reviews for: listing #389483vb - Holualoa, Hawaii rental

Beautiful Private Ocean Front Home on Lyman's Bay An enjoyable and peaceful stay
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 450 - $ 550 / night
    $ 2,899 - $ 3,599 / week
    $ 8,499 - $ 12,000 / month
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Amazing

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 16, 2014

This is a gorgeous, comfortable house in a perfect location. The house and views look even more amazing in person than in the pictures. The master bedroom and bath are breathtaking, as are the views from the living room and downstairs bedroom. We slept with the windows and sliding doors open every night and it was comfortable. Loved being put to sleep by the ocean. Pasqual and Julie have provided literally everything you need to enjoy your stay. My dad and I really enjoyed taking the boogie boards just down the street to White Sands beach. Also the snorkel gear and beach towels got a lot of use as well. The kitchen is very well stocked with every dish, appliance, and spice you can imagine. Parking-- I was concerned having to rent a minivan to accommodate our family because I read a few reviews that said parking was impossible. But we parked a minivan and another car with no difficulties once we got the hang of backing the van into the carport -- no sweat! Loved being close to restaurants and shopping, but always felt comfortably separated from the tourist areas. You MUST get some poke at Da Poke Shack which is only a few hundred yards away!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Silas,
Thanks so much for the excellent review. Our goal is that our guest experience an incredible time at our home. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family. We also enjoyed your city very much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: May 15, 2014   Date of arrival: May 4, 2014

The home is really beautiful! Fabulous views across the bay and ocean. The home is very nicely upgraded and very easy to slide right into. We traveled the whole island and this is a good middle point to go the north end or down to the volcano (keeping in mind it is a BIG Island). The pictures are spot on. Great stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Steve for the excellent review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the home and it was a pleasure meeting you guys.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beautiful home right on the shore

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

My wife and I and our 2 teen-age children stayed here for 1 (too short) week using the home both as a base for exploring the island and as a place to relax. It is perfectly located just off Ali drive which is both the main thoroughfare to the beaches, cafes and restaurants a couple of miles north and a great place to run, bike or walk. The home is clean, beautiful and well appointed with a spectacular master bedroom and ensuite on the 2nd floor giving beautiful views, great warm hawaii breezes and the sound of surf. The other 2 rooms are also large, nicely furnished with their own large bathrooms and lots of windows/doors for those tropical breezes. Be prepared to be lulled to sleep by the sound of surf and woken by the sounds of birds. The home is far enough from Ali drive that we did not hear any traffic. Everything was provided from all possible cooking utensils to a large bbq, snorkelling gear and boogey boards. The owner was attentive to any concerns we had. My kids took full advantage of the large hdtv and good wifi in the house. I would recommend this location highly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You Kevin,
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at our home and that you where able to relax and enjoy the tranquil setting that the home has to offer. I want to thank you for choosing our home and taking such good care of it. I hope to have you return sometime in the future.

Always with Aloha
Pasqual & Julie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A beautiful home with stellar views!

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 18, 2014

A beautifully crafted and well appointed home right on Lyman's Bay south of Kailua-Kona. We were joined by friends and had a lovely time on the Big Island. Pasquale, the owner, was very helpful all along the rental process and met us at the house when we arrived, even making a special trip to bring us a juicer and blender. Huge master bedroom and bathroom with open air view of the bay. My husband and I ended up trying out two of the three bedrooms during our two-week stay, and both of the beds were extremely comfortable. After our guests left, Pasquale was kind enough to send someone to bring fresh sheets; we were out for the day and when we returned, the house had been cleaned! They really went above and beyond for us! I give 4 stars instead of 5 only because the house is close to the somewhat noisy and busy Ali'i Drive. A beautiful home with stellar views and hospitable hosts!

Owners response: Hi Beth,
Thank you for the excellent review. We are happy that you enjoyed the home. I am sorry that you experience road noise as this has never really been an issue for us. I will agree that exiting the driveway can be challenging at times. The area is very popular due to the popularity of the surfing at this location. We would love to have you back sometime in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

awesome views, awesome house

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

even better than the photos! not too big, not too small, not too close to the congestion of Kona, but not too far from the action…we loved this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It's worth it!

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

This place is definitely an amazing place to spend a vacation! The views are fantastic and watching the surfers each day was an added bonus! We regretted not bringing binoculars to get closer to the action. The house was wonderful and in a great location! This home is Very clean and the kitchen was the best stocked kitchen of any of the many rentals we have stayed in. We really appreciated the deck and also the lawn (which most other rentals don't have). Pasqual was easy to reach and very accommodating during the whole process! We would definitely rent this house again!
Thanks for great memories!
Kathy and Garry

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Kathy for the great review. I know people have many choices to chose from so thank you for choosing ours.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome vacation rental home! You won't be disappointed!!

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

This home is very beautiful and is very well laid out, great for at least three couples! Everything you need is provided for you! Pasqual & Julie are fantastic to work with, very helpful and professional! Highly recommend this house! thank you for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was our pleasure to meet you and your family. I hope all is good at home. Maybe we can have a drink during your next trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rare and Beautiful Find

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 11, 2013

This home is the perfect blend. It offers the comfort and amenities of a high-end resort, but with the peace, privacy and freedoms that only come with a private beach property.

It's location is great---- beyond the hustle and crowds of the tourist districts, but close enough for easy access to all kinds of dining, entertainment, spa resources, groceries, health club and tennis, etc. It's also well situated for accessing the different destinations on the Big Island---southern spots like Keleakekua Bay (Captain Cook Monument) and points north along the Kohala coast are all comfortable drives, and there is a wealth of great snorkeling, surfing and beaches nearby. Even the volcano and East-side destinations are reasonable day-trips.

But perhaps best of all is just sitting on the lanai with your morning coffee (Kona, of course, from the French press at the house!) watching spinner dolphins leap in the bay, or a turtle poke it's head through the surf right in front of you. Grilling fresh fish on the deck under a spectacular sunset (this kitchen is the best-equipped of any house I've rented). Or maybe it's a lazy shower with the ocean breezes wafting over you as you bathe...or perhaps it's falling asleep to the rhythm of the waves as if you were sleeping right on the beach itself.

It all adds up to the perfect spot for downshifting and letting go, in between the activities and exploration...again: the perfect blend. I'd enthusiastically recommend it to anyone.

p.s: Pasqual and Julie offered great guidance for activities, supplies and dining---and the wi-fi and entertainment center worked like a charm (not always the case with private beach rentals)!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure having you folks stay at out home. It truly is a magnificent home. I sometimes take it for granted. So when I have compliments posted like yours it makes me realize how blessed we are to have this home. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. When you decide to return please remind me that you stayed with us to take advantage of your discounted rate for returning guest.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place for Ironman Week

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

I flew my entire family to Kona to cheer for me competing in the Hawaii Ironman. Everyone loved the house. We all loved the snorkeling so close and the gas fired grill. It is as beautiful as it seems. The ceiling fans and lanais were cooling but not enough for my brother in law who required the air conditioning. My sister is a bathtub person, and she was disappointed that the tub didn't work. Be sure to rent small cars, as the driveway and garage are hard to get into and out of. The landscaping is beautiful, and the neighbors were never around. The property is close enough to bike to town, but far enough away from the hordes to offer peace and quiet in this busy week. Pasquel was very accommodating. I will definitely consider this house rental in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Well we are really happy That you enjoyed the home. The hand held spray on the tub has been repaired. If you decide to re book the home I will gladly waive the additional charge of the A/C again. Again I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have cause you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Compliment

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

Hi, I've been searching VRBO for a vacation rental for our family. It's out of our price range, but I had to tell you how absolutely beautiful your home is. The photographs of the view are breathtaking! Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!!!

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

This home was the perfect spot for our family vacation with our grown children. The location was awesome - close enough to town to get there easily and off the road enough to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere. The house itself is beautifully decorated, the kitchen fully equipped, the views are gorgeous... The main problem with the place is that it is so perfect, you never want to leave! I look at the pictures and I can hear the sound of the waves breaking... I highly recommend this place! The owners were great, and the house truly has the comfort of home. Everyone in the family had a great time - there is so much to do on the island, or if they just wanted to hang out, the house was perfect for that, too. You are in reach of incredible beaches, snorkeling ( you can go right there even), and day trips all over the island. This truly was a dream vacation for us! Thank you so much, Pasqual and Julie for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome home!

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 19, 2013

If you are looking for the perfect home, look no further. Not only is it located within 20 feet of the water, but it is a very quiet location. We never heard traffic. Sitting on the lanai and watching whales was overwhelming and we found out we saw more there then on a whale watching cruise. The pictures don't do it justice! We shall return.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 4, 2013

Great place. We had a wonderful trip. The pictures don't do it justice. Pasqual , the owner was super to work with. He even let us work out in his gym.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Property

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 4, 2013

We just finished our week at this home. The pictures truly don't do it justice! This is a gorgeous property! From the beautiful hard wood floors to the granite counter tops, this home will spoil you. The front lanai sits directly on the bay and we loved watching the surfers each day. The home is furnished with high end furnishings and everything you could need for a lovely vacation. The Master bedroom and bath feel like a five star resort! Pascqual, the owner, was gracious and easy to work with. This was a perfect property for three couples to share.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Guys for staying at our home. Hope to see you again sooner than later. Make sure you keep that energetic Irish guy in check. Oh yea stay with the fitness routine you guys have going you will feel better look better live better.
Thanks Pasqual

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation of Our Lives!!!!!!

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

I just got back from spending 1 month at this amazing home in Kona with my family. It was the best vacation of our lives. It is spacious, clean, and close to everything you would want to do in Kona. The best part of the home are the views. We spent day and night staring out at the ocean and listening to the waves crash at night. We had big plans to see parts of the Island that we hadn't seen on or other trips, but ending spending almost everyday right at the house. If your looking for total relaxation in an amazing home look NO further....this is it!!!! Thanks Pasquale we will be back sooner than later. deanna ficke

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Well it was a pleasure having you at our home. I am pleased that you folks enjoyed the home, it truly is a lovely home and the location is fabulous. I look forward to having you back sooner than later as well. &
Always with Aloha
Pasqual & Julie Bernal

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC !!!! Beyond 5 star home/ wonderful owner/ super location WOW ++++++++

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

This truly is the BEST home in the BEST location with the BEST owners this experienced traveling family has EVER stayed at ! The homeowners move out of their personal million plus dollar home to share it with you. It is super clean with all state of the art goodies and high tech we leave at home but usually only dream of in a vacation rental. The location can't be beat- ocean side on a point where it is cool and breezy at night, and yet has a covered lanai (porch) that is shady all day when it is hot in the sun ..we ate every meal there and with that million dollar view, why would you not ? Everything including the furniture, linens, electronics, cooking supplies etc. were top quality and luxurious. WOW! We have traveled all over the world for 30 yrs., and have never had a better experience...better than 5 star hotels by far ! The location is a easy cab or car ride from Kona, yet the couple miles out of the tourist drag means quiet peaceful ambiance....BIG difference from so many rentals that are FAR out of town, or else on the main busy noisy road. The master bedroom has a fantastic large window that opens to the ocean to lull you to sleep with the sound of the waves. Ahh...I miss it already . As great as the photos are of this, they don't even do it justice...hard to capture it all in photos, which is an unexpected plus when so many VRBO places can leave you disappointed in reality versus how they are portrayed. I would recommend this home to ANYONE that will treat both it and the owners with the respect they deserve. It is just too wonderful to have anything bad happen to it ! This is as good as it gets . THANKS for a memorable time, we really did not want to leave when our 2 weeks was up !!!!! ANYONE will LOVE this property along with the delightful owners ! We WILL be staying here again !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Linda for the great review. Hope to see you guys in the near future.
Pasqual

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review