reviews for: listing #389159ha - Playa Hermosa (Puntarenas), Costa Rica rental

PRIVATE Luxury House w/Endless Lap Pool & UNBELIEVABLE Ocean & Jungle Views
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Estate
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 325 - $ 450 / night
    $ 2,100 - $ 2,699 / week
    $ 7,020 / month
  • sleeps  20
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Better than pictures and with awesome service

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2013

My wife and four kids (ages 8-15) had a great time. The views were spectacular, the pool according to our kids "rocked" and was used daily, the shaded area poolside provided many relaxing afternoons spent reading and gazing at the ocean while listening to the waves crash beachside for the parents, the living room was a peaceful retreat come nightfall, the kitchen offered all the needed comforts as did the gas grill which was used nightly, the bed rooms offered quiet solitude and cool nights to fully recharge the batteries. In the 15 years of renting homes over the Internet, we have never had such a conscientious owner. Guiding us to fishmarkets, restaurants, suggestions on what to do and when, bringing out toys that their kids used, helping us arrange tours at discounts. We were more than well cared for, we were treated as long lost friends. It was fantastic. Even at the end of the trip one of my kids left their stuffed animal behind and many tears were shed....when contacted there was instant sympathy and assistance and an insistence that they would mail it back to us at their cost. This was one of the best family holidays we had and the foundation of it was the home and the care of its owners.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break

Review submitted: June 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

We really enjoyed this house for our spring break vacation. We travelled with our great friends with 12 people total. There was plenty of rooms, beds, and bathrooms. We spent the majority of our time on the patio around the pool. Such an awesome view. We saw Monkeys, iguanas, and scarlet macaws all from the patio. We walked down to the beach one time, but coming back we rented a taxi as it is almost straight up hill. We went into Jaco for groceries, it is a $20 taxi ride to get there. We ordered pizza one time from the Pizza restaurant in Playa Hermosa. They delivered and it was great pizza too! Erica is the most helpful homeowner. Always checking on us and gave us great info on places to see and go. Including setting up our zip-lining tour. Wilbur the driver is the sweetest man ever! So happy all the time. Such a beautiful house with the most serene surroundings! We are thinking of going back with 4 couples. Perfect house for that too! Thank you Erica!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Playa Hermosa Rental

Review submitted: May 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

Such a beautiful and peaceful place to stay. We spent 90% of our time on the patio eating, drinking and chatting while admiring the view of Playa Hermosa and the surrounding mountains. When we weren't on the patio we were in the pool which had the same view.

As a surfer, I could appreciate the vantage point of some of the less crowded peaks and I could check the conditions throughout the day. And with a roll down the hill I was surfing those same peaks.

Definitely coming back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

THE Ultimate Leisure Destination!

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

This place had everything you could want in a vacation rental. So much that it was difficult to get away to all the local activities (surfing, crocodiles, monkeys, canopy zip lines, Manuel Antonio, Jaco). Stayed for a week in mid February, and the weather couldn't be better. No rain, low 90's all day which means the INSANE pool is hard to stay away from. The lap pool with swim up bar against that view is unmatched. As a matter of fact, the entire layout of the immaculately clean house is amazing as you see the view from anywhere inside the house. Working with the owner was easy and had the "in" on all the local attractions. Couldn't imagine a better stay and can't wait to go back! Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Stay

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2012

Our group of eight adults were blown away by this beautiful property. Words and pictures can never come close to our experience. A beautiful and well appointed kitchen,,the pool and outdoor lounge were where we spent our days. The expansive deck (affording bird watching and spectacular views), the tastefully furnished living and bedroom spaces, the attentive caretakers, - all contributed to a stellar experience.
We found Playa Hermosa House to be a secluded, serine, beautiful healing sanctuary in paradise. We felt the huge property, the immaculately clean house (equipped with all the necessities), and the pool to be absolutely irresistible. It was so perfect, that we became reluctant leave the house for our day trips. The wildlife actually came to us- it was amazing we fed monkeys, saw 3 types of toucans, heard and saw the beautiful scarlet macaws- you will never get a view of these animals or the close proximity at any other home. We were hesitant to stay here because we thought we would be better off staying at the beach- we were so happy with our choice! Our friends that stayed on the beach came up to see the wildlife with us and enjoy the nice cool breeze. Mostly we were content to buy food from the nearby markets, cook at home, and eat in the beautiful surroundings.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

#1 Trip of my life!!!!

Review submitted: December 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

This place is simply amazing! We really did not have to leave the house due to the pool, daily monkey visitors, Macaw birds, Tucan birds and many many more. The house is in a very very secure location with a guard at the gate to let you in and out. Erica helped set our tours and even got a us a great discount on each one and arranged for us to be picked up at the house. We did the waterfall tour and i am ranking this as the best tour i have ever taken by x2. the tour was called the "Explorer" and we climbed up 10 waterfalls, yep climbed rite through the falling water and into a pool of water then up the next waterfall and so on, then we finished with a huge pineapple. Tour guilds name was Blad and his vehicle was Pepe making this a true costa rica safari. We had one person with us with a replaced hip and had one extra person from a different party that came with, she was not in shape in any way and still was able to do the tour. Food at Graffiti in Jaco is better than most of what you will find in the states, it is high end and not fast food as they say! Food at Lemmon Zest in Jaco was super good too. This is, as of now, ranked my #1 vacation. I might spend the rest of my life trying to beat it. I suggest this to everyone and anyone, go get some sun/rain/adventure. Thanks Erica!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation Rental 389159 is not just a number!!!!

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

The spectacular view is just part of the story. The house is fabulous--many houses are spectacular in coastal areas of Costa Rica--this house is so positively different that I must comment on a few things besides the cleanliness and provision for all comforts (good towels, good sheets, good kitchen supplies, beach towels and washing machine/dryer and outside shower--wow). The rooms are LARGE and you are able to store your things and have a tranquil ambiance throughout. I was there with three single friends, a family with two small children and two dogs--we were all right at home and all had space and privacy. The bathrooms are private and well appointed without a bunch of stuff in the way of your things. I loved the pool, views from all directions and the patios are splendid.
I loved the area and made an easy day trip to hanging bridges and an exotic spices farm. Easy to get into Jaco for meals and provisions and the Playa Hermosa beach is one of the best in Costa Rica, volcanic sand with an endless opportunity to walk and swim. Can't wait to return and offer my highest recommendation for the Playa Hermosa House! GO!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

<3 Costa Rica <3

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

We had an awesome time in Costa Rica. The view from this house was magnificient, huge kitchen (we prepared most all meals), very comfortable bedrooms/baths. My kids never left the pool when we were at the house. We saw a family of monkeys pass by two days in a row they lingered in the trees for over an hour. A very short trip to the Playa Hermosa beach and quick drive into Jaco, grocery stores, great downtown area shops and restaurants. Would absolutely recommend for your family to stay at this house, we slept 8 comfortably. Take a road trip to Manuel Antonia National Park/beach. We went parasailing and ziplined in the forest. Monkey Daddy tour was the BEST!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Awesome Awesome!!!!!!!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We arrived in the evening, Erica came to meet us at the rental car place and she led the way to the house(I know, she is extremely nice). She said it can be tricky to find at night. On our drive to the house she pointed out stores restaurants and places of interest. Which came in very handy during our stay.
The house is absolutely spectacular. You not only had awesome ocean views but views of the lush countryside. It is so thick, lush and just full of life.
The home is in a gated community and sits high on the mountain side. Its great cause you get such a nice breeze. It's about 2minutes from Playa Hermosa Beach and 5 minutes to Jaco beach. We rented a car so we went to the beach almost everyday. Jaco is about 8 minutes, it's full of restaurants, grocery stores, pharmacy etc.
Erica had discounts to most activities so she helped us with that too. We struggled with doing too many activities because the house is so nice we wanted to spend time just chilling. We stayed a week, next time we will have to stay longer.
It was definitely an exotic trip but Erica's house made the trip very comfortable.
Her house is new, beautiful and has the most stunning views! And her hospitaily just makes it that much nicer.
I would highly recommend this home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Incredible home! Awesome views! Great hospitality!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

This beautiful home delivered on all expectations from the photos and reviews. It really is that awesome! Private, peaceful setting but only a few minutes drive to Jaco provides great restaurants and most necessities. The house is very new and nice and the pool and view are unforgettable. Erica, Tony and their staff were especially helpful with recommendations and very easy to reach. Can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

AMAZING VACATION!

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

"We wander for distraction but we travel for fulfillment" - Hilaire Bellic

To wake up in the mornings and sit on the deck enjoying the sound of the surf pounding on the beach below and seeing the clouds rise over the mountains in the background is one of the BEST ways to truly enjoy a vacation at Playa Hermosa House. Erica was so fabulous with meeting us the airport and giving us a tour of thru the beauty of Costa Rica. The Playa Hermosa House provided the perfect layout for 7 travelers to enjoy their own space (and bathrooms!) and then come together to enjoy cooking and eating in the huge kitchen, out under the covered deck and at the fabulous wood table! The infinity pool was perfect way to relax after days spent zip-lining (organized by Erica) and walks thru the rain forest. Hope to return very soon!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

A Private Paradise that accomodates everyone! 5+

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

This was our first venture to Costa Rica and we're so thankful Playa Hermosa House was available! Every morning was breathtaking, sitting in relaxing outdoor seating with incredible views of the wildlife and ocean. Since each suite/bedroom had it's own private bath, everyone was relaxed and "moved in" for the duration of our stay. Erica was incredibly helpful and we voted her "best concierge ever!" due to her local reviews of attractions, recommendations and offer to confirm zip-lining reservations.
We only ate two dinners out, although you could easily dine at restaurants every evening. We enjoyed a fully-equipped kitchen and grill, allowing our group to recognize savings by cooking most of our meals at Playa Hermosa House.
There were so many things to explore in the area, yet we all found it difficult to leave our slice of paradise!! Our zip-lining adventure at Canopy Tours and our day at Manuel Antonio Rainforest were our most memorable activities!
We provide the highest recommendation for Playa Hermosa House, Jaco- the nearby town, our actvities/adventures, and the very accomodating owner- Erica.

We can't wait to book our next stay!!!
Chris & Jane Weatherford
Grand Rapids, Michigan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wander for distraction, travel for fulfillment.

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

To wake up in the mornings and sit on the deck enjoying the sound of the surf pounding on the beach below and seeing the clouds rise over the mountains in the background is one of the BEST ways to truly enjoy a vacation at Playa Hermosa House. Erica was so fabulous with meeting us the airport and giving us a tour of thru the beauty of Costa Rica. The Playa Hermosa House provided the perfect layout for 7 travelers to enjoy their own space (and bathrooms!) and then come together to enjoy cooking and eating in the huge kitchen, out under the covered deck and at the fabulous wood table! The infinity pool was perfect way to relax after days spent zip-lining (organized by Erica) and walks thru the rain forest. Hope to return very soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Travel imparts new vigor to the mind.

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

To wake up in the mornings and sit on the deck enjoying the sound of the surf pounding on the beach below and seeing the clouds rise over the mountains in the background is one of the BEST ways to truly enjoy a vacation at Playa Hermosa House. Erica was so fabulous with meeting us the airport and giving us a tour of thru the beauty of Costa Rica. The Playa Hermosa House provided the perfect layout for 7 travelers to enjoy their own space (and bathrooms!) and then come together to enjoy cooking and eating in the huge kitchen, out under the covered deck and at the fabulous wood table! The infinity pool was perfect way to relax after days spent zip-lining (organized by Erica) and walks thru the rain forest. Hope to return very soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

GREAT HOUSE! I loved the location and the house was amazing! They views are spectacular and we had great weather! Its close to the beach and to town. Very easy to get around the area! A must stay if you are planning to go to Costa Rica! I cant wait to go back! The owners are super helpful and very accommodating!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Girls Get Away

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2012

I need to change my initial rating of the house. After reviewing my initial rating, and after giving it some additional thought, I felt that I was rating the location of the house rather then the house itself. I am so sorry for my rating of 3 1/2 stars. I am changing it to 5 stars. It is a beautiful home and very comfortable. Nine women spent 9 days there and the beauty of the trip was that we returned as friends! I would highly recommend your homes to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Beach Getaway

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

Thank you Erica, your home is absolutely amazing and the customer service was excellent! I have been coming to Costa Rica for years and this is by far the most amazing place to stay! We really enjoyed sitting outside taking in the wonderful views at your property. I could not believe the number of Scarlet Macaws that flew by each day and the beautiful Toucans that hung out in the trees. I found your Notebook to be so helpful when deciding on what tours to take and what restaurants were in the area. I was thrilled that we were so close to everything, it seemed to have only taken us minutes to get to dinner or to our tours! I will be recommending your property to all of my friends and family and I look forward to coming back myself! Thanks Again for the great vacation!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Was this a dream?????

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 14, 2011

Wow! Monkeys, macaws - where was Tarzan in our own private jungle? Unbelievably gorgeous ocean/jungle views from every room in the house. The infiniti pool melds into the ocean view which creates an unlimited, idyllic sight. I really felt it was a slice of heaven and I hope to go back.....and back....and back.

The house was more than comfortable for nine of us to gather for meals and games. Breakfast on the patio every morning was a must. It certainly started the day out with a feeling of "all's right with the world".

We did not drive, but instead had a driver at our beck and call that became part of our group, joined us for meals and became a great tour director. We did leave his nane and number in the information book at the house, if anyone wants to use him. We highly recommend him!

The only problem we had was when someone fiddled with the remote and we lost tv reception. It was easily remedied with one phone call to the owners. Washer and dryer came in very handy. I can't think of anything the house was lacking and I would highly recommend this rental to anyone looking for a great getaway. I fully intend to return!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

I rate my stay as 3 1/2 stars

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2012

A group of ladies spent some quality time at your house. The house was very comfortable, and the pool was absolutely delightful. The only problem that I personally had was that the house was rather remote and it was difficult to arrange for transportation. It was nice to know that you were but a phone call away. You were most helpful in providing us with ideas on where to go as well as arranging transportation. Thank you, Carm Hendrix

Owners response: It certainly makes it more difficult when you rely on public transportation while you are traveling in Playa Hermosa or anywhere in the country for that matter. We always suggest renting a vehicle to all of our guests.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Perfect vacation get-away

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

Hi Erica,

The Playa Hermosa home is amazing! I am so happy we booked with you... and you are such a gracious hostess... I have never had an owner take such particular care in making sure all of our needs were met. You went above and beyond.

Your view is outstanding. I loved that we were kind of in the jungle and yet had the ocean so close. Being up so high gave us a perfect view of the Macaws as they flew past.

We didn't spend much time in the house as the outdoor living space and your infinity pool were so pleasant there was no need to go inside (except for food).

Your notebook listing all of the activities and restaurants was a godsend. We used your recommendations for booking tours and eating out and had exceptional service and great experiences wherever we went.

I will recommend your property to all of your friends if they want a truly memorable Costa Rica vacation.

Pura Vida,
Phyllis St.John & family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AWESOME! BEAUTIFUL VIEWS

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 5, 2011

We had a great time at this home. We really enjoyed the Patio each morning with our coffee and watching the wildlife such as white face monkey and toucans. The home is big enough that if you choose to be alone no problem or all can be together. The pool was great as we enjoyed our drinks and enjoying the view of the ocean! We enjoyed several day trips and the owner was so helpful answering any questions and helping us when we needed it. The Marriott Resort was really close and had several nice restaurants to choose from. Some of us did the ZIP LINE and it was so much fun, make sure and try it when you go. We would certainly recommend this home for a family or small groups. The childrens pools makes it easy for familes with small children. It was really great that there was a phone there that you could call home to check in with the unlucky ones who didnt not get to go and enjoy this wonderful vacation in a great home. We will certainly recommend this place to our friends and family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Playa Hermosa House-Beautiful-breathtaking views

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed staying in this beautiful house with incredible views of the ocean. I loved swimming in the pool daily and relaxing on the patio each morning while sipping on my coffee made with a splash of Cafe Rica. I heard that's how they drink their coffee in Costa Rica. We saw beautiful brilliantly colored Macaws flying overhead several times while enjoying the pool. The owners, Erica and Tony, were most helpful when planning our daily activities and with restaurant recommendations. I loved the day trip to Arenal Volcano and enjoyed the mineral hot springs and waterfalls. I had a wonderful massage there at the Tabacon Grand Spa. I'm not one for heights, but really enjoyed the Aerial Tram Experience in the tropical rain forest. We had an outstanding guide and the one hour tram ride was extremely smooth and beautiful. I also honestly liked the Crocodile Man Tour - this wasn't even on my "bucket list". My favorite meals were at Los Suenos at the Italian restaurant, Lanterna, and at The Hook Up in Playa Herradura.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome!!!

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

Where do I begin? The house was amazing and the view even better. My 2yr old son loved all the wildlife we saw and of course the pool and the beaches.
The Owner was so accomodating and helped us with anything we needed. She had a folder of the restaurants and actives that she had gone to or done so that we knew the ones we picked to do were good ones. My personal favorite was the ATV tour, our son had so much fun on it and the guides were great. Another activity that my whole group enjoyed was the Crocidile man tour, it was so exciting with lots of amazing photo ops.
Some activies require some planning ahead of time so that you can fully enjoy them like the Volcano tours. Thats why a week was not long enough to do and see everything we wanted so I cant wait to go back, and when we do go back we will totally be staying here again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house, great family vacation!!

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

What an amazing location!! The pictures they have of the house and all of the views do not do this beautiful home justice. Boy were we surprised by the endless views of the ocean and jungle, this is definitely the nicest place we have ever stayed and plan on making their house a yearly family tradition. Talk about 5 star service...the host Erica met us at the airport and and led us to her gorgeous house. She even gave us a couple tours on the way down stopping at the crocodile bridge and also showed us around Jaco. We had an amazing time hanging around the, pool watching macaws fly by, fed some monkeys, and even spotted several types of toucans.... all while floating in the pool with a beer in hand, talk about relaxing!!! All of the amenities she has in the house makes you feel at home and you will never want to leave, we definitely did not want to! I recommend this home to anyone and everyone that is planning a vacation even if they aren't even thinking of Costa Rica to begin with. Thank you Erica and Playa Hermosa house for making this a vacation to remember, we look forward to seeing you next year!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful Costa Rican Retreat

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

This is such a beautiful and inviting home! We spent a week here during April...the weather was great and we enjoyed seeing local sights as well as just hanging out poolside at the house. It's such a wonderful property that you hardly want to leave! If you sit quietly and watch you can glimpse monkeys, toucans, macaws...lots of wildlife. Property is new, immaculate, and owners very accommodating. The Marriott resort Los Suenos is a short drive away and has a nice marina and good restaurants. Not only would I recommend this property to others, I've already made reservations with friends for next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

This is the spot to stay in Costa Rica

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

What an amazing view to wake up to. Expansive view over peaseful farm land down to breaking waves on the beach at Playa Hermosa. One morning I was awaken by the calls of Scarlet Mcaws and during the day we spotted two varities of Toucans, Green Parriots and White Faced Monkeys.Super clean and peaceful tucked into the hillsides lush landscape yet close to resturants, beaches and sightseeing.
We golfed at one of the most beautiful coarses I had ever played at in the Los Suenos resort in Jaco. The National Park Manuel Antonio is less than an hour from this getaway and a must visit stop while in Costa Rica

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A little hint of heaven.

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 14, 2011

This house is extraordinary. It is so peaceful with literally no noise other than nature itself. The view is spectacular. You can truly relax and feel that you have been on a vacation. I have to warn you though, once you are there you never want to leave. Serenety at it's best. When retiring to your suite at night you can't rest assured you have privacy. Children will not be disturbed when the grownups stay up later enjoying the sounds of the jungle. Fantastic place to stay. I have already booked my next stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review