foliage and roaring waterfall were amazing, I have to say, the tranquility of a winter visit with the brilliant stars above and the cozy fireplace waiting for us was equally appealling. I took a long walk along the mostly frozen river, with the brilliant clear blue sky, white snow and blue-gray trees broken only by the fleeting brilliance of a cadmium light red cardinal alighting on a tree. After a weekend at the house, including visits to Woodstock, New Paltz and Hunter, I returned to the city feeling refreshed and invigorated. There was plenty of room for all 6 of us, and the kitchen was perfect for preparing meals. This is a wonderful, clean getaway in an amazing location for those in need of relaxation and peace.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Winter is magical at The Waterfall House. Just imagine sitting around the fireplace and watching and listing to the waterfalls.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Ladies' Getaway

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 7, 2010

Both spacious and cozy, with picturesque views from every window, this is the perfect place for a “Ladies’ Getaway.” Recalling the hours spent by the fireplace with friends, laughing and sharing the stories of our lives, will bring a smile to my face for some time to come. Proximity to Woodstock afforded us very satisfying shopping and dining options, yet each of us always very much looked forward to coming back “home” to relax and share wine and conversation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Ladies' Getaway

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 7, 2010

Both spacious and cozy, with picturesque views from every window, this is the perfect place for a “Ladies’ Getaway.” Recalling the hours spent by the fireplace with friends, laughing and sharing the stories of our lives, will bring a smile to my face for some time to come. Proximity to Woodstock afforded us very satisfying shopping and dining options, yet each of us always very much looked forward to coming back “home” to relax and share wine and conversation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is only one of at least 100 very positive reviews in our guest book. If I was more internet savvy I would put them into our web site on HomeAway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

We just returned from a Ladies Weekend at the Waterfall House- just amazing. Watching the falls change daily, the fireplace, great friends, a few bottles of wine, a little shopping in Woodstock, cozy up in sweat pants, great friends, not sure it gets bettter than that..what a special house...same time next year for sure!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Weeked

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 7, 2010

The house, location, and all the amenities were just wonderful. We rented the house for a girls weekend, and to say we enjoyed our time would be a complete understatement. The house very comfortable slept 6 of us, the landscape was beautiful, the falls and the ice amazing. While we did dine out 2 times, we all perferred to cozy up in the house, 5 cooks among us, the kitchen was fully stocked with everything needed to prepare a lovely meal. A bottle of wine, the fireplace going, great friends- thanks so much for making this house available, what a special weekend, in a great location...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2010

What a perfect place for our "Ladies' Getaway." The house is both spacious and cozy. I will cherish the hours we spent sharing our life stories and laughter in front of the beautiful fireplace. Even in winter, the view of the partially frozen falls was breathtaking.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

There is something magical about a change of scenery, a change of daily routine that produces a tonic affect on the soul. It was a perfect winter’s retreat - the music of the waterfall, the serenity of the placid snow-blanketed woods, the soothing effect of the half frozen flowing stream over the ancient boulders, the adrenaline activating swing-bridge traversing the stream, the return to yesteryear by watching the Woodstock DVD, indulging in old books that lined the tables and bookshelves, the furor of the Nok Hockey challenges, tea by the transfixing fire.A true family retreat that has us craving another weekend soon! Thank you, Barbara and Bob, for sharing this wonderful treasure with strangers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 16, 2009   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

We had a wonderful time at your Waterfall House! It was perfect for a girls getaway the falls are beautiful as is the house. All the little touches were greatly appreciated. The Sheep & Wool Festival was great fun too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 1, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

From enjoying early AM coffee by the falls, to exploring the banks of the river, to simply lounging around on the deck with our two Great Danes, both of our stays at your lovely, peaceful home have been incredible! The calm of the surrounding natural beauty and soft energy of the falls have been utterly invigorating. We take this experience and meditate on it every time life gets too hectic in the big city.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 1, 2009   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

OK…if you want to give us this place, we’ll take it…no questions asked! It’s a magical place, outside the realm of reality. We will take this memory and cherish it.Thanks for sharing it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 1, 2009   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

Thank you for sharing your treasure with us. We enjoyed being surrounded by the beauty, power and peace of nature and discovering all of the creativity within your home. Everything was perfect!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 4, 2009   Date of arrival: June 4, 2009

I love the waterfall and love the balcony and I love the flat screen TV. Today we
heard that 4 bears were walking on the street. I was leaning on the fence and I
love your garden.
Josh: I am 7 years old.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 4, 2009   Date of arrival: June 4, 2009

I LOVE THE WATERFALL AND I LOVE THE HOUSE VERY MUCH.
MADISON: I AM 5 YEARS OLD.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 4, 2009   Date of arrival: June 4, 2009

It was perfect! Picturesque. The waterfalls were not only beautiful but soothing.
Thank you for sharing your precious home! Kristin & Dan
P.S. We loved your "Big Art" and the other art work as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 1, 2009   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

A perfect setting for the long weekend and our 20th wedding anniversary. Watching the boys swim in the float fill was reminiscent of an Eakins painting.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2009   Date of arrival: March 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Waterfall House and had an amazing time. Even
in late winter, the property was a beautiful, relaxing, and cozy retreat. We were
so comfortable with the fireplace, well-stocked kitchen, and extensive movie
collection that we didn't leave once in 5 days (except, of course, for strolls to the
waterfall with our dog).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Return Visit, Only Gets Better

Review submitted: February 5, 2009   Date of arrival: January 30, 2009

This house and property are wonderful. Every detail has been thought of - all you need is your toothbrush. The house has wonderful treasures, the waterfall is amazing & the location excellent. This was our second trip. 5 of us from various parts all met up: we were able to relax, shop, ski, and just hang out in this very special, cozy home. The kitchen was well supplied, we made dinner one night and sat by the fireplace, watching the falls-not sure it gets better then that. I would highly recommend this property, great getaway-excellent restaurants, Main St shopping- cute little stores. We skied one day, and it was nice to be off the beaten path, easy drive to the slopes..The three day weekend was just what we needed, and the setting just melts stress away..The plasma TV was a great addition - Count us in for next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. You left the place in perfect condition earning good guest status. No security deposit will be required from you the next time you visit The Waterfall House.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 19, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

Thank you for a wonderful stay at the Waterfall House. A great escape from the chaos of NYC right now. We were lucky enough to see the bear at the Fernwood the first 2 nights we were here. He was having a snack at the dumpster. We are already planning to come back.

(9/27/08)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 19, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

"WOW!, is all we kept saying to each other for the first 20 minutes we were here. A dog's smile is one of the best things on earth & our dog smiled all weekend. We enjoyed hiking and taking in all the beauty of the Catskill.s Bob & Bab's attention to detail provided us with every comfort imaginable. The house is adorable! We love their taste in art and enjoyed the various pieces. We look forward to coming in the warmer months so we may try out the swimming holes.
Thanks for everything!

(10/3/08)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Graden Of Eden

Review submitted: July 19, 2008   Date of arrival: July 14, 2008

YOu have arrived at the Garden of Eden The waterfall looks as good and better then the pictures advertised.Not only is the waterfall incredible so are the sounds of the stream and falls.The house itself was very nice and built so you can enjoy the great views of Niobi Falls and Kaaterskill Creek.As Dr Tenner said highest reccomendation possible

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 12, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

There is no way to fully describe the unbelievable sense of comfort, relaxation, welcomeness and pure beauty that is the Waterfall House. We spent a weekend away with our dog and were able to truly feel that we had escaped our hectic city life. Barbara and Bob have made us true converts to the Catskills and the Waterfall House. They provide lots of small amenities that are so generous, and they are really invested in insuring that if you are staying at the house, you are able to enjoy the area as much (or as little) as you would like. It is such a stunningly gorgeous location though that you wouldn't be crazy for just holing up in the house and enjoying the view of the waterfall and the pleasant surroundings of the house. They also welcomed our very active and well behaved Aussie for the weekend, for which she is eternally grateful. I can't wait to visit again and again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 18, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Barbara & Bob
We love the waterfall house. Thank you for thinking of EVERYTHING and making our stay so comfortable. Hope to stay again soon.
Deb & Joe

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 18, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We absolutely loved staying here. The falls are beautiful, serene and invigorating at the same time.
We have a new appreciation for the entire area and will definitly be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 27, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Barbara & Bob -

We stayed with another couple and the house was magical, just what we needed to escape the daily grind of the big city! The falls really are as beautiful as the pictures. Our little dog Zoey loved your dog-friendly front yard. There's no need to go anywhere with the big wrap-around porch and path to the falls, but we did manage to hike the top of Kaaterskill in Hunter and visit art galleries in Hudson - all a great weekend. We'll be back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 19, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Dear Barbara and Bob,

The river and the house have provided us with so much magic for the last 5
weeks-
it became our home that nourished and supported us through this precious time we
had left with Alma, our beloved golden retriever and companion of 15 years.
There is no better place to immerse oneself in nature and witness its beauty and
intensity unfolding right in front of you, with the many comforts of a very
thoughtfully accommodating home.

Many thanks and lots of love, Alma (in spirit), Tamara and Laula

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 16, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Dear Barbara,
Dear Bob,

We have had the most relaxing time and have thoroughly enjoyed the waterfall. Our children have been fascinated by the surrounding nature, especially the little fishes jumping up the stream, We hope to be back sometime to relive this magical time.

Thank you.

Christina, Klaus, Vivian, Scarlett, Susan Hans

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 31, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

Thanks Barbara and Bob for a great weekend. The waterfall house is amazing and our hosts made our stay very comfortable. We would definitely stay again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 4, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

Big thank you to Barbara and Bob!

From the cozy welcome to the fun and fabulous
"big surprises" to kindly coming to check we'd have
a safe trip home.

We love the waterfall, the location - close to
Catskills, Hunter and Woodstock - and the lovely
sense of calm.

We'll definately be back when the sun shines (even
though we loved the red-coloured river, it would be
nice to hang out on the porch!)

Lots of love,
Will Knight, Kursty Groves and Friends

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 1, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

8 of us ( including 2 in their mum's tums )had a lovely time here. The house is a great space with cosy rooms and an unrivalled view of the waterfalls. The 2 of us on the couch slept and woke up to the sound and sight of the falls, and we all enjoyed exploring the area. Being fifteen minutes from Hunter Mountain on the last day of the ski season was a bonus too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 23, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

The house is cozy and spacious and the undisturbed nature was breathtaking. Time seemed to stop while we were there. The Waterfall House is truely the perfect vacation. It was the most stress free vacation we have ever had! Thank you B & B for sharing it with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 16, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

one of most beautiful places ever stayed ...highest reccommendation possible....dr mark tenner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 19, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

This home is incredible! My husband and I rented with another couple. The house was perfect, we each had our own bathroom, and bedroom. The waterfall was fantastic, the porch, the mountains...and so much to do. The beds were very comfy, we had a wonderful weekend, and we will be back...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review