reviews for: listing #38873 - Austin, Texas Cottage rental

HANCOCK Guest Cottage in Hyde Park close to the University
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hyde Park
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $350 /nt
    $1,300 - $1,500 /wk
    $4,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Authentic Austin

Review submitted: April 24, 2014   Date of arrival: April 16, 2014

This adorable "vintage" cottage was perfect for our family reunion. Plenty of comfortable space inside and out. A funky yard complete with birds, fish pond and bbq. The kitchen was well equipped with daily essentials. Since each bedroom had a bathroom there was lots of privacy. The house was well maintained with comfortable bedding and towels. Very short walk to HEB supermarket. We felt very at home here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, Location, Location

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

The old real estate mantra is very true - 2 minutes to the shopping center with market and 2 minutes to the Interstate and in a quiet neighborhood. A wonderfully furnished kitchen. Combo lock eliminates worrying about a key. Very clean and nicely maintained with wonderful towels. Highly recommended

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great experience we would recommend.

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

This was exactly as described, modern kitchen and showers, spotless, comfy beds. Loved the pretty goldfish and finches in the back. First time to rent a house - so much better than hotel rooms.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Charming house in an ideal location

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

We loved the Hancock Guest Cottage: tasteful decorations, updated amenities, private bathroom for each bedroom, a sun-room out back, and a patio perfect for cookouts. The house even came equipped with a booster seat and children's cups and plates for little ones. We ended up staying around the house far more than we thought because everyone was so comfortable there. The cottage was perfectly situated in central Austin, easy to take walks in the Hyde Park neighborhood and to get down to the UT campus. Nick and Rachel were a delight to work with: quick to respond to questions, and very friendly. Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rachel knows what she's doing...

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

Being frequent VRBO renters, we know what we want- Clean, safe, user-friendly properties with solid Wifi. Rachel had all the bases covered. We stayed in her Ranch house the first night before moving to the cottage and both were renovated and decorated with style and thought. Furthermore, she took the extra step to use Mac AirPort Extremes in both properties for bomb-proof Wifi. She was in good communication with us the entire stay, and when my wife left some sentimental jewelry behind, she secured it and sent it back to us. Overall, a wonderful experience and we would definitely rent again from Rachel!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Hancock Guest Cottage a Charmer!

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 2, 2011

What a wonderful house, the only word that describes it is charming. It was a comfortable place to hang our hats for a few days. The deck area was a huge hit, we enjoyed the fish pond and the finch aviary with the sweet little birds. It was so easy to walk to the Hyde Park Bar & Grill and Mother's Cafe for our meals out . . . great location! The Hancock Guest Cottage provided us a wonderful vacation and we will surely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay with children

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: March 23, 2010

Thanks Rachel and Nick for a wonderful place to stay in Austin!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted: September 23, 2009   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

The Hancock Cottage was perfect for our weekend. The house is decorated and landscaped beautifully. We had with everything we needed to relax and enjoy the weekend. The location is very convenient to the stadium, nightlife and even a HEB to in walking distance. Rachel is extremely Customer Service oriented and responded promptly to any question along the way.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We Love Austin!

Review submitted: January 18, 2009   Date of arrival: January 9, 2009

Rachel & Nick,

Thank you so much for your amazing hospitality! We truly loved and felt at home in the cottage, and all the little extras were extraordinary! Will never forget a wonderful Austin adventure at the Hancock Guest Cottage!

Your East Coast friends,

Michael, Laura, Nichole and Kristin

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 8, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

Lovely time - Thanks for everything!
We hope to be back soon.

Billy, Anna, Oliver & Sara Heaslip

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 1, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

Sept. 20-25, 2008

What a wonderful stay! A quaint, comfortable cottage. We were referring to it as out "home" the first day. The accommodations and amenities exceeded our expectations. The weather was super, 65-75 degrees every day and sunny. (In Minneapolis it was closer to 0 - 20 degrees.) Rachel and Nick were excellent hosts and did a marvelous job of preparing the cottage for guests. We felt like royalty. Thanks Nick and Rachel - you have done a great job!

Tom and Sue Judd

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hancock Guest Cottage is a Romantic Place

Review submitted: November 16, 2008   Date of arrival: February 15, 2008

My husband (US) and I (Belgium) wanted to do something different for Valentine, so we decided to have a romantic weekend in the Hancock Cottage. That sure beat sleeping in our truck camper (in which we are travelling around the States)! What a splurge and oh-so-worth it! The location was great, with ample parking space, and the cottage gave us a very homey and roomy feeling. We wish we could have stayed longer, but it was time to move on again. We would recommend the Hancock Guest Cottage to anyone wanting to stay in the Austin area and not wanting to book the typical hotel room.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy

Review submitted: November 7, 2008   Date of arrival: October 24, 2008

I used to live in Austin in the Hyde Park neighborhood (the best neighborhood in Austin in my experience). When I visited Austin with two of my friends who had never been there, I wanted to find something that would feel just like living in Austin feels. And I found it at this inn. This place is a sweet older house that has been beautifully converted to a guest house. It's a great combination of old and new - the old is the classic house style and the stone on the outside (that you see all over Austin) and the new is the beautifully designed interior that had everything we needed in addition to the very comfortable, stylish bedroom (a kitchen, sitting areas, great bathroom). The house is very close to the UT campus and central Austin. The house would be really fun with a group of friends because of the shared kitchen and the sitting areas inside and outside (we're thinking about coming here with friends for SXSW). I can't imagine a better place to stay if you want something special and comfortable and the opposite of a stuffy, generic hotel room.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hancock charmer!

Review submitted: October 28, 2008   Date of arrival: October 10, 2008

If it were not for the poor mattress in one of the bedrooms (a good night sleep is so important”) and the furniture in the living room being a bit small and uncomfortable, I would have been totally thrilled with the cottage. Other than these two complaints, the cottage is absolutely wonderful and I would highly recommend it. The place is wonderfully appointed in everything you could possible need. Huge flat screen TV! Both bath rooms were appointed very well and featured great showers with strong water pressure and lots of hot water. The owners have tried to think of everything (including fresh flowers). You will find books, travel guides, movies and even an antique sewing machine to keep you amused. It works well with a group of people (terrific kitchen) as it has been opened up to flow very well. The deck and back yard is an added bonus only to be outdone by the incredible location. Within easy walking distance to a 24-hour gym, grocery store, coffee house, bank, bus stop, barbershop, liquor store, department store, Radio Shack and I could go on! This place is a charmer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved the Hancock Guest Cottage

Review submitted: October 2, 2008   Date of arrival: May 30, 2008

I recently came down from Canada and stayed at the Hancock Guest Cottage for a week.

First of all, the owners of this place are a really darling couple who are so helpful and really have thought about every little detail in order to make ones stay fabulous. There's a high definition TV, ipod player, washer and dryer and full size kitchen plus an amazing spa like bathroom.

The yard and deck are really beautifully landscaped - there's an herb garden fresh for the picking. I especially love the water fountain and the finches.

All in all my stay was wonderful and I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice stay at the Hancock Guest Cottage

Review submitted: September 19, 2008   Date of arrival: March 7, 2008

I stayed at Hancock Guest Cottage a few weeks back. What a charming little place! I loved the stone masonry, babbling fountain, and finch aviary. The place looked newly renovated. It was located in an old neighborhood in the middle of Austin and gave me easy access to downtown via IH35. The neighbors were friendly and the gardens were budding out. The area had an old school yet hip feel to it. It was easy to shop because Hancock shopping center was a quick walk away with a large 24 hour grocery store, a burrito place, a barbeque place as well as other stuff. I would highly recommend staying at Hancock Guest Cottage if you're going to Austin and need to visit the central part of the city and downtown. It's far better than a hotel and offers more privacy than a full BnB.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lots of character.... just like Austin itself

Review submitted: September 19, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

This place is a great alternative to two rooms in an impersonal hotel. I loved the full kitchen, with its clearly-brand-new appliances, which made for easy breakfasts. It even came stocked with cookbooks! One weird thing: the pepper grinder was cool but was also empty… but where were the peppercorns? Having the HEB grocery store so close by is really convenient (especially for that emergency peppercorn run!). Our queen beds were especially comfy. As traveler with allergies to down feathers, I really appreciated having the choice of feather vs. foam pillows. And the lust-worthy high-definition plasma made me want to upgrade my home television.

Ask the super-nice owners to show you before-and-after photos -- I was really impressed with their renovations. All this and fresh lilies, too. We had a great stay. For two rooms, the total cost was about the same as some generic hotel but the Hancock Guest Cottage was a lot nicer. I’d definitely recommend this place to friends!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super Accomodations

Review submitted: September 19, 2008   Date of arrival: February 23, 2008

I make a regular trip to Austin, from my base in Cleburne, TX. In the past, I did the typical hotel stay. I decided to give this cottage a try and found a new way to acquire lodging. I found this concept to be much more enjoyable and homey feeling. This cottage is perfectly located for moving about Austin and quick access to needed amenities. The cottage is a short walk from my favorite HEB grocery store, which is open 24hrs and has an incredible selection of everything. I was even able to walk a block and catch a bus to downtown for a whopping 50 cents. This is too good! The cottage itself is charming and incredibly comfortable. I was able to have a few guests over for a cozy meal and comfortable conversation, without the sterile hotel feel. The owners, Rachel and Nick were splendid hosts and have done a great job with this property. I also learned they have another house, with a pool that might be excellent for entertaining more friends. I highly reccomend this cottage and the proprietors. For me, they made the stay most enjoyable and the cottage very comfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for ACL Music Festival

Review submitted: September 18, 2008   Date of arrival: September 26, 2007

We joined some out of town friends at the Hancock Guest Cottage for the annual ACL music festival in Austin. It was super close to almost everything--numerous restaurants and shops all within a mile . . . the owners were very nice and we truly enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review